can-you-trust.html - en to ko translation catalogue (21 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Can You Trust Your Computer? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 여러분의 컴퓨터를 신뢰할 수 있나요? - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Can You Trust Your Computer?
ko: 여러분의 컴퓨터를 신뢰할 수 있나요?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Proprietary software means, fundamentally, that you don't control what it does; you can't study the source code, or change it.  It's not surprising that clever businessmen find ways to use their control to put you at a disadvantage.  Microsoft has done this several times: one version of Windows was designed to report to Microsoft all the software on your hard disk; a recent &ldquo;security&rdquo; upgrade in Windows Media Player required users to agree to new restrictions.  But Microsoft is not alone: the KaZaa music-sharing software is designed so that KaZaa's business partner can rent out the use of your computer to its clients.  These malicious features are often secret, but even once you know about them it is hard to remove them, since you don't have the source code.
ko: 독점 소프트웨어는 근본적으로 여러분이 소프트웨어가 하는 일을 제어할 수 없음을 의미합니다. 여러분은 소스 코드를 공부할 수 없거나 바꿀 수 없습니다. 똑똑한 사업가들이 자기들의 통제력을 이용해 여러분에게 불이익을 주는 방법을 찾는 것은 놀랄 일도 아닙니다. 마이크로소프트는 이 일을 여러 번 했습니다. 윈도의 어떤 버전은 여러분의 하드 디스크에 설치된 모든 소프트웨어를 마이크로소프트에 보고하도록 설계됐습니다. 최근 나온 윈도 미디어 플레이어의 &ldquo;보안&rdquo; 업그레이드는 사용자에게 새로운 제한 사항을 따르도록 요구합니다. 그러나 마이크로소프트만 그런 것이 아닙니다. 카자라는 음악 공유 소프트웨어는 카자의 협력사가 여러분의 컴퓨터를 자기 고객들이 쓸 수 있도록 대여할 수 있게 설계됐습니다. 이 악의적인 기능은 비밀일 때가 있지만 그것에 대해 안다고 하더라도 제거하기 어렵습니다. 소스 코드가 없기 때문입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The technical idea underlying treacherous computing is that the computer includes a digital encryption and signature device, and the keys are kept secret from you.  Proprietary programs will use this device to control which other programs you can run, which documents or data you can access, and what programs you can pass them to.  These programs will continually download new authorization rules through the Internet, and impose those rules automatically on your work.  If you don't allow your computer to obtain the new rules periodically from the Internet, some capabilities will automatically cease to function.
ko: 배신 컴퓨팅에 깔려 있는 기술적인 구상은 컴퓨터에 디지털 암호화와 서명 기기가 포함되고 키를 여러분에게 비밀로 하는 것입니다. 독점 프로그램은 이 기기를 사용해 여러분이 실행하는 프로그램, 접근하는 문서나 자료, 넘겨주는 프로그램을 통제합니다. 이 프로그램들은 인터넷을 통해 새 인증 규칙을 계속 받고 그 규칙들을 여러분의 일에 자동으로 강요합니다. 인터넷에서 정기적으로 새 규칙을 받지 않으면 몇몇 기능은 자동으로 중지됩니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Of course, Hollywood and the record companies plan to use treacherous computing for Digital Restrictions Management (DRM), so that downloaded videos and music can be played only on one specified computer.  Sharing will be entirely impossible, at least using the authorized files that you would get from those companies.  You, the public, ought to have both the freedom and the ability to share these things.  (I expect that someone will find a way to produce unencrypted versions, and to upload and share them, so DRM will not entirely succeed, but that is no excuse for the system.)
ko: 당연히 할리우드와 음반사는 Digital Restrictions Management (DRM)을 위해 배신 컴퓨팅을 사용해 다운로드한 비디오와 음악이 지정한 컴퓨터에서만 재생될 수 있도록 할 계획입니다. 공유는 전적으로 불가능하고 그 회사들로부터 인증 받은 파일만 쓸 수 있을 것입니다. 대중에게는 이것들을 공유할 자유와 능력이 있어야 합니다(암호화되지 않은 것을 만들어 업로드하고 공유할 수 있는 방법을 찾으리라 기대합니다. 그래서 DRM이 성공하지 못할 수도 있지만 시스템에 대한 변명이 되지는 않습니다).

