why-gnu-linux.html - en to zh_CN translation catalogue (28 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why GNU/Linux? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 为什么应该是 GNU/Linux？ - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: What's in a Name?
zh_CN: 名字里应该有什么？

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>
zh_CN: <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">理查德·斯托曼</a> 著

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Names convey meanings; our choice of names determines the meaning of what we say.  An inappropriate name gives people the wrong idea.  A rose by any other name would smell as sweet&mdash;but if you call it a pen, people will be rather disappointed when they try to write with it.  And if you call pens &ldquo;roses,&rdquo; people may not realize what they are good for.  If you call our operating system Linux, that conveys a mistaken idea of the system's origin, history, and purpose.  If you call it <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>, that conveys (though not in detail) an accurate idea.
zh_CN: 名称传达意义：我们选择的名称决定着我们要传达什么样的涵义。不恰当的名称给人错误的观念。给玫瑰起一个其他的名字，她闻起来还是一样的芳香&mdash;&mdash;但是如果你叫它钢笔，那么人们想用它写字的话就会相当地失望。而如果你把钢笔叫做&ldquo;玫瑰&rdquo;的话，人们也不会明白它是干什么用的。如果你称我们的操作系统为 Linux，那么你就传达着关于我们系统的起源、历史和目标的错误观念。如果你称之为 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>，那么你就传达了（虽然不是详细的）准确的观念。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: To learn more about this issue, you can read our <a href="/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html">GNU/Linux FAQ</a>, our page on <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">Linux and the GNU System</a>, which gives a history of the GNU/Linux system as it relates to this issue of naming, and our page on <a href="/gnu/gnu-users-never-heard-of-gnu.html">GNU Users Who Have Never Heard of GNU</a>.
zh_CN: 如需了解此问题的更多信息，你可以阅读我们的 <a href="/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html">GNU/Linux 问答</a>、我们关于 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">Linux 和 GNU 工程</a>的页面（其中给出了 GNU/Linux 系统的历史，这个和命名问题相关）以及我们关于<a href="/gnu/gnu-users-never-heard-of-gnu.html">从未听说过 GNU 的 GNU 用户</a>页面。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Does this really matter for our community? Is it important whether people know the system's origin, history, and purpose? Yes&mdash;because people who forget history are often condemned to repeat it.  The Free World that has developed around <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> is not guaranteed to survive; the problems that led us to develop GNU are not completely eradicated, and they threaten to come back.
zh_CN: 这对我们的社区真的重要吗？人们是否了解该系统的起源、历史和目标重要吗？是的&mdash;因为忘记历史的人往往要重蹈覆辙。围绕<a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>建立起来的自由世界并不保证一定会流传下去；促使我们开发GNU的麻烦并未根除，而且它们扬言要卷土重来。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When I explain why it's appropriate to call the operating system GNU/Linux rather than Linux, people sometimes respond this way:
zh_CN: 当我向人们解释为什么称该系统为GNU/Linux而不是Linux是恰当的时候，他们有时这样回应：

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: <em> Granted that the GNU Project deserves credit for this work, is it really worth a fuss when people don't give credit? Isn't the important thing that the job was done, not who did it? You ought to relax, take pride in the job well done, and not worry about the credit.  </em>
zh_CN: <em>即使GNU工程应得这些荣誉，人们不给予荣誉真的就值得大惊小怪吗？难道重要的不是工作完成了，而是谁完成的？你应该放松，为漂亮地完成工作而自豪，而不是去担心有没有获得荣誉。</em>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This would be wise advice, if only the situation were like that&mdash;if the job were done and it were time to relax.  If only that were true! But challenges abound, and this is no time to take the future for granted.  Our community's strength rests on commitment to freedom and cooperation.  Using the name <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> is a way for people to remind themselves and inform others of these goals.
