en to zh_CN translation catalogue (38 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why There Are No GIF Files on GNU Web Pages - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 为什么 GNU 网页没有 GIF 图片 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Why There Are No GIF Files on GNU Web Pages
zh_CN: 为什么 GNU 网页没有 GIF 图片

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <em>There is no special patent threat to GIF format nowadays as far as we know; <a href="#venuenote">the patents that were used to attack GIF have expired</a>.  Nonetheless, this article will remain pertinent as long as programs can be forbidden by patents, since the same sorts of things could happen in any area of computing.  See <a href="/server/standards/gnu-website-guidelines.html#UseofGraphics">our website policies regarding GIFs</a>.</em>
zh_CN: <em>就我们目前所知，GIF 格式已经没有特别的专利威胁；<a href="#venuenote">过去用来进行攻击的 GIF 专利已经过期</a>。尽管如此，只要专利还在禁止程序，那么本文仍然相关，因为类似的事情还是会在计算机领域出现。请参看 <a href="/server/standards/gnu-website-guidelines.html#UseofGraphics">我们的网站对于 GIF 的政策</a>。</em>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There are no GIFs on the GNU web site because of the patents (Unisys and IBM) covering the LZW compression algorithm which is used in making GIF files.  These patents make it impossible to have free software to generate proper GIFs.  They also apply to the <strong>compress</strong> program, which is why GNU does not use it or its format.
zh_CN: 因为 Unisys 和 IBM 关于制作 GIF 文件的 LZW 压缩算法专利，GNU 网站没有 GIF 文件。这些专利使我们无法使用自由软件生成正常的 GIF 文件。<strong>压缩</strong> 程序也受到这些专利的影响，所以 GNU 不用 GIF 或者 GIF 格式。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Unisys and IBM both applied for patents in 1983.  Unisys (and perhaps IBM) applied for these patents in a number of countries.  Of the places whose patent databases we were able to search, the latest expiration date seems to be 1 October 2006&#8239;<a class="ftn" href="#venuenote">[1]</a>. Until then, anyone who releases a free program for making GIF files is likely to be sued.  We don't know any reason to think that the patent owners would lose these lawsuits.
zh_CN: Unisys 和 IBM 两方都在1983年申请了该专利。Unisys（或许还有 IBM）在多个国家申请了该专利。在那些可以进行搜索的专利库里，该专利最后的期限大概是2006年10月1日&#8239;<a class="ftn" href="#venuenote">[1]</a>。除非专利过期，任何发布自由软件来制作 GIF 文件的人都可能被起诉。我们没有理由认为专利持有者会败诉。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If we released such a program, Unisys and IBM might think it wiser (for public relations reasons) not to sue a charity like the FSF.  They could instead sue the users of the program, including the companies who redistribute GNU software.  We feel it would not be responsible behavior for us to set up this situation.
zh_CN: 如果我们发布了这样的程序，Unisys 和 IBM 也许会明智地考虑（为了公关的原因）不起诉 FSF 这样的慈善机构。他们可能会起诉使用该程序的用户，包括发布 GNU 软件的公司。我们觉得有责任不让大家陷入此种境地。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Many people think that Unisys has given permission for distributing free software to make GIF format.  Unfortunately that is not what Unisys has actually done.  Here is what Unisys actually said about the matter in 1995:
zh_CN: 许多人以为 Unisys 已经允许大家发布制作 GIF 格式的自由软件。不幸的是，Unisys 实际上并没有那么做。下面是 Unisys 在1995年就此事的实际发言：

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: Unisys does not require licensing, or fees to be paid, for non-commercial, non-profit GIF-based applications, including those for use on the on-line services.  Concerning developers of software for the Internet network, the same principle applies.  Unisys will not pursue previous inadvertent infringement by developers producing versions of software products for the Internet prior to 1995. The company does not require licensing, or fees to be paid for non-commercial, non-profit offerings on the Internet, including &ldquo;Freeware.&rdquo;
zh_CN: Unisys 对非商业的、非盈利的 GIF 应用不要求许可证，也不收取费用，包括在线服务应用。对于网络开发者，原则相同。Unisys 对1995年之前非故意侵权的网络产品开发者不再追究。本公司对非商业的、非盈利的互联网产品，包括 &ldquo;共享软件（Freeware）&rdquo;，不要求许可证，也不收取费用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Unfortunately, this doesn't permit <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">free software</a> which can be used in a free operating system such as GNU.  It also does not permit <em>at all</em> the use of LZW for other purposes such as compression of files.  This is why we think it is still best to reject LZW, and switch to alternatives such as <a href="/software/gzip/gzip.html">GNU Gzip</a> and PNG.
