en to zh_CN translation catalogue (22 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Thank You, Larry McVoy - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 谢谢你，Larry McVoy - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Thank You, Larry McVoy
zh_CN: 谢谢你，Larry McVoy

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Richard Stallman
zh_CN: Richard Stallman 著

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For the first time in my life, I want to thank Larry McVoy.  He recently eliminated a major weakness of the free software community, by announcing the end of his campaign to entice free software projects to use and promote his nonfree software.  Soon, Linux development will no longer use this program, and no longer spread the message that nonfree software is a good thing if it's convenient.
zh_CN: 人生中第一次，我要感谢 Larry McVoy。他最近宣布终止诱使自由软件使用和推动其非自由软件的活动，这铲除了自由软件社区的一个重要弱点。不久，Linux 的开发将不再使用他的程序，也不再传播非自由软件如果方便好用就是好东西的信息。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: My gratitude is limited, since it was McVoy that created the problem in the first place.  But I still appreciate his decision to clear it up.
zh_CN: 我的感谢是有限的，因为正是 McVoy 首先催生了这个问题。但是我仍旧感谢他决定除掉这个问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There are thousands of nonfree programs, and most merit no special attention, other than developing a free replacement.  What made this program, BitKeeper, infamous and dangerous was its marketing approach: inviting high-profile free software projects to use it, so as to attract other paying users.
zh_CN: 现在有成千上万的非自由程序，它们大多数除了有开发自由替代的价值之外，不值一提。让 BitKeeper 这个程序臭名昭著而且危险的原因是它的营销手段：邀请著名的自由软件项目使用，从而吸引其他的付费用户。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: McVoy made the program available gratis to free software developers.  This did not mean it was free software for them: they were privileged not to part with their money, but they still had to part with their freedom.  They gave up the fundamental freedoms that define free software: freedom to run the program as you wish for any purpose, freedom to study and change the source code as you wish, freedom to make and redistribute copies, and freedom to publish modified versions.
zh_CN: McVoy 让他的程序对自由软件开发者免费。这并不意味着它是自由软件：他们没有失去金钱，但是他们还是失去了自由。他们放弃了定义自由软件的基本自由：有自由按自己的意愿运行程序，有自由按自己的意愿学习和修改程序，有自由制作和发布程序的拷贝和有自由发布修改版的程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The free software movement has said, &ldquo;Think of &lsquo;free speech,&rsquo; not &lsquo;free beer&rsquo;&rdquo; since 1990.  McVoy said the opposite; he invited developers to focus on the lack of monetary price, instead of on freedom.  A free software activist would dismiss this suggestion, but those in our community who value technical advantage above freedom and community were susceptible to it.
zh_CN: 从1990年起，自由软件运动就说，&ldquo;考虑它类似 &lsquo;言论自由，&rsquo;而不是 &lsquo;免费午餐&rsquo;&rdquo;。而 McVoy 说的正相反；他邀请开发者关注免费，而不是自由。一个自由软件活动家不会理会这种建议，但是社区中看重技术优势而非自由和社区的人会受到影响。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: McVoy's great triumph was the adoption of this program for Linux development.  No free software project is more visible than Linux.  It is the kernel of the GNU/Linux operating system, an essential component, and users often mistake it for the entire system.  As McVoy surely planned, the use of his program in Linux development was powerful publicity for it.
zh_CN: McVoy 的成功之处在于接纳了 Linux 的开发。没有其他自由软件比 Linux 更引人注目。它是 GNU/Linux 操作系统的内核——一个重要的组件，而用户经常错误地认为它就是整个系统。正如 McVoy 预先的计划，让 Linux 的开发使用他的程序对其是一个有力的宣传。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It was also, whether intentionally or not, a powerful political PR campaign, telling the free software community that freedom-denying software is acceptable as long as it's convenient.  If we had taken that attitude towards Unix in 1984, where would we be today? Nowhere.  If we had accepted using Unix, instead of setting out to replace it, nothing like the GNU/Linux system would exist.
