x.html - en to ko translation catalogue (26 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: The X Window System Trap - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: X 윈도우 시스템의 함정 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: GNU, FSF, Free Software Foundation, freedom, Richard Stallman, rms, free software movement
ko: GNU, FSF, 자유 소프트웨어 재단, 자유, 리처드 스톨먼, rms, 자유 소프트웨어 운동

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: Richard Stallman discusses the history of the movement to develop a free operating system.
ko: 리처들 스톨만은 자유 운영체제를 개발하기 위한 운동의 역사를 논합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: The X Window System Trap
ko: X 윈도우 시스템의 함정

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Richard M. Stallman
ko: 글: 리처드 스톨먼

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: To copyleft or not to copyleft? That is one of the major controversies in the free software community.  The idea of copyleft is that we should fight fire with fire&mdash;that we should use copyright to make sure our code stays free.  The GNU General Public License (GNU GPL) is one example of a copyleft license.
ko: 카피레프트를 사용할 것인가, 사용하지 않을 것인가? 그것은 자유 소프트웨어 공동체에서 벌어지는 주된 논쟁 중 하나입니다. 카피레프트의 개념은 불을 끄기 위해 불을 사용하는 것처럼 우리의 코드를 자유롭게 하기 위해서 카피라이트를 사용해야 한다는 것입니다. GNU GPL은 카피레프트 라이선스의 한가지 예가 될 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some free software developers prefer noncopyleft distribution.  Noncopyleft licenses such as the XFree86 and <a href="/licenses/bsd.html">BSD</a> licenses are based on the idea of never saying no to anyone&mdash;not even to someone who seeks to use your work as the basis for restricting other people.  Noncopyleft licensing does nothing wrong, but it misses the opportunity to actively protect our freedom to change and redistribute software.  For that, we need copyleft.
ko: 일부 자유 소프트웨어 개발자들은 비 카피레프트 배포 방식을 선호합니다. XFree86과 <a href="/philosophy/bsd.html">BSD 라이선스</a>와 같은 비 카피레프트 라이선스는 어떤 사람이 여러분의 저작물을 다른 사람에게 제약을 가하는 용도로 활용할 지라도 배포에 제한을 두어서는 안된다는 생각에 바탕을 두고 있습니다. 비 카피레프트 라이선스가 잘못된 것은 아니지만, 거기에는 소프트웨어를 고치고 재배포할 수 있는 자유를 적극적으로 보호할 수 있는 조건이 빠져 있습니다. 그래서 우리에게는 카피레프트가 필요합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For many years, the X Consortium was the chief opponent of copyleft.  It exerted both moral suasion and pressure to discourage free software developers from copylefting their programs.  It used moral suasion by suggesting that it is not nice to say no.  It used pressure through its rule that copylefted software could not be in the X Distribution.
ko: 오랜 시간동안 X 컨소시움은 카피레프트의 주된 경쟁자였습니다. 그들은 자유소프트웨어 개발자들이 그들의 프로그램에 카피레프트를 사용하는것을 그만두도록 도덕적인 회유와 압력을 가했습니다. 거절하는 것은 좋지 않을 것이라는 이야기로 도덕적인 회유를 했으며, 카피레프트 소프트웨어는 X 윈도우와 함께 배포될 수 없다는 그들의 규정으로 압력을 가했습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Why did the X Consortium adopt this policy? It had to do with their conception of success.  The X Consortium defined success as popularity&mdash;specifically, getting computer companies to use the X Window System.  This definition put the computer companies in the driver's seat: whatever they wanted, the X Consortium had to help them get it.
