en to zh_CN translation catalogue (90 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: The Road to GNU - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: GNU 历程 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: The Road to GNU
zh_CN: GNU 历程

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Richard Stallman describes the experiences that prepared him to fight for a free software world.
zh_CN: Richard Stallman 描述了他为自由软件世界而奋斗的经历。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Around April 1983, Stallman wrote an <a href="http://catb.org/jargon/oldversions/jarg150.txt">introduction to <cite>The Happy Hacker - A Dictionary of Computer Slang</cite></a>. In it, he talks about his experiences at the MIT AI Lab and the Lisp Machine Wars. He also details how Emacs was developed. The text below is an <a href="http://www.lysator.liu.se/history/garb/txt/87-2-rms.txt">updated version from late 1983</a>, shortly after the <a href="/gnu/initial-announcement.html">initial announcement</a> of GNU.
zh_CN: 1983 年 4 月左右，Stallman 写了<a href="http://catb.org/jargon/oldversions/jarg150.txt">《快乐黑客——电脑俚语词典》</a>的简介。其中，他谈到了他在 MIT 人工智能实验室和 Lisp 机器之战的经历。他还详述了 Emacs 是怎么被开发的。以下文本是在 <a href="/gnu/initial-announcement.html">GNU 初始声明</a> 发布后不久的 <a href="http://www.lysator.liu.se/history/garb/txt/87-2-rms.txt">1983 年末版本</a> 的更新版。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><h3>
en: Table of contents
zh_CN: 目录

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#ai-lab">The Artificial Intelligence Lab</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#ai-lab">人工智能实验室</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#philosophy-manifest">Philosophy Manifest in the Lab's Achievements</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#philosophy-manifest">实验室成就的哲学宣言</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#printer-name">What's Your Printer's Name?</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#printer-name">你的打印机叫什么名字？</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#betrayed">The Lab Betrayed</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#betrayed">遭到背叛的实验室</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#war">War Breaks Out</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#war">战争的爆发</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#where">Where Do I Go Now?</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#where">何去何从？</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p><small>
en: <small>Machine Room Folk Dance, Thursday at 8 PM
zh_CN: <small>周四晚八点，机房热舞

note: type: Content of: <div><p><small>
en: Come Celebrate the Joy of Programming,
zh_CN: 一起来庆祝编程的欢呼

note: type: Content of: <div><p><small>
en: with the World's Most Enjoyable Computers.
zh_CN: 这里有世界上最可爱的计算机。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There were only five of us dancing, but we had a good time.</small>
zh_CN: 虽然舞者只我五人，不过美好时光已留住。</small>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: My first experience with computers was with manuals for various languages that I borrowed from counselors at camp.  I would write programs on paper just because of the fascination of the concept of programming.  I had to strain to think of what the programs should do, because I had nothing to supply me with a goal except that I wanted to program.  I wrote programs to add up the cubes of a table of numbers in several assembler languages at various times.
zh_CN: 我对电脑的第一次体验是从营地辅导员那里借来的各种语言的手册。我因为对编程概念的着迷，而在纸上尝试编写程序。我不得不努力思考程序应该作什么，因为除了“我想编程”这种想法以外，我并没有任何目标。我曾在不同时期用几种汇编语言编写了将数字表的立方相加的程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The first actual computers I met were IBM 360's, at the IBM New York Scientific Center, when I was a student in high school.  There I quickly developed interest in language design, operating systems and text editors.  Hired for the summer to write a boring numerical analysis program in Fortran, I surprised my boss by finishing it after a couple of weeks and spent the rest of the summer writing a text editor in APL.
zh_CN: 我第一次见到真正的电脑是我在高中时期于 IBM 纽约科学中心见到的 IBM 360。在那里我很快对语言设计、操作系统、文本编辑器产生了兴趣。我在暑期被雇佣用 Fortran 写一个无聊的数值分析程序，几周后我就完成了这个程序，这让我的老板感到惊讶。夏天剩下的时间，我用 APL 写了一个文本编辑器。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I also quickly manifested a lack of proper reverence for authority.  The whole center had been denied access to the IBM computer in the building, and we had to use slow telephone connections to the Cambridge Scientific Center.  One day an IBM executive came to tell us about the work various IBM scientific centers were doing, and finished with, &ldquo;<i>Of course you all know the important work being done here.</i>&rdquo; I asked him, &ldquo;<i>If our work is so important, why can't we use the computer in this building any more?</i>&rdquo; After the meeting, my friends told me they had wanted to say such a thing but were afraid of reprisals! Why? Certainly nothing happened to me as a result.  They seem to have learned the habit of cowering before authority even when not actually threatened.  How very nice for authority.  I decided not to learn this particular lesson.
zh_CN: 我还快速的展现出了对权威的不敬。整个中心都被拒绝访问大楼内的 IBM 电脑，我们不得不使用低速电话连接到剑桥科学中心。有一天，一位 IBM 高管来向我们介绍各个 IBM 科学中心正在进行的工作，最后说道：“当然，你们都知道这里正在进行的重要工作。”我问他：“倘若我们的工作真这么重要，为什么我们不能使用这栋楼里的电脑？”在这次会议之后，我的朋友告诉我，他们也想这么说，但是怕遭到报复！为什么？事实上，我一点事都没有。他们似乎已经养成了对权威屈服的习惯，即使他们没有受到任何威胁。这对权威来说非常好。我决定不学习这种“经验”。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: The Artificial Intelligence Lab
zh_CN: 人工智能实验室

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The New York Scientific Center closed down just in time for me to move away to college.  I found that the Cambridge Scientific Center wasn't interested in me, which was very lucky for me, because it spared me from remaining ignorant of the far superior non-IBM computers, especially the PDP-10 and PDP-11 from Digital.  Awake now to the fact that all computers were not equal fun, I sniffed around for the most enjoyable ones, and found them at the MIT Artificial Intelligence Lab.  There a bunch of people who termed themselves &ldquo;hackers&rdquo; had created their own timesharing system, the Incompatible Timesharing System, designed specifically to facilitate hacking.  ITS and all the utility programs (including the debugging program DDT which was also the &ldquo;shell&rdquo; called HACTRN) were maintained right there.  I came by looking for documentation of their system (how naive of me).  I left without any documentation since it didn't exist, but with a summer job instead.  I had been hired by an engineer/administrator, Russel Noftsker&mdash;ironically, the same man who was later to play a primary role in the lab's ruin.  The job became permanent and lasts to this day.
zh_CN: 纽约科学中心在我进入大学后关闭了。我发现剑桥科学中心对我不感兴趣，这其实对我来说很幸运，因为这让我不再对更先进的非 IBM 计算机一无所知，尤其是 Digital 的 PDP-10 和 PDP-11。意识到并不是所有的计算机都同样有趣，我到处寻找最有趣的计算机，并在麻省理工学院人工智能实验室找到了它们。那里有一群自称为“黑客”的人创建了他们自己的分时系统，即不兼容分时系统，专为 hacking 而设计。不兼容分时系统和所有实用程序（包括调试程序 DDT，也被称为 HACTRN 的“外壳”）都在那里维护。我跑来要找他们的系统文档（我真是天真）。我没能带着任何文档离开，因为它们不存在，不过我得到了一份暑期工作。我受雇于 Russel Noftsker，一名工程师/系统管理员——讽刺的是，正是这人后来在实验室的毁灭中扮演了主要角色。这工作成为我的永久性工作，一直到今天。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Once I showed I was competent, I had free rein of the entire operating system, an opportunity to learn and be productive that few labs and no company would have given me.  The hackers' attitude was, &ldquo;<i>If you can do a good job, go right ahead&mdash;whoever you are.</i>&rdquo;
zh_CN: 在我证明自己的能力后，我便可以自由控制整个操作系统，这是大多数实验室和任何公司都不会给我的学习和高效工作的机会。黑客们的态度是：“<i>如果你能做好工作，那就继续吧——无论你是谁。</i>”

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With the AI lab as a comparison, I came to see how little freedom and how many unnecessary difficulties people had elsewhere.  At IBM, and at Harvard, power was very unequally distributed.  A few people gave orders and the rest (if they were not me) took them.  Professors would have their own terminals, which were usually idle, while the rest of us often could not work because there were too few shared terminals.  People would ask, &ldquo;<i>Are you authorized to do this</i>,&rdquo; rather than, &ldquo;<i>Do you know how to do this? Is it constructive?</i>&rdquo; They would rather have a job done by an authorized moron than by an unknown genius.  I ceased to frequent Harvard's computer lab because MIT was so much better.  (I was majoring in physics; there was no need for a natural hacker to take formal classes in computers, as hacking challenging programs among good hackers is a better training).
