lessig-fsfs-intro.html - en to zh_CN translation catalogue (31 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Introduction to Free Software, Free Society - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 《自由软件，自由社会：理查德·马修·斯托曼选集》的引言 - GNU工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Introduction to <cite>Free Software, Free Society: The Selected Essays of Richard M. Stallman</cite>
zh_CN: <cite>《自由软件，自由社会：理查德·马修·斯托曼选集》</cite>的引言

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Lawrence Lessig&nbsp;<a href="#lessig"><sup>[*]</sup></a>
zh_CN: Lawrence Lessig&nbsp;<a href="#lessig"><sup>[*]</sup></a> 著

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Every generation has its philosopher&mdash;a writer or an artist who captures the imagination of a time. Sometimes these philosophers are recognized as such; often it takes generations before the connection is made real. But recognized or not, a time gets marked by the people who speak its ideals, whether in the whisper of a poem, or the blast of a political movement.
zh_CN: 每代人都有它的哲学家&mdash;一位能够把握时代想象力的作家或艺术家。有时这些哲学家被认为是这样的；通常要几代人之后，他们的时代关联才会变成现实。但是无论是否被人们认识，一个时代由说出其理想的人作为标志，不管是通过吟诗还是在政治运动的风暴中。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Our generation has a philosopher. He is not an artist, or a professional writer. He is a programmer. Richard Stallman began his work in the labs of <abbr title="Massachusetts Institute of Technology">MIT</abbr>, as a programmer and architect building operating system software. He has built his career on a stage of public life, as a programmer and an architect founding a movement for freedom in a world increasingly defined by &ldquo;code.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 我们这一代有一位哲学家，他既不是艺术家，也不是专业作家，而是一位程序员。理查德·斯托曼在<abbr title="Massachusetts Institute of Technology，麻省理工学院">MIT</abbr>的实验室参加工作，他是操作系统软件的程序员和设计师。作为程序员和设计师的他，创立了一项在这个日益由&ldquo;代码&rdquo;决定的世界里争取自由的运动，以此开始了他在公众生活舞台上的职业生涯。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: &ldquo;Code&rdquo; is the technology that makes computers run. Whether inscribed in software or burned in hardware, it is the collection of instructions, first written in words, that directs the functionality of machines. These machines&mdash;computers&mdash;increasingly define and control our life. They determine how phones connect, and what runs on TV. They decide whether video can be streamed across a broadband link to a computer. They control what a computer reports back to its manufacturer. These machines run us. Code runs these machines.
zh_CN: &ldquo;代码&rdquo;是让计算机运行的技术。代码是指挥机器运转的指令的集合，要么写在软件里，要么烧在硬件里，首先是用词语写出的。这些机器&mdash;电脑&mdash;日益决定和控制着我们的生活。它们决定电话如何连接、电视上播放什么。它们决定视频能否能通过宽带连接流式传输到计算机。它们控制计算机向它的制造商汇报什么。这些机器管理我们，而代码管理这些机器。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What control should we have over this code? What understanding? What freedom should there be to match the control it enables? What power?
zh_CN: 我们应该对这些代码应该有如何的控制？怎样的理解？应该有什么样的自由来和它对我们的控制相对应？什么权力？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: These questions have been the challenge of Stallman's life. Through his works and his words, he has pushed us to see the importance of keeping code &ldquo;free.&rdquo; Not free in the sense that code writers don't get paid, but free in the sense that the control coders build be transparent to all, and that anyone have the right to take that control, and modify it as he or she sees fit. This is &ldquo;free software&rdquo;; &ldquo;free software&rdquo; is one answer to a world built in code.
zh_CN: 这些问题是斯托曼生活中的挑战。通过他的作品和谈话，他让我们认识到了保持代码&ldquo;自由&rdquo;的重要性。自由的意思不是代码作者不能得到报酬，而是指编程人员制造的控制力对任何人都是透明的，任何人都有权力拿走该控制，并将之修改成他或她认为合适的结果。这就是&ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;。&ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;是对这个用代码构造的世界的一个回答。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: &ldquo;Free.&rdquo; Stallman laments the ambiguity in his own term. There's nothing to lament. Puzzles force people to think, and this term &ldquo;free&rdquo; does this puzzling work quite well. To modern American ears, &ldquo;free software&rdquo; sounds utopian, impossible. Nothing, not even lunch, is free. How could the most important words running the most critical machines running the world be &ldquo;free&rdquo;? How could a sane society aspire to such an ideal?
