en to zh_CN translation catalogue (54 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: History and Philosophy of the GNU Project - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: GNU 工程的历史和哲学 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: History and Philosophy of the GNU Project
zh_CN: GNU 工程的历史和哲学

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Translation of a speech that was given in German at the CLOWN (Cluster of Working Nodes&mdash; a 512-node cluster project of Debian GNU/Linux machines) in the University of Paderborn, Germany, on December 5th, 1998.
zh_CN: 本文（英语）是对1998年12月5日在德国帕德博恩大学的 CLOWN 项目（工作节点集群&mdash;&mdash;有 512 个 Debian GNU/Linux 计算机节点的项目）上的德语演讲的翻译。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The <a href="/philosophy/greve-clown.de.html">German original</a> is also available.  Reading the original is recommended.
zh_CN: 此处是 <a href="/philosophy/greve-clown.de.html">德语原文</a>。建议阅读原文。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <em> Author's note: In translating this speech, I have tried to stay as close as possible to the original speech that I have given in German. Breaking up the German structures and turning them into reasonable English has been quite some work, and I would like to thank my roommate Doug Chapin, a good friend and native American, who helped me with some phrases and words. The translation will never hold the same emotions and implications, but I think we got very close&hellip; </em>
zh_CN: <em>作者注：翻译过程中，我尽量保持原文风貌。分析德语并转换为得体的英文并不轻松，我要感谢我的室友 Doug Chapin，他是一个好朋友，是土生土长的美国人，他帮助我润色了词句。译文不能完全表达和原文一样的感情及语境，但是我认为我们做到了非常接近&hellip;&hellip;</em>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: During the preparation of this speech, I have read several documents and spoken to a lot of people. In doing so, I realized that even people whose jobs have been created more or less directly by the GNU Project did not know its true meaning. In the overall rush we are experiencing at the moment, it seems that a basic awareness of the roots has been lost. Tonight I hope I'll be able to uncover some of those roots again.
zh_CN: 在准备此次演讲的过程中，我读了一些文献并和许多人聊过。我发现，即使是那些工作或多或少是由 GNU 工程直接带来的人也并不了解其真正的含义。在我们正在经历的匆匆岁月中，我们似乎失去了对源头的基本认知。今晚，我希望自己能够再次揭示这些源头。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The origin lies somewhere in the transition from the 70's to the 80's, when the software industry became what we accept so willingly today. In the initial competition, some firms took to hoarding code as a survival strategy. While attempting to support this behavior's legality, they created phrases like &ldquo;software piracy&rdquo; because they suggest that something is lost when software is copied. People were forced to yield to licenses that bound them, to make sure that no one else had access to these programs.
zh_CN: 故事起源于70、80年代的过渡时期，当时软件行业正变得如今日一般司空见惯。在最初的竞争中，有些公司开始把秘藏代码作为一种生存策略。为了让这种行为合法化，他们杜撰出了象 &ldquo;盗版软件&rdquo; 这样的术语，因为他们想说软件被复制之后就象丢了东西一样。他们强迫人们向许可证屈服，确保除了他们没人可以拥有这些程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When a friend asked you whether he could copy a program from you, you immediately faced a dilemma. There are no disadvantages for you in copying the program, and it doesn't deteriorate during the copying process. It would be more restrictive if he asked you to pass the salt, since you can't both use it at the same time. The politics of the companies forced you to <em>choose</em> between legality and friendship.
zh_CN: 当你的朋友问你是否可以复制你的程序时，你马上就进退两难。复制一个程序对你并无不益，而且程序也不会因复制而损耗。如果朋友问你要的是食盐，你可能会犹豫，因为她用了，你就没有了。这些公司的政策就是强迫你在守法和友谊之间做 <em>选择</em>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A lot of people were upset about this, and most of them copied the program anyway&mdash;very often using lame excuses that were mostly aimed at calming their own troubled consciousness (induced by the firms' choice of words). The absolute hit was probably &ldquo;If I would use it more often I would pay it,&rdquo; a phrase that probably everyone caught himself using if he ever had to rely on proprietary software.
