pragmatic.html - en to ko translation catalogue (26 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Copyleft: Pragmatic Idealism - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 카피레프트: 실용적인 이상주의 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Copyleft: Pragmatic Idealism
ko: 카피레프트: 실용적인 이상주의

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Every decision a person makes stems from the person's values and goals.  People can have many different goals and values; fame, profit, love, survival, fun, and freedom, are just some of the goals that a good person might have.  When the goal is a matter of principle, we call that idealism.
ko: 인간의 의사는 그 사람의 가치나 목적에 의해서 결정되고 사람들의 삶의 가치 기준이나 목표는 다르기 마련입니다. 명예, 돈, 사랑, 생존, 즐거움, 자유 등은 선량한 사람들이 취할 수 있는 목표들이며 그것이 자신뿐 아니라 다른 사람에게도 도움이 되는 것이라면 이상적인 것이라고 말할 수 있을 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: My work on free software is motivated by an idealistic goal: spreading freedom and cooperation.  I want to <a href="/philosophy/why-copyleft.html">encourage free software to spread</a>, replacing proprietary software that forbids cooperation, and thus make our society better.
ko: 자유 소프트웨어에 대한 저의 일은 자유와 협력을 널리 퍼트리기 위한 이상주의적인 목표에 의해 시작되었습니다. 저는 협력을 허용하지 않는 독점 소프트웨어보다 <a href="/philosophy/why-copyleft.html">자유 소프트웨어가 널리 퍼져</a>서 이 사회가 보다 좋은 곳이 되기를 희망합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Not everyone who uses the GNU GPL has this goal.  Many years ago, a friend of mine was asked to rerelease a copylefted program under noncopyleft terms, and he responded more or less like this:
ko: GPL을 이용하는 모든 사람이 이러한 목적을 갖고 있는 것은 아닙니다. 오래 전에 제 친구는 카피레프트 프로그램을 카피레프트가 아닌 조건으로 배포하도록 요청 받은 적이 있습니다. 그 친구는 아마 다음과 같이 요지의 말을 했던 것으로 기억됩니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: &ldquo;Sometimes I work on free software, and sometimes I work on proprietary software&mdash;but when I work on proprietary software, I expect to get <em>paid</em>.&rdquo;
ko: &ldquo;때때로 나는 자유 소프트웨어를 만들 때도 있고 독점 소프트웨어를 만들 때도 있지만, 독점 소프트웨어를 만들 때는 그만한 <strong>대가</strong>를 기대하고 만든다.&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: He was willing to share his work with a community that shares software, but saw no reason to give a handout to a business making products that would be off-limits to our community.  His goal was different from mine, but he decided that the GNU GPL was useful for his goal too.
ko: 그는 소프트웨어를 공유하는 공동체와는 그의 소프트웨어를 함께 나누고자 했지만, 공동체에 도움이 되지 않는 상업 제품에는 그의 소프트웨어가 이용되는 것을 원하지 않았습니다. 그의 생각은 제 생각과 달랐지만 그 역시 GNU GPL이 그의 목적을 위해서 유용하다고 생각했습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If you want to accomplish something in the world, idealism is not enough&mdash;you need to choose a method that works to achieve the goal.  In other words, you need to be &ldquo;pragmatic.&rdquo; Is the GPL pragmatic? Let's look at its results.
ko: 만약, 여러분이 이 세상에서 무언인가를 이루려고 한다면 이상만으로는 부족하며, 이상과 목적을 이룰 수 있는 수단과 방법을 선택해야만 합니다. 요컨대, 실용적인 것이 필요하다는 것입니다. 그렇다면 GNU GPL이 과연 실용적인지 그 결과를 한번 생각해 봅시다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Consider GNU C++.  Why do we have a free C++ compiler? Only because the GNU GPL said it had to be free.  GNU C++ was developed by an industry consortium, MCC, starting from the GNU C compiler.  MCC normally makes its work as proprietary as can be.  But they made the C++ front end free software, because the GNU GPL said that was the only way they could release it.  The C++ front end included many new files, but since they were meant to be linked with GCC, the GPL did apply to them.  The benefit to our community is evident.
