digital-inclusion-in-freedom.html - en to zh_CN translation catalogue (144 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Is Digital Inclusion a Good Thing? How Can We Make Sure It Is? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 数字包容性是件好事吗?我们如何确定呢? - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Is Digital Inclusion a Good Thing? How Can We Make Sure It Is?
zh_CN: 数字包容性是件好事吗?我们如何确定呢?

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>
zh_CN: <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a> 著

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: INTRODUCTION
zh_CN: 引言

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Digital information and communication technology offers the possibility of a new world of freedom.  It also offers possibilities of surveillance and control which dictatorships of the past could only struggle to establish.  The battle to decide between these possibilities is being fought now.
zh_CN: 数字信息和通信技术提供了新的世界自由的可能性。它也提供了过去的独裁者难以企及的监控的可能性。在这两种可能性之间做决定的战斗现在已经打响。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Activities directed at &ldquo;including&rdquo; more people in the use of digital technology are predicated on the assumption that such inclusion is invariably a good thing.  It appears so, when judged solely by immediate practical convenience.  However, if we judge also in terms of human rights, the question of whether digital inclusion is good or bad depends on what kind of digital world we are to be included in.  If we wish to work towards digital inclusion as a goal, it behooves us to make sure it is the good kind.
zh_CN: 要把更多的人 &ldquo;包含&rdquo; 到使用数字技术人群中的活动建立在一种预期之上，它假设包含总是一件好事。当只用即时实际便利性来衡量时，它看起来是那么回事。不过，如果我们也考虑人权，那么数字包容性是好是坏的问题依赖于我们要包含的数字世界是什么样的。如果我们希望把数字包容性当成目标，那么保证数字世界是一个好的世界对大家都是好事。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The digital world today faces six major threats to users' freedom: surveillance, censorship, proprietary software, restricted formats, software as a service, and copyright enforcement.  A program to promote &ldquo;digital inclusion&rdquo; must take account of these threats, so as to avoid exposing its intended beneficiaries to them.  First we look at the nature of these threats; then we propose measures to resist them, collectively and individually.
zh_CN: 今天的数字世界面临对用户自由的六个主要威胁：监控、审查、专有软件、限制性格式、软件做为服务以及版权执行。一个提倡 &ldquo;数字包容性&rdquo; 的程序必须考虑这些威胁，以避免程序的目标受益者曝露在威胁之下。首先，我们来看一下这些威胁的本质; 然后，我们提议一些对抗的手段，包括集体的和个体的。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: SURVEILLANCE
zh_CN: 监控

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Digital surveillance systems are spreading.  The UK uses computers with cameras to track all car travel.  China plans to identify and photograph everyone that uses an Internet cafe.<a id="tex2html1" href="#foot100"><sup>1</sup></a>
zh_CN: 数字化的监控系统正在漫延。英国政府使用带摄像头的电脑跟踪所有上路的汽车。中国计划对每个在网吧上网的人进行拍照和身份确认。<a id="tex2html1" href="#foot100"><sup>1</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Cell phones are Big Brother's tools.  Some can be activated by remote command to listen to the user's conversations without giving any sign of listening, by the police<a id="tex2html3" href="#foot101"><sup>2</sup></a> and by unauthorized individuals.<a id="tex2html5" href="#foot102"><sup>3</sup></a> Users are unable to stop this because the software in the phone is not free/libre, thus not under the users' control.
zh_CN: 手机是美国大哥的工具。有些手机可以远程开启监听用户对话的功能，而用户则毫不知情，警方可以这么做 <a id="tex2html3" href="#foot101"><sup>2</sup></a>，未经授权的个人也可以。<a id="tex2html5" href="#foot102"><sup>3</sup></a> 因为手机的软件是非自由软件，用户无法控制，所以用户不能阻止监听。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Cell phones also localize the user, even when set to &ldquo;idle.&rdquo; The phone network needs to know roughly where the phone is located in order to communicate with it, and can easily record that information permanently.  However, networks are designed to locate phones far more accurately by triangulation.  They can do it even better with GPS in the phone, with or without the user's consent.
zh_CN: 手机也可以定位用户，即使设置在 &ldquo;待机模式&rdquo; 也可以。移动网络需要知道手机的大概位置来保持通信，常久保存这个信息很容易。不过，网络可以使用三角定位法更精确地定位手机。通过内置于手机的 GPS 模块定位还会更精确，用户是否同意是无所谓的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In many countries, universal digital surveillance does not record what you say, only who you talk with.  But that is enough to be quite dangerous, since it allows the police to follow social networks.  If a known dissident talks with you by phone or email, you are a candidate for labeling as a dissident.  It is no use ceasing to communicate by phone or email with fellow dissidents when a dictator takes power, because his secret police will have access to records of your past communications.