zh_CN: 只有形势是&mdash;工作已经完成，是时候放松了，这才可能是一个明智的忠告。只有形势真的是那样才行！但是挑战还很多，而未来丝毫不得马虎。我们社区的力量在于对自由和合作的承诺。使用<a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>这个名字就是人们提醒自己和告知他人这些目标的一种手段。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is possible to write good free software without thinking of GNU; much good work has been done in the name of Linux also.  But the term &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; has been associated ever since it was first coined with a philosophy that does not make a commitment to the freedom to cooperate.  As the name is increasingly used by business, we will have even more trouble making it connect with community spirit.
zh_CN: 不用考虑GNU也可以写出优秀的自由软件；以Linux为名也诞生了很多优秀的工作。但是自从第一次被创造出来起，&ldquo;Linux&rdquo;一词就伴随着一种哲学，它并不承诺自由合作。随着这一名称越来越多地被商业界使用，我们越来越难以把它和我们的社区精神联系在一起。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A great challenge to the future of free software comes from the tendency of the &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; distribution companies to add nonfree software to <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> in the name of convenience and power.  All the major commercial distribution developers do this; none limits itself to free software.  Most of them do not clearly identify the nonfree packages in their distributions.  Many even develop nonfree software and add it to the system.  Some outrageously advertise &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; systems that are &ldquo;licensed per seat,&rdquo; which give the user as much freedom as Microsoft Windows.
zh_CN: 自由软件的未来的一个巨大挑战来自发行&ldquo;Linux&rdquo;的公司以便利和功能强大之名向 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 系统添加非自由软件。主要商业发行版的开发者全部都这么做；没有人把自己限制在自由软件的范围内。其中大多数没有明确地在其发行版中标识非自由软件包。很多开发者甚至开发非自由软件并添加到系统中。还有些悍然宣传&ldquo;Linux&rdquo;系统是&ldquo;按用户数授权的&rdquo;，就是和 Microsoft Windows 给用户的自由一样多。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People try to justify adding nonfree software in the name of the &ldquo;popularity of Linux&rdquo;&mdash;in effect, valuing popularity above freedom.  Sometimes this is openly admitted.  For instance, Wired Magazine said that Robert McMillan, editor of Linux Magazine, &ldquo;feels that the move toward open source software should be fueled by technical, rather than political, decisions.&rdquo; And Caldera's <abbr title="Chief Executive Officer">CEO</abbr> openly urged users to <a href="https://www.zdnet.com/article/stallman-love-is-not-free/">drop the goal of freedom and work instead for the &ldquo;popularity of Linux&rdquo;</a>.
zh_CN: 人们试图以&ldquo;Linux的受欢迎程度&rdquo;来为添加非自由软件辩护&mdash;实际上就是认为自由诚可贵，流行价更高。有时这一点是被公开承认的。比如，《连线》杂志说 Robert McMillan，Linux 杂志的编辑，&ldquo;觉得开源软件前进的动力应该取决于技术，而不是政治。&rdquo;而 Caldera 的<abbr title="Chief Executive Officer，首席执行官">CEO</abbr> 公开敦促用户<a href="https://www.zdnet.com/article/stallman-love-is-not-free/">丢弃自由的目标，转而为&ldquo;Linux的流行&rdquo;而工作</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Adding nonfree software to the <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> system may increase the popularity, if by popularity we mean the number of people using some of <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> in combination with nonfree software.  But at the same time, it implicitly encourages the community to accept nonfree software as a good thing, and forget the goal of freedom.  It is not good to drive faster if you can't stay on the road.
zh_CN: 向<a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>系统添加非自由软件可能会提高其受欢迎程度，如果这是指使用<a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>软件加上某些非自由软件的人数。但是同时，它暗示着鼓励社区象接受一件好事一样接受非自由软件，并忘却自由的目标。如果南辕北辙，走得再快也不是好事。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When the nonfree &ldquo;add-on&rdquo; is a library or programming tool, it can become a trap for free software developers.  When they write free software that depends on the nonfree package, their software cannot be part of a completely free system.  Motif and Qt trapped large amounts of free software in this way in the past, creating problems whose solutions took years.  Motif remained somewhat of a problem until it became obsolete and was no longer used.  Later, Sun's nonfree Java implementation had a similar effect: the <a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">Java Trap</a>, fortunately now mostly corrected.