zh_CN: &ldquo;自由&rdquo;。斯托曼抱怨自己的这个词语的模糊含义。没有什么可抱怨的。困扰迫使人们去思考，&ldquo;自由&rdquo;这个词汇非常令人困惑。让现代美国人听起来，&ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;听起来是乌托邦式的、不可能的。没有什么东西是，甚至连午餐也不是，免费的，控制着世界的最重要机器的最重要词语怎么能够&ldquo;免费&rdquo;呢？一个理性的社会怎么会渴求这样的理想呢？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Yet the odd clink of the word &ldquo;free&rdquo; is a function of us, not of the term. &ldquo;Free&rdquo; has different senses, only one of which refers to &ldquo;price.&rdquo; A much more fundamental sense of &ldquo;free&rdquo; is the &ldquo;free,&rdquo; Stallman says, in the term &ldquo;free speech,&rdquo; or perhaps better in the term &ldquo;free labor.&rdquo; Not free as in costless, but free as in limited in its control by others. Free software is control that is transparent, and open to change, just as free laws, or the laws of a &ldquo;free society,&rdquo; are free when they make their control knowable, and open to change. The aim of Stallman's &ldquo;free software movement&rdquo; is to make as much code as it can transparent, and subject to change, by rendering it &ldquo;free.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 但是单词&ldquo;Free&rdquo;的奇怪含义是我们的诠释，而不是这个词汇本身的诠释。&ldquo;Free&rdquo;有很多不同的含义，其中只有一个意思是和&ldquo;价格&rdquo;相关。&ldquo;free&rdquo;这个词汇更本质的一个意思是&ldquo;自由&rdquo;，就是在&ldquo;言论自由&rdquo;这个词语里面、或者可能更恰当地说，是在&ldquo;自由劳动力&rdquo;里面的意思。并不是指免费，而是指有限制地被别人控制的自由。自由软件是透明的控制，对修改开放，就像自由的法律，或者像&ldquo;自由社会&rdquo;的法律一样是自由的，因为他们的控制是为人所知的、而且对修改开放。斯托曼的&ldquo;自由软件运动&rdquo;通过让代码&ldquo;自由&rdquo;，使尽可能多的代码透明，并且可以改变。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The mechanism of this rendering is an extraordinarily clever device called &ldquo;copyleft&rdquo; implemented through a license called GPL. Using the power of copyright law, &ldquo;free software&rdquo; not only assures that it remains open, and subject to change, but that other software that takes and uses &ldquo;free software&rdquo; (and that technically counts as a &ldquo;derivative work&rdquo;) must also itself be free.  If you use and adapt a free software program, and then release that adapted version to the public, the released version must be as free as the version it was adapted from. It must, or the law of copyright will be violated.
zh_CN: 其实现机制是一种极其聪明的叫作&ldquo;copyleft&rdquo;的手法，它通过一种叫GPL的许可证实现。通过版权法的权力，&ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;不仅保证它保持开放、可以修改，而且其他使用&ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;的软件（这在技术上属于&ldquo;派生作品&rdquo;）也必须是自由的。如果你使用并改编了一款自由软件程序，然后向公众发布了修改版，那么修改版必须和原版一样自由。要么是GPL，要么是侵犯版权法。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: &ldquo;Free software,&rdquo; like free societies, has its enemies. Microsoft has waged a war against the GPL, warning whoever will listen that the GPL is a &ldquo;dangerous&rdquo; license. The dangers it names, however, are largely illusory. Others object to the &ldquo;coercion&rdquo; in GPL's insistence that modified versions are also free. But a condition is not coercion. If it is not coercion for Microsoft to refuse to permit users to distribute modified versions of its product Office without paying it (presumably) millions, then it is not coercion when the GPL insists that modified versions of free software be free too.
zh_CN: &ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;，和自由社会一样，有它的敌人。微软开展了一场对GPL的斗争，警告所有人GPL是一种&ldquo;危险的&rdquo;许可证。不过，它说的危险性很大程度上是幻想。还有人反对GPL坚持修改版必须自由的&ldquo;强迫性&rdquo;。但是一项前提并不能是强迫性的。如果微软拒不允许其用户不支付（假定）数百万美元而发布它的Office产品的修改版不算强迫的话，那么GPL坚持自由软件的修改版也是自由的也不能算是强迫。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And then there are those who call Stallman's message too extreme. But extreme it is not. Indeed, in an obvious sense, Stallman's work is a simple translation of the freedoms that our tradition crafted in the world before code. &ldquo;Free software&rdquo; would assure that the world governed by code is as &ldquo;free&rdquo; as our tradition that built the world before code.