zh_CN: 在许多国家，全面的数字监控不会记录你说的是什么，只是你和谁谈话。但是这已经很恐怖了，因为警察可以据此追踪社交网络。如果某个持不同政见者和你通过电话或邮件，那么你就是可被标记为持不同政见者的候选人。在某个独裁者当权时停止和不同政见者通话或通邮没有什么用处，因为秘密警察能够查到以往沟通的记录。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The European Union mandates keeping records of all phone calls and email for periods up to two years.  The stated purpose of this surveillance is to &ldquo;prevent terrorism.&rdquo; Bush's illegal surveillance of phone calls also cited this purpose.  Non-state-sponsored terrorism is a real danger in a few countries, but the magnitude is often exaggerated; more people died in the US in September 2001 from car accidents than from terrorism, but we have no Global War on Accidents.  By contrast, the practice of labeling political opposition as &ldquo;terrorists,&rdquo; and using supposed &ldquo;anti-terror&rdquo; laws to infiltrate and sabotage their activities, threatens democracy everywhere.  For instance, the US Joint Terrorism Task Force infiltrated a wide range of political opposition groups.<a id="tex2html7" href="#foot103"><sup>4</sup></a>
zh_CN: 欧盟强制保留所有通话和电子邮件长达两年。此项监控明面的目的是 &ldquo;防止恐怖主义。&rdquo;布什总统的非法电话监控也是以这个目的为名义。没有政府支持的恐怖主义在一些国家确实是一种危险，但是其严重性经常被夸大; 美国 2001 年 9 月份死于车祸的人数大于死于恐怖主义的人数，可是我们并未发动针对车祸的战争。反之，将政治对手列为 &ldquo;恐怖主义者，&rdquo;并使用意在 &ldquo;反恐&rdquo; 的法律来渗透和破坏他们的活动，这是对民主的全方位威胁。例如，美国联合反恐工作组渗透了大量政治反对派组织。<a id="tex2html7" href="#foot103"><sup>4</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: False accusations of &ldquo;terrorism&rdquo; are standard practice for suppressing political opposition.  In the US, protesters who smashed windows at the 2008 Republican National Convention were charged with &ldquo;terrorism.&rdquo;<a id="tex2html9" href="#foot104"><sup>5</sup></a> More recently, Iran described protesters demanding a new election as &ldquo;terrorists.&rdquo;<a id="tex2html11" href="#foot105"><sup>6</sup></a> The generals who ruled most of South America in the 1970s offered precisely that justification for their systematic murder of dissidents.<a id="tex2html13" href="#foot20"><sup>7</sup></a>
zh_CN: 以 &ldquo;恐怖主义&rdquo; 的名义压制政治对手是一种标准操作。2008 年，在美国共合党全国大会上砸玻璃的抗议者被诉 &ldquo;恐怖主义。&rdquo;<a id="tex2html9" href="#foot104"><sup>5</sup></a>更近时，伊朗把要求进行新选举的抗议者描画为 &ldquo;恐怖主义者。&rdquo;<a id="tex2html11" href="#foot105"><sup>6</sup></a>在 1970 年代统治南非大部分地区的将军们正是用同样的借口对持不同政见者进行系统性谋杀。<a id="tex2html13" href="#foot20"><sup>7</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A free society does not guarantee anonymity in what you do outside your home: it is always possible that someone will notice where you went on the street, or that a merchant will remember what you bought.  This information is dispersed, not assembled for ready use.  A detective can track down the people who noticed you and ask them for it; each person may or may not say what he knows about you.  The effort required for this limits how often it is done.
zh_CN: 自由社会不能保正你在户外活动时匿名：总有人可能注意到你在街上，或者有商店记得你买了什么东西。这些信息是散乱的，并没有归整好。侦探能够追踪到那些注意到你的人并询问出这些信息; 每个人可能会说出和你相关的事，也可能不会说。由于要花费精力，调查的次数会受到限制。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: By contrast, systematic digital surveillance collects all the information about everyone for convenient use for whatever purpose, whether it be marketing, infiltration, or arrest of dissidents.  Because this endangers the people's control over the state, we must fight against surveillance whether or not we oppose current government policies.  Given the surveillance and tracking which cell phones do, I have concluded it is my duty to refuse to have one, despite the convenience it would offer.  I have few secrets about my own travels, most of which are for publicly announced speeches, but we need to fight surveillance even if it is established while we have no particular secrets to keep.