zh_CN: 当非自由的&ldquo;附加组件&rdquo;是一个库或者是一个编程工具时，它可能会变成自由软件开发者的陷阱。当他们写的自由软件依赖于这个非自由的软件包时，他们的软件就不能作为完全自由系统的一部分。Motif和Qt过去就是这样使大量自由软件落入了圈套，由此导致的问题花费了数年才得以解决。Motif的问题直至其被淘汰而不再被使用才得以完全消除。后来，Sun公司的非自由Java实现具有同样的效果：<a href="/philosophy/java-trap.html">Java陷阱</a>，幸运的是，现在大多数问题都修正了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If our community keeps moving in this direction, it could redirect the future of <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> into a mosaic of free and nonfree components.  Five years from now, we will surely still have plenty of free software; but if we are not careful, it will hardly be usable without the nonfree software that users expect to find with it.  If this happens, our campaign for freedom will have failed.
zh_CN: 如果社区一直朝这个方向前进，那么它可能会使<a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>的未来成为一个自由和非自由部件的镶嵌体。5年之后，我们还可确保有很多自由软件；但是如果我们不注意，GNU/Linux将变得如果用户找不到其期待的非自由软件的话就基本无法使用。如果出现这种情况，我们的自由运动就失败了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If releasing free alternatives were simply a matter of programming, solving future problems might become easier as our community's development resources increase.  But we face obstacles that threaten to make this harder: laws that prohibit free software.  As software patents mount up, and as laws like the <abbr title="Digital Millennium Copyright Act">DMCA</abbr> are used to prohibit the development of free software for important jobs such as viewing a DVD or listening to a RealAudio stream, we will find ourselves with no clear way to fight the patented and secret data formats except to <strong>reject the nonfree programs that use them</strong>.
zh_CN: 如果发布自由的替代软件只是简单的编程问题，那么随着社区开发资源的增长，解决未来的问题也许会变得更容易。但是我们面临着扬言要使之更困难的障碍：禁止自由软件的法律。随着软件专利的增长，随着诸如 <abbr title="Digital Millennium Copyright Act">DMCA</abbr> 之类禁止开发观看 DVD 电影或收听 RealAudio 音乐等重要活动的自由软件的法律的应用，我们会发现除了<strong>拒绝使用非自由软件</strong>之外，我们没有明确的办法来对付这些专利和保密数据格式。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Meeting these challenges will require many different kinds of effort.  But what we need above all, to confront any kind of challenge, is to remember the goal of freedom to cooperate.  We can't expect a mere desire for powerful, reliable software to motivate people to make great efforts.  We need the kind of determination that people have when they fight for their freedom and their community&mdash;determination to keep on for years and not give up.
zh_CN: 应对这些挑战需要许多不同的努力。但是要面对任何挑战，我们首先需要的是，牢记自由合作的目标。我们不能期望仅仅是对强大、可靠软件的渴望就能够激励人们付出很大的努力。我们需要的是人们在为自由和社区战斗时所展现的决心&mdash;能够持续多年而不放弃的决心。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In our community, this goal and this determination emanate mainly from the GNU Project.  We're the ones who talk about freedom and community as something to stand firm for; the organizations that speak of &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; normally don't say this.  The magazines about &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; are typically full of ads for nonfree software; the companies that package &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; add nonfree software to the system; other companies &ldquo;support Linux&rdquo; by developing nonfree applications to run on GNU/Linux; the user groups for &ldquo;Linux&rdquo; typically invite salesman to present those applications.  The main place people in our community are likely to come across the idea of freedom and determination is in the GNU Project.