zh_CN: 和人工智能实验室相比，我发现其他地方人们的自由是多么少、无谓的困难是那么多。在 IBM 和哈佛，权力常常被不公平的分配。一些人给出任务，一些人（不包括我）做。教授们有他们自己的终端，但常常闲着，而我们其他人却经常因为共享终端不够而无法工作。人们会问：“<i>你有权这样做吗？</i>”而不是“<i>你知道怎么做吗？有建设性吗？</i>”他们宁愿让一个被授权的白痴来完成工作，也不愿让一个不知名的天才来完成。我不再经常去哈佛的计算机实验室，因为麻省理工学院要好得多。（我主修物理；天生的黑客不需要参加正式的计算机课程，与优秀的黑客一同 hacking 有挑战性的程序是更好的培训）。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The AI lab attitude was different.  We had a tradition of breaking open the door of any professor who dared to lock up a terminal in his office.  They would come back to an open door and a note saying, &ldquo;<i>Please don't make us waste our time unlocking this terminal.</i>&rdquo; The terminals are there to be used, and they are wasted if they are idle. We extended the same attitude to computer time.  The PDP-10 executes 300,000 instructions every second. If no user asks for them, it spends them on counting how long it has had nothing useful to do.  It's better for them to be used by anyone at all for any constructive purpose, than to be wasted.  So we allowed &ldquo;tourists&rdquo;&mdash;guest users&mdash;as long as they did not get in the way.  We encouraged them to learn about the system, looking for the few who would become hackers and join us.  There are at least two lab staff members and one MIT professor who got started this way.
zh_CN: 人工智能实验室的态度有所不同。我们有一个传统，破开任何敢把终端锁在办公室的教授的门。他们回来时将会看到一扇开着的门和一张纸条，上书：“<i>请不要让我们浪费时间来解锁这个终端。</i>”终端是拿来用的，闲着就是浪费。我们对电脑时间也是这个态度，PDP-10 每秒可执行三十万条指令。如果没用户请求它们，它就会把这些时间浪费在计算自己多久没干活上面。对于任何人来讲，用于建设性的目的都比浪费要好。因此，在不影响大家的情况下，我们允许“游客”（访客用户）。我们鼓励他们了解这个系统，寻找少数愿意成为黑客并加入我们的人。至少有两名实验室工作人员和一名麻省理工学院教授是这样进来的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I found that the computer systems reflected these differences in attitudes between organizations.  For example, most computer systems are designed with security features that allow a few people to tell everyone else what they can and can't do.  The few have the power and nobody can challenge it.  We hackers called this &ldquo;fascism&rdquo; because such computer systems really have the social organization of totalitarian police states.
zh_CN: 我发现计算机系统体现了组织之间的差异。例如，大多数计算机系统都设置有安全功能，允许少数人告诉其他人他们可以做什么和不可以做什么。少数人拥有不可动摇的权力。我们黑客把这种制度叫做“法西斯主义”，因为这样的计算机系统确实具有极权警察国家的社会组织。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In order to prevent the users from turning off the security, a fortress must be erected around the system programs.  Every possible avenue through the walls has to be guarded, or the downtrodden masses will sneak through.  It turns out to be impossible for the computer to distinguish between sneaking through the walls and many other activities that people frequently need to do in order to do their jobs.  Since maintaining security is more important than getting work done, all such activities are forbidden.  The result is that you must frequently ask one of the elite to do something for you that you aren't allowed to do.  If he doesn't like you or anything about you, or if he wants a bribe, he can make your job twice as hard as it really ought to be with hardly any effort.
zh_CN: 为了防止用户关闭安全功能，系统程序周围必须建立一个堡垒。穿过城墙的每一条可能的通道都必须被守卫，否则受压迫的群众就会偷偷溜进去。事实证明，计算机不可能区分偷偷穿墙和人们为了完成工作而经常需要做的许多其他活动。由于维护安全比完成工作更重要，因此所有此类活动都被禁止。结果是你必须经常要求一位掌权人为你做一些你不被允许做的事情。如果他不喜欢你，或者如果他想要贿赂，他可以毫不费力地让你的工作变得比实际应该的困难加倍。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It's taken for granted that only the elite will be allowed to modify or install any system programs lest the underlings sneak in a &ldquo;trojan horse&rdquo; to turn off the security.  (This restriction is enforced using &ldquo;file protection.&rdquo;)  Just the opposite of the AI lab where a tourist working on system programs meant he was starting to make himself useful and become a hacker.  Their way fewer people can contribute to improving the system, and the users learn a fatalistic, despairing attitude toward system deficiencies.  They learn the mental outlook of a slave.
zh_CN: 人们理所当然的认为，只有掌权人才被允许修改或安装任何系统程序，以免下属通过“特洛伊木马”潜入来关闭安全功能（这一限制通过“文件保护”来强制执行）。这些与人工智能实验室绝然相反。在人工智能实验室中，游客致力于系统程序的工作意味着他正使自己变得有用并成为一名黑客。而这里的方式使得更少的人能够为改进系统做出贡献，并且用户对系统缺陷形成了一种宿命论、绝望的态度。他们学会了奴隶的精神面貌。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: At a place like Digital Equipment, even the people whose job it is to improve the system have to contend with so much bureaucracy that their effectiveness and morale are halved.  As Robert Townsend said in &ldquo;Up the Organization,&rdquo; most institutions demoralize their workers and waste their potential by hindering them from doing their jobs well.  Security and privileges are the way it is done on a computer system.
zh_CN: 在 Digital Equipment 这样的地方，即使是那些负责改进系统的人也必须与大量的官僚作风作斗争，以至于他们的效率和士气减半。正如罗伯特·汤森德在《提升组织》一书中所说，大多数机构阻碍员工做好工作，从而挫伤员工士气、浪费他们的潜力。安全功能和权限是这一点在电脑系统上的体现。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Most people accept such regimes because they expect jobs to be onerous and hope for nothing from their jobs except money.  But for the hackers hacking was more than &ldquo;just&rdquo; a job, it was a way of life.  The original hackers made sure they would have no such problems by omitting security and file protection from the design of the system.  Users of our system were free men, asked to behave responsibly.  Instead of an elite of power, we had an elite of knowledge, composed of whoever was motivated to learn.  Since nobody could dominate others on our machine, the lab ran as an anarchy.  The visible success of this converted me to anarchism&#8239;<a href="#ft1">[1]</a>.  To most people, &ldquo;anarchy&rdquo; means &ldquo;wasteful, destructive disorder,&rdquo; but to an anarchist like me it means voluntary organization as needed, with emphasis on goals, not rules and no insistence on uniformity for uniformity's sake.  Anarchism does not mean advocating a dog-eat-dog jungle.  American society is already a dog-eat-dog jungle, and its rules maintain it that way.  We wish to replace these rules with a concern for constructive cooperation.
