why-gnu-linux.html - en to ko translation catalogue (21 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why GNU/Linux? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 왜 GNU/리눅스라 불러야 하는가? - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단 (FSF)

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: What's in a Name?
ko: 왜 GNU/리눅스라 불러야 하는가?

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>
ko: 글: <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">리처드 스톨먼</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Does this really matter for our community? Is it important whether people know the system's origin, history, and purpose? Yes&mdash;because people who forget history are often condemned to repeat it.  The Free World that has developed around <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> is not guaranteed to survive; the problems that led us to develop GNU are not completely eradicated, and they threaten to come back.
ko: 그러나 이렇게 부르는 게 자유 소프트웨어 공동체와 무슨 상관일까요? 사람들이 시스템의 기원, 역사, 목적을 아는 것이 중요한가요? 중요합니다. 역사를 잊은 사람들은 그것을 되풀이할 때가 종종 있기 때문입니다. <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/리눅스</a>를 비롯한 여러 자유 소프트웨어를 개발해 온 자유 진영은 위태합니다. 우리가 GNU를 개발하게 만든 문제는 완전히 사라지지 않았고 우리를 다시 위협하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When I explain why it's appropriate to call the operating system GNU/Linux rather than Linux, people sometimes respond this way:
ko: 리눅스가 아니라 GNU/리눅스라고 부르는 것이 적절하다는 이유를 설명할 때 다음과 같이 반응하는 사람들이 종종 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: <em> Granted that the GNU Project deserves credit for this work, is it really worth a fuss when people don't give credit? Isn't the important thing that the job was done, not who did it? You ought to relax, take pride in the job well done, and not worry about the credit.  </em>
ko: <em>GNU 프로젝트가 칭찬받을 만한 일을 했다는 걸 인정은 하는데요, 사람들이 칭찬해 주지 않는다고 해서 흥분할 필요가 있나요? 누가 했냐가 아니라 그 일이 되었다는 사실 자체가 중요한 것 아닌가요? 마음을 느긋하게 먹고 잘 한 일에 자부심을 가져야지, 공로에 대해 걱정하면 안 됩니다.</em>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This would be wise advice, if only the situation were like that&mdash;if the job were done and it were time to relax.  If only that were true! But challenges abound, and this is no time to take the future for granted.  Our community's strength rests on commitment to freedom and cooperation.  Using the name <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> is a way for people to remind themselves and inform others of these goals.
ko: 상황이 그와 같고 일이 마무리 되어 쉴 시간이라면 이런 말은 충고일 수 있습니다. 정말 그렇게 되었기만 하다면요. 그러나 도전은 주변에 널려 있고 미래를 당연한 것으로 여길 때가 아닙니다. 자유 소프트웨어 공동체의 힘은 자유에 대한 기여와 협력에 의지하고 있습니다. <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/리눅스</a>라는 이름을 쓰는 것은 사람들에게 이러한 목표를 되새기고 알려주는 방법입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is possible to write good free software without thinking of GNU; much good work has been done in the name of Linux also.  But the term &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; has been associated ever since it was first coined with a philosophy that does not make a commitment to the freedom to cooperate.  As the name is increasingly used by business, we will have even more trouble making it connect with community spirit.
ko: GNU를 생각하지 않고 좋은 자유 소프트웨어를 짜는 것이 가능합니다. 매우 좋은 일들이 리눅스라는 이름으로 행해지기도 했습니다. 그러나 &ldquo;리눅스&rdquo;는 그것이 처음 고안됐을 때 이후로 자유에 기여하지 않고 서로 돕지 않는 철학에 연관되어 왔습니다. 리눅스라는 이름이 사업에 의해 점점 더 쓰이면서 그것을 공동체 정신과 연결하는 데 더 많은 곤란을 겪기까지 할 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Adding nonfree software to the <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> system may increase the popularity, if by popularity we mean the number of people using some of <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> in combination with nonfree software.  But at the same time, it implicitly encourages the community to accept nonfree software as a good thing, and forget the goal of freedom.  It is not good to drive faster if you can't stay on the road.