zh_CN: 与之相反，系统性的监控收集每个人的全部信息，并使之方便好用，不管为什么目的，市场宣传也好，渗透也好，或者抓捕持不同政见者也好，都可以使用。因为这样做威胁到人们对政权的控制，所以无论我们是否反对当权政府的政策都必须为反对监控而战。鉴于手机的监控和追踪作用，我决定不要手机，尽管它有便利性。我的行程没什么秘密，大多数是公开的演讲，但是即使没有什么秘密我们也要反对监控。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The UK car travel surveillance system has already been used against political dissidents.<a id="tex2html14" href="#foot106"><sup>8</sup></a>
zh_CN: 英国的汽车监控系统已经被用来对付持不同政见者。<a id="tex2html14" href="#foot106"><sup>8</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: CENSORSHIP
zh_CN: 审查

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When the topic of Internet censorship is mentioned, people are likely to think of China, but many supposedly freedom-respecting countries have imposed censorship.  Denmark's government has blocked access to a secret list of web pages.  Australia's government wants to do likewise, but has met strong resistance, so instead it has forbidden links to a long list of URLs.  Electronic Frontiers Australia was forced, under threat of fines of AUD 11,000 per day, to remove a link to an anti-abortion political web site.<a id="tex2html16" href="#foot107"><sup>9</sup></a> Denmark's secret list of forbidden URLs was leaked and posted on Wikileaks; that page is now on Australia's banned list.<a id="tex2html18" href="#foot108"><sup>10</sup></a> Germany is on the verge of launching Internet censorship.<a id="tex2html20" href="#foot109"><sup>11</sup></a>
zh_CN: 当人们谈到网络审查这个话题时，人们可能会想到中国，但是很多被认为尊重自由的国家也强加了审查。丹麦政府有一个被禁止访问网站的秘密列表。澳大利亚政府也想这么干，但是遇到了强大的阻力，因此它反过来禁止了对一长串网址的链接。澳大利亚电子前线（Electronic Frontiers Australia）迫于每天被罚 11,000 澳元的威胁删除了对一个反堕胎政治网站的链接。<a id="tex2html16" href="#foot107"><sup>9</sup></a>丹麦秘密网站列表泄漏并被发布到 Wikileaks; 而此页面现在是澳大利亚的被禁链接之一。<a id="tex2html18" href="#foot108"><sup>10</sup></a>德国正处在开始网络审查的边沿。<a id="tex2html20" href="#foot109"><sup>11</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Censorship of the contents of web sites is also a threat.  India just announced a broad plan of censorship that would effectively abolish freedom of the press on the Internet.<a id="tex2html22" href="#foot110"><sup>12</sup></a>
zh_CN: 对网站内容的审查也是一个威胁。印度刚刚发布了一个广泛的审查，它实际上会废止网络新闻自由。<a id="tex2html22" href="#foot110"><sup>12</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some European countries censor particular political views on the Internet.  In the United States, people have been imprisoned as &ldquo;terrorists&rdquo; for running a web site which discussed actions taken against experiments on animals.<a id="tex2html24" href="#foot28"><sup>13</sup></a>
zh_CN: 有些欧洲国家会审查网络上特定的政治观点。在美国，人们被当成 &ldquo;恐怖分子&rdquo; 关起来，原因是他们运营的网站讨论反对动物实验要采取的行动。<a id="tex2html24" href="#foot28"><sup>13</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another common excuse for censorship is the claim that &ldquo;obscene&rdquo; works are dangerous.  I agree that some works are obscene; for instance, the gruesome violence in the movie Pulp Fiction revolted me, and I will try never to see such a thing again.  But that does not justify censoring it; no matter how obscene a work may be, censorship is more so.  A variant of this excuse is &ldquo;protecting children,&rdquo; which plays to the exaggerated and mostly misplaced fears of parents.<a id="tex2html25" href="#foot111"><sup>14</sup></a>
zh_CN: 审查的另一个常见借口是说 &ldquo;下流的&rdquo; 作品是危险的。我同意某些作品是下流的; 例如，电影 Pulp Fiction 中的阴森恐怖场景让我反感，而我不愿再看到这种事。但是这并不是审查此事的正当理由; 无论一个作品如何下流，审查只有更甚。此借口的一个变种是&ldquo;保护儿童，&rdquo;就是夸大并尽最大可能扰乱家长的担心。<a id="tex2html25" href="#foot111"><sup>14</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Censorship is nothing new.  What is new is the ease and effectiveness of censorship on electronic communication and publication (even where a few wizards have ways to bypass it).  China in 1960 achieved effective censorship by cutting its population off from the world, but that held back the country's development, which was painful for the regime as well as for the population.  Today China uses digital technology to achieve effective political censorship without cutting itself off in other ways.<a id="tex2html27" href="#foot112"><sup>15</sup></a>
zh_CN: 审查并不是一件新鲜事。新鲜的是对电子沟通和出版审查的便利和高效（即使有高手可以绕过）。中国在 1960 年通过把国民与世界隔离达成有效的审查，但是同时阻碍了国家的发展，对政府和人民都是苦难。今天，中国使用数字技术达成有效政治审查而无需让自己在其他方面被隔离。<a id="tex2html27" href="#foot112"><sup>15</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: SOFTWARE YOU CAN'T CONTROL
zh_CN: 你无法掌控的软件

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In order for computer users to have freedom in their own computing activities, they must have control over the software they use.  This means it must be <em>free software</em>, which I here call &ldquo;free/libre&rdquo; so as to emphasize that this is a matter of freedom, not price.