ko: GNU C++의 경우를 생각해 봅시다. 우리가 어떻게 자유롭게 사용할 수 있는 C++ 컴파일러를 가질 수 있게 되었을까요? 그것은 GNU GPL이 그것이 자유 소프트웨어가 되어야 한다고 규정하고 있기 때문입니다. GNU C 컴파일러에서부터 시작된 GNU C++ 컴파일러는 기업 컨소시움인 MCC에 의해서 개발되었습니다. MCC는 가능한 모든 부분을 독점적으로 만들려고 했지만, 결국 그들은 C++ 프론트 엔드를 자유 소프트웨어로 만들었습니다. 왜냐하면 그 방법만이 GPL하에서 그들이 C++를 배포할 수 있는 유일한 방법이었기 때문입니다. C++ 프론트 엔드에는 새로운 많은 파일들이 추가되었지만, 그것들을 GCC와 연동시키기 위해서는 GPL에 규정된 대로 C++ 프론트 엔드 또한 자유 소프트웨어가 되지 않으면 안됩니다. GPL을 통해서 공동체가 얻을 수 있는 이익이 입증된 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Consider GNU Objective C.  NeXT initially wanted to make this front end proprietary; they proposed to release it as <samp>.o</samp> files, and let users link them with the rest of GCC, thinking this might be a way around the GPL's requirements.  But our lawyer said that this would not evade the requirements, that it was not allowed.  And so they made the Objective C front end free software.
ko: GNU Objective C의 경우도 있습니다. NeXT사는 처음에 이 프론트 엔드를 상업용으로을 만들려고 했습니다. 그들은 이것을 <samp>.o</samp> 파일의 형식으로 발표하고 사용자들이 GCC와 연결하도록 제안했습니다. 그들은 이것이 GPL의 요구에 맞는 방법이라고 생각했습니다. 그러나, 우리 변호사는 GPL하에서 그것이 허용되지 않는 것이라고 했습니다. 그래서 그들은 Objective C 프론트 엔드를 자유 소프트웨어로 만들었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Those examples happened years ago, but the GNU GPL continues to bring us more free software.
ko: 이와같은 예는 몇년 전의 일들이지만, GNU GPL은 우리에게 더 많은 자유 소프트웨어를 계 속해서 가져다 주고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Many GNU libraries are covered by the GNU Lesser General Public License, but not all.  One GNU library which is covered by the ordinary GNU GPL is Readline, which implements command-line editing.  I once found out about a nonfree program which was designed to use Readline, and told the developer this was not allowed.  He could have taken command-line editing out of the program, but what he actually did was rerelease it under the GPL.  Now it is free software.
ko: 전부는 아니지만, 많은 GNU 라이브러리에는 LGPL이 적용됩니다. LGPL이 아니라 GPL이 적용되는 라이브러리 중에 명령행 편집 기능을 제공하는 Readline이 있습니다. 한달쯤 전에 저는 Readline을 이용하도록 만들어진 자유 소프트웨어가 아닌 소프트웨어에 대해서 알게 되었고, 그 프로그램의 개발자에게 그것은 허용되지 않는다고 얘기한 적이 있습니다. 그 개발자는 자신의 프로그램에서 명령행 편집 기능을 제거했을 수도 있었겠지만, Readline 기능을 없애기 않기 위해서 그 프로그램을 GPL로 공개했습니다. 그 프로그램은 이제 자유 소프트웨어 입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The programmers who write improvements to GCC (or Emacs, or Bash, or Linux, or any GPL-covered program) are often employed by companies or universities.  When the programmer wants to return his improvements to the community, and see his code in the next release, the boss may say, &ldquo;Hold on there&mdash;your code belongs to us! We don't want to share it; we have decided to turn your improved version into a proprietary software product.&rdquo;
ko: GCC나 Emacs, Bash, 리눅스와 같은 GPL 프로그램들을 개선하고자 하는 프로그래머들은 종종 기업이나 대학에 고용됩니다. 프로그래머가 자신이 개선한 프로그램을 공동체에 되돌리려 하면, 사장은 &ldquo;잠깐 기다려, 그것은 우리에게 속한 것이야. 우리는 그것을 나누어 쓰기를 원하 지 않아. 그것을 독점 소프트웨어 제품에 포함시키기로 결정했네.&rdquo;라고 말할 수도 있을 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Here the GNU GPL comes to the rescue.  The programmer shows the boss that this proprietary software product would be copyright infringement, and the boss realizes that he has only two choices: release the new code as free software, or not at all.  Almost always he lets the programmer do as he intended all along, and the code goes into the next release.
