en to zh_CN translation catalogue (118 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Shaping Collaborative ICT Development and Initiatives for Global Prosperity - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 塑造信息与通信技术的合作开发及全球繁荣之倡议 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Shaping Collaborative ICT Development and Initiatives for Global Prosperity
zh_CN: 塑造信息与通信技术的合作开发及全球繁荣之倡议

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Robert J. Chassell
zh_CN: Robert J. Chassell 著

note: <br /> <a href="http://www.globalknowledge.org.my/"> broken link, 1apr11 type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: From a presentation given at the Second Global Knowledge Conference in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on 7&nbsp;March&nbsp;2000.
zh_CN: 摘自2000年3月7日在马来西亚吉隆坡举行的第二届全球知识大会上的一次演讲。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The title of this presentation is &ldquo;Shaping Collaborative ICT Development and Initiatives for Global Prosperity&rdquo; and the themes of this conference are &ldquo;access,&rdquo; &ldquo;empowerment&rdquo; and &ldquo;governance.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 演讲的标题是 &ldquo;塑造信息与通信技术的合作开发及全球繁荣之倡议&rdquo; 而此次大会的主题是 &ldquo;获取&rdquo;、&ldquo;赋能&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;管理&rdquo;。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What I want to do today is take one specific technology and talk about the way we have shaped that technology to make it accessible and empowering, how we have placed it in an economic and institutional framework that encourages people to work collaboratively, and how to use the technology for better governance.
zh_CN: 今天我要做的是以一个具体的技术为例，讲一讲我们把它塑造成可获取和可赋能之技术的方法，包括我们如何置之于一个经济和组织管理的框架中鼓励人们合作，以及如何利用技术进行更好的管理。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The technology is software.  The shaping has to do with copyright licensing terms&mdash;its legal and institutional framework.
zh_CN: 这项技术是软件。塑造方法与版权许可证条款相关&mdash;&mdash;塑造的法律和组织框架。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As a founder of the Free Software Foundation, I have been working for 16 years with the legal and institutional framework in which we use and develop software.  GNU/Linux, a complete software system, is the outcome of these efforts.
zh_CN: 作为自由软件基金会的一名创始人，16年来我一直为我们使用和开发软件的法律和组织框架而工作。GNU/Linux——一个完全的软件系统——是这些工作的成果。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: ICT, the information and communications technologies, are made up of hardware and software components.  I am speaking here only of software.  However, I hope we can extend our experience from this to other technologies.
zh_CN: ICT（信息与通信技术）由软件和硬件构成。我这里讲的是软件。不过，我希望我们能够把这里的经验推广到其他技术领域。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When I speak of software, I am speaking both about the programs that run the computer, that is to say, the operating system, and about applications, such as electronic mail and other communications, spreadsheets, electronic commerce, writing tools, sending and receiving FAXes, Web site creation, engineering, research, mathematical computations, modeling, image manipulation, and networking.
zh_CN: 当我说软件时，我既指我们让计算机运行的程序，就是说操作系统，也指应用程序，例如电子邮件和其他通信工具、电子表格、电子商务、书写工具、收发传真、创建网站、工程、研究、数学计算、模型、图像处理以及网络。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Over the last few years, the prices of computer and telecommunications hardware have dropped to the point that many more people are using them.  Indeed, our conference organizers estimate that as many as one out of every thirty people in the world have computer-based, online telecommunications access.
zh_CN: 经过数年，计算机和通信硬件的价格已经降到很多人都可以使用它们的水平。实际上，本次大会的组织者估计世界上每30个人中就有一个人能够获取以计算机为基础的在线通信。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: While one out of thirty is still a small portion of the world's population, this technology is popular, growing, and becoming more important in our daily lives.  In addition, we expect that computer and telecommunications prices will continue to drop for at least another generation, so many who currently lack resources will eventually benefit.
zh_CN: 虽然三十分之一仍然是世界人口的一小部分，但是这项正在增长的技术是受欢迎的，而且在我们的日常生活中变得愈发重要。此外，我们预计计算机和通信的价格还会持续下降至少一代，所以目前还缺乏资源的人最终也将受益。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As with any technology, software can be employed well or badly.
zh_CN: 和任何其他技术一样，软件也是双刃剑。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: At the moment we see both.  On the bad side, we see machines that crash unnecessarily, email messages that waste their recipients money, systems that are vulnerable to simple viruses, and programs that do only part of what you want.