zh_CN: 为了计算机用户能够对自己的计算拥有自由，他们必须要对所使用的软件拥有控制。这就意味着软件必须是 <em>自由软件</em>，我在此使用 &ldquo;free/libre&rdquo; 来强调这是一个关乎自由的问题，而不是价格问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A program is free/libre if it gives the user these four essential freedoms:<a id="tex2html29" href="#foot113"><sup>16</sup></a>
zh_CN: 一个程序是自由的，如果它给其用户四个基本自由：<a id="tex2html29" href="#foot113"><sup>16</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><ul><li>
en: <i>0.</i> Freedom to run the program as you wish.
zh_CN: <i>0.</i> 按照用户意愿运行软件的自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><ul><li>
en: <i>1.</i> Freedom to study the source code, and change it to make the program do what you wish.
zh_CN: <i>1.</i> 用户有自由学习软件的源代码，并有自由修改程序以让程序按照用户的意愿运行。

note: type: Content of: <div><ul><li>
en: <i>2.</i> Freedom to redistribute and/or republish exact copies.  (This is the freedom to help your neighbor.)
zh_CN: <i>2.</i> 用户有自由再分发和/或再发布原来的程序。(这个就是帮助友邻的自由。)

note: type: Content of: <div><ul><li>
en: <i>3.</i> Freedom to distribute and/or publish copies of your modified versions.  (This is the freedom to contribute to your community.)
zh_CN: <i>3.</i> 用户有自由分发和/或发布自己修改过的版本。(这个就是为社区做贡献的自由。)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When software is free/libre, the users control what it does.  A nonfree or <em>proprietary</em> program is under the control of its developer, and functions as an instrument to give the developer control over the users.  It may be convenient, or it may not, but in either case it imposes on its users a social system that keeps them divided and helpless.  Avoiding this injustice and giving users control over their computing requires the four freedoms.  Freedoms 0 and 1 give you control over your own computing, and freedom 3 enables users to work together to jointly control their computing, while freedom 2 means users are not kept divided.<a id="tex2html31" href="#foot114"><sup>17</sup></a>
zh_CN: 当软件是自由软件时，用户控制软件的行为。非自由或 <em>专有</em> 程序被其开发者控制，它就象开发者控制用户的工具一样。它可能会很方便，也可能不那么好用，但是不管怎样它都强迫用户到一个分裂和无助的社会系统中。避免这种不公正并给予用户对自己己算的控制需要四个自由。自由 0 和 1 让你控制自己的计算，自由 3 让用户们可以共同合作一致控制他们的计算，而自由 2 意味着用户没有被分裂。<a id="tex2html31" href="#foot114"><sup>17</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Many argue that free/libre software is impossible on theoretical economic grounds.  Some of them misinterpret free/libre software as &ldquo;gratis software&rdquo;; others understand the term correctly, but either way they claim that businesses will never want to develop such software.  Combining this with a theoretical premise such as &ldquo;Useful software can only be developed by paying programmers,&rdquo; they conclude that free software could never exist.  This argument is typically presented elliptically in the form of a question such as, &ldquo;How can programmers make a living if software is free?&rdquo; Both premises, as well as the conclusion, contradict well-known facts; perhaps the elliptical questions are meant to obscure the premises so people will not compare them with the facts.
