patent-reform-is-not-enough.html - en to zh_CN translation catalogue (21 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Patent Reform Is Not Enough - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 专利改革还不够 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Patent Reform Is Not Enough
zh_CN: 专利改革还不够

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When people first learn about the problem of software patents, their attention is often drawn to the egregious examples: patents that cover techniques already widely known.  These techniques include sorting a collection of formulae so that no variable is used before it is calculated (called &ldquo;natural order recalculation&rdquo; in spreadsheets), and the use of exclusive-or to modify the contents of a bit-map display.
zh_CN: 当人们首次了解到软件专利的问题时，他们的注意力通常被异常严重的事例所吸引：专利涉及到已经广为人知的技术。这些技术包括为规则排序让变量在计算之后才可用（这就是电子表格里的 &ldquo;自然顺序重新计算法&rdquo;），以及在修改 bit-map 显示的时候使用 exclusive-or。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Focusing on these examples can lead some people to ignore the rest of the problem.  They are attracted to the position that the patent system is basically correct and needs only &ldquo;reforms&rdquo; to carry out its own rules properly.
zh_CN: 关注这些例子会让一些人忽略其他的问题。这些人会被吸引到专利基本上是对的、只是需要 &ldquo;改良&rdquo; 使其更合理地执行规则的立场那边去。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But would correct implementation really solve the problem of software patents? Let's consider an example.
zh_CN: 但是正确的实施真的会解决软件专利的问题吗？让我们看一个例子。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In the early 90s we desperately needed a new free program for compression, because the old de-facto standard &ldquo;compress&rdquo; program had been taken away from us by patents.  In April 1991, software developer Ross Williams began publishing a series of data compression programs using new algorithms of his own devising.  Their superior speed and compression quality soon attracted users.
zh_CN: 在 90 年代初，我们迫切需要一款新的自由压缩软件，因为专利从我们手里夺走了事实标准的老 &ldquo;压缩&rdquo; 程序。1991 年 4 月，软件开发者 Ross Williams 开始发布一系列使用他自己研究的新算法的数据压缩程序。这些程序由于速度快、压缩质量高而迅速吸引了用户。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: That September, when the FSF was about a week away from releasing one of them as the new choice for compressing our distribution files, use of these programs in the United States was halted by a newly issued patent, number 5,049,881.
zh_CN: 9 月，当自由软件基金会还差一个星期就要把其中一个程序作为新发行文件的新压缩软件发布时，这些程序在美国的使用被一个新颁布的专利叫停了：专利号 5,049,881。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Under the patent system's rules, whether the public is allowed to use these programs (i.e., whether the patent is invalid) depends on whether there is &ldquo;prior art&rdquo;: whether the basic idea was published before the patent application, which was on June 18, 1990.  Williams' publication in April 1991 came after that date, so it does not count.
zh_CN: 根据专利系统的规则，公众是否可以使用这些程序（即这个专利是否有效）依赖于是否存在 &ldquo;在先技术&rdquo;：其中的想法是否已经在专利申请之前被公开，专利申请是在 1990 年 6 月 18 日。Williams 的发布是在 1991 年 4 月，比专利申请日晚，所以不能算在先技术。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A student described a similar algorithm in 1988-1989 in a class paper at the University of San Francisco, but the paper was not published.  So it does not count as prior art under the current rules.
zh_CN: 1988-1989 年间，有个旧金山大学的学生在课堂论文上论述了类似的算法，但是其论文没有发表。所以它在现有规则下也不是在先技术。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Reforms to make the patent system work &ldquo;properly&rdquo; would not have prevented this problem.  Under the rules of the patent system, this patent seems valid.  There was no prior art for it.  It is not close to obvious, as the patent system interprets the term.  (Like most patents, it is neither worldshaking nor trivial, but somewhere in between.)  The fault is in the rules themselves, not their execution.
zh_CN: 让专利系统 &ldquo;合理&rdquo; 运作的改良不太会防止此类问题。在专利系统的规则下，这个专利看起来有效。它没有在先技术。按照专利系统的术语，它也不那么显而易见。（像大多数专利一样，它既不是惊世骇俗，也不是平淡无奇，它介于二者之间。）错误在于规则本身，而不在于对规则的执行。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In the US legal system, patents are intended as a bargain between society and individuals; society is supposed to gain through the disclosure of techniques that would otherwise never be available.  It is clear that society has gained nothing by issuing patent number 5,049,881.  This technique was going to be available anyway.  It was easy enough to find that several people did so at around the same time.
zh_CN: 在美国的法律系统下，专利其实是社会和个人之间的讨价还价；社会本应由于技术公开而获益，如果不是专利，这些技术可能永远不会公开。很明显，5,049,881 号专利的授权并没有给社会带来任何利益。这项技术本来大家马上就可以用到了。我们很容易弄明白好几个人在差不多的时间里做着差不多的事情。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Under current rules, our ability to use Williams's programs depends on whether anyone happened to publish the same idea before June 18, 1990.  That is to say, it depends on luck.  This system is good for promoting the practice of law, but not progress in software.
zh_CN: 在现有规则下，我们能否使用 Williams 的程序依赖于是否有人碰巧在 1990 年 6 月 18 日之前公布了同样的想法。就是说，全靠运气。这个系统对法律操作是不错，但是对软件进步并不好。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Teaching the Patent Office to look at more of the existing prior art might prevent some outrageous mistakes.  It will not cure the greater problem, which is the patenting of every <em>new</em> wrinkle in the use of computers, like the one that Williams and others independently developed.
zh_CN: 教育专利局去查看更多在先技术可能会防止一些离谱的错误。但它不会解决较大的那个问题，就是对计算机的每个 <em>新</em> 使用都申请专利，就像 Williams 和其他人各自独立开发的算法一样。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This will turn software into a quagmire.  Even an innovative program typically uses dozens of not-quite-new techniques and features, each of which might have been patented.  Our ability to use each wrinkle will depend on luck, and if we are unlucky half the time, few programs will escape infringing a large number of patents.  Navigating the maze of patents will be harder than writing software.  As <cite>The Economist</cite> says, software patents are simply bad for business.
zh_CN: 这会让软件变成泥潭。即使一个创新的程序通常也会使用数十种不那么新的技术和功能，每个都可能会是专利。我们对每个操作的使用都要靠运气，如果我们有一半的运气，那么没有程序能够逃脱侵犯众多专利的泥潭。走出专利迷宫比撰写软件更困难。正如 <cite>经济学家</cite> 杂志所言，软件专利对商业来说就是明显的坏事。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: What you can do to help
zh_CN: 你可以帮助做什么

note: [Dead as of 2019-03-23] support <a href="http://stopsoftwarepatents.eu/"> this petition</a> for a Europe free of software patents, and type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is a massive effort in Europe to stop software patents.  Please see <a href="https://ffii.org/"> the FFII web site</a> for full details of how you can help.
zh_CN: 欧洲正进行着广泛的阻止软件专利的努力。请参看 <a href="https://ffii.org/">FFII 网站</a> 了解你可以帮助做什么。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2022，2023。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