ko: 왜 X 컨소시움은 이런 정책을 채택했을까요? 그것은 성공에 대한 그들의 개념과 관련이 있습니다. X 컨소시움은 인기, 특히 X 윈도우 시스템을 사용하는 컴퓨터 기업들로부터 인기를 얻는 것을 성공이라고 정의했습니다. 이러한 정의로 인해서 컴퓨터 기업들은 상황을 주도할 수 있는 위치에 서게 되었습니다. 그들이 원하는 무엇이든지 X 컨소시움은 그들에게 도움을 주었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Computer companies normally distribute proprietary software.  They wanted free software developers to donate their work for such use.  If they had asked for this directly, people would have laughed.  But the X Consortium, fronting for them, could present this request as an unselfish one.  &ldquo;Join us in donating our work to proprietary software developers,&rdquo; they said, suggesting that this is a noble form of self-sacrifice.  &ldquo;Join us in achieving popularity,&rdquo; they said, suggesting that it was not even a sacrifice.
ko: 일반적으로 컴퓨터 기업들은 독점 소프트웨어를 배포합니다. 그들은 자유 소프트웨어 개발자들의 작업 결과를 그들의 작업에 활용하려고 합니다. 만약 직접적으로 이런 것을 요청한다면 대중들은 비웃을 것입니다. 그러나 X 컨소시움이 그들의 전면에 나서게 된다면, 그런 요청이 이기적이지 않은 모습으로 보이게 될 것입니다. 그들은 &ldquo;독점 소프트웨어 개발자들의 작업에 도움을 주기 위해서 우리 작업에 동참해 달라.&rdquo;며 그것이 자기 희생의 고귀한 형태라고 제안합니다. 또한 &ldquo;인기를 얻기 위해 우리와 함께 하자.&rdquo;고 제안합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But self-sacrifice is not the issue: tossing away the defense that copyleft provides, which protects the freedom of the whole community, is sacrificing more than yourself.  Those who granted the X Consortium's request entrusted the community's future to the goodwill of the X Consortium.
ko: 하지만 자기 희생은 문제의 중점이 될 수 없습니다. 공동체 전체의 자유를 보호하는 카피레프트라는 방어벽을 벗어나는 것은 자기 희생보다 더 큰 희생입니다. X 컨소시움의 요청을 받아들이는 사람들은 공동체의 미래를 X 컨소시움이 바라는 방향에 맡기는 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This trust was misplaced.  In its last year, the X Consortium made a plan to restrict the forthcoming X11R6.4 release so that it would not be free software.  They decided to start saying no, not only to proprietary software developers, but to our community as well.
ko: 이것은 잘못된 것입니다. X 컨소시움이 활동하던 마지막 해에 X 컨소시움은 자유 소프트웨어가 아닌 형태로 X11R6.4를 발표할 계획을 세운 적이 있었습니다. 그것은 독점 소프트웨어 개발자 뿐만 아니라 자유 소프트웨어 공동체 역시 배척하겠다는 결정이었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is an irony here.  If you said yes when the X Consortium asked you not to use copyleft, you put the X Consortium in a position to license and restrict its version of your program, along with the code for the core of X.
ko: 역설적인 상황이 아닐 수 없습니다. 만약 X 컨소시움이 여러분에게 카피레프트를 사용하지 말라는 제안을 했을 때 긍정적인 답변을 한다면, X 컨소시움은 X의 핵심 코드와 여러분이 만든 프로그램을 함께 배포할 때 사용상의 제한을 가할 수 있는 권리를 갖게 됩니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The X Consortium did not carry out this plan.  Instead it closed down and transferred X development to the Open Group, whose staff are now carrying out a similar plan.  To give them credit, when I asked them to release X11R6.4 under the GNU GPL in parallel with their planned restrictive license, they were willing to consider the idea.  (They were firmly against staying with the old X11 distribution terms.)  Before they said yes or no to this proposal, it had already failed for another reason: the XFree86 group followed the X Consortium's old policy, and will not accept copylefted software.