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Making sharing impossible is bad enough, but it gets worse.  There are plans to use the same facility for email and documents&mdash;resulting in email that disappears in two weeks, or documents that can only be read on the computers in one company.
ko: 공유를 불가능하게 하는 것은 나쁜 일이지만 더 나빠질 수 있습니다. 전자우편과 문서에 같은 방식을 사용하려는 계획이 있습니다. 그 결과로 전자우편이 2주 후에 사라지거나 문서를 한 회사에 있는 컴퓨터에서만 읽을 수 있게 될지도 모릅니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Imagine if you get an email from your boss telling you to do something that you think is risky; a month later, when it backfires, you can't use the email to show that the decision was not yours.  &ldquo;Getting it in writing&rdquo; doesn't protect you when the order is written in disappearing ink.
ko: 상사로부터 위험한 일을 하라는 전자우편을 받는다고 합시다. 한 달 후 그 일이 잘못됐을 때 그 결정이 여러분의 결정이 아니라는 것을 보여주기 위해 그 전자우편을 사용할 수 없습니다. 명령이 사라지는 잉크로 적혀 있으면 &ldquo;적힌 대로 했다&rdquo;는 말로는 자신을 지킬 수 없습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Imagine if you get an email from your boss stating a policy that is illegal or morally outrageous, such as to shred your company's audit documents, or to allow a dangerous threat to your country to move forward unchecked.  Today you can send this to a reporter and expose the activity.  With treacherous computing, the reporter won't be able to read the document; her computer will refuse to obey her.  Treacherous computing becomes a paradise for corruption.
ko: 상사로부터 회사 감사 문서를 찢으라거나 나라에 대한 위협을 방치하라는 불법적이거나 도덕적으로 부당한 정책을 말하는 전자우편을 받았다고 합시다. 오늘 여러분이 이것을 기자에게 보내 그 활동을 폭로하려 합니다. 배신 컴퓨팅 때문에 기자는 그 문서를 읽을 수 없습니다. 기자의 컴퓨터가 그것을 거부하기 때문입니다. 배신 컴퓨팅은 타락을 위한 낙원입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Word processors such as Microsoft Word could use treacherous computing when they save your documents, to make sure no competing word processors can read them.  Today we must figure out the secrets of Word format by laborious experiments in order to make free word processors read Word documents.  If Word encrypts documents using treacherous computing when saving them, the free software community won't have a chance of developing software to read them&mdash;and if we could, such programs might even be forbidden by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act.
ko: 마이크로소프트 워드 같은 워드 프로세서는 문서를 저장할 때 배신 컴퓨팅을 사용해 경쟁 워드 프로세서가 문서를 읽지 못하게 합니다. 오늘날 자유 워드 프로세서가 워드 문서를 읽게 하기 위해 고된 실험을 통해 워드 형식의 비밀을 알아내야 합니다. 워드가 문서를 저장할 때 배신 컴퓨팅을 사용해 문서를 암호화하면 자유 소프트웨어 커뮤니티는 그것을 읽는 소프트웨어를 개발할 수 없습니다. 개발할 수 있더라도 그러한 프로그램들은 디지털 밀레니엄 저작권법에 의해 금지 당할지도 모릅니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Programs that use treacherous computing will continually download new authorization rules through the Internet, and impose those rules automatically on your work.  If Microsoft, or the US government, does not like what you said in a document you wrote, they could post new instructions telling all computers to refuse to let anyone read that document.  Each computer would obey when it downloads the new instructions.  Your writing would be subject to 1984-style retroactive erasure.  You might be unable to read it yourself.
ko: 배신 컴퓨팅을 사용하는 프로그램은 인터넷을 통해 새 인증 규칙을 계속 받고 그 규칙들을 여러분의 일에 자동으로 강요합니다. 마이크로소프트나 미국 정부가 여러분이 쓴 글을 좋아하지 않으면 모든 컴퓨터에서 그 문서를 읽을 수 없게 하는 새 규칙을 올릴 수 있습니다. 새 규칙을 받은 컴퓨터는 모두 그것을 따를 것입니다. 여러분이 쓴 글이 1984에 나온 것처럼 소급적으로 말소될 수 있습니다. 자기가 쓴 글을 자기가 읽지 못하게 될지도 모릅니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Today you can avoid being restricted by proprietary software by not using it.  If you run GNU/Linux or another free operating system, and if you avoid installing proprietary applications on it, then you are in charge of what your computer does.  If a free program has a malicious feature, other developers in the community will take it out, and you can use the corrected version.  You can also run free application programs and tools on nonfree operating systems; this falls short of fully giving you freedom, but many users do it.
ko: 오늘날 독점 소프트웨어를 쓰지 않음으로써 독점 소프트웨어가 강요하는 제한을 피할 수 있습니다. GNU/리눅스나 다른 자유 운영체제를 쓰고 그 위에 독점 애플리케이션을 설치하는 것을 피하면 컴퓨터가 무슨 일을 할지 관리할 수 있습니다. 자유 프로그램에 악의적인 기능이 있으면 커뮤니티에서 다른 개발자들이 그것을 제거할 것이고 여러분은 수정된 것을 사용할 수 있습니다. 자유롭지 않은 운영체제에서 자유 애플리케이션 프로그램과 도구를 사용할 수도 있습니다. 이것은 완전한 자유를 주지는 않지만 많은 사용자들이 그렇게 하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Treacherous computing puts the existence of free operating systems and free applications at risk, because you may not be able to run them at all.  Some versions of treacherous computing would require the operating system to be specifically authorized by a particular company.  Free operating systems could not be installed.  Some versions of treacherous computing would require every program to be specifically authorized by the operating system developer.  You could not run free applications on such a system.  If you did figure out how, and told someone, that could be a crime.