ko: 우리가 의미하는 대중성이 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/리눅스</a>와 비자유 소프트웨어를 함께 쓰는 사람들 수라면 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/리눅스</a> 시스템에 비자유 소프트웨어를 추가하면 대중성이 높아질지도 모릅니다. 그러나 그것은 동시에 공동체가 비자유 소프트웨어를 좋은 것으로 받아들이고 자유라는 목적을 잊도록 암암리에 조장합니다. 길을 따라갈 수 없다면 더 빨리 달려봐야 소용 없습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When the nonfree &ldquo;add-on&rdquo; is a library or programming tool, it can become a trap for free software developers.  When they write free software that depends on the nonfree package, their software cannot be part of a completely free system.  Motif and Qt trapped large amounts of free software in this way in the past, creating problems whose solutions took years.  Motif remained somewhat of a problem until it became obsolete and was no longer used.  Later, Sun's nonfree Java implementation had a similar effect: the <a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">Java Trap</a>, fortunately now mostly corrected.
ko: &ldquo;추가된&rdquo; 비자유 소프트웨어가 라이브러리나 프로그래밍 도구이면 자유 소프트웨어 개발자에게 덫이 될 수 있습니다. 비자유 소프트웨어에 의존하는 자유 소프트웨어를 짠다면 그 소프트웨어는 완전한 자유 시스템의 일부가 될 수 없습니다. Motif Qt는 과거에 이런 방식으로 수많은 자유 소프트웨어를 함정에 빠트렸고 그 해결책을 찾는 데 수년이 걸린 문제를 만들어냈습니다. Motif 문제는 그것이 쓸모 없어져 더이상 사용되지 않을때 까지 남아 있었습니다. 그 후에는썬의 비자유 자바 구현체가 비슷한 효과를 갖고 있었지만, 다행히도 <a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">자바의 함정</a>은 이제 대부분 해결되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If our community keeps moving in this direction, it could redirect the future of <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> into a mosaic of free and nonfree components.  Five years from now, we will surely still have plenty of free software; but if we are not careful, it will hardly be usable without the nonfree software that users expect to find with it.  If this happens, our campaign for freedom will have failed.
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 공동체가 이 방향으로 계속 움직인다면 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/리눅스</a>의 미래는 자유 소프트웨어와 비자유 소프트웨어의 모자이크가 될 것입니다. 지금부터 5년 후에도 여전히 많은 자유 소프트웨어가 있을 것입니다. 하지만 우리가 조심하지 않는다면, 비자유 소프트웨어 없이는 사용자가 원하는 작업을 해나가지 못할 경지에 이르게 될 것입니다. 이런 일이 일어나면 자유를 위한 우리의 운동이 실패할 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If releasing free alternatives were simply a matter of programming, solving future problems might become easier as our community's development resources increase.  But we face obstacles that threaten to make this harder: laws that prohibit free software.  As software patents mount up, and as laws like the <abbr title="Digital Millennium Copyright Act">DMCA</abbr> are used to prohibit the development of free software for important jobs such as viewing a DVD or listening to a RealAudio stream, we will find ourselves with no clear way to fight the patented and secret data formats except to <strong>reject the nonfree programs that use them</strong>.
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 대안을 발표하는 것이 단순히 프로그래밍 문제라면 자유 소프트웨어 개발 자원이 늘어남에 따라 미래의 문제를 푸는 것이 더 쉬워질 수도 있습니다. 그러나 이것을 더 어렵게 만드는 장애물, 즉 자유 소프트웨어를 금지하는 법에 직면했습니다. 소프트웨어 특허가 늘어나고 <abbr title="Digital Millennium Copyright Act">DMCA</abbr> 같은 법이 DVD 보기 또는 리얼 오디오 스트림 듣기 같은 중요한 일을 하는 자유 소프트웨어를 개발하는 것을 금지하는 데 쓰이면서 <strong>그것을 사용하는 비자유 프로그램을 거부하는 것</strong> 외에는 특허받은 비밀 데이터 포맷과 싸우는 명확한 방법이 없다는 것을 발견할 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Meeting these challenges will require many different kinds of effort.  But what we need above all, to confront any kind of challenge, is to remember the goal of freedom to cooperate.  We can't expect a mere desire for powerful, reliable software to motivate people to make great efforts.  We need the kind of determination that people have when they fight for their freedom and their community&mdash;determination to keep on for years and not give up.