zh_CN: 大多数人接受这种制度是因为他们觉得工作很辛苦，并且除了金钱再无所念。但对于黑客来说，hacking “不仅仅是”一项工作，更是一种生活方式。最初的黑客通过在系统设计中忽略安全性和文件保护来确保无此问题。我们系统的用户是自由人，被要求对自己的行为负责。我们拥有的不是掌权人，而是知识精英，由有学习动机的人们组成。由于没有人可以在我们的机器上支配其他人，因此实验室在无政府状态下运作。这种明显的成功使我转向了无政府主义&#8239;<a href="#ft1">[1]</a>。对大多数人来说，“无政府状态”意味着“浪费、毁灭性的混乱”，但对像我这样的无政府主义者来说，它意味着根据需要自愿组织，强调目标而不是规则，也不会为了统一而统一。无政府主义并不意味着提倡弱肉强食的丛林。美国社会已经是一个弱肉强食的丛林，其规则也维持着这种状态。我们希望以对建设性合作的关注来取代这些规则。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The file protection on most computer systems means that great attention is paid to how you can restrict who can do what to your files.  Users are taught to expect that file protection is all that stands between them and having their work destroyed every day.  We hackers, who lived happily for years without file protection and did not feel we were missing anything called their attitude &ldquo;paranoia.&rdquo; It was extremely useful that everything in the system was accessible; this meant a bug could not hide in a file you were not allowed to fix.
zh_CN: 大多数计算机系统上的文件保护意味着要非常注意如何限制他人对您文件的权限。用户被教导文件保护是守护他们每天工作成果的唯一堡垒。我们这些黑客在没有文件保护的情况下幸福地生活了多年，并不觉得我们错过了任何东西，他们的态度被我们称为“偏执狂”。系统中的所有内容都可以访问，这非常有用；这意味着错误无法隐藏在不允许你修复的文件中。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We carried these attitudes into programming language design as well.  Consider the &ldquo;structured programming&rdquo; movement, with its &ldquo;ban the GOTO&rdquo; platform.  These people said, &ldquo;<i>All you programmers except we few are [in]competent.  We know how you should program.  We will design languages that force you to program that way, then we will force you to use them.</i>&rdquo; We hackers felt that a more appropriate way to improve programming languages was to identify and provide constructs that were easier to use; to help the user write good programs rather than hassle him if he might be writing a bad one.  And we provided the facilities so that users could create their own constructs if they did not like the ones we provided.
zh_CN: 我们也将这些态度融入到编程语言设计中。想想“结构化编程”运动及其“禁止 GOTO”宣言吧。这些人说：“<i>除了我们，你们所有程序员都是没能力的。只有我们知道你们应该如何编程。我们将设计语言，强迫你们以我们的方式编程，然后我们会强迫你们使用我们设计的语言。</i>”我们黑客认为改进编程语言的更合适方法是识别和提供更易于使用的结构；帮助用户写出好的程序，而不是在他可能写出糟糕的程序时打扰他。我们提供了这些功能，如果用户不喜欢我们提供的结构，可以创建自己的结构。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Philosophy Manifest in the Lab's Achievements
zh_CN: 实验室成就的哲学宣言

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The AI lab attitudes are an intrinsic part of my best-known work, the EMACS full-screen editor (to which Guy Steele and others also contributed).  Nowadays full-screen editors (&ldquo;word processing&rdquo; programs) are common, and are found on every home computer.  In 1973, display terminals were more expensive than printers, so most people still used printing terminals, and those who had display terminals usually used them as if they were printing terminals (that is, as &ldquo;GLASS TTY&rdquo;'s).  The AI lab had displays but no screen editor yet.
zh_CN: 人工智能实验室的态度正是 EMACS 全屏编辑器的内在价值的一部分——这是我最为人知的作品（Guy Steele 以及其他人也对此作出了贡献）。如今，全屏编辑器（又名“文字处理”程序）已经很常见，而且每台家庭电脑上都能找到。但在 1973 年，显示器终端比打印终端更贵，所以大多数人仍使用打印终端，而拥有显示器终端的人们往往把它们当打印终端用（即，“玻璃打字机”）。人工智能实验室有显示器，但是没有屏幕编辑器。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: EMACS is unusual among screen editors because it is powerful and extensible.  EMACS contains its own programming facility which I used to provide commands that other editors don't have, and which users use to provide any commands they want which I didn't give them.  Users can make libraries of commands and share them, and when they do a good job, the libraries become part of the standard EMACS system just by being included in the manual.
zh_CN: EMACS 与一众屏幕编辑器不同，它十分强大且可扩展。EMACS 包含自己的编程工具，我用它来提供其他编辑器没有的命令，用户也用它来提供他们想要但我没有给他们的任何命令。用户可以创建命令库并共享它们，如果他们做得不错，这些库只需包含在手册中就可以成为标准 EMACS 系统的一部分。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Many other editors have had &ldquo;macro&rdquo; facilities.  EMACS has a programming language for writing editor commands, completely separate from the usual editing language.  Because it does not have to be an editing language, it can be a much better programming language, good for writing complicated programs.  The second ingredient is to make no distinction between the implementor and the user.  Nearly all the &ldquo;built in&rdquo; commands of EMACS are written just like user extensions.  Each user can replace them or change them for himself.
zh_CN: 许多其他编辑器都有“宏”功能。EMACS 有一种用于编写编辑器命令的编程语言，与通常的编辑器命令完全分开。因为它不必是一种编辑器命令，所以它可以是一种更好的编程语言，适合编写复杂的程序。它的另一个特点是不区分内部实现和用户扩展。几乎所有 EMACS 的“内建”命令都是像用户扩展一样编写的。每个用户都可以自己更换或更改它们。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The development of EMACS followed a path that illustrates the nature of the lab.  When I came to the lab, the editor was TECO, a printing-terminal editor with some more programming facilities than other editors.  The user would type a command string of many commands, and then TECO would execute it.  On a display terminal, TECO knew how to redisplay the text of the file after each command string.  The natural way to provide screen editing was to add it to TECO and adapt the existing redisplay mechanism.
zh_CN: EMACS 的开发遵循了一条印证实验室天性的道路。当我来到实验室时，编辑器是 TECO，一个打印终端编辑器，比其他编辑器具有更多的编程功能。用户输入一个由许多命令组成的命令串，然后 TECO 就会执行它。在显示终端上，TECO 知道如何在每个命令字符串之后重新显示文件的文本。提供屏幕编辑的自然方法是将其添加到 TECO 并适应其已有的重新显示机制。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Originally, the screen editor was just one of TECO's commands.  Its power was very limited, and if you needed to do anything fancy, such as save the file on disk or search for a string, you would exit from the screen editor and use regular TECO for a while.  Then a user suggested that I provide a couple of screen-editor commands that the user could hook up to a saved TECO command string or &ldquo;macro.&rdquo; In implementing this, I discovered that it was just as easy to let the user replace any of the screen editor's commands with a saved TECO command string.