zh_CN: 很多人会对此很沮丧，而其中大多数人会复制那个程序&mdash;&mdash;通常会用一个站不住脚的借口来慰籍自己不安的心灵（从公司提供的选择获得灵感）。最佳的借口可能是 &ldquo;如果我经常用的话，我会付钱&rdquo;，这大概是每个对专有软件有依赖的人都会说的借口。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One man found this situation unbearable. Used to the early days, the (as he says himself) &ldquo;paradise,&rdquo; where freedom and responsible use of the possibilities determined the situation, Richard Stallman envisioned the concept of a completely free system. Very quickly it became clear that this system would be Unix-compatible and it was baptized&mdash;recursive acronyms were very popular back then&mdash;GNU, which means &ldquo;GNU's Not Unix.&rdquo; Stallman gathered some people who shared his fascination with a free system, and founded the GNU Free Software Foundation, of which he is still the president today.
zh_CN: 有个人对此无法忍受。他已经习惯于过去的岁月，（如他所言）&ldquo;天堂般的日子&rdquo;，那时自由和负责任的使用决定场景，Richard Stallman 萌生了一个完全自由系统的愿景。他很快就明白这个系统应该和 Unix 兼容，它命名为&mdash;&mdash;使用当时非常流行的递归缩写&mdash;&mdash;GNU，意思是 &ldquo;GNU's Not Unix&rdquo;。Stallman 召集了一些自由系统的志同道合者，并创立了 GNU 自由软件基金会。今天他仍然担任主席。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Since first of all a Unix system requires a large set of components, it became clear that these were the first step towards a completely free system. The GNU FSF worked on implementing them, and by the beginning of the 90's the GNU system was complete (with the exception of the kernel).  The GNU kernel&mdash;project name &ldquo;Hurd&rdquo;&mdash;has an extremely ambitious layout that proved to be very slow and clumsy in development. Fortunately, at this point Linus Torvalds' first Linux kernel was in the test phase, and when he saw the work already done by the GNU FSF, he put his kernel under the GNU GPL and made it the kernel of the GNU system.
zh_CN: 首先，由于 Unix 系统需要大量的组件，所以这些组件是一个完整自由系统的第一步。GNU FSF 开始开发组件，在90年代初，GNU 系统基本完成（除了内核）。GNU 的内核&mdash;&mdash;叫做 &ldquo;Hurd&rdquo; 的项目&mdash;&mdash;有着雄心勃勃的计划，然而开发很缓慢并且问题众多。幸运的是，此时 Linus Torvalds 的第一个 Linux 内核进入测试阶段，而当他看到 GNU FSF 已经完成的工作时，他把自己的内核以 GNU GPL 发布并让它成为 GNU 系统的内核。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is no need to tell the rest of the story since most of us have experienced it themselves.
zh_CN: 因为后面的故事大家都经历过了，我就不再赘述。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A little earlier I said that Richard Stallman envisioned the concept of free software. What I didn't tell you about was the philosophy that stands behind it.
zh_CN: 刚才我说了 Richard Stallman 打造了自由软件的愿景，但是我还没有讲这背后的哲学。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The word &ldquo;free&rdquo; in &ldquo;free software&rdquo; does not refer to price, but to freedom. This is no unproblematic topic, and recently some of the visionaries of the movement (like Eric Raymond)  have begun to talk about &ldquo;open source&rdquo; because &ldquo;freedom&rdquo; has an uneasy sound to it for most people. Freedom rings of &ldquo;making world a better place,&rdquo; and insecurity. It rings of change, and change frightens many people.  To numb this fear, other licenses for free software have been invented in order to make the concept digestible for more people and to avoid scaring the industry.