zh_CN: 还有人认为斯托曼的要求太极端，但这并不极端。实际上，简明地看，斯托曼的工作是对代码时代之前的传统世界所创造的自由的简单翻译。&ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;能够保证在代码控制的当今世界和代码之前的传统世界一样自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For example: A &ldquo;free society&rdquo; is regulated by law. But there are limits that any free society places on this regulation through law: No society that kept its laws secret could ever be called free. No government that hid its regulations from the regulated could ever stand in our tradition. Law controls.  But it does so justly only when visibly. And law is visible only when its terms are knowable and controllable by those it regulates, or by the agents of those it regulates (lawyers, legislatures).
zh_CN: 例如，一个&ldquo;自由社会&rdquo;受法律约束，但是任何自由社会的法律约束都有限制：没有哪个将其法律保密的社会可以称作是自由的。没有哪个将其法规向被约束者隐藏的政府能够在我们的传统下立足。法律控制人们，但是仅当其可见时才是公平的。只有其条款为人所知，而且能够由被约束者或被约束者的代理人（律师，立法者）控制时，法律才是可见的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This condition on law extends beyond the work of a legislature. Think about the practice of law in American courts. Lawyers are hired by their clients to advance their clients' interests. Sometimes that interest is advanced through litigation. In the course of this litigation, lawyers write briefs. These briefs in turn affect opinions written by judges. These opinions decide who wins a particular case, or whether a certain law can stand consistently with a constitution.
zh_CN: 法律的这种状况超出了立法工作本身。考虑一下美国法院对法律的实施。当事人雇用律师来提升其利益，有时候这种利益通过诉讼得以提升。在诉讼过程中，律师写出案情，这些案情反过来影响法官写下的意见。这些意见决定谁能够在案件中获胜，或者某条法律是否能够和宪法一致。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: All the material in this process is free in the sense that Stallman means.  Legal briefs are open and free for others to use. The arguments are transparent (which is different from saying they are good) and the reasoning can be taken without the permission of the original lawyers. The opinions they produce can be quoted in later briefs. They can be copied and integrated into another brief or opinion. The &ldquo;source code&rdquo; for American law is by design, and by principle, open and free for anyone to take. And take lawyers do&mdash;for it is a measure of a great brief that it achieves its creativity through the reuse of what happened before. The source is free; creativity and an economy is built upon it.
zh_CN: 这个过程中的所有材料都是斯托曼所指意义下的自由。诉讼案情摘要是公开的，别人可以自由使用。论据是透明的（这不同于说它们是好的），推理可以无须得到原律师允许而被拿走。它们产生的观点可以在以后的案情摘要里面引用，并可以复制或综合进别的案情摘要或意见中。美国法律的&ldquo;源代码&rdquo;在设计上和原则上，对任何使用它的人都是开放和自由的。拿律师来说&mdash;&mdash;通过重复使用以前发生的案件，一个伟大的案情摘要就获得了创造力，这是衡量摘要的方法。原始资料是自由的；创新和经济秩序在其上建立。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This economy of free code (and here I mean free legal code) doesn't starve lawyers. Law firms have enough incentive to produce great briefs even though the stuff they build can be taken and copied by anyone else. The lawyer is a craftsman; his or her product is public. Yet the crafting is not charity.  Lawyers get paid; the public doesn't demand such work without price. Instead this economy flourishes, with later work added to the earlier.
zh_CN: 自由代码（这里我指自由的法律代码）形成的经济秩序并没有饿死律师。尽管任何人都可以使用和复制他们做成的东西，律师事务所仍然有足够动机来作出好的案情摘要。律师是能工巧匠，他／她的产品是公开的。但是这种工艺不是慈善行为。律师得到收入，公众并未要求不给这种工作报酬。相反，通过后来的工作补充以前的工作，这种经济繁荣起来。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We could imagine a legal practice that was different&mdash;briefs and arguments that were kept secret; rulings that announced a result but not the reasoning.  Laws that were kept by the police but published to no one else. Regulation that operated without explaining its rule.
zh_CN: 我们可以想象一种不同的法律实施方法&mdash;&mdash;保密的案情和论据；只有结果没有论证的判决。警方持有而不向别人发布的法律。不解释条令而实行的法规。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We could imagine this society, but we could not imagine calling it &ldquo;free.&rdquo; Whether or not the incentives in such a society would be better or more efficiently allocated, such a society could not be known as free. The ideals of freedom, of life within a free society, demand more than efficient application.  Instead, openness and transparency are the constraints within which a legal system gets built, not options to be added if convenient to the leaders. Life governed by software code should be no less.