zh_CN: 现在我们已经看到好坏两面。坏的方面，我们看到会无谓崩溃的设备、浪费收件人流量费的邮件、容易被简单病毒侵害的系统、以及只能完成部分任务的程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The key to good use of software is to ensure freedom.  In software, this leads to collaboration, lower prices, reliability, efficiency, security, and fewer barriers to entry and use.
zh_CN: 让软件成为好事的关键是确保自由。对软件来说，这会形成合作、可靠、有效、安全、更低的价格与进入和使用门槛。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For a good use of software technology, people must have the legal right to copy, study, modify, and redistribute it.  All else flows from this.
zh_CN: 为了软件技术的利益，人们必须有合法的权利对软件进行复制、学习、修改和分发。其他的好处就会随之而来。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: GNU/Linux software gives people these rights.  Programmers benefit, and more importantly, people who are not programmers benefit.
zh_CN: GNU/Linux 软件赋予人们这些权利。程序员获益，更重要的是，不是程序员的人也获益。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For example, people in an area with lousy or no telephone service can use a rugged package called UUCP for communications.  I recently read of an Oxfam group that did this.
zh_CN: 例如，在没有电话服务或者电话服务差劲的地方，人们可以使用一个叫做 UUCP 的简单实用软件包来进行通信。我最近看到一个 Oxfam<sup><a href="#TransNote1">1</a></sup> 小组就在这么做。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People with older machines, even with the very old 80386 chips, can run efficient programs that do as much as programs that require a modern Pentium chip and expensive memory.  And they can use these machines as servers for Web pages and as routers&mdash;for communications' infrastructure.
zh_CN: 使用较老的设备，即使是很老的 80386 芯片，人们也可以运行高效的程序完成和需要现代奔腾芯片与昂贵内存的程序同样的工作。他们还可以使用这些机器作为网页服务器和路由器&mdash;&mdash;作为通信的基础设施。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People with just one computer can attach one or two additional terminals to it, and provide two or three seats in place of one, for very little extra cost.  I have done this: a friend visited and we both wanted to work on my computer at the same time.  Email, Web browsing, writing, remote system administration: we did all these at the same time.
zh_CN: 只有一台电脑的人可以连接一个和两个额外的终端，并配上两三把椅子，花费不多。我就这么做过：一位朋友来访，我们想同时使用我的电脑工作。邮件、上网、写作、远程系统管理：我们两个同时做了这么多事情。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A community group, or business, can set up its own mailing lists or news groups, private or public.  The groupware is there.  Two or more people can work on the same document at the same time, even if they are in different countries.  The last time I did that, I was working with a fellow on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean.
zh_CN: 一个社团或公司，可以搭建自己的邮件列表或新闻组服务，私有或公开的都行。组服务软件就在那里。两人或多人可以同时在一个文档上工作，即使他们不在一个国家。上次我这么做的时候，另一个伙伴是在大西洋彼岸。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What script do you want to write in? Hindi, Chinese, Thai? All these are possible, and in the same window as English or Cyrillic.
zh_CN: 你想用什么语言来写？印度语，中文，还是泰语？一切皆有可能，并且使用和英语或西里尔语一样的窗口。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Individuals or groups can set up their own Web sites.  A publisher can typeset his own books.  An accountant can analyze a budget.  Blind people can listen to text read out loud to them by the computer.
zh_CN: 个人或团体都可以搭建自己的网站。一个出版商可以为自己的书籍排版。一个会计师可以分析预算。盲人可以让计算机大声朗读文本，让他们听到。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You can enjoy choosing among several graphic user interfaces, a fancy one, another that looks and behaves rather like Microsoft Windows, or a third, that is simple and practical.
zh_CN: 你可以愉快地在多个图形界面中做选择，可以是豪华型，也可以是类似微软的 Windows，还可以是简单实用型。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Except for the blind person's speech generation, which requires audio that I never installed in my machine, every application I have just mentioned runs on my home computer.  And people I know have installed audio and listen to it.
