sco-preemption.html - en to zh_CN translation catalogue (19 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: SCO Scuttles Sense, Claiming GPL Invalidity - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: SCO 让人大跌眼镜，宣称 GPL 无效 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: SCO Scuttles Sense, Claiming GPL Invalidity
zh_CN: SCO 让人大跌眼镜，宣称 GPL 无效

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Eben Moglen&#8239;<a href="#moglen"><sup>[*]</sup></a>
zh_CN: Eben Moglen&#8239;<a href="#moglen"><sup>[*]</sup></a> 著

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <i>Monday 18 August 2003</i>
zh_CN: <i>2003 年 8 月 18 日，星期一</i>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now that the tide has turned, and SCO is facing the dissolution of its legal position, claiming to &ldquo;enforce its intellectual property rights&rdquo; while actually massively infringing the rights of others, the company and its lawyers have jettisoned even the appearance of legal responsibility.  Last week's Wall Street Journal carried statements by Mark Heise, outside counsel for SCO, challenging the &ldquo;legality&rdquo; of the Free Software Foundation's GNU General Public License (GPL).  The GPL both protects against the baseless claims made by SCO for license fees to be paid by users of free software, and also prohibits SCO from its ongoing distribution of the Linux kernel, a distribution which infringes the copyrights of thousands of contributors to the kernel throughout the world.  As IBM's recently-filed counterclaim for copyright infringement and violation of the GPL shows, the GPL is the bulwark of the community's legal defense against SCO's misbehavior.  So naturally, one would expect SCO to bring forward the best possible arguments against the GPL and its application to the current situation.  But there aren't any best arguments; there aren't even any good arguments, and what SCO's lawyer actually said was arrant, unprofessional nonsense.
zh_CN: 既然潮水已经退去，那么 SCO 也就面临着法律地位的瓦解，宣称着要 &ldquo;行使知识产权&rdquo;，同时又实质性大量侵犯他人的权利，这个公司及其律师甚至弃法律责任的颜面于不顾。上周的华尔街杂志刊登了 Mark Heise——SCO 外部顾问——的声明，挑战自由软件基金会的 GNU 通用公共许可证（GPL）的 &ldquo;法律性&rdquo;。GPL 既保护 SCO 毫无根据地要求自由软件用户支付的许可证费用，也禁止 SCO 继续发布 Linux 内核，因为该发布版侵犯了全世界数千名内核贡献者的版权。正如 IBM 在最近对 GPL 侵权和违规提出的反诉所示，GPL 是整个社区防御 SCO 错误行为的保障。因此很自然，大家期待 SCO 拿出当前情况下针对 GPL 及其应用最好论据。但是他们并没有任何最好的论据；甚至连好的证据都没有，SCO 的律师说得都是彻头彻尾、极其业余的废话。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: According to the Journal, Mr Heise announced that SCO would challenge the GPL's &ldquo;legality&rdquo; on the ground that the GPL permits licensees to make unlimited copies of programs it covers, while copyright law only allows a single copy to be made.  The GPL, the Journal quoted Mr Heise as saying, &ldquo;is preempted by federal copyright law.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 根据那期杂志，Heise 先生宣称 SCO 会对 GPL 的 &ldquo;合法性&rdquo; 提出挑战，理由是 GPL 允许对其授权的程序进行不受限制的复制，而版权法只允许复制一次。GPL，该杂志援引 Heise 先生的话说，&ldquo;被联邦版权法占先了。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This argument is frivolous, by which I mean that it would be a violation of professional obligation for Mr Heise or any other lawyer to submit it to a court.  If it were true, no copyright license could permit the licensee to make multiple copies of the licensed program.  That would make not just the GPL &ldquo;illegal.&rdquo; Mr Heise's supposed theory would also invalidate the BSD, Apache, AFL, OSL, MIT/X11, and all other free software licenses.  It would invalidate the Microsoft Shared Source license.  It would also eliminate Microsoft's method for the distribution of the Windows operating system, which is pre-loaded by hard drive manufacturers onto disk drives they deliver by the hundreds of thousands to PC manufacturers.  The licenses under which the disk drive and PC manufacturers make multiple copies of Microsoft's OS would also, according to Mr Heise, violate the law.  Redmond will be surprised.
zh_CN: 这个论据是无根之草，我认为把它提到法庭上是对 Heise 先生或任何其他律师之职业操守的违背。如果它能成立，那么任何版权许可证都不能允许复制多个被授权的程序。它不仅仅让 GPL &ldquo;非法。&rdquo; Heise 先生的假设还会让 BSD、Apache、AFL、OSL、MIT/X11 以及所有其他自由软件许可证无效。它也会让微软的共享源代码许可证无效。它也会消灭微软分发 Windows 操作系统的手段，该操作系统正是由硬盘制造商预装在硬盘中并交付到几十万个人电脑制造商手中。硬盘制造商和电脑制造商复制了多份微软操作系统的许可证，按照 Heise 先生的说法，也违反了法律。Redmond 友邦惊诧。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Of course, Mr Heise's statement is nothing but moonshine, based on an intentional misreading of the Copyright Act that would fail on any law school copyright examination.  Mr Heise is referring to section 117 of the US Copyright Act, which is entitled &ldquo;Limitation on exclusive rights: computer programs,&rdquo; and which provides that:
zh_CN: 当然，Heise 先生的论断到底只是私货，是对版权条例的故意误读，这在任何一个法学院的版权考试中都无法过关。Heise 先生援引的是美国版权法案的 117 节，它适用于 &ldquo;排他权利的限制：计算机程序&rdquo;，并要求：