zh_CN: 在我们的社区，这个目标和决心主要发源于GNU工程。我们是说出应该坚持自由和社区的那一群人；而为&ldquo;Linux&rdquo;说话的那些组织一般不会讨论这个。关于&ldquo;Linux&rdquo;的杂志通常充斥着非自由软件的广告；打包&ldquo;Linux&rdquo;的公司在系统中添加非自由软件；其他公司通过开发运行在GNU/Linux上的非自由软件来&ldquo;支持Linux&rdquo;；&ldquo;Linux&rdquo;用户组往往会邀请宣讲这些解决方案的推销商。社区中人们有可能碰到自由和决心的地方主要就是GNU工程。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But when people come across it, will they feel it relates to them?
zh_CN: 但是当人们碰到它时，他们会觉得它和自己有关吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People who know they are using a system that came out of the GNU Project can see a direct relationship between themselves and GNU.  They won't automatically agree with our philosophy, but at least they will see a reason to think seriously about it.  In contrast, people who consider themselves &ldquo;Linux users,&rdquo; and believe that the GNU Project &ldquo;developed tools which proved to be useful in Linux,&rdquo; typically perceive only an indirect relationship between GNU and themselves.  They may just ignore the GNU philosophy when they come across it.
zh_CN: 那些了解他们在用的系统来自 GNU 工程的人们可以看到他们和 GNU 的直接联系。他们不会自觉同意我们的哲学，但是他们至少有理由认真思考一下这个问题。想反，那些认为自己是&ldquo;Linux用户&rdquo;、并且相信 GNU 工程&ldquo;开发了一些有用的 Linux 工具&rdquo;的人们，往往只是意识到自己和 GNU 的非直接联系。在碰到 GNU 的哲学之时，他们很可能就是轻轻略过。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The GNU Project is idealistic, and anyone encouraging idealism today faces a great obstacle: the prevailing ideology encourages people to dismiss idealism as &ldquo;impractical.&rdquo; Our idealism has been extremely practical: it is the reason we have a free <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> operating system.  People who love this system ought to know that it is our idealism made real.
zh_CN: GNU 工程是理想主义的，而现今支持理想主义的人都面临艰巨的阻碍；主流的观念促使人们抛弃理想主义，因为那是&ldquo;不切实际的&rdquo;。我们的理想主义非常实际：正是因为实际，我们有了一个自由的 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 操作系统。喜爱这个系统的人们应该了解正是我们的理想主义使该系统成为现实。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If &ldquo;the job&rdquo; really were done, if there were nothing at stake except credit, perhaps it would be wiser to let the matter drop.  But we are not in that position.  To inspire people to do the work that needs to be done, we need to be recognized for what we have already done.  Please help us, by calling the operating system <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>.
zh_CN: 如果&ldquo;工作&rdquo;真的已经完成，如果除了荣誉之外无事可做，那么也许就此罢手是明智的。但是情况并不是那样。为了激励人们去完成必要的工作，我们需要人们认可我们已经完成的工作。请帮助我们，请称该操作系统为<a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: This essay is published in <a href="https://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>Free Software, Free Society: The Selected Essays of Richard M. Stallman</cite></a>.
zh_CN: 本文发表于<a href="https://shop.fsf.org/product/free-software-free-society/"><cite>自由软件、自由社会：理查德.M.斯托曼 选集</cite></a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将有关自由软件基金会（FSF）&amp;GNU的一般性问题发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。也可以通过<a href="/contact/">其他联系方法</a>联系自由软件基金会(FSF)。请将无效链接，其他错误或建议发送给<a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用<a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>审校</b>：<a href="mailto:hagb_green@qq.com">&lt;Hagb （郭俊余）&gt;</a>，2018。<br></br>
    <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="https://savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2018，2020，2021。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