zh_CN: 我们可以想象这个社会，但是我们无法想象称其为&ldquo;自由&rdquo;。不管这样的社会是否能更好地或者更有效地分配能动性，这个社会不能称为是自由的。自由的理想，在自由社会生活的理想，要求的不只是高效的应用。相反，开放和透明是建立自由社会法律体系的限制条件，而不是如果对领导有利就添加进来的可选项。由软件代码控制的生活不应该比这个更不自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Code writing is not litigation. It is better, richer, more productive. But the law is an obvious instance of how creativity and incentives do not depend upon perfect control over the products created. Like jazz, or novels, or architecture, the law gets built upon the work that went before. This adding and changing is what creativity always is. And a free society is one that assures that its most important resources remain free in just this sense.
zh_CN: 写代码不是诉讼，它更好，更丰富，更有建设性，但是就对于创造性和动机不依赖于对其创造的产品的完全控制来说，法律是一个明显的例子。像爵士乐、小说、或者建筑一样，法律基于以前的作品建立。这种添加和改变一直是创新的来源。自由社会应该像这样保证，其最重要的资源保持自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For the first time, this book collects the writing and lectures of Richard Stallman in a manner that will make their subtlety and power clear. The essays span a wide range, from copyright to the history of the free software movement.  They include many arguments not well known, and among these, an especially insightful account of the changed circumstances that render copyright in the digital world suspect. They will serve as a resource for those who seek to understand the thought of this most powerful man&mdash;powerful in his ideas, his passion, and his integrity, even if powerless in every other way. They will inspire others who would take these ideas, and build upon them.
zh_CN: 这本书首次收集了理查德·斯托曼的著作和演讲，并使它们的微妙和能力得以清晰地展现。这些文章跨度很大，从版权到自由软件运动的历史。它们包含许多不为人熟知的论据，在这些论据中，有一个对解释数字世界版权的变化局面特别有远见的说明。它们为希望理解这位最强大的人的思想的人提供了资源&mdash;他强在理想、强在热情、强在正直，即使他在别处无能为力。它们将启迪那些接受这些理想、并在其上继续创新的人。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I don't know Stallman well. I know him well enough to know he is a hard man to like. He is driven, often impatient. His anger can flare at friend as easily as foe. He is uncompromising and persistent; patient in both.
zh_CN: 我不太了解斯托曼，但是我知道他是一个很严厉的人。他有紧迫感，常常不耐烦。他可以对朋友像对敌人一般怒火三丈。他很强硬，不屈不挠，同时又很有耐心。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Yet when our world finally comes to understand the power and danger of code&mdash;when it finally sees that code, like laws, or like government, must be transparent to be free&mdash;then we will look back at this uncompromising and persistent programmer and recognize the vision he has fought to make real: the vision of a world where freedom and knowledge survives the compiler. And we will come to see that no man, through his deeds or words, has done as much to make possible the freedom that this next society could have.
zh_CN: 当我们的世界最终理解了代码的威力和危险时&mdash;当它终于认识到代码和法律、政府一样，必须透明以保持自由时&mdash;我们再回首看着这位强硬和不屈不挠的程序员时，发现他为之奋斗的景象终于实现：一个自由和知识在其编辑者手中得到流传的世界。我们将认识到没有其他人通过其言行，为了能够尽可能使得下一个社会获得自由而作出斯托曼这样的贡献。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We have not earned that freedom yet. We may well fail in securing it. But whether we succeed or fail, in these essays is a picture of what that freedom could be. And in the life that produced these words and works, there is inspiration for anyone who would, like Stallman, fight to create this freedom.
zh_CN: 然而，我们还没有获得自由。我们在保护它的时候很可能失败，但是，不管成败如何，这些文章都展示了这个自由。在产生这些演讲和著作的生命里，有着对所有象斯托曼一样为自由而战的人的鼓舞。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: [*] Lawrence Lessig was then Professor of Law at Stanford Law School.
zh_CN: [*] Lawrence Lessig 当时是斯坦福大学法学院法学教授。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Learn more about <a href="https://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>Free Software, Free Society: The Selected Essays of Richard M. Stallman</cite></a>.
zh_CN: 请了解更多<a href="https://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>自由软件，自由社会：理查德·马修·斯托曼选集</cite></a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将有关自由软件基金会（FSF）&amp;GNU的一般性问题发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。也可以通过<a href="/contact/">其他联系方法</a>联系自由软件基金会(FSF)。有关失效链接或其他错误和建议，请发送邮件到<a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面采用<a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译</b>：潘永之，2014。<br></br>
    <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="https://savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2018，2020，2021，2023。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
