why-not-lgpl.html - en to ko translation catalogue (14 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why you shouldn't use the Lesser GPL for your next library - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 라이브러리에 LGPL을 사용하지 말아야 하는 이유 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Why you shouldn't use the Lesser GPL for your next library
ko: 라이브러리에 LGPL을 사용하지 말아야 하는 이유

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The GNU Project has two principal licenses to use for libraries.  One is the GNU Lesser GPL; the other is the ordinary GNU GPL.  The choice of license makes a big difference: using the Lesser GPL permits use of the library in proprietary programs; using the ordinary GPL for a library makes it available only for free programs.
ko: GNU 프로젝트는 라이브러리에 두 가지 주된 이용허락(라이선스)를 사용하고 있습니다. 하나는 LGPL이라 불리는 GNU Lesser GPL이고 또다른 하나는 일반적인 GNU GPL입니다. 이용허락의 선택은 큰 차이를 유발합니다. LGPL이 적용된 라이브러리는 독점 소프트웨어에 사용될 수 있지만, 일반적인 GPL이 적용된 라이브러리는 단지 자유 프로그램에서만 사용될 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Which license is best for a given library is a matter of strategy, and it depends on the details of the situation.  At present, most GNU libraries are covered by the Lesser GPL, and that means we are using only one of these two strategies, neglecting the other.  So we are now seeking more libraries to release <strong>under the ordinary GPL</strong>.
ko: 특정한 라이브러리에 어떤 이용허락을 적용하느냐는 전략적인 문제이기 때문에 구체적인 상황에 따라 달라질 수 있습니다. 현재 대부분의 GNU 라이브러리들은 LGPL을 따르고 있는데, 이것은 우리가 두가지 전략 중에서 하나는 무시한 채 다른 한가지 전략만을 추구하고 있다는 것을 의미합니다. 이런 이유  때문에 우리는 더욱 많은 라이브러리들을 LGPL이 아닌 <strong>일반적인 GPL</strong>로 배포하려고 노력하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Proprietary software developers have the advantage of money; free software developers need to make advantages for each other.  Using the ordinary GPL for a library gives free software developers an advantage over proprietary developers: a library that they can use, while proprietary developers cannot use it.
ko: 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들은 비용면에서 비교 우위를 갖고 있습니다. 그렇게 때문에 자유 소프트웨어 개발자들은 이러한 부분을 상쇄시킬 수 있는 이점을 서로에게 제공해 주어야 할 필요가 있습니다. 라이브러리에 일반적인 GPL을 적용하게 되면 자유 소프트웨어 개발자들은 이를 사용할 수 있지만, 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들은 사용할 수 없게 되어 자유 소프트웨어 개발자들에게 이점을 제공해 줄 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Using the ordinary GPL is not advantageous for every library.  There are reasons that can make it better to use the Lesser GPL in certain cases.  The most common case is when a free library's features are readily available for proprietary software through other libraries.  In that case, the library cannot give free software any particular advantage, so it is better to use the Lesser GPL for that library.
ko: 일반적인 GPL의 적용이 모든 라이브러리에 장점을 제공해 주는 것은 아닙니다. 어떤 경우에는 LGPL을 사용하는 것이 더 좋습니다. 이러한 경우의 일반적인 형태는 GPL을 적용한 라이브러리의 기능이 다른 라이브러리를 통해 독점 소프트웨어에서도 쉽게 구현될 수 있을 때입니다. 이러한 경우에는 GPL이 적용된 라이브러리가 자유 소프트웨어에 대한 특별한 이점을 보장해 줄 수 없기 때문에 단순히 LGPL을 적용하는 것이 그 사용 범위를 넓히기 위해서라도 더 좋다고 볼 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is why we used the Lesser GPL for the GNU C library.  After all, there are plenty of other C libraries; using the GPL for ours would have driven proprietary software developers to use another&mdash;no problem for them, only for us.