zh_CN: 许多人争辩说自由软件在理论上没有经济基础，是不可能的。其中一些人把自由软件误解为 &ldquo;免费软件&rdquo;; 其他人虽然正确理解了自由软件的含义，但是他们都声称商业机构永远也不会开发自由软件。加上诸如 &ldquo;有用的软件只能通过付费给开发者来实现&rdquo; 的理论假设，他们的结论就是永远也不会由自由软件。此论断通常是以一种圆滑的问题来表现，比如 &ldquo;如果软件是自由的，程序员靠什么为生?&rdquo; 两个假设以及其结论都和众所周知的事实相背; 也许那个圆滑的问题就是要弄模糊这些假设，这样人们就不会拿它们和事实做比较了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We know that free software can be developed because so much of it exists.  There are thousands of useful free programs,<a id="tex2html34" href="#foot115"><sup>18</sup></a> and millions of users<a id="tex2html36" href="#foot116"><sup>19</sup></a> run the GNU/Linux<a id="tex2html38" href="#foot117"><sup>20</sup></a> operating system.  Thousands of programmers write useful free software as volunteers.<a id="tex2html40" href="#foot118"><sup>21</sup></a> Companies such as Red Hat, IBM, Oracle, and Google pay programmers to write free software.  I do not know even approximately how many paid free software developers there are; studying the question would be useful.  Alexandre Zapolsky of the free software business event Paris Capitale du Libre (<a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20140402120239/http://paris-libre.org/">www.paris-libre.org</a>) said in 2007 that the free software companies of France had over 10,000 employees.
zh_CN: 我们知道自由软件能够被开发出来，因为已经有了大量的自由软件。现有成千上万的自由程序，<a id="tex2html34" href="#foot115"><sup>18</sup></a>还有数百万的用户<a id="tex2html36" href="#foot116"><sup>19</sup></a> 运行着 GNU/Linux<a id="tex2html38" href="#foot117"><sup>20</sup></a> 操作系统。成千上万的程序员作为志愿者编写有用的自由软件。<a id="tex2html40" href="#foot118"><sup>21</sup></a> 象红帽、IBM、甲古文和谷歌这些公司都付费让程序员开发自由软件。我甚至连大该有多少收费开发自由软件的开发者数目都不知道; 这是一个值得研究的问题。2007 年，Alexandre Zapolsky 在自由软件商业活动 Paris Capitale du Libre (<a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20140402120239/http://paris-libre.org/">www.paris-libre.org</a>) 曾说法国公司开发自由软件的员工超过 10,000 人。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Most computer users use proprietary software, and are accustomed to letting a few companies control their computing.  If you are one of them, you may have accepted the view that it is normal and proper for those companies, rather than you, to have control.  You may also believe that &ldquo;reputable&rdquo; developers will not use their power to mistreat you.  The fact is that they do.
zh_CN: 大多数计算机用户使用专有软件，并且习惯于让某些公司控制他们的计算。如果你是其中一员，那么你可能接受了一种观点：让这些公司－－而不是你－－来控制是正常和合理的。你还可能相信 &ldquo;著名的&rdquo; 开发者不会利用他们的权力来搞你。事实上他们会的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Microsoft Windows has features to spy on the user,<a id="tex2html43" href="#foot119"><sup>22</sup></a> Digital Restrictions Management (DRM) features designed to stop the user from making full use of his own files,<a id="tex2html45" href="#foot120"><sup>23</sup></a> and an all-purpose back door with which Microsoft can forcibly change the software in any way at any time.<a id="tex2html47" href="#foot121"><sup>24</sup></a> Microsoft can alter any software, not just its own.<a id="tex2html49" href="#foot122"><sup>25</sup></a> Cell phones tied to particular phone networks may give the network a similar back door.  MacOS also has DRM features designed to restrict the user.
zh_CN: 微软的 Windows 系统带有监控用户的功能<a id="tex2html43" href="#foot119"><sup>22</sup></a>、设计来限制用户全权使用自己文件的数字限制管理 (DRM) 功能<a id="tex2html45" href="#foot120"><sup>23</sup></a> 以及一个微软可以随时用来强行变更软件的全局后门。<a id="tex2html47" href="#foot121"><sup>24</sup></a> 微软可以变更任何软件，不仅仅是它自己的软件。<a id="tex2html49" href="#foot122"><sup>25</sup></a> 和特定电话网络绑定的手机也会给此网络类似的后门。MacOS 也带有设计来限制用户的 DRM 功能。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The only known defense against malicious features is to insist on software that is controlled by the users: free/libre software.  It is not a perfect guarantee, but the alternative is no defense at all.  If code is law, those governed by it must have the power to decide what it should say.
zh_CN: 已知对付恶意功能的唯一手段就是坚持使用受用户控制的软件：自由软件。虽然它不是完美的保证，但是别的方法会一败涂地。如果代码是法律，那么被法律统治的人必须要有权力决定法律的内容。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: RESTRICTED FORMATS
zh_CN: 受限制的格式

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Restricted file formats impose private control over communication and publication.  Those who control the formats control, in a general sense, society's use of information, since it can't be distributed or read/viewed without their permission.