zh_CN: 原本，屏幕编辑器只是 TECO 的命令之一。它的功能非常有限，如果你需要做任何复杂的事情，例如将文件保存在磁盘上或搜索字符串，你需要退出屏幕编辑器并使用常规 TECO。然后，一位用户建议我提供几个屏幕编辑器命令，用户可以将它们挂到已保存的 TECO 命令或“宏”上。在实现这个功能的过程中，我发现让用户用已保存的 TECO 命令替换任何屏幕编辑器命令同样容易。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This touched off an explosion.  Everybody and his brother was writing his own collection of redefined screen-editor commands, a command for everything he typically liked to do.  People would pass them around and improve them, making them more powerful and more general.  The collections of redefinitions gradually became system programs in their own right.  Their scope increased, so that there was less and less reason ever to use TECO for actual editing.  It became just a programming language for writing editors.  We started to categorize it mentally as a programming language rather than as an editor with programming as an extra feature, and this meant comparing it with other programming languages instead of other editors.  The result was a demand for many features that other programming languages had.  I improved TECO in this way while other hackers used the new features to improve their editors written in TECO.
zh_CN: 这引发了思想的爆发。许多人都在编写自己重新定义的屏幕编辑器命令集合，就是他们通常干活时喜欢用的命令。人们会分享它们并改进它们，使它们更强大、更通用。重新定义的集合逐渐自成一体。它们的范围不断扩大，因此使用 TECO 本身进行实际编辑的理由越来越少。它变成一种用于编写编辑器的编程语言。我们开始在心理上将其归类为一种编程语言，而不是一种将编程作为额外功能的编辑器，这意味着将其与其他编程语言而不是其他编辑器进行比较。结果是要求它具有一些其他编程语言所具有的功能。我以这种方式改进了 TECO，而其他黑客则使用新功能来改进他们用 TECO 编写的编辑器。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: After about two years of this wild evolution, Guy Steele decided it was time to write one editor that would combine the best ideas of all the rest.  We started together, but he soon drifted off to his other interests. I called the editor EMACS, for &ldquo;<i>editing macros</i>.&rdquo; Besides, I wanted the name of the new editor to have a single-letter abbreviation, and &ldquo;E&rdquo; was one of the letters not already in use.
zh_CN: 经过大约两年的疯狂演变后，Guy Steele 认为是时候编写一个能够结合其他所有编辑器最佳想法的编辑器了。我们一起开始，但他很快就转变了兴趣。我将此编辑器称为 “EMACS”，意思是“<i>编辑宏</i>”。还有，我希望新编辑器的名字有一个单字母缩写，“E” 是尚未使用的字母之一。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Thus, the standard EMACS command language was the result of years of experimenation by many user-maintainers on their own editors, something possible only because of extensibility and the AI lab's attitude of encouraging users to add to the system.  On the fateful day when I gave users the power to redefine their own screen editors, I didn't know that it would lead to an earth-shaking new editor.  I was following the AI lab heuristic that it is always good to give the user more power.  AI lab attitudes then encouraged users to use the power and to share what they produced thereby.
zh_CN: 因此，标准 EMACS 命令语言是许多用户/维护人员在自己的编辑器上进行多年实验的结果，这是由于可扩展性和人工智能实验室鼓励用户添加系统功能的态度才变得可能。在我赋予用户重新定义自己的屏幕编辑器命运的那一天，我并不知道这会带来一个翻天覆地的新编辑器。我遵循人工智能实验室的启发，即给予用户更多的权力总是好的。然后，人工智能实验室的态度鼓励用户使用这种力量，并分享由此产生的成果。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I worked on EMACS for about five years, distributing it to everyone free with the condition that they give back all extensions they made, so as to help EMACS improve.  I called this arrangement the &ldquo;EMACS commune.&rdquo; As I shared, it was their duty to share, to work with each other rather than against.  EMACS is now used at all the best university computer science departments and lots of other places.  It's also been imitated about ten times.  Sad to say, many of these imitations lack the real essence of EMACS, which is its extensibility; they are &ldquo;ersatz EMACSes&rdquo; which imitate the superficial appearance only.
zh_CN: 我在 EMACS 项目上工作了大约五年，免费分发给大家，条件是他们回馈自己所做的所有扩展，以帮助 EMACS 改进。我将这种安排称为 “EMACS 公社”。就像我分享一样，他们也有责任分享、相互合作而不是对抗。EMACS 现在被所有顶级大学的计算机科学系和许多其他地方使用。它也被模仿了大约十次。遗憾的是，许多仿品都缺乏 EMACS 的真正本质，即它的可扩展性；它们是仅模仿表面的“EMACS 替代品”。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Nowadays EMACS users hardly ever edit with TECO, and most don't even know TECO.  In fact, I've forgotten how to edit with TECO.  I got so used to thinking in terms of programming with TECO that on a few rare occasions when I needed to edit with it I was at a loss for a minute or so.  The reflexes were all gone.
zh_CN: 现在的 EMACS 用户几乎不用 TECO 进行编辑，而且大多数人甚至不知道 TECO。事实上，我已经忘记如何用 TECO 编辑了。我已经习惯了以 TECO 编程的方式思考，以至于有几次，当我需要用它进行编辑时，我会有一分钟左右的时间不知所措。条件反射全部消失了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I've noticed that one sign that an editor improvement is a valuable one is when, after using it for a couple of weeks, I forget how to do without it.  This proves it must have required a great effort to keep in practice to do things the old way.
zh_CN: 我注意到，编辑器的改进确有价值的一个迹象是，在使用它几周后，如果没有它我就不知道该怎么做。这证明，按照老方法做事，一定需要付出很大的努力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I don't think that anything like EMACS could have been developed commercially.  Businesses have the wrong attitudes.  The primary axiom of the commercial world toward users is that they are incompetent, and that if they have any control over their system they will mess it up.  The primary goal is to give them nothing specific to complain about, not to give them a means of helping themselves.  This is the same as why the FDA would rather kill a thousand people by keeping drugs off the market than one person by releasing a drug by mistake.  The secondary goal is to give managers power over users, because it's the managers who decide which system to buy, not the users.  If a corporate editor has any means for extensibility, they will probably let your manager decide things for you and give you no control at all.  For both of these reasons, a company would never have designed an editor with which users could experiment as MIT users did, and they would not have been able to build on the results of the experiments to produce an EMACS.  In addition, the company would not like to give you the source code, and without that, it is much harder to write extensions.
zh_CN: 我不认为像 EMACS 这样的东西可以商业化开发出来。商业的态度就是错误的。商业世界对用户的基本公理是他们无能，如果他们对系统有任何控制权，他们就会把事情搞砸。商业的首要目标是让用户没有明确的投诉，而不是给他们提供帮助自己的方法。这就像为什么美国食品及药物管理局宁可不让药品上市而害死一千个人，也不愿意错放药品而害死一个人一样。第二个目标是赋予管理者凌驾于用户之上的权力，因为决定购买哪个系统的是管理者，而不是用户。如果一个商业编辑器有任何可扩展的方法，他们可能会让你的管理者为你做决定，而不给你任何控制权。基于这两个原因，公司永远不会设计出可以像 MIT 的用户那样进行实验的编辑器，他们也不可能在实验结果的基础上开发出 EMACS。此外，公司也不愿意给你源代码，而没有源代码，编写扩展程序就难上加难了。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: What's Your Printer's Name?
zh_CN: 你的打印机叫什么名字？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When I was installing a new typeface for the EMACS manual on a laser printer system at the lab, I noticed that the initialization menu included a slot for changing the printer's name, which appeared on the cover sheet of each user's output.  (This feature was important if you had more than one printer and wanted to know which one had produced your output.)  Our printer had the cutesy and meaningless name &ldquo;Tremont.&rdquo; It was my duty as a hacker to replace it with something more fun.  I chose &ldquo;Kafka,&rdquo; to bring up disturbing associations.  (Did you hear about the man who woke up as a laser printer one morning?)