zh_CN: 除了要使用音频的盲人语音软件——我从未在我的电脑上安装音频，我的家用电脑上运行着所有我刚才提到的应用。而且我知道有人安装了音频并且也在使用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: All these applications came on a CD-ROM that was, as it happens, given me at no charge.  I have also paid for CDs with a different version of the software&mdash;sometimes it is more convenient just to buy.  And if you have a fast Internet connection, you can readily download the software, paying only your connection costs.
zh_CN: 所有这些应用都在一张光盘上，有人免费送了我一张。我也付钱买过不同版本软件的光盘&mdash;&mdash;有时候花钱买反而更方便。如果你的网速够快，那么你可以下载这些软件，只需支付连接费用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This wealth of software is available and can be used anywhere in the world.
zh_CN: 全世界可获取并可使用这些软件财富。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: To return to the question of how this technology was shaped: the key, as I said, is freedom, the legal right to copy, study, modify, and redistribute the software.
zh_CN: 回到如何塑造此项技术的问题：如我所言，关键是自由，复制、学习、修改和分发软件的合法权利。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The specific legal tool we used to create these freedoms and the resulting benefits is a specially drafted copyright license, the GNU General Public License.
zh_CN: 为了创建这些自由和产生效益，我们使用的具体法律工具是一种特别拟定的版权许可证，GNU 通用公共许可证。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This license gives you more rights than plain copyright does, and more rights than many other kinds of software license.  In essence, it forbids you to forbid.  It permits you to do everything else.
zh_CN: 这个许可证赋予你比普通版权更多的权利，也赋予你比许多其他软件许可证更多的权利。从本质上讲，它禁止你禁止。它允许你做所有其他的事。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Let me go through this list of rights: copy, study, modify, and redistribute.
zh_CN: 让我们一起来看一看这些权利：复制、学习、修改和分发。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: First, the right to copy.
zh_CN: 第一，复制的权利。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Not many people own a factory that would enable them to copy a car.  Indeed, to copy a car is so difficult that we use a different word, we speak of &ldquo;manufacturing&rdquo; a car.  And there are not many car manufacturers in the world.  Far fewer than one in thirty people own or have ready access to a car factory.
zh_CN: 没多少人拥有可以复制汽车的工厂。实际上，复制汽车是如此困难，以至于我们要用一个不同词来描述，我们要说 &ldquo;制造&rdquo; 汽车。全世界也没有多少汽车制造商。远少于三十分之一的人拥有或者可以获得汽车工厂。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But everyone with a computer owns a software factory, a device for manufacturing software, that is to say, for making new copies.  Because copying software is so easy, we don't use the word &ldquo;manufacturing&rdquo;; we usually do not even think of it as a kind of manufacturing, but it is.
zh_CN: 但是每个有电脑的人都拥有一个软件工厂，这个设备可以制造软件，就是说，复制软件。因为复制软件是如此容易，以至于我们不用使用 &ldquo;制造&rdquo; 这个词；我们通常也不认为这是一种制造，但它就是制造。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The right to copy software is the right to use your own means of production (if you will pardon my use of an expression that has gone out of fashion).  Millions of people, a few percent of the world's population, own this means of production.
zh_CN: 复制软件的权利就是使用自己的工具进行生产的权利（请原谅我使用了老套的表达）。数百万人——占世界人口的几个百分点的人——拥有这种生产力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Naturally, there have been efforts to take away your rights to use your own property as a factory that you own.
zh_CN: 自然，会有人努力剥夺你用自己的资产做工厂的权利。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Second, the right to study.  This right is of little direct interest to people who are not programmers.  It is like the right of a lawyer to read legal text books.  Unless you are a lawyer, you probably wish to avoid such books.
zh_CN: 第二，学习的权利。这项权利对不是程序员的人来说不太有直接的利益。它就象律师阅读法律课本的权利一样。除非你是律师，你大概会避之恐不及。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, this right to study has several implications, both for those who program and for everyone else.
zh_CN: 不过，学习的权利有一些内涵，既和程序员相关，也和其他人有关。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The right to study means that people in places like Mexico, or India, or Malaysia can study the same code that people in Europe or the United States use.  It means that these people are not kept from learning how others succeeded.
zh_CN: 学习的权利意味着在诸如墨西哥、印度或马来西亚等地方的人可以学习人们在欧洲或美国使用的代码。它意味着这些人不被排除在学习其他人的成功之外。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Bear in mind that many programmers work under restrictions that forbid them from seeing others' code.  Rather than sit on the shoulders of those who went before, which is the best way to see ahead and to advance, they are thrown into the mud.  The right to study is the right to look ahead, to advance, by sitting on the shoulders of giants.
