15-years-of-free-software.html - en to ko translation catalogue (15 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: 15 Years of Free Software - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 15년의 역사 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단 (FSF)

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: GNU, FSF, Free Software Foundation, freedom, Richard Stallman, rms, free software movement
ko: GNU, FSF, 자유 소프트웨어 재단, 자유 리처드 스톨먼, rms, 자유 소프트웨어 운동

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: Richard Stallman discusses the history of the movement to develop a free operating system.
ko: 리처드 스톨먼이 자유 운영체제를 개발하기 위한 운동의 역사에 대해 얘기합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: 15 Years of Free Software
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 15년의 역사

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is now just over 15 years since the beginning of the Free Software Movement and the GNU Project. We have come a long way.
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 운동과 GNU 프로젝트가 시작된 지 15년이 막 넘었습니다. 우리는 오랜 길을 걸어 왔습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In 1984, it was impossible to use a modern computer without installing a proprietary operating system, which you would have to obtain under a restrictive license. No one was allowed to share software freely with fellow computer users, and hardly anyone could change software to fit his or her own needs. The owners of software had erected walls to divide us from each other.
ko: 1984년 당시 독점 운영체제를 설치하지 않고서는 현대적인 컴퓨터를 쓰는 것이 불가능했기 때문에 사용자들은 제한적인 라이선스를 얻어야 했습니다. 동료 컴퓨터 사용자와 자유롭게 소프트웨어를 나누려는 사람은 아무도 없었고 자기의 필요에 맞게 소프트웨어를 바꿀 수도 없었습니다. 소프트웨어 소유자는 벽을 세워 우리를 갈라놓았습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The GNU Project was founded to change all that. Its first goal: to develop a Unix-compatible portable operating system that would be 100% free software. Not 95% free, not 99.5%, but 100%&mdash;so that users would be free to redistribute the whole system, and free to change and contribute to any part of it. The name of the system, GNU, is a recursive acronym meaning &ldquo;GNU's Not Unix&rdquo;&mdash;a way of paying tribute to the technical ideas of Unix, while at the same time saying that GNU is something different. Technically, GNU is like Unix. But unlike Unix, GNU gives its users freedom.
ko: GNU 프로젝트는 그 모든 것을 바꾸기 위해 세워졌습니다. GNU 프로젝트의 첫 번째 목표는 유닉스와 호환되고 이식성 높은 운영 체제를 100% 자유 소프트웨어로 개발하는 것이었습니다. 95%도, 99.5%도 아닌 100% 자유입니다. 이는 사용자들이 자유롭게 전체 시스템을 다시 배포하고 운영체제의 일부를 자유롭게 바꾸고 기여할 수 있게 하기 위함입니다. 운영체제의 이름인 GNU는 `GNU's Not Unix'를 의미하는 재귀적 약어로 유닉스에 경의를 표하고 동시에 GNU가 다른 것임을 말하고자 했습니다. 기술적으로 GNU는 유닉스 같지만 유닉스와는 다릅니다. GNU는 사용자에게 자유를 줍니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It took many years of work, by hundreds of programmers, to develop this operating system. Some were paid by the Free Software Foundation and by free software companies; most were volunteers. A few have become famous; most are known mainly within their profession, by other hackers who use or work on their code. All together have helped to liberate the potential of the computer network for all humanity.
ko: 수년 동안 수많은 프로그래머가 이 운영체제를 개발했습니다. 자유 소프트웨어 재단과 자유 소프트웨어 회사에서 보수를 받은 사람도 있었지만 대부분은 자원자였습니다. 유명해진 사람도 있었지만 대부분은 자기 직업 내에서 자기 코드를 사용하거나 그 코드로 작업하는 다른 해커들에게 주로 알려져 있습니다. 모두가 함께 인간 사회를 위해 컴퓨터 네트워크의 잠재성을 해방시키는 것을 도왔습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In 1991, the last major essential component of a Unix-like system was developed: Linux, the free kernel written by Linus Torvalds. Today, the combination of GNU and Linux is used by millions of people around the world, and its popularity is growing. This month, we announced release 1.0 of <abbr title="GNU Network Object Model Environment">GNOME</abbr>, the GNU graphical desktop, which we hope will make the GNU/Linux system as easy to use as any other operating system.
ko: 1991년, 유닉스 호환 시스템에서 마지막으로 주요한 필수 구성 요소가 개발됐습니다. 바로 리눅스라는 것으로 리누스 토발즈가 만든 자유 커널입니다. 오늘날 GNU와 리눅스의 조합은 전 세계 수많은 사람들이 사용하고 있고 점점 대중적이 되어가고 있습니다. 이번 달에 우리는 GNU 그래픽 데스크톱인 <abbr title="GNU Network Object Model Environment">GNOME</abbr> 1.0을 발표했습니다. GNOME 덕분에 GNU/리눅스 시스템이 다른 운영체제만큼 사용하기 쉬워지리라 희망합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But our freedom is not permanently assured. The world does not stand still, and we cannot count on having freedom five years from now, just because we have it today. Free software faces difficult challenges and dangers. It will take determined efforts to preserve our freedom, just as it took to obtain freedom in the first place. Meanwhile, the operating system is just the beginning&mdash;now we need to add free applications to handle the whole range of jobs that users want to do.
ko: 그러나 우리의 자유가 영원히 보장되는 것은 아닙니다. 세상은 가만히 있지 않고, 오늘 우리에게 자유가 있기 때문에 지금부터 5년 후에도 자유가 있을 것이라 장담할 수는 없습니다. 자유 소프트웨어는 어려운 도전과 위험에 직면해 있습니다. 처음에 자유를 얻기 위해 그랬던 것처럼 우리의 자유를 지키기 위해 결연히 노력해야 합니다. 한편으로는 운영체제는 그저 시작일 뿐입니다. 이제 우리는 사용자가 하고 싶어 하는 모든 종류의 일을 다룰 수 있는 자유 애플리케이션을 개발해야 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In future columns, I will be writing about the specific challenges facing the free software community, and other issues affecting freedom for computer users, as well as developments affecting the GNU/Linux operating system.
ko: 앞으로 발표할 칼럼에서 저는 자유 소프트웨어 공동체가 직면한 특정한 도전과 GNU/리눅스 운영체제에 영향을 미칠 새로운 상황 뿐 아니라 컴퓨터 사용자의 자유에 영향을 미칠 다른 문제에 대해 쓸 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 송우일 <a href="mailto:wooil@gnu.org">&lt;wooil@gnu.org&gt;</a>, 2006년 12월 4일

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