ko: X 컨소시움은 이러한 계획을 실행하지 못했습니다. 그 대신 X의 개발을 오픈 그룹으로 이관하면서 해체되기는 했지만, 오픈 그룹 운영진들은 X 컨소시움과 유사한 방침을 유지했습니다. 그들에게 영예를 주기 위해서 그들이 계획했던 제한적인 라이선스와 GNU GPL을 같이 병용해서 X11R6.4를 발표하자고 제안했을 때, 그들은 기꺼이 그 제안에 대해 고려해 보겠다고 했습니다.(그들은 확실히 X11의 예전 배포 규정에서 벗어나기를 원했습니다.) 그러나 그들이 이 제안에 대해서 긍정이나 부정의 대답을 하기도 전에 그것은 다른 이유로 인해서 무산되어 가고 있었습니다. 다름아닌 XFree86 그룹이 예전의 X 컨소시움의 정책을 따라 카피레프트 소프트웨어를 받아들이지 않기로 결정한 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In September 1998, several months after X11R6.4 was released with nonfree distribution terms, the Open Group reversed its decision and rereleased it under the same noncopyleft free software license that was used for X11R6.3.  Thus, the Open Group therefore eventually did what was right, but that does not alter the general issue.
ko: 1998년 9월에 X11R6.4는 자유 소프트웨어가 아닌 형태로 발표되었습니다. 몇 달 후 오픈 그룹은 그들의 결정에 반대하였고 X11R6.4는 X11R6.3에서 사용된 비 카피레프트인 자유 소프트에어 라이선스로 다시 배포되었습니다. 결국 오픈 그룹이 올바른 일을 한 것이기는 하지만 이것이 일반적인 문제점을 바꾸지는 못했습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Even if the X Consortium and the Open Group had never planned to restrict X, someone else could have done it.  Noncopylefted software is vulnerable from all directions; it lets anyone make a nonfree version dominant, if he will invest sufficient resources to add significantly important features using proprietary code.  Users who choose software based on technical characteristics, rather than on freedom, could easily be lured to the nonfree version for short-term convenience.
ko: 비록 X 컨소시움과 오픈 그룹이 X를 제한하려고 계획하지 않았다 하더라도, 다른 누군가가 그렇게 했을 것입니다. 비 카피레프트 소프트웨어들은 여러가지로 위험합니다. 만약 어떤 사람이 독점적인 코드를 사용하여 중요한 기능을 추가시키기 위해 충분한 노력을 한다면 비 자유 버전을 만들 수 있습니다. 자유로움 보다는 기술적인 특징에 의해 소프트웨어를 고르는 사용자들은 단기적인 편의성에 의해 비 자유 버전에 쉽게 끌리게 될 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The X Consortium and Open Group can no longer exert moral suasion by saying that it is wrong to say no.  This will make it easier to decide to copyleft your X-related software.
ko: X 컨소시움과 오픈 그룹은 더 이상 거절하는 것은 좋지 않을 것이라는 이야기로 도덕적인 회류를 할수 없게 되었습니다. 이로 인해 여러분은 X와 연관된 소프트웨어에 카피레프트를 적용하는 것을 더 쉽게 결정지을 수 있게 되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When you work on the core of X, on programs such as the X server, Xlib, and Xt, there is a practical reason not to use copyleft.  The X.org group does an important job for the community in maintaining these programs, and the benefit of copylefting our changes would be less than the harm done by a fork in development.  So it is better to work with them, and not copyleft our changes on these programs.  Likewise for utilities such as <code>xset</code> and <code>xrdb</code>, which are close to the core of X and do not need major improvements.  At least we know that the X.org group has a firm commitment to developing these programs as free software.
ko: 여러분이 X 서버나 Xlib, Xt와 같은 X의 핵심 부분에 대한 일을 하고 있다면 그것은 카피레프트를 사용하지 못하는 분명한 이유가 됩니다. X.org 그룹은 그런 프로그램들을 유지하기 위해 중요한 역할을 하고 있습니다. 그리고 이러한 프로그램에 카피레프트를 적용하게 됨으로써 얻어지는 이익은 개발이 분리(fork)되는 것에 의한 피해보다는 적을 것입니다. 따라서 X.org 그룹과 일을 하는 것이 더 좋을 수도 있고, <code>xset</code>과 <code>xrdb</code>와 같은 X 코어에 가까운 유틸리티나 큰 개선이 필요하지 않은 프로그램에서 카피레프트를 적용하지 않을 수도 있습니다. 적어도 우리는 X.org 그룹이 이 프로그램들을 자유 소프트웨어로 개발할 확실한 의무를 가지고 있는 것을 알고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The issue is different for programs outside the core of X: applications, window managers, and additional libraries and widgets.  There is no reason not to copyleft them, and we should copyleft them.