zh_CN: 你要知道，许多程序员的工作受限制，他们无法看到其他人的代码。他们不能站在前人的肩膀上——这是看清前路和进步的最佳方式，反过来，他们只能自己在泥泞中挣扎。学习的权利就是站在巨人肩上向前看和向前走的权利。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Moreover, the right to study means that the software itself must be made available in a manner that humans can read.
zh_CN: 此外，学习的权利意味着软件本身必须以人类可读的形式获得。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Software comes in two forms, one readable only by computers and the other readable by people.  The form that a computer can read is what the computer runs.  This form is called a binary or executable.  The form that a human can read is called source code.  It is what a human programmer creates, and is translated by another computer program into the binary or executable form.
zh_CN: 软件有两种形式，一种是只有计算机可读，另一种是人类可读。计算机可读的形式是计算机运行的软件。它叫做二进制或者可执行格式。人类可读的形式叫源代码。源代码是程序员创造的，它会被另外的计算机程序翻译成二进制或可执行形式。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The next right, the right to modify, is the right to fix a problem or enhance a program.  For most people, this means your right or your organization's right to hire someone to do the job for you, in much the same way you hire an auto mechanic to fix your car or a carpenter to extend your home.
zh_CN: 另一个权利，修改的权利，是修改程序问题或增强程序功能的权利。对大多数人来说，这意味着你或你的组织有权雇人来帮你做事，就象你雇佣汽车机械师帮你修车或雇佣木匠帮你改造房子一样。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Modification is helpful.  Application developers cannot think of all the ways others will use their software.  Developers cannot foresee the new burdens that will be put on their code.  They cannot anticipate all the local conditions, whether someone in Malaysia will use a program first written in Finland.
zh_CN: 修改很有用。应用的开发者无法考虑到其软件使用的所有方面。开发者无法预见代码会受到的新考验。他们无法知道当软件在芬兰写好之后，会在马来西亚的何种场景使用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Finally, of these legal rights, comes the right to redistribute.
zh_CN: 最后，所有这些法律权利中还有分发的权利。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This means that you, who own a computer, a software factory, have the right to make copies of a program and redistribute it.  You can charge for these copies, or give them away.  Others may do the same.
zh_CN: 这意味着你有了电脑——作为软件工厂——有权复制并分发程序。你可以收费，也可赠送。其他人也一样可以。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Of course, several existing, large software manufacturers want to forbid you from using your own property.  They cannot win in a free market, so they attack in other ways.  In the United States, for example, we see newly proposed laws to take away your freedom.
zh_CN: 当然，现有的几个大型软件制造商希望禁止你使用自己的资产。他们在自由市场上很难取胜，所以他们要从其他方向攻击。比如，在美国，我们看到有人提出新的法律来剥夺我们的自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The right to redistribute, so long as it is defended and upheld, means that software is sold in a competitive, free market.  This has several consequences.  Low price is a consequence.  This helps consumers.
zh_CN: 自由分发的权利，就其支持和保护来看，意味着软件要在竞争性的自由市场上销售。它有一些后果。价格低就是一个。这帮助了消费者。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But first and foremost, these legal and economic rights lead to collaboration, one of themes of this conference.
zh_CN: 但是长远来看，这些法律和经济的权利会导致合作，正是本次大会的一个主题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This outcome is contrary to many people's expectations.  Few expect that in a competitive, free market, every producer will become more collaborative and that there will be no visible or felt competition among competing businessmen.
zh_CN: 这些结果和许多人的预期相矛盾。很少有人预料到在竞争性的自由市场中，每个生产者会变得更加合作，而相互竞争的商家之间看不到、也感觉不到竞争。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The more competitive a market, the more cooperation you see.  This apparently counter-intuitive implication is both observed and inferred.
zh_CN: 市场竞争越激烈，你看到的合作就越多。这种看起来违背直觉的结果既合理也已经被看到。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is because people are not harmed by doing what they want to do.  People like to help their neighbors.
zh_CN: 这是因为人们不会被做自己想要做的事情而伤害。人们喜欢助人为乐。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Consider a small farmer, one among a million.  My friend George, back in the United States, is one such.