zh_CN: &ldquo;free software&rdquo; 中的 &ldquo;free&rdquo; 一词并不是指价格，而是自由。这并非毫无争议，而最近有些自由软件运动的前瞻者（如 Eric Raymond）开始讲 &ldquo;开源&rdquo;，因为 &ldquo;自由&rdquo; 对大多数人来说有点不舒服。自由敲响 &ldquo;让世界变得更好&rdquo; 的警钟，带来不安。它要改变，而改变让许多人害怕。为了平复这种恐惧，人们发明了其他的自由软件许可证来让更多的人能够接受自由软件的概念，同时避免吓坏软件行业。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: That is the reason why the GNU Project dislikes the term &ldquo;open source.&rdquo; We think it makes more sense to take away people's fears of the idea instead of blurring the concept. Only if users and firms are aware of the importance of freedom can we avoid falling back into old patterns.
zh_CN: 这就是 GNU 工程不喜欢 &ldquo;开源.&rdquo; 一词的原因。我们认为让人们摆脱恐惧比混淆概念更有意义。只有用户和公司明白自由的重要，我们才能避免重蹈覆辙。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The philosophy of the GNU Project says that <em>everyone</em> shall have the granted right to use a program, to copy it, and to change it to make it fit his or her needs. The <em>only</em> restriction the GNU General Public License makes, is that <em>NO ONE</em> has the right to take away this freedom from anyone else.
zh_CN: GNU 工程的哲学是 <em>每个人</em> 都固有权利来使用程序、复制程序以及修改程序使之适合自己的需求。GNU 通用公共许可证的 <em>唯一</em> 限制是 <em>没人</em> 有权剥夺其他人的上述自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When an author puts his code under the GNU GPL, the freedom is an inseparable part of his program. Of course, this is a thorn in the side of a lot of business'es eyes because it stops them from taking the code, modifying it, and then selling it as a proprietary program. As long as there are people who try to live the dream of instant wealth, it is this freedom that stops firms like Microsoft from corrupting the future development of our system.
zh_CN: 当作者把代码按照 GNU GPL 发布后，自由就成了程序不可分割的一部分。当然，许多商业人士视之为眼中钉，因为这让他们无法再拿走代码、修改代码，然后按照专有软件来销售。只要还有人梦想着赚快钱，自由软件的自由就会阻止象微软这样的公司毁坏自由系统未来的开发。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The most used argument against the GNU philosophy is probably that software is the &ldquo;intellectual property&rdquo; of the programmer, and it is only right if he can decide the price for which the program is distributed. This argument is easy to understand for everyone, since it is exactly what we have been told to believe during the last 20 years.
zh_CN: 针对 GNU 哲学最常用的争辩可能是说软件是程序员的 &ldquo;知识产权&rdquo;，这个论断只有在程序员能够决定其程序的发行价格时才是对的。大家都能理解这个论断，因为这正是过去20年来大家一直被告知去相信的论断。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Reality is a little different, though. Private programmers who can live off selling self-written software are the exception. Usually they give their rights to the firm they work at, and this firm earns the money by restricting access to that program. Effectively, the firm has the rights for that program and decides it's price, not the programmer.
zh_CN: 然而，实际情况有所不同。依靠销售自写软件生活的个人程序员是例外。程序员通常把权利给了他们工作的公司，而公司通过限制人们获得程序而赚钱。公司实际上有了对程序的权利而能对之定价，而不是程序员。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A lawyer who invents an especially brilliant strategy has no right to claim it as his &ldquo;intellectual property.&rdquo; The method is freely available to anyone. Why do we so willingly accept the concept that every line of code&mdash;no matter how poorly written or uninspired it may be&mdash;is so unique and incredibly personal? The zeal for control has taken over in a way that even human genes are subject to patents&hellip; although usually not by the people who &ldquo;use&rdquo; them. Should really <em>everything</em> be allowed to be patented and licensed?