zh_CN: 当我在实验室的激光打印机系统上为 EMACS 手册安装新字体时，我注意到初始化菜单包含一个用于更改打印机名称的选项，该名称出现在每个用户输出的封面上。（如果你有不止一台打印机并且想知道哪一台打印机生成了你的输出，则此功能非常重要。）我们的打印机有一个矫揉造作且毫无意义的名称 “Tremont”，作为一名黑客，我有责任用更有趣的东西替换它。我选择 “Kafka” 来唤起令人不安的联想。（你听说过那个早上醒来变成激光打印机的人吗？）

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For the next few days, other hackers kept talking about the new name, and suggesting additional amusing names (&ldquo;Treemunch,&rdquo; &ldquo;Thesiscrunch,&rdquo; &ldquo;Cthulhu,&rdquo; &hellip;).  I tried each name for a few days, while collecting more suggestions.  It was great fun for just about everyone.  The one exception was a professor who told me that I was not authorized to do this, and that I should stop.  I replied that I knew first-hand that people were having fun as a result, and therefore I ought to continue, at least as long as the suggestions held up.  Finally, I told him, in stern and official terms, that he was not authorized to say that hacking was unauthorized.
zh_CN: 在接下来的几天里，其他黑客不断谈论这个新名称，并提出其他有趣的名称（“Treemunch”、“Thesiscrunch”、“Cthulhu”……）。我每个名字试用几天，同时收集更多建议。这对几乎每个人来说都很有趣。唯一的例外是一位教授告诉我，我无权这样做，我应该停止。我回答说，我从人们那里了解到一手信息，人们因起名字而获得乐趣，所以我应该继续下去，至少只要这些建议仍然有效。最后，我用严厉而正式的措辞告诉他，他无权说 hacking 是未经授权的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The poor guy didn't let it end there.  He said, &ldquo;<i>If you think renaming the printer is so much fun, why don't you rename the PDP-10's?</i>&rdquo; This was a truly brilliant idea, for which I remain grateful.  The next day, the DM PDP-10 (home of Zork) was called &ldquo;Dungeon Modelling&rdquo; instead of &ldquo;Dynamic Modelling&rdquo;; the ML PDP-10 (used for research in mathematics and in medical decision making) was called &ldquo;Medical Liability&rdquo; instead of &ldquo;Math Lab&rdquo;; the MC PDP-10 was &ldquo;Maximum Confusion&rdquo; instead of &ldquo;MACSYMA Consortium&rdquo;; and the AI PDP-10 was called &ldquo;Anarchists International&rdquo; instead of &ldquo;Artificial Intelligence.&rdquo; I didn't hear any more complaints.
zh_CN: 这可怜的家伙并没有让事情就此结束。他说：“如果<i>您认为重新命名打印机很有趣，为什么不重新命名 PDP-10 呢？</i>”这真是一个绝妙的主意，我对此一直心怀感激。第二天，DM PDP-10（Zork 的家）被称为“地下城模型”（“Dungeon Modelling”），而不是“动态模型”（“Dynamic Modelling”）；ML PDP-10（用于数学研究和医疗决策）被称为“医疗责任”（“Medical Liability”），而不是“数学实验室”（“Math Lab”）；MCPDP-10 被称为“最大混乱”（“Maximum Confusion”），而不是 “MACSYMA 财团”（“MACSYMA Consortium”）；AI PDP-10 被称为“无政府主义者国际”（“Anarchists International”）而不是“人工智能”（“Artificial Intelligence”）。我再也没有听到更多的抱怨。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: The Lab Betrayed
zh_CN: 遭到背叛的实验室

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is still an institution named the MIT Artificial Intelligence Lab, and I still work there, but its old virtues are gone.  It was dealt a murderous blow by a spin-off company, and this has changed its nature fundamentally and (I believe) permanently.
zh_CN: 现在还有一个叫 MIT 人工智能实验室的机构，我仍然在那里工作，但它的旧美德已经不复存在了。它受到了一家衍生公司的致命打击，这从根本上并且（在我看来）永久地改变了它的性质。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For years, only we at the AI lab, and a few other labs, appreciated the best in software.  When we spoke of the virtues of Lisp, other programmers laughed at us, though with little knowledge of what they were talking about.  We ignored them and went on with our work.  They said we were in an ivory tower.
zh_CN: 多年来，只有我们人工智能实验室和其他几个实验室欣赏最好的软件。当我们谈论 Lisp 的优点时，其他程序员会嘲笑我们，尽管他们对自己在说什么知之甚少。我们没有理会他们，继续我们的工作。他们说我们在象牙塔里。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Then parts of the &ldquo;real world&rdquo; realized that we had been right all along about Lisp.  Great commercial interest in Lisp appeared.  This was the beginning of the end.
zh_CN: 然后“现实世界”的一部分意识到我们关于 Lisp 的看法一直都是正确的。商业界对 Lisp 产生了浓厚的兴趣。这是终章的开始。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The AI lab had just developed a computer called the Lisp machine, a personal computer with a large virtual address space so that it could run very large Lisp programs.  Now people wanted the machine to be produced commercially so that everyone else could have them.  The inventor of the Lisp machine, arch-hacker Richard Greenblatt, made plans for an unconventional hacker company which would grow slowly but steadily, not use hype, and be less gluttonous and ruthless than your standard American corporation.  His goal was to provide an alternative way of supporting hackers and hacking and to provide the world with Lisp machines and good software, rather than simply to maximize profits.  This meant doing without most outside investment, since investors would insist on conventional methods.  This company is Lisp Machines Incorporated, generally called LMI.
zh_CN: 人工智能实验室刚刚开发了一台名为 Lisp 机器的电脑，这是一台具有很大虚拟地址空间的个人电脑，因此可以运行非常大型的 Lisp 程序。现在人们希望将这台机器进行商业化生产，以便其他人都可以拥有它们。Lisp 机器的发明者、顶级黑客 Richard Greenblatt 制定了建立一家非传统的黑客公司计划，该公司将缓慢但稳定地发展，不使用炒作，并且比标准的美国公司更少贪婪和无情。他的目标是提供一种支持黑客和 hacking 的替代方式，并为世界提供 Lisp 机器和优秀的软件，而不仅仅是实现利润最大化。这意味着没有大量外部投资，因为投资者会坚持传统方法。这家公司就是 Lisp 机器公司（“Lisp Machines Incorporated”），一般简称 LMI。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Other people on the Lisp machine project believed this would not work, and criticized Greenblatt's lack of business experience.  In response, Greenblatt brought in his friend Noftsker, who had left the lab for industry some years before.  Noftsker was considered experienced in business.  He quickly demonstrated the correctness of this impression with a most businesslike stab in the back: he and the other hackers dropped Greenblatt to form another company.  Their plan was to seek large amounts of investment, grow as rapidly as possible, make a big splash, and the devil take anybody or anything drowned in it.  Though the hackers would only get a small fraction of the fortunes the company planned to make, even that much would make them rich! They didn't even have to work any harder.  They just had to stop cooperating with others as they had used to.