zh_CN: 受限制的文件格式对沟通和发布强加了私有的控制。控制格式的一方广义上控制了社会对信息的使用，因为信息未经它们的许可无法发布或阅读/查看。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For instance, text files are often distributed in the secret Microsoft Word format, which other developers have only imperfectly been able to decode and implement.  This practice is comparable to publishing books in a secret alphabet which only officially approved scribes know how to read.  Italian public television (RAI) distributes video in VC-1 format, whose specifications are available only under nondisclosure agreement from the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.  (As of 2016 RAI seems to have shifted to a non-secret format.)  Ironically, the SMPTE states this in a Word file, which is not suitable to cite as a reference.<a id="tex2html51" href="#foot123"><sup>26</sup></a> This standard has been partly decoded through reverse engineering.
zh_CN: 例如，文本文件经常以保密的微软 Word 格式分发，其他开发者只能做不完美的解码。这种实践和用只有授权的才文员能读懂字母出版图书有一拚。意大利公共电视台 (RAI) 以 VC-1 格式发布视频，该格式的规格只有电台工程师以及和 Society of Motion Picture 签署了保密协议后才能看到。(在 2016 年，RAI 似乎改用了非秘密的格式。) 具有讽刺意味的是，SMPTE 对此的声明用的是 Word 文件，它作为引用参考不太合适。<a id="tex2html51" href="#foot123"><sup>26</sup></a> 该标准通过反向工程被部分解码。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Most music distribution on the Internet uses the patented MP3 format<a id="tex2html82" href="#foot137"><sup>42</sup></a>, and most video uses patented MPEG-4 formats such as DIVX and H.264.  VC-1 is also patented.<a id="tex2html53" href="#foot124"><sup>27</sup></a> Any software patent directly attacks every user's freedom to use her computer.  Use of patented data formats is comparable to mandating that people use officially approved scribes rather than do their own reading and writing.  Patents on MPEG formats have been used to attack and threaten developers and distributors of programs that can handle these formats, including free/libre programs.  Some distributors of the GNU/Linux system, for instance Red Hat, do not dare to include support for these programs.
zh_CN: 网络上发布的音乐大多数使用的是 MP3 专利格式<a id="tex2html82" href="#foot137"><sup>42</sup></a>，大多数视频使用的是 MPEG-4 专利格式，比如 DIVX 和 H.264。VC-1 也是一个专利格式。<a id="tex2html53" href="#foot124"><sup>27</sup></a> 软件专利直接攻击用户使用计算机的自由。使用专利数据格式就象强制人们使用授权文员而不是自己读写一样。象 MPEG 格式这样的专利一直被用来攻击处理此类格式程序的开发者和发布者，其中包括自由软件。一些 GNU/Linux 系统发行版，比如红帽发行版，就不敢包含支持此类格式的程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A restricted format is a trap; any and all use of the format has the effect of pushing computer users into the trap.  Inclusion in dependence on these formats is not a step forward.
zh_CN: 限制性格式是一个陷井; 对这些格式的任何使用都会把用户推到陷井之中。在系统中包含此对类格式的支持不是进步。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: SOFTWARE AS A SERVICE
zh_CN: 软件代替服务

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Typical proprietary software gives you only a binary, whose actions are controlled by the developer, and not by you.  A new practice called &ldquo;software as a service,&rdquo; or &ldquo;SaaS,&rdquo; gives you even less control.  With SaaS you don't even get a copy of the program you can run.  Instead, you send your data to a server, a program runs there, and the server sends you back the result.  If users have a binary, they could reverse-engineer it and patch it if they are really determined.  With SaaS, they can't even do that.
zh_CN: 专有软件通常只会给二进制文件，其功能由开发者掌控，不是你掌控。有一种叫做 &ldquo;软件代替服务,&rdquo; 或称之为 &ldquo;SaaS&rdquo; 的新操作会给你更少的掌控。有了 SaaS 你甚至连你要用的程序都拿不到。做为替代，你把你的数据发给某个服务器，程序在服务器上运行，然后服务器把结果再发给你。如果用户有二进制文件，那么用户还能狠狠心对其做反向工程来修改。而对 SaaS，用户就无计可施了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Reverse engineering being so difficult, perhaps software as a service is little worse than proprietary software.  The point, however, is that it is no better.  For users to have control of their computing, they must avoid SaaS just as they must avoid proprietary software.
zh_CN: 反向工程非常困难，看来软件替代服务也并不比专有软件差多少。不过，重点是它们都不好。要让用户掌控自己的计算，他们必须象避免专有软件一样避免 SaaS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For the preparation of this paper I was invited to use an IEEE site called pdf-express.org to convert my PDF file into one with the embedded fonts required for the conference proceedings.  Looking at that site, I concluded that it was an instance of software as a service, and therefore I should not use it.  Another strike against it is that it requires users to identify themselves, which is gratuitous surveillance.