zh_CN: 想象数百万农户中的一员。在美国，我的朋友乔治就是这样的一员。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: His harvest is so small, that there is nothing he can do to effect the world price.  His neighbor is in a similar situation.
zh_CN: 他的收成很少，对世界粮食价格毫无影响。他的邻居也是半斤八两。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Consequently, if George helps his neighbor, his neighbor benefits, and George himself loses nothing on the price he receives for his harvest.
zh_CN: 结果是，如果乔治帮了他的邻居，他的邻居获益，而乔治自己的收成也不会有任何价格损失。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Since George will not hurt himself, he has every other reason to help his neighbor.  Not only is George kindly, he also recognizes that when he helps his neighbor, his neighbor is likely to return the favor.
zh_CN: 由于乔治没有损失，他非常乐意帮助邻居。乔治不但变得友善，而且他发现邻居也愿意以帮助回报帮助。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is what you see in a competitive free market: cooperation.
zh_CN: 这就是我们在竞争性自由市场上看到的：合作。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Visible competition indicates that the market is not fully free and competitive.  Visible competition means that at most you have a semi-free market.
zh_CN: 可见的竞争意味着市场不是完全的自由竞争。可见的竞争意味着我们最多只是一个半自由的市场。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Moreover, and this benefits people who are not programmers, if software is sold in a free market, competition among vendors will lead to a lower price.
zh_CN: 更进一步，这使不是程序员的人们也受益，如果软件在自由市场上销售，那么销售商之间的竞争会导致较低的价格。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Put another way, the price of software is determined primarily by legal considerations: by the degree to which customers enjoy freedom.  If customers are forbidden to buy a product except at a high price, and that prohibition is successfully enforced, the product will be expensive.  This is what occurs with much proprietary software today.
zh_CN: 换句话说，软件的价格主要决定于法律考虑：客户享受自由的程度。如果客户除了出高价外被禁止购买某种产品，而这种禁止可以被成功实施，那么这种产品会变得昂贵。这就是众多专有软件今天的所作所为。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: On the other hand, if software is sold in a free market, competition among vendors will lead to a lower price.
zh_CN: 另一方面，如果软件在自由市场上销售，那么销售商之间的竞争会导致较低的价格。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Indeed, in some circumstances the cost will be so low that companies or other organizations will give away CD-ROMs containing the software; others will make copies for their friends; and yet others will provide downloads over the Internet at no charge.
zh_CN: 实际上，有时成本会很低，以至于公司或组织会免费发放软件光盘；其他人也会给朋友复制软件；还有人会免费提供软件网络下载。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This means that software itself, a necessary supporting part of a business or community project, will be both inexpensive and legal.
zh_CN: 这意味着软件本身，作为商业或社区项目的必要支持部分，既不会昂贵，也是合法的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Think of this from the point of view of a small business or community supported group.  The organization can use restricted-distribution, proprietary software, and either pay a lot of money it does not have, or break the law and steal it.
zh_CN: 让我们从小企业或小社团的角度来看这个问题。这些机构如果要用限制发布的、专有的软件，它们或者花大价钱，或者违反法律偷来用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: On the other hand, free software is inexpensive and legal.  It is more accessible.  It is also customizable in ways that restricted software often is not.  This is empowering.
zh_CN: 在另一方面，自由软件既便宜又合法。它更容易获得。而且它支持专有软件通常不支持的定制方式。这就是赋能。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We shape the development of this technology, we create collaboration, through the use of a legal tool, a license, that gives you more rights than you would have otherwise, that forbids you to forbid, that in this case, gives you the right to copy, study, modify, and redistribute the software.
zh_CN: 我们塑造这项科技的开发，我们创建合作；我们使用的是合法的工具——许可证，它赋予你比其他方式更多的权利，它禁止限制；在这种条件下，它赋予你复制、学习、修改和分发软件的权利。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Because of the freedoms associated with it, this software is called &ldquo;free software.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 因为它有这样的自由，所以这样的软件叫做 &ldquo;自由软件。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: While I am speaking of this phrase, let me clear up a verbal issue that sometimes confuses English speakers.