ko: 이러한 경우에도 GPL은 도움이 될 수 있습니다. 개발자는 사장에게 그것은 GPL을 위반하는 것이라고 알려줄 수 있습니다. 사장에게는 그 제품을 자유 소프트웨어로 발표하거나 아니면 포기하는 두가지 선택 밖에 할 수 없습니다. 거의 대부분 경우, 사장은 개발자가 원하는 방식을 수용하기 때문에 개발자는 자신이 원하는 대로 할 수 있으며, 새롭게 만들어진 개선 사항들은 공동체로 환원되어 다음번 배포때 포함될 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The GNU GPL is not Mr. Nice Guy.  It says no to some of the things that people sometimes want to do.  There are users who say that this is a bad thing&mdash;that the GPL &ldquo;excludes&rdquo; some proprietary software developers who &ldquo;need to be brought into the free software community.&rdquo;
ko: 그러나 GNU GPL이 천사표는 아닙니다. GPL은 이따금씩 사람들이 원하는 일에 &ldquo;NO&rdquo;라고 말합니다. 예를 들면, 어떤 사람은 GPL이 자유 소프트웨어 개발에 필요한 독점 프로그램 개발자들을 공동체에서 제외시키고 있다고 말하기도 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But we are not excluding them from our community; they are choosing not to enter.  Their decision to make software proprietary is a decision to stay out of our community.  Being in our community means joining in cooperation with us; we cannot &ldquo;bring them into our community&rdquo; if they don't want to join.
ko: 하지만 우리는 그들은 제외시킨 적이 없습니다. 그들이 공동체 안으로 들어오려고 하지 않을 뿐입니다. 그들이 독점 소프트웨어를 만드는 것은 우리 공동체 안으로 들어 오지 않겠다는 의사 표현인 것입니다. 공동체의 일원이 된다는 것은 우리와 함께 협력에 동참한다는 것을 의미합니다. 그러나 그들이 원하지 않는데도 불구하고 우리가 그들을 공동체 안으로 끌고 올 수는 없는 노릇입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What we <em>can</em> do is offer them an inducement to join.  The GNU GPL is designed to make an inducement from our existing software: &ldquo;If you will make your software free, you can use this code.&rdquo; Of course, it won't win 'em all, but it wins some of the time.
ko: 우리가 할 수 있는 것은 그들이 우리와 함께하기를 권유하는 것입니다. GPL은 지금 있는 자유 소프트웨어를 이용해서 충분히 자유 소프트웨어를 만드는 동기를 부여할 수 있습니다. &ldquo;자유 소프트웨어를 만들 생각이라면 이 코드들을 사용할 수 있습니다.&rdquo;라고 GPL은 현존하는 자유 소프트웨어들을 이용해서 공동체에 동참하도록 권유할 수 있습니다. 뮬론, 이러한 방법이 항상 유효한 것은 아니지만 때때로 성공적입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Proprietary software development does not contribute to our community, but its developers often want handouts from us.  Free software users can offer free software developers strokes for the ego&mdash;recognition and gratitude&mdash;but it can be very tempting when a business tells you, &ldquo;Just let us put your package in our proprietary program, and your program will be used by many thousands of people!&rdquo; The temptation can be powerful, but in the long run we are all better off if we resist it.