zh_CN: 一个发明了某种非凡策略的律师并没有权利宣称那是他的 &ldquo;知识产权&rdquo;。他的策略每个人都可以自由使用。那么我们为什么愿意接受每行代码&mdash;&mdash;无论写得多烂或多么无趣&mdash;&mdash;是独特而属于个人的概念？有些人对控制权的执着是如此狂热，以至于即使是人类的基因也要申请专利&hellip;&hellip;被那些不怎么 &ldquo;用到&rdquo; 它们的人。难道 <em>一切</em> 都能申请专利和许可证？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is the question that is one of the core thoughts of the GNU Project. Let us just imagine there would be no such concept as patented software, or patenting software would be unusual because everyone published his programs under the GNU GPL.
zh_CN: 这是 GNU 工程的核心观点之一提出的问题。让我们想象一个没有软件专利的世界，或者一个每个人都使用 GNU GPL 发布软件而软件专利变得格格不入的世界。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Solutions for standard problems that had to be solved over and over again can be accessed easily. No one has to waste his time ever again to work on the same problem dozens of times&mdash;programmers could search for new ways and approach new problems. If a group of users needs a certain feature in a program, they just hire a programmer and let him implement it. Freed of the limitations of licenses and money, only two criteria would determine the development of programs: demand and quality.
zh_CN: 现在本来被一再重复解决的标准问题有了大家都可以使用的方案。人们不再浪费时间一次一次地解决同样的问题&mdash;&mdash;程序员将寻求新的方法并解决新的问题。如果有人需要某个功能，那么他们只需雇佣程序员来实现就好了。没有许可证和金钱的限制，程序的开发只取决于两个标准：需求和质量。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Speaking of quality&mdash;nowadays more and more firms realize that allowing the users to access the source code gives them a huge advantage. To say it in a simple way: more eyes can see more. Solutions that are unimaginable for one person are painfully obvious for someone else. Due to this advantage, free software is very often so much better than its proprietary counterpart.  The train of thought that now appears to be establishing itself within some firms is to give users access to the source code but not grant any other rights. Improvements are obediently being sent back to the firm, which advances its product with them. Basically a gigantic gratis development division. If we do not pay attention to these things <em>now</em>, it might happen that in 5 years we will have to pay for a version that has been produced by applying our own patch.
zh_CN: 关于质量&mdash;&mdash;现在越来越多的公司意识到让用户有源代码的访问权会让它们获得巨大的优势。简单来说：众人拾柴火焰高。一个人毫无头绪的问题，另一个人可能是小菜一碟。因为有这样的优势，自由软件常常远胜于同类的专有软件。现在有些公司开始适应给予用户访问软件代码的权限，但是还没有给予其他权利。人们顺从地把改进交给这些公司，让它们的产品变得先进。这基本上就是让公司有了一个庞大的免费开发部。如果我们 <em>现在</em> 不在意这件事，那么5年后我们可能不得不要为我们提交了改进的新版软件付费。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The concept of software as &ldquo;intellectual property&rdquo; carries the seed of doom inside itself (please forgive me for the pathos here).  As long as we accept this concept, we accept the danger that another firm will attempt to take control.  Microsoft is <em>not</em> evil incarnated, as some people seem to perceive. Microsoft is <em>the natural consequence</em> of the widely accepted system.
zh_CN: 软件是 &ldquo;知识产权&rdquo; 的概念本身就带有这样的宿命（请原谅我的悲观）。只要我们还接受这个概念，我们就接受了让公司获得掌控权的危险。不象有些人认为的那样，微软 <em>不是</em> 魔鬼的化身。微软是一个我们习以为常的系统的 <em>自然结果</em>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The fear of sawing the branch you're sitting on is also commonly spread, but completely irrational. Better programs lead to more users that have other needs and new ideas, creating more demand. The structure will change to fit the new situation but work will increase rather than decrease, and it will become less routine, hence more interesting.
zh_CN: 对自断后路的恐惧也是常见的观点。越是好的程序越是有更多的用户，那么也就有更多需求和新想法。新的情况会有新的结构来适应，但是工作会变多而不是变少，而且变得有趣而不那么平凡。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The last common fear that remains is the fear over lack of recognition. Well, the respect held for the frontmen of the different philosophies speaks for itself. I on my part would prefer to be as respected as Linus Torvalds or Richard Stallman than to have the reputation of Bill Gates.