ko: 이런 도전에 맞서려면 다양한 노력이 필요합니다. 우리가 무슨 도전이든지 맞서기 위해 무엇보다도 필요한 것은 자유의 목적을 기억하고 서로 돕는 것입니다. 우리는 사람들이 엄청난 노력을 하도록 동기를 부여할, 강력하고 믿을만한 소프트웨어를 순진하게 기대할 수 없습니다. 자유와 공동체를 위해 싸우겠다는 결단, 몇 년이 걸려도 포기하지 않겠다는 결단이 필요합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In our community, this goal and this determination emanate mainly from the GNU Project.  We're the ones who talk about freedom and community as something to stand firm for; the organizations that speak of &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; normally don't say this.  The magazines about &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; are typically full of ads for nonfree software; the companies that package &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; add nonfree software to the system; other companies &ldquo;support Linux&rdquo; by developing nonfree applications to run on GNU/Linux; the user groups for &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; typically invite salesman to present those applications.  The main place people in our community are likely to come across the idea of freedom and determination is in the GNU Project.
ko: 우리 공동체에서 이러한 목적과 결단은 주로 GNU 프로젝트에서 나왔습니다. 우리는 자유에 대해 이야기하는 사람들이고, 우리 공동체는 이를 위해 굳게 서 있는 사람들입니다. &ldquo;리눅스&rdquo;라고만 말하는 조직은 보통 이러한 말을 하지 않습니다. &ldquo;리눅스&rdquo;에 대한 잡지는 보통 비자유 소프트웨어에 대한 광고가 가득합니다. 어떤 회사는 비자유 애플리케이션으로 &ldquo;리눅스를 지원&rdquo;합니다. &ldquo;리눅스&rdquo; 사용자 모임은 보통 영업 사원을 초대해 해당 회사의 애플리케이션을 소개합니다. 우리 공동체의 사람들이 자유와 결단의 아이디어를 떠올리는 주요한 곳은 GNU 프로젝트입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But when people come across it, will they feel it relates to them?
ko: 그러나 사람들이 그것을 떠올릴 때 그들이 그것과 관련이 있다고 느낄까요?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If &ldquo;the job&rdquo; really were done, if there were nothing at stake except credit, perhaps it would be wiser to let the matter drop.  But we are not in that position.  To inspire people to do the work that needs to be done, we need to be recognized for what we have already done.  Please help us, by calling the operating system <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>.
ko: 만약 그 작업이 정말로 이루어 졌다면, 만약 명예말고는 다른 문제가 아무 것도 없다면 아마도 이러한 논의는 그만두는 것이 현명할 것입니다. 그러나 우리는 그러한 위치에 있지 않습니다. 필요한 일이 이루어지도록 사람들을 고무하기 위해서는 우리가 정말 무엇을 했었는지를 하는 것이 필요합니다. 운영체제의 이름을 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/리눅스</a>라고 부르는 것으로 우리를 도와주시기 바랍니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
ko: 이 글의 다른 언어 번역문 작성이나 제출에 대한 정보는 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">번역 안내</a>를 참고해 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <p><b>한국어 번역</b>: 송우일 <a href="mailto:wooil@gnu.org">&lt;wooil@gnu.org&gt;</a>, 이제명 <a href="mailto:crinje@gnu.org">&lt;crinje@gnu.org&gt;</a>, 윤종민 <a href="mailto:blueguy@gnu.org">&lt;blueguy@gnu.org&gt;</a>, 2016년 5월 20일</p>

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