zh_CN: 不幸的是，这个说法不允许象 GNU 这样的自由操作系统使用此类 <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">自由软件</a>。它也 <em>完全</em> 不允许使用 LZW 做其他用途，比如压缩文件。这就是为什么我们认为最好还是拒绝使用 LZW，并使用其他替代方案，比如 <a href="/software/gzip/gzip.html">GNU Gzip</a> 和 PNG。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <a href="/philosophy/selling.html">Commercial redistribution of free software</a> is very important, and we want the GNU system as a whole to be redistributed commercially.  This means we can't add a GIF-generating program to GNU, not under the Unisys terms.
zh_CN: <a href="/philosophy/selling.html">自由软件的商业发行</a> 非常重要，我们希望 GNU 系统能够作为一个整体进行商业发行。这就意味着我们不能在 GNU 系统中加入生成 GIF 的程序，不能按照 Unisys 条款来做。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The <a href="https://www.fsf.org">Free Software Foundation</a> is a non-commercial, non-profit organization, so strictly speaking the income from our sales of <a href="https://shop.fsf.org/">CD-ROMs</a> is not &ldquo;profit.&rdquo; Perhaps this means we could include a GIF program on our CD-ROM and claim to be acting within the scope of the Unisys permission&mdash;or perhaps not.  But since we know that other redistributors of GNU would be unable to include it, doing this would not be very useful.
zh_CN: <a href="https://www.fsf.org">自由软件基金会</a> 是一个非商业、非盈利的组织，因此严格来说，我们销售 <a href="https://shop.fsf.org/">光盘</a> 的收入不是 &ldquo;利润&rdquo;。也许这意味着我们可以在光盘中包含 GIF 程序，并声明按照 Unisys 的许可操作&mdash;&mdash;或者也许不需要。但是因为我们知道其他发行商不能包含该程序，所以这么做也未必有用处。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Shortly after Unisys made its announcement, when the net in general was reassured thinking that Unisys had given permission for free GIF-generating software, we wrote to the Unisys legal department asking for clarification of these issues.  We did not receive a response.
zh_CN: 在 Unisys 发布声明后不久，当网络上大家一般都以为 Unisys 允许了自由的 GIF 生成软件时，我们曾写信给 Unisys 的法务部门，请他们澄清这些问题。我们没有收到答复。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Even if Unisys really did give permission for free software to generate GIFs, we would still have to deal with the IBM patent.  Both the IBM and the Unisys patents cover the same &ldquo;invention&rdquo;&mdash;the LZW compression algorithm.  (This could reflect an error on the part of the US Patent and Trademark Office, which is famous for incompetence and poor judgment.)
zh_CN: 即使 Unisys 真的允许使用自由软件生成 GIF，我们还要对付 IBM 的专利。IBM 和 Unisys 的专利包含同样的 &ldquo;发明&rdquo;&mdash;&mdash;LZW 压缩算法。（这也许暴露了美国专利和商标局的一个错误，他们本来就以无能和判断力差而著称。）

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Decoding GIFs is a different issue.  The Unisys and IBM patents are both written in such a way that they do not apply to a program which can only uncompress LZW format and cannot compress.  Therefore we can and will include support for displaying GIF files in GNU software.