zh_CN: 最后一个担心是担心缺乏认可。人以类聚，物以群分。我自己更想要象 Linus Torvalds 或 Richard Stallman 那样的尊敬，而不是 Bill Gates 那样的名声。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Admittedly, this does sound like bettering the world and idealism, but a lot of the really great ideas were driven by the wish to make the world a little better.
zh_CN: 诚然，这听起来并不象是改善了世界而且有点理想主义，但是许多真正的伟大思想都是发自把世界变得稍微好一点的愿望。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And to settle one point very clearly: no, the GNU Project is not against capitalism or firms in general, and it is not against software firms in particular. We do not want to diminish the potential for profit, quite the contrary. Every firm is being told to make as much money as they can off the sale of software, documentation and service&mdash;as long as they stick to the basic principles of Free Software.  The more these firms earn, the more they can invest into the development of new software. We do not want to destroy the market, we just want to fit it to the times.
zh_CN: 有一点非常明确：是的，广义上 GNU 工程并不反对资本主义或公司，而且它也不特别反对软件公司。我们并不想削弱获得收益的潜力。恰恰相反，每个公司都可以通过销售软件、文档和服务获取它们想要的利润，多多益善&mdash;&mdash;只要它们遵守自由软件的基本原则。公司赚的越多，它们就越有钱投资到新软件的开发。我们不要消灭市场，我们只是要让它跟上时代。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One short note about the basic principles: of course free software also requires free documentation. It doesn't make any sense to free the successor of the book&mdash;software&mdash;while accepting control of the direct digital equivalent. Free documentation is as important as free software itself.
zh_CN: 关于基本原则的一个简要说明：自由软件当然要求自由文档。让书籍的继承者&mdash;&mdash;软件&mdash;&mdash;自由而接受对电子书籍<sup><a href="#TransNote1">1</a></sup>的控制完全没有道理。自由文档和自由软件一样重要。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Maybe someone discarded my statement about seeking to &ldquo;fit the market to the times&rdquo; as a rhetorical statement, but it is an important point in the GNU Philosophy: the time when software was only relevant for a few freaks and some firms is long gone. Nowadays, software is the pathway to information. A system that blocks the pathways to information, and in doing so the access to information itself, <em>must</em> be reconsidered.
zh_CN: 也许有人会把我说的追求 &ldquo;让市场跟上时代&rdquo; 当作夸夸其谈抛之脑后。但是它是 GNU 哲学的一个重要观点：软件只和一些怪才和公司相关的时代已经早就结束了。今天，软件是信息的通道。一个阻挡信息通道的系统以及获得信息本身，<em>必须</em>被重新审视。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When Eric Raymond published the so called &ldquo;Halloween Document,&rdquo; it triggered emotions from euphoria to paranoia. For those of you who did not read it: it is a Microsoft internal study in which the strengths and weaknesses of free software in general, and Linux in particular, are analyzed. The author basically concluded that Microsoft has two possibilities to counter the threat.
zh_CN: 当 Eric Raymond 发布所谓 &ldquo;万圣节文档&rdquo; 时，它让人亢奋，也让人恐慌。如果你没有读过这个文档：它是微软研究自由软件的强项和弱点的内部报告，特别是分析了 Linux。其作者的基本结论是微软有两种可能来应对自由软件的威胁。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The first is the creation of new or modification of old protocols, documenting them only poorly or not at all, so that only Windows-based machines will have a working implementation.
zh_CN: 第一个是改变已有的协议或构建新的协议，同时让其文档模糊不清或者没有文档，这样就只有 Windows 电脑能够顺利实现这些协议。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One example of this tactic is the protocol used by HP &ldquo;Cxi&rdquo; printers, which have entered the market as extremely cheap &ldquo;Windows-Printers.&rdquo; The specifications have only been given to Microsoft, so these printers are not usable by any other system.