zh_CN: Lisp 机器项目的其他人认为这行不通，并批评 Greenblatt 缺乏商业经验。作为回应，Greenblatt 请来了他的朋友 Noftsker，他几年前离开实验室进入工业界。Noftsker 被认为在商业上经验丰富。他很快就以最务实的方式在背后捅了一刀，证明了这种印象的正确性：他和其他黑客抛弃了 Greenblatt，成立了另一家公司。他们的计划是寻求大量投资，尽可能快地发展，引起轰动，而魔鬼把淹没其中的任何人或任何东西都无情带走。尽管黑客们只能获得公司计划创造的一小部分财富，但即便如此，他们也能致富！他们甚至不需要更加努力地工作。他们只需停止像以前那样与他人合作。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This resulted in two competing Lisp machine companies: Greenblatt's LMI and Noftsker's Symbolics (generally called &ldquo;Slime&rdquo; or &ldquo;Bolix&rdquo; around the Al lab).  All the hackers of the AI lab were associated with one or the other, except me because even LMI involved moral compromises I didn't want to make.  For example, Greenblatt is against proprietary operating system software but approves of proprietary applications software; I don't want to refuse to share either kind of program.<a href="#ft2">[2]</a>
zh_CN: 这导致了两家相互竞争的 Lisp 机器公司：Greenblatt 的 LMI 和 Noftsker 的 Symbolics（在人工智能实验室中通常称为 “Slime” 或 “Bolix”）。人工智能实验室的所有黑客都与其中之一有联系，除了我，因为即使是 LMI 也涉及我不想做出的道德妥协。例如，Greenblatt 反对专有操作系统软件，但赞成专有应用软件；我不想拒绝分享其中任何一种程序。<a href="#ft2">[2]</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Symbolics proceeded directly to get millions of dollars of investment and persistently hire away everyone at MIT not welded down.  Greenblatt had envisioned people working part time at LMI and part time at the AI lab, in order to minimize the trauma to the lab.  Symbolics made accusations of conflict of interest, forcing the LMI people to leave MIT as well.  Suddenly I was the last hacker, and one person was not enough. The lab was dying.
zh_CN: Symbolics 直接获得了数百万美元的投资，并坚持雇佣了 MIT 所有没有被拉拢的人。Greenblatt 曾设想人们在 LMI 和人工智能实验室兼职工作，以尽量减少对实验室的伤害。Symbolics 指责存在利益冲突，迫使 LMI 的人员也离开 MIT。突然我是最后一个黑客了，而一个人是不够的。实验室正走向死亡。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I strongly suspect that the destruction of the AI lab was a deliberate act.  Once a businessman gets a golden egg, he kills the goose to make sure he has a monopoly.
zh_CN: 我强烈怀疑，摧毁人工智能实验室是一种蓄意行为。商人一旦得到金蛋，就会杀死那下金蛋的鹅，以确保自己的垄断地位。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is painful for me to bring back the memories of this time.  The people remaining at the lab were the professors, students and non-hacker researchers, who did not know how to maintain the system or the hardware, or want to know.  Machines began to break and never be fixed&#8239;<a href="#ft3">[3]</a>; sometimes they just got thrown out.  Needed changes to software could not be made.  The non-hackers reacted to this by turning to commercial systems bringing with them fascism and license agreements.  <span id="my-poor-ai-lab">I used to wander through the lab</span>, through the rooms so empty at night where they used to be full and think, &ldquo;<i>Oh, my poor AI lab, you are dying and I can't save you.</i>&rdquo; Everyone expected that if more hackers were trained, Symbolics would hire them away, so it didn't even seem worth trying.  The lab administration made no effort to rally us, and the MIT administration acted as moneygrubbing as a profit-making company, further demoralizing people.
zh_CN: 回忆起这段时光，我感到非常痛苦。留在实验室的是教授、学生和非黑客研究人员，他们不知道如何维护系统或硬件，也不想知道。机器开始坏了，而且永远也修不好<a href="#ft3">[3]</a>；有时候它们就被直接扔掉了。软件无法进行必要的修改。非黑客对此的反应是转向商业系统，因为商业系统带来了法西斯主义和许可协议。<span id="my-poor-ai-lab">我经常在实验室里徘徊</span>，晚上穿过曾经满满当当的房间，空荡荡的，心想：“<i>哦，我可怜的人工智能实验室，你快死了，我却救不了你。</i>”每个人都认为，如果培训出更多的黑客，Symbolics 就会把他们招走，所以似乎根本不值得一试。实验室管理部门没有努力团结我们，而 MIT 的管理部门就像一个牟利公司一样敛财，进一步打击了人们的士气。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In the past, hackers had gone from time to time, but new ones had been trained to replace them by the ones who remained.  Now the whole culture was wiped out, there was not enough left to provide a model for a new person, and no greatness to draw the best people here.  For example, hackers used to eat dinner together (usually Chinese) every day.  No one person was there every day, but you could count on finding other people to eat with at dinner time.  Now this practice disintegrated, and when people could no longer expect to find others to eat with, they would not plan to show up hungry at the usual times, thus compounding the effect.
zh_CN: 过去，黑客时不时地离开，但留下来的黑客会培养新的黑客来取代他们。现在，整个文化荡然无存，没有足够的余力为新人提供榜样，也没有伟大的东西吸引最优秀的人来到这里。例如，黑客们过去每天都在一起吃晚饭（通常是中国菜）。虽然没有人每天都在那里，但你可以指望在晚餐时间找到其他人一起吃饭。现在这种做法瓦解了，当人们不再指望找到其他人一起吃饭时，他们就不会计划在通常的时间饿着肚子出现，从而加剧了这种影响。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The whole AI lab used to have one common phone number and a public address system.  (The phone's extension was 6765, and we answered it &ldquo;6765,&rdquo; or &ldquo;Fibonacci of 20,&rdquo; since 6765 is the 20th Fibonacci number.)  It was easy to call and reach anyone and everyone.  Now most of the people and terminals have moved to other floors where 6765 does not reach, and the 9th floor, the lab's original heart, is filling up with machines.  This change is further reducing the lab's social cohesion.  Now I can't even call up and find out if anyone is hungry and nobody can get in touch with me on the phone.
zh_CN: 过去，整个人工智能实验室只有一个公用电话和一个公共广播系统。（电话的分机号码是 6765，我们接听电话时说 “6765”，或者“斐波那契数列的第 20 个数”，因为 6765 是斐波那契数列的第 20 个数字）。打电话很方便，可以联系到任何人。现在，大多数人和终端机都搬到了 6765 无法到达的其他楼层，而 9 楼，实验室原来的中心，也被机器填满了。这种变化进一步削弱了实验室的社会凝聚力。现在我甚至不能打电话询问是否有人饿了，也没人能通过电话联系到我。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Thus I lost all at once my social network, my opportunity to pursue my career in an upright fashion, and most of what I had helped to build.  I felt that I was the last survivor of an extinct tribe, doomed to spend my life among uncomprehending strangers.  There was not much chance of building a new lab with the AI lab's good qualities if an existing and previously healthy one could not survive the pressure.  The computer industry would not be disposed to let me share with other hackers as the golden rule requires.  I began looking for a new career that would not involve computers, but didn't expect to find one, and saw no future except to work on accounting programs or other things that no hacker (including me) would be interested in.  It would be a pointless life, but at least I would not have the shame of refusing to share with other hackers if they would not want what I was doing.  I wasn't sure this was better than a more direct form of suicide.
zh_CN: 就这样，我一下子失去了我的社交网络，失去了堂堂正正干事业的机会，也失去了我帮助建立起来的大部分东西。我觉得自己是一个灭绝部落的最后幸存者，注定要在不理解我的外人中间度过一生。如果一个现有的、以前很健康的实验室无法在压力下幸存，那建立一个具有人工智能实验室优良品质的新实验室的机会就不大了。电脑行业也不愿意让我按照黄金法则的要求与其他黑客分享。我开始寻找不涉及计算机的新职业，但并不预期能找到一个，而且除了从事会计程序或其他黑客（包括我在内）都不感兴趣的工作外，我看不到任何前途。这样的生活毫无意义，但如果其他黑客不想要我正在做的事情的话，至少我不会因为拒绝与他们分享而感到羞耻。我不确定这样做是否比更直接的自杀方式更好。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For about a year there were LMI, Symbolics, and the remains of the AI lab.  The Lisp machine operating system was shared by all three.  From time to time the Symbolics hackers would respond to a bug report by saying, &ldquo;<i>This cannot be fixed on the current system. Wait for our new machine.</i>&rdquo; This was to make the new machine sound like more of an improvement.  It was great fun for me to announce, shortly thereafter, that I had already fixed the bug.
