censoring-emacs.html - en to ko translation catalogue (18 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Censoring My Software - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 나의 소프트웨어를 검열하다 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Censoring My Software
ko: 나의 소프트웨어를 검열하다

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Last summer, a few clever legislators proposed a bill to &ldquo;prohibit pornography&rdquo; on the Internet. Last fall, the right-wing Christians made this cause their own. Last week, President Clinton signed the bill. This week, I'm censoring GNU Emacs.
ko: 지난 여름, 몇몇 약사빠른 국회 의원들이 인터넷 상의 &ldquo;음란물 유포 금지&rdquo;에 대한 법안을 제출했으며 그해 가을에는 우익 기독교인들이 이 상정안에 동의를 표시했습니다. 또한 지난주에는 클린턴 대통령이 그 법안에 서명을 했고, 나는 이번 중에 GNU Emacs를 검열하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: No, GNU Emacs does not contain pornography. It's a software package, an award-winning extensible and programmable text editor. But the law that was passed applies to far more than pornography. It prohibits &ldquo;indecent&rdquo; speech, which can include anything from famous poems, to masterpieces hanging in the Louvre, to advice about safe sex &hellip; to software.
ko: GNU Emacs는 어떠한 음란물도 담고 있지 않습니다. 그것은 확장 가능하며 프로그래밍이 가능한 아주 훌륭한 텍스트 에디터일 뿐입니다. 그러나 통과된 법안은 음란물보다 훨씬 광범위한 곳에도 적용됩니다. 그 대상이 명시(名詩)의 명구(名句)나 루브르 박물관에 걸린 명작이나, 안전한 성관계에 대한 조언, 그리고 소프트웨어라 하더라도 어떠한 형태의 &ldquo;외설스러운 말&rdquo;도 모두 금지하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Naturally, there was a lot of opposition to this bill. Not only from people who use the Internet and people who appreciate erotica, but from everyone who cares about freedom of the press.
ko: 당연히 이 법안에는 많은 반대가 있었습니다. 성인물을 좋아하는 많은 사람들은 물론이고 언론의 자유에 대해서 걱정하는 사람들까지도 반대하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But every time we tried to tell the public what was at stake, the forces of censorship responded with a lie: They told the public that the issue was simply pornography. By embedding this lie as a presupposition in their other statements about the issue, they succeeded in misinforming the public. So now I am censoring my software.
ko: 그러나 우리에게 어떤 위험이 처해있는 지를 사람들에게 알리려고 노력할 때마다, 검열 당국은 항상 대중들에게 단지 음람물만이 이 법안에 해당된다는 거짓말로 대응합니다. 그들은 검열에 대한 모든 입장 표명에 있어서 이러한 거짓말을 전제시키는 방법을 통해서 대중들을 기만하는데 성공하고 있습니다. 그래서 나는 이제 나의 소프트웨어를 검열하려고 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You see, Emacs contains a version of the famous &ldquo;doctor program,&rdquo; a.k.a. Eliza, originally developed by Professor Weizenbaum at <abbr title="Massachusetts Institute of Technology">MIT</abbr>.  This is the program that imitates a Rogerian psychotherapist. The user talks to the program, and the program responds&mdash;by playing back the user's own statements, and by recognizing a long list of particular words.
ko: 알다시피, Emacs에는 MIT의 와이젠바움(Weizenbaum) 교수가 개발한 Eliza(엘리자)라는 이름의 유명한 &ldquo;의사(doctor) 프로그램&rdquo;이 포함되어 있습니다. 이 프로그램은 마르타 로저(Martha Roger) 여사가 제안한 모델을 이용해서 만들어진 대화형 구조의 심리 치료 프로그램입니다. 사용자가 프로그램에게 증상을 말하면, 프로그램이 사용자의 말을 똑같이 반복하거나 특정 단어를 기준으로 판단해서 진단을 해 줍니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The Emacs doctor program was set up to recognize many common curse words and respond with an appropriately cute message such as, &ldquo;Would you please watch your tongue?&rdquo; or &ldquo;Let's not be vulgar.&rdquo; In order to do this, it had to have a list of curse words. That means the source code for the program was indecent.
ko: Emacs의 doctor 프로그램은 많은 일상적인 욕설을 인식하고 그에 따라서 &ldquo;말을 좀 젊잖게 사용해 주시겠습니까?&rdquo;나 &ldquo;우리 교양있게 얘기합시다!&rdquo; 와 같은 재미있는 메시지로 반응하도록 만들어져 있습니다. 이것을 구현하기 위해서 소스 코드에는 상당량의 욕설이 저장되어있습니다. 다시 말하면 프로그램의 소스 코드는 외설스러운 말을 담고 있다는 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So this week I removed that feature. The new version of the doctor doesn't recognize the indecent words; if you curse at it, it replays the curse back to you&mdash;for lack of knowing better. (When the new version starts up, it announces that it has been censored for your protection.)