zh_CN: 这个伎俩的一个例子就是惠普 &ldquo;Cxi&rdquo; 打印机使用的协议，它作为超低价 &ldquo;Windows 打印机&rdquo; 发售。它的规格书只给了微软，所以其他系统无法使用该打印机。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I have been told by a &ldquo;professionally trained&rdquo; computer salesperson that the &ldquo;for Windows&rdquo; sticker means the printer needs a very special kind of RAM, which only Windows machines have; this is why it cannot be used under Linux. Something like this confuses the typical user, which brings me directly to the second described tactic.
zh_CN: 有个 &ldquo;受过职业培训的&rdquo; 计算机推销员告诉我 &ldquo;for Windows&rdquo; 标签意味着该打印机需要一种非常特殊的内存，而只有 Windows 电脑才有；这就是为什么它不能在 Linux 下使用。普通用户对此会很迷惑，而这正是我要讲的第二个伎俩。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: These tactics are usually gathered under the acronym &ldquo;FUD&rdquo; (Fear Uncertainty Doubt), and were used by IBM long before Microsoft uncovered them. The idea is clear: if you make someone uncertain enough, he or she will not dare make <em>any</em> decision, effectively remaining in his or her current position. That is the thought.
zh_CN: 第二种伎俩通常可以使用缩写词 &ldquo;FUD&rdquo;（Fear——害怕、Uncertainty——不确定、Doubt——怀疑）来汇总，它在被微软发现之前已经被 IBM 用了很久。其道理很清楚：如果你能让一个人足够不确定，他/她就不敢做 <em>任何</em> 决定，这就相当于让这个人保持目前的状态。就是这个想法。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For all times, education has been the arch-enemy of superstition.  We must not allow education to be hindered by allowing ourselves to become split.
zh_CN: 一直以来，教育就是迷信的死敌。我们决不能因允许自己变得分裂而让教育受到阻碍。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The most recognizable split in the recent history has been the already noted distinction between &ldquo;open source&rdquo; and &ldquo;free software.&rdquo; Telling both concepts apart is not an easy task, even for most insiders, and it is only understandable if viewed in a historical context. Since this is a central point, I'd like to say a few words about it.
zh_CN: 当前最明显的分裂是我们已经讲过的 &ldquo;开源&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;自由软件&rdquo; 的不同。即使对大多数内行，区分两者也不容易，只有在历史环境下才能理解它们的区别。由于这是一个中心要点，我再多说几句。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With the completion of the GNU system with the Linux kernel, there was suddenly a complete, powerful, free system available. This inevitably had to raise the public's attention sooner or later.
zh_CN: 当 GNU 系统和 Linux 内核完成后，我们突然就有了一个完全的、强大的自由系统。这迟早会引起公众的注意。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When this attention came, a lot of firms were disconcerted by the word &ldquo;free.&rdquo; The first association was &ldquo;no money,&rdquo; which immediately meant &ldquo;no profit&rdquo; for them. When people then tried to tell them that &ldquo;free&rdquo; truly stands for &ldquo;freedom,&rdquo; they were completely shaken.
zh_CN: 有了关注之后，&ldquo;free&rdquo; 一词让很多公司不安。他们首先联想到 &ldquo;不花钱&rdquo;，直接的意思就是 &ldquo;没有收益&rdquo;。当人们要告诉他们 &ldquo;free&rdquo; 真正的意思是 &ldquo;自由&rdquo; 时，他们完全震惊了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Infected by this insecurity and doubt, the idea arose to avoid words like &ldquo;free&rdquo; and &ldquo;freedom&rdquo; at all costs. The term &ldquo;open source&rdquo; was born.
zh_CN: 被不安和怀疑侵扰，人们要不顾一切地避免 &ldquo;free&rdquo;和 &ldquo;自由&rdquo; 的想法油然而生。&ldquo;开源&rdquo; 一词由此诞生。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Admittedly it is easier to sell the idea if you use the term &ldquo;open source&rdquo; instead of &ldquo;free software.&rdquo; But the consequence is that the &ldquo;newbies&rdquo; have no knowledge or understanding of the original idea. This splits the movement, and leads to incredibly unproductive trench wars, which waste a huge amount of creative energy.