zh_CN: 无论是否有意为之，这也是一个有力的政治性公共关系运动，它告诉自由软件社区：只要是方便好用，剥夺自由的软件也是可以接受的。如果我们在1984年就采取这样的态度，那么我们今天会在哪里？原地踏步。如果我们接纳了 Unix，而不是开始开发它的替代，那么 GNU/Linux 这样的系统不会出现。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Of course, the Linux developers had practical reasons for what they did.  I won't argue with those reasons; they surely know what's convenient for them.  But they did not count, or did not value, how this would affect their freedom&mdash;or the rest of the community's efforts.
zh_CN: 当然，Linux 的开发者这样做有实际的原因。我不讨论这些原因；他们当然知道什么是方便好用。但是他们没有考虑，或者没有看重，这样做会如何影响他们的自由&mdash;&mdash;以及社区中其他人的努力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A free kernel, even a whole free operating system, is not sufficient to use your computer in freedom; we need free software for everything else, too.  Free applications, free drivers, free <abbr title="Basic Input/Output System">BIOS</abbr>: some of those projects face large obstacles&mdash;the need to reverse engineer formats or protocols or pressure companies to document them, or to work around or face down patent threats, or to compete with a network effect.  Success will require firmness and determination.  A better kernel is desirable, to be sure, but not at the expense of weakening the impetus to liberate the rest of the software world.
zh_CN: 一个自由的内核，甚至一个完整的自由操作系统，都不足以让你自由地使用计算机；我们还需要其他的自由软件。自由的应用、自由的驱动程序、自由的 <abbr title="Basic Input/Output System">BIOS</abbr>：它们之中还有不少面临很大的阻碍&mdash;&mdash;需要对格式或协议进行逆向工程，或者需要促使制造商公开文档，抑或需要绕过或降服专利威胁，再有就是要和网络效应竞争。这需要坚定和决心才能成功。确实，我们需要一个更好的内核，但是不应因此付出削弱我们让所有软件都自由之初心的代价。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When the use of his program became controversial, McVoy responded with distraction.  For instance, he promised to release it as free software if the company went out of business.  Alas, that does no good as long as the company remains in business.  Linux developers responded by saying, &ldquo;We'll switch to a free program when you develop a better one.&rdquo; This was an indirect way of saying, &ldquo;We made the mess, but we won't clean it up.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 当使用其程序变得富有争议时，McVoy 顾左右而言他。例如，他保证如果公司运转不利，那么他会把程序发布为自由软件。哎呀，只要公司正常运作，这就等于啥也没说。Linux 的开发者回应道，&ldquo;当我们开发出更好的程序时，我们就切换到自由软件。&rdquo;这相当于间接承认，&ldquo;我们做得很烂，但是我们不想处理。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Fortunately, not everyone in Linux development considered a nonfree program acceptable, and there was continuing pressure for a free alternative.  Finally Andrew Tridgell developed an interoperating free program, so Linux developers would no longer need to use a nonfree program.
zh_CN: 幸运的是，并非所有的 Linux 开发者都认为非自由程序是可接受的，对自由替代程序的需求压力持续不断。最后，Andrew Tridgell 开发了一个互操作自由程序，因此 Linux 开发者不需要再使用非自由程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: McVoy first blustered and threatened, but ultimately chose to go home and take his ball with him: he withdrew permission for gratis use by free software projects, and Linux developers will move to other software.  The program they no longer use will remain unethical as long as it is nonfree, but they will no longer promote it, nor by using it teach others to give freedom low priority.  We can begin to forget about that program.
zh_CN: McVoy 先是咆哮和威胁，但是最终选择乖乖回家：他收回了自由软件项目免费使用其程序的许可，而 Linux 开发者将移师别处。只要还是非自由软件，他们不再使用的程序就是不道德的，不过他们不会再宣传它，也不会再通过使用它来教育其他人自由乃次要之物。我们开始渐渐忘却那个程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We should not forget the lesson we have learned from it: Nonfree programs are dangerous to you and to your community.  Don't let them get a place in your life.
zh_CN: 我们不应忘却我们因此学到的教训：非自由软件对你和社区是个危险。请不要让它们在你的生活中找到容身之处。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对 FSF&amp;GNU 的一般询问发送到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系 FSF 的 <a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和 &rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;，请发信到 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 2005, 2021 Richard Stallman
zh_CN: Copyright &copy; 2005, 2021 Richard Stallman<br></br>Copyright &copy; 2025 XIE Wensheng (translation)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2025。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