ko: 그래서 이번주에 나는 그 기능을 없애 버렸습니다. 새로운 버전의 의사 프로그램은 외설스러운 말을 인식하지 못합니다. 따라서 여러분이 욕설을 한다고 해도 프로그램은 잘 알아 듣지 못하고 단순히 여러분을 따라서 말할 뿐입니다. (새로운 버전은 실행 초기 화면에 여러분을 보호하기 위해서 검열되었다는 사실을 출력합니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now that Americans face the threat of two years in prison for indecent network postings, it would be helpful if they could access precise rules for avoiding imprisonment via the Internet. However, this is impossible. The rules would have to mention the forbidden words, so posting them on the Internet would violate those same rules.
ko: 이제 미국인들은 네트워크상에 외설스러운 글을 올리면 2년형을 언도받을 위기에 처해있기 때문에 만약 인터넷을 통해서 그러한 위험을 모면할 수 있는 방법을 참고할 수 있다면 좋겠지만, 금지된 단어들을 인터넷에서 사용하는 것 또한 같은 법률에 의해서 금지되어 있기 때문에 도움을 얻을 수 있는 방법이 없습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Of course, I'm making an assumption about just what &ldquo;indecent&rdquo; means.  I have to do this, because nobody knows for sure. The most obvious possible meaning is the meaning it has for television, so I'm using that as a tentative assumption. However, there is a good chance that our courts will reject that interpretation of the law as unconstitutional.
ko: 물론, 저는 Emacs를 검열하는데 있어서 &ldquo;외설&rdquo;의 기준을 나름대로 정했습니다. 왜냐하면 아무도 그 기준을 정확하게 알지 못하기 때문입니다. 외설에 대한 가능한 가장 명확한 의미는 TV에 적용된 것입니다. 그래서 저는 그러한 기준을 이용해서 임시적인 기준을 정했습니다. 그렇지만, 오히려 &ldquo;인터넷 상의 음란물 유포 금지&rdquo; 법안이 잘못 적용되는 벌률 해석상의 문제를 법원이 위헌으로 판결할 수 있는 좋은 계기가 되리라고 생각합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We can hope that the courts will recognize the Internet as a medium of publication like books and magazines. If they do, they will entirely reject any law prohibiting &ldquo;indecent&rdquo; publications on the Internet.
ko: 우리는 법원이 책이나 잡지와 같은 출판 매체로서 인터넷을 바라보기를 바라고 있습니다. 만약 그렇게 된다면 법원은 인터넷상의 &ldquo;외설적인&rdquo; 출판을 금지하는 어떠한 법적 금지도 거부할 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What really worries me is that the courts might choose a muddled half-measure&mdash;by approving an interpretation of &ldquo;indecent&rdquo; that permits the doctor program or a statement of the decency rules, but prohibits some of the books that any child can browse through in the public library. Over the years, as the Internet replaces the public library, some of our freedom of speech will be lost.
ko: 진정으로 제가 걱정하는 것은 법원이 아이들이 읽을 수 있는 공공 도서관의 몇몇 책을 금지하는 반면 의사 프로그램이나 통신 품위법에는 외설을 허용하는 애매한 해석상의 선택를 하는 것입니다. 시간이 지나면 인터넷은 공공 도서관을 대체할 것이고 우리들은 말할 수 있는 자유의 일부를 잃어버리게 될 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Just a few weeks ago, another country imposed censorship on the Internet. That was China. We don't think well of China in this country&mdash;its government doesn't respect basic freedoms. But how well does our government respect them? And do you care enough to preserve them here?
ko: 불과 몇 주일 전에 다른 나라에서 인터넷 상의 검열을 시작하고 있습니다. 그곳은 중국입니다. 우리는 중국에 대해서 좋은 생각을 갖고 있지 않습니다. 왜냐하면 중국은 기본적인 자유를 존중하지 않는 국가이기 때문입니다. 그러나 우리의 정부는 그러한 자유를 얼마나 존중해 왔습니까? 그리고 우리는 이땅에서 자유를 지키기 위해서 수없이 노력해 오지 않았습니까?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If you care, stay in touch with the Voters Telecommunications Watch.  Look in their Web site http://www.vtw.org/ for background information and political action recommendations. Censorship won in February, but we can beat it in November.
ko: 만약, 여러분이 이러한 부분에 관심을 갖고 있다면 유권자 통신 감시단(Voters Telecommunications Watch)에 참여해 주십시요. http://www.vtw.org/를 통해서 유권자 통신 감시단에 대한 정보와 그들이 권고하는 정치 행동 방안을 살펴볼 수 있습니다. 검열안에 대한 법안이 2월에 의회를 통과하기는 했지만, 우리는 11월에 있을 대법원 위헌 심판에서 승리할 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: 최근 수정일: 6 Apr 2001 chsong

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