zh_CN: 当我使用这个名词的时候，请允许我澄清一下这个名词会给英语读者带来的困惑。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The low price of free software leads some English speakers to think that the word &ldquo;free&rdquo; in the phrase &ldquo;free software&rdquo; means they can obtain it without cost.  This is not the definition, which is about <a href="/philosophy/open-source-misses-the-point.html">freedom</a>, but it is an easy misunderstanding.  After all, I have been talking of frugal use of resources, software that is inexpensive.
zh_CN: 自由软件（free software）的低价让一些英语读者认为其中的 &ldquo;free&rdquo; 表示他们可以免费获得自由软件。这不是自由软件的定义，它关乎 <a href="/philosophy/open-source-misses-the-point.html">自由</a>，但是这很容易让人误解。不管怎样，我一直在说节省资源、便宜的软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The English word &ldquo;free&rdquo; has several meanings.  As a Mexican friend of mine&mdash;and leader, by the way, of a major free software project&mdash;once said to me,
zh_CN: 英语单词 &ldquo;free&rdquo; 有几个意思。我的一位墨西哥朋友&mdash;&mdash;顺便说一下，也是一个大型自由软件项目的领导者&mdash;&mdash;有次对我说，

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: English is broken; it does not distinguish between &ldquo;free beer&rdquo; and &ldquo;free speech.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 英语很烂；它不能区分 &ldquo;免费啤酒&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;言论自由&rdquo;。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Spanish, on the other hand, distinguishes between &ldquo;gratis&rdquo; and &ldquo;libre.&rdquo; Free software is &ldquo;libre&rdquo; software.
zh_CN: 而西班牙语，就区分 &ldquo;免费（gratis）&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;自由（libre）&rdquo;。自由软件是 &ldquo;libre&rdquo; 软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Likewise, the language of our hosts, Bahasa Melayu, distinguishes between &ldquo;pecuma&rdquo; and &ldquo;kebebasa.&rdquo; Free software is &ldquo;kebebasa&rdquo; software.
zh_CN: 同样的，我们的主办方，Bahasa Melayu，也区分 &ldquo;免费（pecuma）&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;自由（kebebasa）&rdquo;。自由软件是 &ldquo;kebebasa&rdquo; 软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Incidentally, Eric Raymond and Bruce Perens invented the phrase &ldquo;open source&rdquo; a few years ago as a synonym &ldquo;free software.&rdquo; They wanted to work around the dislike many companies have of free markets.  The phrase is popular; Eric and Bruce succeeded in their purpose.
zh_CN: 顺便说一下，Eric Raymond 和 Bruce Perens 在几年前发明了 &ldquo;开源&rdquo; 一词，作为 &ldquo;自由软件&rdquo; 的同义词。他们本想避开许多公司对自由市场的不快。这个词变得受人欢迎；Eric 和 Bruce 成功地达到了他们的目的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, I prefer the term &ldquo;free software&rdquo; since it better conveys the goal of freedom; the proposition that every man and woman, even a person who lives in a third world country, has the right to do first rate work, and must not be forbidden from doing so.
zh_CN: 不过，我更喜欢 &ldquo;自由软件&rdquo; 这个名词，因为它更好地表达了自由的目的；它主张每个人，无论男女，甚至是生活在第三世界的人们，都有权作出一流的工作，而且不能被禁止作出这样的工作。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I mentioned that a business or community can use software that is inexpensive and legal.
zh_CN: 我说过商业或社区可以使用低价且合法的软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now let me turn to the software industry itself.
zh_CN: 现在让我们转到软件行业本身。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Because competition in a competitive market forces down the price of free software, no one enters the software industry to sell software as such.  Instead, and this is often not understood, a business enters the industry to make money in other ways.
zh_CN: 因为竞争市场的竞争使自由软件价格降低，所以没有人会因为要销售自由软件而进入软件行业。与之相反，进入该行业是有其他的赚钱方式，人们通常并不理解这一点。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Companies and people in the &ldquo;software industry&rdquo; do not sell software itself, but services associated with software or hardware or other solutions.
zh_CN: &ldquo;软件行业&rdquo; 的公司和个人并不销售软件本身，他们销售的是和软件相关的服务、硬件或其他解决方案。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is what happens in the medical and legal professions.  Both medical knowledge and law are freely redistributable.  Physicians and lawyers sell their services to solve problems.
zh_CN: 这正是医药行业和法律行业的做法。医学知识和法律都是免费分发的。医生和律师销售的是解决问题的服务。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What services do I mean? Most directly, help in using a computer, or, to take more specific examples, help in setting up a packet radio network where there is no telephone, or help in creating and nurturing a warehouse data base.