ko: 배신 컴퓨팅은 자유 운영체제와 애플리케이션을 위험에 빠뜨립니다. 그것을 전혀 실행할 수 없기 때문입니다. 몇몇 배신 컴퓨팅은 특정 회사에 인증 받은 운영체제를 요구하기도 하는데 이 경우 자유 운영체제를 설치할 수 없습니다. 어떤 배신 컴퓨팅은 모든 프로그램이 운영체제 개발자의 특별한 인증을 받을 것을 요구하기도 합니다. 그러한 시스템에서는 자유 애플리케이션을 실행할 수 없습니다. 그것을 알아내어 다른 사람에게 말하면 범죄가 될 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There are proposals already for US laws that would require all computers to support treacherous computing, and to prohibit connecting old computers to the Internet.  The CBDTPA (we call it the Consume But Don't Try Programming Act) is one of them.  But even if they don't legally force you to switch to treacherous computing, the pressure to accept it may be enormous.  Today people often use Word format for communication, although this causes several sorts of problems (see <a href="/philosophy/no-word-attachments.html">&ldquo;We Can Put an End to Word Attachments&rdquo;</a>).  If only a treacherous-computing machine can read the latest Word documents, many people will switch to it, if they view the situation only in terms of individual action (take it or leave it).  To oppose treacherous computing, we must join together and confront the situation as a collective choice.
ko: 모든 컴퓨터가 배신 컴퓨팅을 지원하고 옛 컴퓨터들을 인터넷에 연결하는 것을 금지하기를 요구하는 미국 법이 이미 제안되어 있습니다. CBDTPA(우리는 &ldquo;Consume But Don't Try Programming Act&rdquo;라 부릅니다)가 그 중 하나입니다. 그러나 법적으로 배신 컴퓨팅으로 바꾸도록 강제하지 못하더라도 그것을 받아들이라는 압력이 거대해질지도 모릅니다. 오늘날 사람들은 워드 형식을 의사소통 수단으로 이용하기도 합니다. 이것이 몇 가지 문제를 일으키기도 하는데 말입니다(&ldquo;워드 파일 첨부를 그만 두어야 합니다&rdquo;를 보세요). 배신 컴퓨팅 기기만이 최신 워드 문서를 읽을 수 있고 사람들이 상황을 개인적인 차원(받아들이든지 아니든지)으로 받아들인다면 많은 사람들이 그것으로 바꿀 것입니다. 배신 컴퓨팅을 반대하기 위해 우리는 함께 집단적인 선택으로서 상황에 맞서야 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Postscripts
ko: 후기

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: The GNU Project distributes the GNU Privacy Guard, a program that implements public-key encryption and digital signatures, which you can use to send secure and private email.  It is useful to explore how GPG differs from treacherous computing, and see what makes one helpful and the other so dangerous.
ko: GNU 프로젝트에서는 GNU Privacy Guard라는 공개 키 암호화와 디지털 서명을 구현한 프로그램을 배포합니다. 이 프로그램을 사용해 안전한 전자우편을 보낼 수 있습니다. GPG가 배신 컴퓨팅과 어떻게 다른지, 어떤 것이 도움이 되고 어떤 것이 위험한지 알아보는 것도 유용할 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Microsoft presents Palladium as a security measure, and claims that it will protect against viruses, but this claim is evidently false.  A presentation by Microsoft Research in October 2002 stated that one of the specifications of Palladium is that existing operating systems and applications will continue to run; therefore, viruses will continue to be able to do all the things that they can do today.
ko: 마이크로소프트는 팔라듐을 보안 수단으로 선보이고 그것이 바이러스를 막아줄 것이라고 주장합니다. 그러나 이 주장은 증거가 없습니다. 2002년 10월 마이크로소프트 연구소의 발표에 따르면 팔라듐의 사양 중 하나는 기존 운영체제와 애플리케이션이 계속 실행되게 하는 것이라고 합니다. 따라서 바이러스는 오늘날 할 수 있는 모든 일을 계속 할 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: A previous statement by the Palladium developers stated the basic premise that whoever developed or collected information should have total control of how you use it.  This would represent a revolutionary overturn of past ideas of ethics and of the legal system, and create an unprecedented system of control.  The specific problems of these systems are no accident; they result from the basic goal.  It is the goal we must reject.
ko: 팔라듐 개발자가 말한 기본 전제는 정보를 개발하고 수집한 사람이라면 누구든지 여러분이 그것을 사용하는 방식을 완전히 통제해야 한다는 것입니다. 이것은 윤리와 법체계에 대한 혁명적인 전복을 나타내고 전례가 없는 통제 체계를 만들 수 있습니다. 이 시스템의 문제는 우연히 생긴 것이 아닙니다. 그것은 기본 목표로부터 나온 것입니다. 그 목표를 우리는 거부해야 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: 한국어 번역: 2006년 12월 18일 송우일 &lt;wooil@gnu.org&gt;

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