zh_CN: 在大约一年的时间里，这里有 LMI、Symbolics 和人工智能实验室的残骸。三者共享 Lisp 机器操作系统。不时地，Symbolics 的黑客们会在收到错误报告后说：“<i>这在当前系统上无法修复。请等待我们的新机器。</i>”这样做是为了让新机器听起来更像是一种改进。而不久之后，我就会宣布我已经修复了这个错误，对我来说这是一件很爽的事。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: War Breaks Out
zh_CN: 战争的爆发

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But things were to get worse, because LMI was not the failure that Symbolics had vocably predicted.  It was making and selling Lisp machines, and selling them for a lot less than Symbolics, which had a giant investment to recoup and so many salaries to pay.  After about a year, Symbolics realized that its well-advertised inevitable triumph would not happen without more violent measures.  Their plan: to end the three-way sharing of software improvements.  Since LMI was much smaller, they expected that LMI would be unable to keep up with them.  (The AI lab was no longer considered a significant contributor.)
zh_CN: 但事情变得更糟了，因为 LMI 并没有像 Symbolics 所预言的那样失败。它正在生产和销售 Lisp 机器，而且售价比 Symbolics 低得多，因为 Symbolics 需要收回巨额投资并支付大量工资。大约一年后，Symbolics 意识到，如果不采取更激烈的措施，其大肆宣传的必然胜利就不会实现。他们的计划是：结束三方共享软件改进。由于 LMI 的规模要小得多，他们预计 LMI 将无法跟上他们的步伐（人工智能实验室不再被视为重要的贡献者）。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Symbolics demanded that the AI lab submit to new terms: to use improvements made by Symbolics but not share them with LMI&#8239;<a href="#ft4">[4]</a>.  This demand was announced, Newspeak style, as a great act of generosity.  Actually, even allowing MIT to continue using their improvements was simply another tactic, designed to lock the lab in, so it would provide bug reports and demos for them and buy from them alone.  This is not an unusual motivation.  Many companies donate computers they make to MIT for just this reason.  But usually they try to gain MIT's cooperation by generosity rather than by cracking the whip.
zh_CN: Symbolics 要求人工智能实验室遵守新的条款：使用 Symbolics 的改进，但不得与 LMI 分享<a href="#ft4">[4]</a>。这一要求被以新闻术语的方式宣布为一种伟大的慷慨行为。实际上，即使允许 MIT 继续使用他们的改进，也不过是另一种策略，目的是绑死实验室，使其为他们提供错误报告和演示，并单独向他们购买。这种动机并不罕见。许多公司向 MIT 捐赠他们制造的计算机就是出于这个原因。但通常情况下，他们都是通过慷慨解囊而不是敲竹杠来获得 MIT 的合作。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Symbolics doubtless expected the lab to cave in immediately and switch entirely to their brand of software.  But I refused to capitulate, refused to be conscripted into helping Symbolics against LMI.  LMI was more worthy of my aid.  No longer allowed to remain neutral, I would fight against those who forced me to fight&#8239;<a href="#ft5">[5]</a>.
zh_CN: 毫无疑问，Symbolics 希望实验室立即屈服，完全转用他们的软件品牌。但我拒绝屈服，拒绝被征召帮助 Symbolics 对抗 LMI。LMI 更值得我的帮助。我再也不能保持中立了，我要与那些强迫我战斗的人战斗<a href="#ft5">[5]</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Instead of using the improvements from Symbolics, I made similar improvements to the last shared system.  Most of the lab's users continued to use the MIT system; some through dislike of Symbolics, some because they considered it technically superior, and some because they were more free to change it.  For the past year and a half I've been doing this, keeping the MIT system just as good and sometimes better.  Since LMI gets to use all the improvements I make, LMI too has a system just as good.  The main result of Symbolics's refusal to share was a lot of hassles for the users due to incompatibilities between the two systems.
zh_CN: 我没有使用 Symbolics 的改进，而是对上一个共享系统进行了类似的改进。实验室的大多数用户继续使用 MIT 系统；有些人是因为不喜欢 Symbolics，有些人是因为认为大学在技术上更胜一筹，还有些人是因为可以更自由地更改系统。在过去的一年半里，我一直在这样做，让 MIT 系统保持同样的性能，有时甚至更好。由于 LMI 可以使用我所做的所有改进，因此 LMI 的系统也同样出色。Symbolics 拒绝共享的主要结果是，由于两个系统不兼容，给用户带来了很多麻烦。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Generally I let Symbolics design a new feature, then look over their documentation and implement something mostly compatible.  I could improve the system just as well without paying attention to them, but this would be a bad strategy.  They could copy my improvements verbatim and spend their time on additional improvements.  Or they could ignore my design and implement something similar but incompatible, making trouble for all the users.  Just as in a bicycle race it is much less work if you are right behind the other guy.  As one man racing against a large team, I need this advantage.  I can easily dart out in front, but that is not an efficient use of my energy.
zh_CN: 一般来说，我会等待 Symbolics 设计一个新功能，然后查看他们的文档，并实现一些基本兼容的功能。我本可以在不关注他们的情况下改进系统，但这将是一个糟糕的策略。他们可能会逐字逐句地复制我的改进，然后把时间花在额外的改进上。或者，他们也可以无视我的设计，实施类似但不兼容的东西，给所有用户带来麻烦。就像在自行车比赛中，如果你紧随其后，就会省事得多。作为一个人与一个大团队比赛，我需要这种优势。我可以轻而易举地冲在前面，但这并不能有效地利用我的体力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Symbolics fights back by threatening lawsuits (though they have not filed one) and by trying to get me fired.  Rumor has it they read my computer mail several times a day looking for something to accuse me of; once they were caught and it backfired against them.  (It is against my principles to stop them with security measures that punish everyone.)  They think it is bad if anyone gets something for nothing; better that something should go to waste than that it benefit their competition equally with them.  This is the kind of divisiveness that has paralyzed our country.
zh_CN: Symbolics 通过威胁提起诉讼（虽然他们没有提起诉讼）和试图让我被解雇来进行反击。有传言说，他们每天都会多次阅读我的电脑邮件，寻找可以指控我的证据；有一次，他们被发现了，结果适得其反（为阻止他们而实施惩罚每个人的安全措施是违背我的原则的）。他们认为，如果有人免费获得什么，那就不好了；与其让他们的竞争对手和他们一样受益，还不如让东西白白浪费掉。正是这种分歧使我们的国家陷入瘫痪。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: By working against Symbolics this way, I not only escape having to submit to their terms, I also help bring about justice and the punishment they deserve for destroying the old AI lab. Initially I hoped also to provide a nucleus of self-sufficiency to revitalize the lab.  But nobody joined me; everyone sticks to his research now.
zh_CN: 通过这种方式与 Symbolics 对抗，我不仅不必屈从于他们的条件，还能伸张正义，让他们因摧毁旧人工智能实验室而受到应有的惩罚。起初，我还希望能提供一个自给自足的核心，以重振实验室。但没有人加入我的行列；现在每个人都坚持自己的研究。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Where Do I Go Now?