zh_CN: 我说的服务是什么？最直接的是，帮助人们使用电脑，或者更具体一点，帮助没有电话的人们搭建无线网络，或者帮助创建与丰富仓储数据库。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Less directly, and increasingly, hardware companies that sell telephones or desalinization plants, add software to their products to make them more attractive to buyers.
zh_CN: 不太直接的而且正在增长的是，硬件公司销售电话或海水淡化设备，或者在产品中增加软件让产品更吸引买家。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Incidentally, programmers themselves write software for four main reasons: first, because they are hired to solve a problem, just as a lawyer is hired to draw up a contract.  Second, as part of another project.  Third, because it enhances their reputation.  And fourth, because they want to.
zh_CN: 顺便说一下，程序员写软件主要有四个原因：第一，因为有人雇他们解决问题，就象有人雇律师写合同一样。第二，程序是项目的一部分。第三，因为程序可以提高他们的名气。第四，因为他们想写程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I have spoken about shaping this technology for collaboration.  The key is freedom, and creating the legal framework that supports freedom.
zh_CN: 我说过以合作塑造该技术。重点就是自由，并且要创造支持自由的法律框架。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now let me talk about initiatives that lead to prosperity.
zh_CN: 现在，让我们来谈谈导致繁荣的倡议。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One issue with development is resources, or rather, the lack thereof.
zh_CN: 开发的一个问题是资源，或者更进一步，是缺乏资源。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As I said earlier, free software reduces barriers to entry, both in the software industry itself and in other industries and activities.
zh_CN: 如刚才所说，自由软件降低了门槛，对软件行业本身和对其他行业与活动都一样。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Free software, and the culture and ways people tend to think when they collaborate, reduces operational costs.
zh_CN: 自由软件，以及人们合作时倾向于考虑的文化和方式，降低了运营成本。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Let me take an example that comes directly from this conference.  First I should tell you that I have correspondents all over the world.  They are not all in rich countries.  They or their supporting institutions are not always rich.
zh_CN: 让我来举一个直接来自本次大会的例子。首先，我应该告诉大家我的联系人遍布世界各地。他们不是都在富裕国家。他们或者他们所在的机构也不总是有钱。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The first messages about this conference that I received took up more than four and a half times the resources needed to convey the information.  The messages were sent in a bloated form.
zh_CN: 我收到的关于此次大会的第一个消息花费了比传播该消息多四倍半的资源。这个消息的格式过于庞大。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Next time you budget for a project, consider paying four and a half times its cost.  Then consider whether you would fund it.
zh_CN: 下次项目预算的时候，请想象比成本多花四倍半的钱。然后，你再考虑还要不要资助这个项目。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Next time you pay at a restaurant, take out four and a half times the money&hellip;
zh_CN: 下次你在餐馆结账时，请支付四倍半的钱&hellip;&hellip;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For me the resource use was not an issue because I don't pay by the minute for telecommunications, as many do.  But I know that my correspondents around the world prefer that I take care in my communications that I do not waste their money or that of their supporting institutions.
zh_CN: 对我而言，资源的使用不是问题，因为我不象许多人那样按照通信的分钟数付钱。但是，我知道我在全世界的联系人希望我注意我的通信，这样我就不会浪费他们的钱或他们所在机构的经费。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A notable feature of free software is that many applications run well on older, less capable machines, as I mentioned earlier.  For example, a couple of months ago I ran a window manager, graphical Web browser, and an image manipulation program on my sister's old 486 machine.  These worked fine.
zh_CN: 如我所言，自由的一个显著特点就是许多应用可以很好地在较老的、性能不佳的机器上运行。比如，几个月前我在我妹妹的旧486电脑上运行着一个窗口管理器、一个图形界面网络浏览器以及一个图像处理程序。一切正常。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Text editors, electronic mail, and spreadsheets require even fewer resources.
zh_CN: 文本编辑器、电子邮件和电子表格所需要的资源甚至更少。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This frugality means that people can use older equipment that has been tossed out by first world companies.  Such equipment is inexpensive and often donated.  The computers need to be transported.  Sometimes you need to start a local project to refurbish the hardware and load it with inexpensive, customized, free software.  These machines cost the end user less than new machines.