ko: 그러나 윈도우 매니저나 부가적인 라이브러리와 애플리케이션 프로그램들과 같은 X 코어의 바깥에 있는 프로그램에서는 문제가 다릅니다. 이들 프로그램에서는 카피레프트를 사용하지 않을 이유가 없으므로 우리는 카피레프트를 적용해야 할 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In case anyone feels the pressure exerted by the criteria for inclusion in the X distributions, the GNU Project will undertake to publicize copylefted packages that work with X.  If you would like to copyleft something, and you worry that its omission from the X distribution will impede its popularity, please ask us to help.
ko: 누구든지 X 배포판에 포함되어있는 규정 때문에 압력받고 있다고 느낀다면, GNU 프로젝트는 X에서 동작하는 카피레프트 패키지들을 공표하는 일을 맡게 될 것입니다. 만약 여러분이 어떤 것에 카피레프트를 적용하기를 원하지만 X 배포판에서 빠지게 되어 인기를 얻지 못하는 것이 두려워 진다면 우리에게 도움을 청하십시요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: At the same time, it is better if we do not feel too much need for popularity.  When a businessman tempts you with &ldquo;more popularity,&rdquo; he may try to convince you that his use of your program is crucial to its success.  Don't believe it! If your program is good, it will find many users anyway; you don't need to feel desperate for any particular users, and you will be stronger if you do not.  You can get an indescribable sense of joy and freedom by responding, &ldquo;Take it or leave it&mdash;that's no skin off my back.&rdquo; Often the businessman will turn around and accept the program with copyleft, once you call the bluff.
ko: 동시에 인기에 너무 연연해 할 필요가 없습니다. 사업가가 여러분을 &ldquo;많은 인기&rdquo;로 유혹할 때, 그는 여러분에게 여러분의 프로그램을 사용하는 것이 성공에 필수적인 것이라고 확신시키고 싶어 합니다. 믿지 마십시오. 만약에 여러분의 프로그램이 좋다면, 그것은 많은 사람들이 이용할 것입니다. 특정 사용자에 집착할 필요가 없습니다. 그리고 여러분이 그렇게 하지 않는다면 여러분은 더욱 강해질 것입니다. 여러분은 &ldquo;다른 사람이 사용하던지 사용하지 않던지, 나랑 상관없는 일이야&rdquo;와 같은 반응에 의해서 표현할 수 없는 즐거움과 자유로움을 얻을 수 있습니다. 여러분이 사업가들의 허풍에 연연하지 않고 담대하게 나갈 때, 그들은 방향을 바꾸어 카피레프트를 받아들일 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Friends, free software developers, don't repeat old mistakes! If we do not copyleft our software, we put its future at the mercy of anyone equipped with more resources than scruples.  With copyleft, we can defend freedom, not just for ourselves, but for our whole community.
ko: 여러분, 자유 소프트웨어 개발자 여러분. 실수를 반복하지 맙시다. 우리가 카피레프트를 우리의 소프트웨어에 적용하지 않는다면, 미래에는 소프트웨어를 사용하기 위해서 양심 보다는 소프트웨어와 관련된 자산을 더 많이 가진 사람의 자비심에 호소해야 합니다. 카피레프트를 사용함으로써 우리는 우리 자신은 물론, 공동체 전체의 자유를 지킬 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 장문수 <a href="mailto:gravi@postech.ac.kr">&lt;gravi@postech.ac.kr&gt;</a>, 2001년 4월 12일, <b>번역 확인 및 교정</b>: 차지호 <a href="mailto:dreamsyt@hananet.net">&lt;dreamsyt@hananet.net&gt;</a>, 2001년 5월 20일

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