zh_CN: 解码 GIF 是不同的问题。按照 Unisys 和 IBM 专利的写法，它们不适用于只做 LZW 解压而不做压缩的程序。因此，我们可以并且也会在 GNU 软件中支持显示 GIF 图片。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Given this situation, we could still include GIF files in our web pages if we wanted to.  Many other people would be happy to generate them for us, and we would not be sued for having GIF files on our server.
zh_CN: 这样看来，如果愿意，我们还是可以在网页中包含 GIF 文件的。许多人很高兴为我们生成图片，而且我们也不会因为服务器上有 GIF 文件被起诉。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But we feel that if we can't distribute the software to enable people to generate GIF files properly, then we should not have other people run such software for us.  Besides, if we can't provide software in GNU to generate GIF files, we have to recommend an alternative.  We ourselves should use the alternative that we recommend.
zh_CN: 但是我们觉得如果我们不能发行让人们生成 GIF 的软件，那么我们也不应该让其他人为我们运行此类软件。此外，如果我们不能在 GNU 系统中提供生成 GIF 文件的软件，那么我们要推荐其他方案。我们自己就要使用我们推荐的方案。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In 1999, Unisys had the following to say about the issue of their patent:
zh_CN: 在1999年，Unisys 关于其专利问题说：

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: Unisys has frequently been asked whether a Unisys license is required in order to use LZW software obtained by downloading from the Internet or from other sources. The answer is simple. In all cases, a written license agreement or statement signed by an authorized Unisys representative is required from Unisys for all use, sale or distribution of any software (including so-called &ldquo;freeware&rdquo;) and/or hardware providing LZW conversion capability (for example, downloaded software).
zh_CN: Unisys 经常被问起是否使用从网络其他地方下载的 LZW 软件需要 Unisys 的许可证。回答很简单。无论什么情况，由 Unisys 授权代表签发的许可证协议或声明都是必须的，包括使用、销售或分发任何提供 LZW 能力（比如下载软件）的软件（包括所谓 &ldquo;共享软件&rdquo;）或硬件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With this statement, Unisys is trying to take back what they said in 1995 when they gave parts of the patent to the public. The legality of such a move is questionable.
zh_CN: 有了这个声明，Unisys 是在企图收回它在1995年说过的话：把部分专利交给公众。这种操作在法律上很有问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A further issue is that the LZW patents&mdash;and computational idea patents in general&mdash;are an offense against the freedom of programmers generally, and all programmers need to work together to <a href="/philosophy/limit-patent-effect.html">protect software from patents.</a>
zh_CN: 更深远的问题是 LZW 专利&mdash;&mdash;以及一般计算想法的专利&mdash;&mdash;对程序员的自由是个普遍意义的进攻，所有程序员都应该团结起来 <a href="/philosophy/limit-patent-effect.html">保护软件不受专利侵害。</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So even if we could find a solution to enable the free software community to generate GIFs, that isn't really a solution, not for the problem as a whole.  The solution is switching to another format and not using GIF any more.
zh_CN: 因此，即使我们能够找到让自由软件社区生成 GIF 的方案，那也不是一个真正的解决方案，不是整体解决此问题的方案。解决方案是使用其他格式，并不再使用 GIF。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Therefore, we don't use GIF, and we hope you won't use it either.
zh_CN: 所以，我们不用 GIF，我们希望你也不要用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is possible to make non-compressed images that act like GIFs, in that they work with programs that decode GIF format.  This can be done without infringing patents.  These pseudo-GIFs are useful for some purposes.
zh_CN: 制作类似 GIF 的非压缩文件是可能的，它们也支持解码 GIF 格式的程序。这样不必侵犯专利。这种伪 GIF 有时是可用的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is also possible to create GIFs using a patent-free run length encoding but this doesn't achieve the compression that one normally expects in a GIF.