zh_CN: 为了准备这个论文我受邀访问了一个叫做 pdf-express.org 的 IEEE 网站，在那里把我的 PDF 文件转换为带有会议要求的嵌入式字体的文件。看到那个网站，我断定它就是一个软件替带服务的实例，所以我不该用它。另一个不该用它的理由是它要求用户表明身份，这是没有必要的监控。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It's not that I'm specifically worried that this site is malicious.  I cannot trust the IEEE implicitly, since I disapprove of its restrictions on redistributing the papers it publishes, but there is little scope in that particular site's job for intentional mistreatment of its users (aside from the gratuitous surveillance).  However, the point is not whether this particular site abuses its power.  The point is that we should not let ourselves become accustomed to granting others that sort of power over us.  The habit of handing over control of our computing to others is a dangerous one.  The way to resist the practice is to refuse invitations to follow it.
zh_CN: 并不是我特别担心此网站是恶意网站。由于我不同意它对在发布此文的限制，我不能就那么相信 IEEE，但是就该网站的功能来看它没有必要故意恶意对待用户 (除了不必要的监控)。不过，事情的重点不是该网站是否滥用了自己的权力。重点是我们不能让自己对授权予人习以为常。把我们对计算的控制交给别人是危险的。对抗的方法就是拒绝此类邀请。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The only way to maintain your control over your computing is to do it using your own copy of a free/libre program.
zh_CN: 保持对计算控制的唯一方法就是使用自由程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: COPYRIGHT AND SHARING
zh_CN: 版权和分享

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The biggest conflict over freedom in the Internet is the War on Sharing: the attempt by the publishing industry to prevent Internet users from enjoying the capability to copy and share information.
zh_CN: 对互联网来说，自由最大的冲突是分享的战争：出版业试图禁止用户复制和分享信息。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright was established in the age of the printing press as an industrial regulation on the business of writing and publishing.  The aim was to encourage the publication of a diversity of written works.  The means used was to require publishers to get the author's permission to publish recent writings.  This enabled authors to get income from publishers, which facilitated and encouraged writing.  The general reading public received the benefit of this, while losing little: copyright restricted only publication, not the things an ordinary reader could do, so it was easy to enforce and met with little opposition.  That made copyright arguably a beneficial system for the public, and therefore legitimate.
zh_CN: 版权做为写作和出版业的行规建立于印刷时代。其目的在于鼓励出版各种创作作品。其手段是要求出版商需获得作者授权才能发行其最新作品。这使作者可以从出版商处获得报酬，因此帮助和鼓励写作。爱读书的人们因此获益，而损失寥寥：版权限制的只是出版商，而不是普通读者要做的事，因此它容易执行，而且阻力很小。这就让版权成为带有争议的公共福利系统，因而是合法的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Well and good&mdash;back then.
zh_CN: 是好事&mdash;&mdash;在过去。

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: The War on Sharing
zh_CN: 分享的战争

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Nowadays, computers and networks provide superior means for distributing and manipulating information, including published software, musical recordings, texts, images, and videos.  Networks offer the possibility of unlimited access to all sorts of data&mdash;an information utopia.
zh_CN: 现如今，计算机和网络为发布和处理信息提供了超级手段，包括发布软件、音乐、文章、图片和视频。网络同时为无限制地全方位访问数据提供了可能&mdash;&mdash;信息的乌托邦。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The works that people use to do practical jobs, such as software, recipes, text fonts, educational works and reference works, must be free/libre so that the users can control (individually and collectively) the jobs that they do with these works.  That argument does not apply to other kinds of works, such as those which state what certain people thought, and artistic works, so it is not ethically obligatory for them to be free/libre.  But there is a minimum freedom that the public must have for all published works: the freedom to share exact copies noncommercially.  Sharing is good; sharing creates the bonds of society.  When copying and sharing a book was so difficult that one would hardly ask such a large favor, the issue of freedom to share was moot.  Today, the Internet makes sharing easy, and thus makes the freedom to share essential.
zh_CN: 人们用来完成实用工作的作品，比如软件、菜谱、字体，教育作品和参考书等，必须是自由的，这样用户就可以控制（单独和集体）他们针对这些作品的工作。此论点并不适用于其他类型的作品，比如表达人们思想的作品和艺术作品，所以道德上这些作品没有义务是自由的。但是对所有公开发表的作品，公众必须有一个最低限度的自由：非商业化分享原版考贝的自由。分享是好事; 分享构成社会的纽带。当复制和分享一本书都变成人们不愿意张口的难事时，分享的自由就是空谈。今天，互联网让分享变得容易，这就更让分享得自由变得重要。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One obstacle stands in the way of this utopia: copyright.  Readers and listeners who make use of their new ability to copy and share published information are technically copyright infringers.  The same law which formerly acted as a beneficial industrial regulation on publishers has now become a restriction on the public it was meant to benefit.