ko: 이러한 이유 때문에 우리는 GNU C 라이브러리에 LGPL을 사용했습니다. GNU C 라이브러리 이외에도 다른 C 라이브러리들이 많이 존재하기 때문에 만약 GNU C 라이브러리에 GPL을 적용하게 되면 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들은 그들이 사용할 수 있는 다른 C 라이브러리를 사용하게 될 것입니다. 이러한 결과는 우리에게 문제를 더 가져다 줄 뿐이며 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들에게는 아무런 문제가 되지 않습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, when a library provides a significant unique capability, like GNU Readline, that's a horse of a different color.  The Readline library implements input editing and history for interactive programs, and that's a facility not generally available elsewhere.  Releasing it under the GPL and limiting its use to free programs gives our community a real boost.  At least one application program is free software today specifically because that was necessary for using Readline.
ko: 그러나 만약 어떤 라이브러리가 GNU Readline의 경우와 같이, 독자적이고 중요한 기능을 제공하는 것이라면 그것은 전혀 별개의 문제입니다. Readline 라이브러리는 에디터나 셸과 같이 대화형으로 진행되는 프로그램을 사용할 때 명령행 편집이나 히스토리 기능을 제공하는데, 이러한 기능은 다른 라이브러리에서 일반적으로 찾아볼 수 없는 특징적인 것입니다. 따라서 Readline에 GPL을 적용하게 되면 Readline의 사용을 자유 소프트웨어에만 한정시킬 수 있기 때문에 자유 소프트웨어 공동체에 실질적인 힘이 될 수 있습니다. Readline의 기능을 포함시키고자 하는 소프트웨어를 자유 소프트웨어로 만들 수 있는 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If we amass a collection of powerful GPL-covered libraries that have no parallel available to proprietary software, they will provide a range of useful modules to serve as building blocks in new free programs.  This will be a significant advantage for further free software development, and some projects will decide to make software free in order to use these libraries.  University projects can easily be influenced; nowadays, as companies begin to consider making software free, even some commercial projects can be influenced in this way.
ko: 만약 우리가 독점 소프트웨어에는 찾아볼 수 없는 기능을 가진 GPL 기반의 강력한 라이브러리들을 축적할 수 있다면 그것은 새로운 자유 소프트웨어를 개발할 수 있는 매우 유용한 모듈로 활용될 수 있을 것입니다. 이것은 자유 소프트웨어의 개발에 더욱 큰 이점을 줄 것이고, 어떤 프로젝트들은 GPL이 적용된 라이브러리를 사용하기 위해서, 앞으로 개발될 소프트웨어를 자유 소프트웨어로 만들기로 결정하기도 할 것입니다. 대학의 프로젝트는 이러한 영향을 쉽게 받을 수 있습니다. 최근에는 기업들도 자유 소프트웨어를 만들기 시작했으며, 심지어 몇몇 상업 프로젝트도 이러한 영향을 받게 되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Proprietary software developers, seeking to deny the free competition an important advantage, will try to convince authors not to contribute libraries to the GPL-covered collection.  For example, they may appeal to the ego, promising &ldquo;more users for this library&rdquo; if we let them use the code in proprietary software products.  Popularity is tempting, and it is easy for a library developer to rationalize the idea that boosting the popularity of that one library is what the community needs above all.
ko: 자유 경쟁이 갖고 있는 중요한 이점을 부정하려고 하는 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들은 프로그램 저작자들에게 라이브러리를 GPL 소프트웨어에 포함시키지 말 것을 설득하려고 노력할 것입니다. 예를 들면, 만약 라이브러리를 독점 소프트웨어 제품을 만드는데 사용하면 보다 많은 사용자들이 그 라이브러리를 쓰게 될 것이라고 주장할 지도 모릅니다. 이러한 점을 프로그램 저작자들의 자존심과 공명심에 빌어 설득할 경우에는, 상당한 인기를 가진 하나의 라이브러리를 만들어 내는 것이 마치 자유 소프트웨어 공동체가 당면한 가장 필요한 요구라는 그릇된 판단을 유도하게 될 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 장문수 <a href="mailto:gravi@postech.edu">&lt;gravi@postech.edu&gt;</a>, 2001년 3월 22일

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