zh_CN: 使用非专利的游程长度编码也肯能生成 GIF，不过不能达到人们一般会预期的 GIF 压缩。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We decided not to use these pseudo-GIFs on our web site because they are not a satisfactory solution to the community's problem.  They work, but they are very large.  What the web needs is a patent-free compressed format, not large pseudo-GIFs.
zh_CN: 因为伪 GIF 不是社区问题令人满意的解决方案，所以我们的网站也不使用它们。它们可用，但是非常大。网站需要的是非专利的压缩格式，而不是很大的伪 GIF。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portable_Network_Graphics">PNG format</a> is a patent-free compressed format.  We hope it will become widely supported; then we will use it.  We do provide PNG versions of most of the <a href="/graphics/graphics.html">images on this server</a>.
zh_CN: <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portable_Network_Graphics">PNG 格式</a> 就是一个没有专利的压缩格式。我们希望对它的广泛支持；然后我们就会使用它。我们为大多数 <a href="/graphics/graphics.html">服务器图片</a> 提供了 PNG 版本。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For more information about the GIF patent problems, see <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20150329143651/http://progfree.org/Patents/patents.html">the League for Programming Freedom GIF page</a>.  Through that page you can find more information about the <a href="https://endsoftwarepatents.org/">problem of software patents in general.</a>
zh_CN: 更多关于 GIF 专利问题的信息，请参看 <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20150329143651/http://progfree.org/Patents/patents.html">GIF 编程自由联盟的网页</a>。该网页还有关于 <a href="https://endsoftwarepatents.org/">软件专利的一般性问题</a> 更多的信息。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is a library called libungif that reads gif files and writes uncompressed gifs to circumvent the Unisys patent.
zh_CN: 有一个叫 libungif 的软件库可以读取 gif 文件并写成非压缩的 gif 来绕过 Unisys 专利。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20171203193534/http://burnallgifs.org/"> burnallgifs.org</a> is a web site devoted to discouraging the use of GIF files on the web.
zh_CN: <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20171203193534/http://burnallgifs.org/">burnallgifs.org</a> 是一个致力于减少网络使用 GIF 文件的网站。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Footnote
zh_CN: 脚注

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: We were able to search the patent databases of the USA, Canada, Japan, and the European Union. The Unisys patent expired on 20 June 2003 in the USA, in Europe it expired on 18 June 2004, in Japan the patent expired on 20 June 2004 and in Canada it expired on 7 July 2004. The U.S. IBM patent expired 11 August 2006. The Software Freedom Law Center says that after 1 October 2006, there will be no significant patent claims interfering with the use of static GIFs.
zh_CN: 我们曾搜索美国、加拿大、日本和欧盟的专利数据库。Unisys 的专利在美国于2003年6月20日失效，在欧盟是2004年6月18日失效，在日本是2004年6月20日失效，在加拿大是2004年7月7日失效。IBM 的专利在美国是2006年8月11日失效。软件自由法律中心说在2006年10月1日之后，没有重要的专利和使用静态 GIF 相关。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Animated GIFs are a different story.  We do not know what patents might cover them.  However, we have not heard reports of threats against use of animated GIFs.  Any software can be threatened by patents, but we have no reason to consider animated GIFs to be in particular danger&mdash;no particular reason to shun them.
zh_CN: 动画 GIF 有所不同。我们不知道有什么专利影响它们。不过，我们也没有听说关于使用动画 GIF 的任何专利威胁。任何软件都有可能被专利威胁，但是我们没有理由认为动画 GIF 受到特别的威胁&mdash;&mdash;没有特别的理由避免使用动画 GIF。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 1997-1999, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2013, 2021 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
zh_CN: Copyright &copy; 1997-1999, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2013, 2021 Free Software Foundation, Inc.<br></br>Copyright &copy; 2024 XIE Wensheng (translation)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2024。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