zh_CN: 这种节省意味着人们可以使用第一世界的公司淘汰下来的老旧设备。这些设备不贵，而且通常会是捐赠品。这些计算机需要运送。有时，你需要启动一个本地项目来翻新硬件并安装便宜的、定制的自由软件。这些计算机对最终用户来说比新机器便宜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: At the same time, manufacturers are building modern, low end computers that do as much as the older ones, and are not too expensive.
zh_CN: 与此同时，制造商也在制造现代的低端计算机，它们和老机器一样好用，而且也不是太贵。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is no need to acquire expensive, new hardware to run your software.
zh_CN: 你没有必要使用昂贵的新硬件来运行软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In conclusion&mdash;
zh_CN: 结论&mdash;&mdash;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I was asked to speak on
zh_CN: 我要讲的内容是

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: &ldquo;Shaping Collaborative ICT Development and Initiatives for Global Prosperity&rdquo;
zh_CN: &ldquo;塑造信息与通信技术的合作开发及全球繁荣之倡议&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Over the past 16 years, I have worked with people who shaped software through a legal tool that gives you many freedoms: the freedoms to copy, study, modify, and redistribute the software.
zh_CN: 在过去的16年，我与众人一起通过一种赋予你许多自由的法律工具来塑造软件：复制、学习、修改和分发软件的自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This tool shapes software technology to make it more accessible and more empowering; it encourages people to work collaboratively, and provides a technology for better governance.
zh_CN: 该工具塑造软件技术，使之更易得和更给力；它鼓励人们合作，而且提供一种更好管控的技术。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This legal tool means that companies in the ICT industry compete not to sell software itself, but to sell services associated with it, or to sell hardware, or other solutions.
zh_CN: 这个法律工具意味着信息与通信技术行业的公司不再为销售软件本身而竞争，而是要销售与软件相关的服务、硬件或解决方案。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This legal framework means that companies will provide more reliable and efficient services.
zh_CN: 这种法律框架意味着公司将提供更可靠和更高效的服务。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Freedom, ensured by a proper license, means that people who use computers and telecommunications as tools can enter their industry more easily.
zh_CN: 自由——被一个合理的许可证保障——意味着使用计算机和通信作为工具的人可以更容易地进入这个行业。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It means that all users can reduce their entry and operational costs.  It means that people in poorer countries are not shipping off their money to a rich country, but are keeping their money in the local economy.
zh_CN: 它意味着所有用户降低了进入行业和运营的成本。它意味着贫穷国家的人不用再把钱交给富裕的国家，而是在本地经济中消费。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Moreover, as I said above, restricted-distribution software licenses often force people to choose between violating the law and paying money they may not have.
zh_CN: 更进一步，如上所述，限制分发的软件许可证通常迫使人们在违法和没钱支付的高价之间做选择。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As a matter of good governance, a country should not force people who are trying to do a decent job into making such decisions.  Too often an otherwise law-abiding person who lacks resources will choose to violate the law.
zh_CN: 作为有效的管理，一个国家不应迫使想做事的人们面临如此的抉择。一个原本守法的人由于缺乏资源而挺而走险的事已经发生太多。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Instead, a country should arrange matters such that acting in a law abiding manner is without doubt the best action, for legal, moral, and practical reasons.  People always hope their neighbors will be law abiding and honest; free software encourages that.
zh_CN: 作为替代，国家对事物的处理应该是：守法毋庸置疑是最佳实践，无论从法律的原因、道德的原因，还是实用的原因。人们总是希望自己的邻居是守法诚信的人；自由软件鼓励这样做。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Free software empowers people who previously were kept out.
zh_CN: 自由软件为原先被拒之门外的人赋能。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't have notes. type: Content of: <div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S NOTES*
zh_CN: <h3>译注</h3>
    <ol>
    <li id="TransNote1">Oxfam：乐施会，一个国际性的发展和救援组织。</li>
    </ol>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对 FSF&amp;GNU 的一般询问发送到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系 FSF 的 <a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和 &rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;，请发信到 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 1996-1998, 2023, 2024 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
zh_CN: Copyright &copy; 1996-1998, 2023, 2024 Free Software Foundation, Inc.<br></br>Copyright &copy; 2024 XIE Wensheng (translation)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2025。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