zh_CN: 何去何从？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Symbolics never did achieve superiority in software, but their new, faster machine was ready sooner than LMI's new, faster machine.  Now they have delivered many of these to MIT, and my users are switching to them.  Using the MIT system version on those machines is not practical because the machines are too different.
zh_CN: Symbolics 从未在软件方面取得优势，但他们的新机器比 LMI 的新机器更快。现在，他们已经向 MIT 交付了许多这样的机器，我的用户也正在改用它们。在这些机器上使用 MIT 的系统版本是不现实的，因为机器太不一样了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The loss of users makes it hard for me to verify that my new software really works.  But with luck I will be able to hang on just long enough to keep Symbolics from winning in the end.  LMI has just begun deliveries.  Soon they'll be very successful and supporting system development themselves, and Symbolics will be stuck with lean and aggressive competition.  Once LMI is able to go on without my help, the eventual punishment of Symbolics will be fully arranged.  Then I can stop work on Lisp machines.  I have set Thanksgiving of this year as the time to stop.
zh_CN: 用户的流失使我很难验证我的新软件是否真的有效。但幸运的是，我能在 Symbolics 胜出前够坚持足够长的时间。LMI 才刚刚开始供货。很快，他们就会取得巨大成功，并为自己的系统开发提供支持，而 Symbolics 将陷入精益求精的激烈竞争中。一旦 LMI 能在没有我的帮助下继续发展，那么对 Symbolics 的最终惩罚就会完全安排妥当。那时，我就可以停止 Lisp 机器的工作了。我已将今年的感恩节定为停止工作的时间。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And once I've arranged the punishment of the wrongdoers, it is time for me to begin rebuilding what they destroyed.
zh_CN: 一旦我安排好了对作恶者的惩罚，我就该开始重建被他们摧毁的一切了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It cannot be rebuilt at the AI lab. MIT attempts to license anything useful that is done here, to stay here and keep sharing is a struggle in itself.  And being surrounded by Symbolics machines and semicompetent sell-outs is no fun anyway.  I need to make a fresh start in life, and the first step is to move away from the ruins of the past.  Therefore, I am going to quit.
zh_CN: 人工智能实验室无法重建这一切。MIT 试图对这里完成的任何有用的工作加上许可协议，留在这里继续分享本身就是一场斗争。而且，被 Symbolics 的机器和不够能力的的没有原则的人所包围，无论如何都不是一件有趣的事。我需要重新开始生活，而第一步就是远离过去的废墟。因此，我要辞职。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It cannot be rebuilt by working on Lisp machines.  MIT claims to own the Lisp machine software, so it can only be shared secretly.  (LMI is an exception; they have a contract with MIT.)  Such underground cooperation is better than none at all, but it cannot produce a new way of life.  That requires open, public, widespread cooperation.  It seemed righter to work on the Lisp machine system than to let Symbolics win by default, but it is not a good way to live any longer than necessary.  For the same reason, I cannot work for LMI, even though they are willing to let my work be partly public.  I can make compromises in fighting a war, but when it comes to building something good such compromise is useless, since it would make whatever I build fail to be good.
zh_CN: 在 Lisp 机器上工作无法重建这一切。MIT 声称拥有 Lisp 机器软件，因此只能秘密共享（LMI 是个例外，他们与 MIT 签有合同）。这种地下合作总比不合作好，但它不能产生一种新的生活方式。这需要公开、公共、广泛的合作。与让 Symbolics 默认获胜相比，在 Lisp 机器系统上开展工作似乎更为正确，但超过必要的时间后，这并不是一种好的生活方式。出于同样的原因，我不能为 LMI 工作，尽管他们愿意让我的工作部分公开。我可以在战争中做出妥协，但在建造好东西的时候，这种妥协是没有用的，因为这会让我建造的东西变得不好。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Instead I have chosen an ambitious project that strikes at the root of the way that the commercial, hostile way of life is maintained.  I am going to write GNU, a complete replacement for the Unix software system (kernel, compilers, utilities and documentation), to be given away free to everyone.
zh_CN: 相反，我选择了一个雄心勃勃的项目，它从根源上打击商业化、敌意的生活方式。我将编写 GNU，它是 Unix 软件系统（内核、编译器、实用程序和文档）的完全替代品，并自由提供给所有人。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: GNU will make it easy for hackers to decide to live by sharing and cooperation.  Making use of a computer requires a software system.  Now, with no free software systems available, it is a tremendous sacrifice to refuse to use owned software.  But once a desirable software system is available free, that pressure will be forever lifted.  Hackers will be free to share.
zh_CN: GNU 将使黑客们能够轻松地决定以共享和合作为生。使用计算机需要软件系统，但当下，由于没有自由软件系统，拒绝使用专有软件是一种巨大的牺牲。但是，一旦有了理想的自由软件系统，这种压力将永远消除。黑客们将可以自由分享。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I start on Thanksgiving.  I'm asking computer manufacturers for donations to the cause, but I'm going to do it even if I have to work as a waiter.  Already other programmers who miss the old ways are rallying to the cause.  Join in and help! and maybe the old spirit of the AI lab will live again.
zh_CN: 我将从感恩节开始。我正在请求计算机制造商为这项事业捐款，但即使我必须去打工当服务员，我也会这样做。其他怀念旧方法的程序员已经开始团结起来支持这一事业。加入并提供帮助！也许人工智能实验室的旧精神会再次复活。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The Happy Hacker
zh_CN: 幸福的黑客

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Footnotes
zh_CN: 脚注

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: I loved the AI Lab's anarchistic way of life and manner of operation, but that's not really being a whole hog anarchist.  I didn't call for abolishing the state and its many useful activities, and the possibility of making society's decisions in a democratic way.  See <a href="//www.stallman.org/articles/why-we-need-a-state.html">Why we need a state</a>.
zh_CN: 我热爱人工智能实验室无政府主义的生活方式和运作模式，但是我并不是一个彻头彻尾的无政府主义者。我并不提倡废弃政府和它的诸多合理功能，以及政府以民主方式决定社会问题的可能性。请参看 <a href="//www.stallman.org/articles/why-we-need-a-state.html">我们为什么需要政府</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: The AI lab was neutral between the two companies; I was content to be part of that neutrality.
zh_CN: 人工智能实验室在两个公司之间保持中立；我对成为中立派的一员也很满足。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: The AI lab PDP-10 broke in February 1982, and was never repaired.
zh_CN: 人工智能实验室的 PDP-10 在 1982 年 2 月坏了，再也没人修复。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Symbolics issued its ultimatum on March 16, 1982, by coincidence my birthday.  I thought of that as the day when Symbolics attacked the AI Lab and LMI, aiming to subjugate the former to destroy the latter.
zh_CN: Symbolics 在 1982 年 3 月 16 日发出了最后通牒，恰逢我的生日。我把这个日子当作是 Symbolics 攻击人工智能实验室和 LMI 的日子，它的目的是征服前者而毁灭后者。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Ironically, outright conflict pulled me out of my despair, by showing me something positive to strive for.  I was no longer lost with no direction to advance in.  A struggle had fallen on me, out of the blue&mdash;an aggression whose defeat was worth exerting the utmost of my ability.
zh_CN: 讽刺的是，彻底的对抗让我摆脱绝望，它向我展示了可为之一战的曙光。我不再感到失落而迷失方向。天降大任于我&mdash;&mdash;一种值得让我全力对抗的进攻。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译</b>：<a href="mailto:ventusuta@gmail.com">&lt;Ventus Uta&gt;</a>，2023。
    <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2023，2025。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