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 106, it is not an infringement for the owner of a copy of a computer program to make or authorize the making of another copy or adaptation of that computer program provided:
zh_CN: (a) 虽然有 106 的条款，再次复制或授权再次复制此计算机程序并不构成对此计算机程序副本所有者的侵权，前提是：

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: (1) that such a new copy or adaptation is created as an essential step in the utilization of the computer program in conjunction with a machine and that it is used in no other manner, or
zh_CN: (1) 由此产生的新副本或新修订是结合设备使用该程序的必要步骤，并且不会作为其他用途使用，或者

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: (2) that such new copy or adaptation is for archival purposes only and that all archival copies are destroyed in the event that continued possession of the computer program should cease to be rightful.
zh_CN: (2) 该新副本或新修订只作为存档目的并且在不再有权继续保有该程序时所有存档副本都会被销毁。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As the language makes absolutely clear, section 117 says that although the Act generally prohibits making any copy of a copyrighted work without license, in the case of computer programs one can both make and even alter the work for certain purposes <em>without any license at all</em>.  The claim that this provision sets a limit on what copyright owners may permit through licensing their exclusive right is utterly bogus.  It has no support in statutory language, legislative history, case law, or the constitutional policy that lies behind the copyright system.  Were this argument actually presented to a court it would certainly fail.
zh_CN: 这里的用词表达得绝对清晰，117 节说尽管该法案普遍禁止对版权作品没有许可证的复制，但是就计算机程序来说，人们可以 <em>在没有许可证的情况下</em> 就某些目的复制甚至是修改作品。声称此条款设置了版权所有者可以通过许可证授权排他权利的限制是彻头彻尾的谎言。它没有法令语言、立法历史和案例的支持，也没有作为版权系统基石的宪法策略的支持。如果这种论据真的被提到法庭，那么它必然是失败。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The release of this astounding statement is actually good news for developers and users of free software.  It shows that SCO has no defense whatever against the GPL; already it has resorted to nonsense to give investors the impression that it can evade the inevitable day of reckoning.  Far from marking the beginning of a significant threat to the vitality of the GPL, the day SCO scuttled sense altogether confirmed the strength of the GPL, and its importance in protecting freedom.
zh_CN: 这种惊世骇俗言论的发布对自由软件开发者和用户实际上是好事。它表明 SCO 并没有针对 GPL 有什么辩护手段；它已经诉诸谬误好让投资者感觉它还能逃避最后的审判。SCO 让人大跌眼镜的言论远非是对 GPL 生命力的重大打击，反之，这是对 GPL 的力量以及它对捍卫自由的重要性的全面肯定。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: [*] Eben Moglen is professor of law at Columbia University Law School.  He serves without fee as General Counsel of the Free Software Foundation.
zh_CN: [*] Eben Moglen 是哥伦比亚大学法学院教授。他义务作为总顾问为自由软件基金会服务。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Verbatim copying of this article is permitted in any medium, provided this notice is preserved.
zh_CN: 本文允许在任何媒体上进行全文逐字复制和分发，前提是保留此声明。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2022。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