zh_CN: 诚然，使用 &ldquo;开源&rdquo; 一词售卖这个理念比使用 &ldquo;自由软件&rdquo; 来得容易。但是其后果是 &ldquo;新人&rdquo; 对这个理念的来源毫无概念也无从理解。这就分裂了自由软件运动，导致大量无谓的阵地战，浪费了很多创新的能力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A larger interested audience does not mean we should talk less about the underlying philosophy. Quite the contrary: the more people and firms do not understand that this freedom is also in their interest, the more we need to talk about it. The freedom of software offers a huge potential for all of us&mdash;firms and users.
zh_CN: 有了更多感兴趣的听众并不意味着我们要少说背后的哲学。正相反：越多的人和公司不理解自由是为了他们的利益，我们越要谈论自由。自由软件为我们所有人&mdash;&mdash;公司和用户&mdash;&mdash;带来巨大潜力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The plan is not to remove capitalism or destroy firms. We want to change the understanding of software for the benefit of all participants, to fit the needs of the 21th century. This is the core of the GNU Project.
zh_CN: 我们的计划并不是要除去资本，也不是要消灭公司。为了所有参与者的福利，我们要改变大家对软件的认知，让它适应21世纪的需求。这就是 GNU 工程的核心。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Each of us can do his share&mdash;be it in form of a program or documentation, or just by spreading the word that there is another way of handling things.
zh_CN: 我们每个人都可以为此做出一份贡献&mdash;&mdash;或者是程序、或者是文档，甚至只是告诉大家事情还可以有所不同。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is crucial to explain to the firms that free software is <em>not a threat</em>, but an opportunity. Of course this doesn't happen overnight, but when all participants realize the possibilities and perspectives, all of us will win. So, if you are working in the software business, make yourself at home with the topic, talk about it with friends and colleagues. And please refrain from trying to &ldquo;missionize&rdquo; them&mdash;I know most of us have this tendency&mdash;the arguments speak for themselves. Give them the time and peace to think it over, and to befriend themselves with the concept. Show them that the concept of freedom is nothing to be feared.
zh_CN: 向公司解释自由软件 <em>不是威胁</em> 而是机会也非常关键。当然，这不是一日之功，但是当所有参与者都意识到这些可能性和远景时，大家都是赢家。因此，如果你在软件行业工作，请熟知这里讲的话题，告诉朋友以及同事。请避免对他们 &ldquo;传教&rdquo;&mdash;&mdash;我知道大多数人有此倾向&mdash;&mdash;事实胜于雄辩。给他们时间，让他们平静地思考，让他们成为这个概念的朋友。向他们展示自由并不可怕。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I hope I was able to convey the philosophy or at least stimulate consideration of some new ideas. If you have questions or would like to discuss some things, I'll be here all night and all questions are welcome. I wish everyone a very interesting night. Thank you.
zh_CN: 我希望我传递了自由软件的哲学，或者至少描述了一些新思想。如果你有问题或想讨论，我整晚都在此并乐意回答任何问题。祝大家有一个充满乐趣的夜晚。谢谢你们。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't have notes. type: Content of: <div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S NOTES*
zh_CN: <h3>译注</h3>
    <ol>
    <li id="TransNote1">the direct digital equivalent，直译是书本的直接电子等价物，应该就是电子书，特别是电子文档。</li>
    </ol>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send comments on this speech to Georg Greve <a href="mailto:greve@gnu.org">&lt;greve@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请把对这篇演讲的评论发给 Georg Greve <a href="mailto:greve@gnu.org">&lt;greve@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 1998 Georg C. F. Greve
zh_CN: Copyright &copy; 1998 Georg C. F. Greve<br></br>Copyright &copy; 2024 XIE Wensheng (translation)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Permission is granted to make and distribute verbatim copies of this transcript as long as the copyright and this permission notice appear.
zh_CN: 本文允许全文逐字分发，但必须保留版权声明和此许可声明。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2024。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