ko: 독점 소프트웨어의 개발은 우리 공동체에 아무런 도움도 되지 않습니다. 그러나 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들은 종종 우리에게 도움을 요청합니다. 자유 소프트웨어 개발자가 사용자들로부터 감사와 인정을 받을 수도 있지만, &ldquo;당신의 프로그램을 상업용으로 만듭시다. 그러면 그 프로그램을 수많은 사람들이 사용할 것입니다.&rdquo;라는 말은 인기와 명성이라는 측면에서 볼때 상당히 유혹적일 수 있습니다. 그러나 결국에는 그러한 유혹을 거절하는 것이 모두에게 좋은 길입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The temptation and pressure are harder to recognize when they come indirectly, through free software organizations that have adopted a policy of catering to proprietary software.  The X Consortium (and its successor, the Open Group) offers an example: funded by companies that made proprietary software, they strived for a decade to persuade programmers not to use copyleft.  When the Open Group tried to <a href="/philosophy/x.html">make X11R6.4 nonfree software</a>, those of us who had resisted that pressure were glad that we did.
ko: 독점 소프트웨어에 부합하는 정책을 수용하는 자유 소프트웨어 단체를 통하여 간접적으로 나타나는 이러한 유혹이나 압력은 알아 차리기가 매우 어렵습니다. 독점 소프트웨어 기업들의 기금 출연으로 만들어진 X 컨소시움(현재의 오픈 그룹)이 바로 이러한 예가 될 수 있습니다. 이 단체는 지난 십여년간 카피레프트를 사용하지 못하도록 프로그래머들을 설득하는데 노력해 왔습니다. 오픈 그룹은 <a href="/philosophy/x.html">X11R6.4를 GNU가 정의하는 자유 소프트웨어로 만들지 않았기 때문</a>에, 인기라는 압력에 저항해 왔던 사람들은 우리가 취해왔던 입장에 더욱 호의를 갖게 되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In September 1998, several months after X11R6.4 was released with nonfree distribution terms, the Open Group reversed its decision and rereleased it under the same noncopyleft free software license that was used for X11R6.3.  Thank you, Open Group&mdash;but this subsequent reversal does not invalidate the conclusions we draw from the fact that adding the restrictions was <em>possible</em>.
ko: X11R6.4가 자유 소프트웨어가 아닌 형식으로 발표된 1998년 9월 이후의 몇달 후에 오픈 그룹은 입장을 철회해서 X11R6.3 때와 같이 카프레프트가 아닌 자유 소프트웨어로 X11R6.4를 재배포하기 시작했습니다. 오픈 그룹에 감사의 뜻을 표합니다. 그러나 이러한 입장 철회가 제한을 추가하는 것이 <strong>가능하다</strong>는 오픈 그룹의 결정으로부터 우리가 내린 결론을 무효화하는 것은 아닙니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Pragmatically speaking, thinking about greater long-term goals will strengthen your will to resist this pressure.  If you focus your mind on the freedom and community that you can build by staying firm, you will find the strength to do it.  &ldquo;Stand for something, or you will fall for anything.&rdquo;
ko: 실용주의적인 관점에서 얘기한다면, 장기적인 안목을 갖고 생각을 하는 것이 결국 이러한 압력을 극복하는 힘을 길러줄 수 있을 것입니다. 확고한 신념으로 이룩할 수 있는 자유와 공동체에 여러분의 초점을 맞춘다면 유혹과 압력을 이겨낼 수 있는 힘을 얻을 수 있을 것입니다. 이겨내기 위해서 싸우지 않으면, 헛되이 무너질 뿐입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And if cynics ridicule freedom, ridicule community&hellip;if &ldquo;hard-nosed realists&rdquo; say that profit is the only ideal&hellip;just ignore them, and use copyleft all the same.
ko: 그리고 냉소주의자들이 이익만이 유일한 이상이라며 자유와 우리 공동체에 대해서 비웃는다고 해도, 무시하고 항상 카피레프트를 사용해야 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 김원의 <a href="mailto:wekim@sogang.ac.kr">&lt;wekim@sogang.ac.kr&gt;</a>, 1999년 10월 24일

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