zh_CN: 在通往这个乌托邦的道路上横立着一个障碍：版权。读者和听众在使用新能力复制和分享公开信息时，技术上已经侵犯了版权法。这个原本有益的出版行业规范现在在限制先前是其受益的大众。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In a democracy, a law that prohibits a popular and useful activity is usually soon relaxed. Not so where corporations have more political power than the public.  The entertainment companies' lobby is determined to prevent the public from taking advantage of the power of their computers, and has found copyright a suitable tool.  Under their influence, rather than relaxing copyright rules to permit productive and free use of the Internet, governments have made it stricter than ever, forbidding the act of sharing.
zh_CN: 在民主社会下，如果某个法律禁止的活动是被广泛接受和有益的，那么该法律通常很快就被放松了。而不象现在大企业比公众更有政治权力的社会。娱乐公司的游说就是要阻止公众发挥电脑的有益能力，它们发现版权是一个合适的工具。在它们的影响下，政府不但没有放松版权来允许对网络自由和有生产力的使用，反而使之比以前更严苛，禁止了分享活动。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The publishers and their friendly governments would like to go to any length they can get away with to wage the War on Sharing.  In the US, the record companies' legal arm (the RIAA) regularly sues teenagers for hundreds of thousands of dollars, and one sharer was fined almost two million.<a id="tex2html56" href="#foot125"><sup>28</sup></a> The French government recently passed a law (HADOPI) to abolish the principle of due process of law, by punishing Internet users with disconnection on the mere accusation of copying.  Only certain selected, government-approved organizations were empowered to make such accusations; thus, this law meant to abolish Libert&eacute;, Egalit&eacute;, and Fraternit&eacute; with one blow.
zh_CN: 出版商及其友善的政府会不遗余力地推进针对分享的战争。在美国，唱片公司的法律打手 (RIAA) 经常以数十万美元的金额起诉青少年，甚至一个分享者被罚近两百万美元。<a id="tex2html56" href="#foot125"><sup>28</sup></a> 法国政府最近通过了一项法律 (HADOPI)，它背弃了法律须程序正当的原则，对仅仅是被诉复制的互联网用户就给予断网的惩罚。而只有某些挑选的、政府批准的机构才能做这种起诉; 因此，此法律就是要一股脑背弃 自由&eacute;、平等&eacute;和友爱&eacute;。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The law was rejected as unconstitutional by the Constitutional Council.<a id="tex2html58" href="#foot126"><sup>29</sup></a> (It was subsequently changed, introducing a sham trial, to make it acceptable.)  A similar law in New Zealand was withdrawn this year after public protests.  The European Parliament recently voted against imposing similar injustice on the whole European Union, but the EU's weak form of democracy does not give Parliament the final decision.  Some would like to go even further: a UK member of parliament proposed ten years' imprisonment for noncommercial sharing.
zh_CN: 此法律被宪法委员会以违宪拒绝。<a id="tex2html58" href="#foot126"><sup>29</sup></a> (它被做了大量修改，引入了虚假审判，然后才被接受。) 在公众抗议之后，类似法律在新西兰也被撤回。虽然欧洲议会最近也投票反对对欧盟成员强加类似的不公正待遇，但是欧盟的弱民主形式无法让议会达成最终决定。有些成员甚至要得寸进尺：一个英国议员提议对非商业分享者施以十年监禁的惩罚。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The US, Canada, the European Union, and various other countries are engaged in negotiating the &ldquo;Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement.&rdquo; The negotiations are secret, but Canada reluctantly published a list of suggestions it received from private parties, and HADOPI-style punishment without trial was one of them.<a id="tex2html60" href="#foot127"><sup>30</sup></a> The suggestion is likely to have come from the copyright lobby, which has great influence in the US government and others, so the danger is not negligible.  European officials may seek to use this treaty to circumvent the European Parliament, following a practice known as &ldquo;policy laundering.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 美国、拿大、欧盟以及多个其他国家参与了 &ldquo;反假货贸易协定&rdquo; 的谈判。虽然谈判是秘密的，但是加拿大还是不情愿地公布了来自私密团体的一个建议清单，其中一项就是不经审判的 HADOPI 式惩罚。<a id="tex2html60" href="#foot127"><sup>30</sup></a> 这些建议很可能来自版权游说组织，它们对美国和许多国家都有巨大的影响力，所以其危险不容忽视。采用一种叫做 &ldquo;政策漂洗&rdquo; 的操作，欧洲官员可能会使用此条约绕开欧洲议会。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The corporations that profit most from copyright legally exercise it in the name of the authors (most of whom actually gain little).  They would have us believe that copyright is a natural right of authors, and that we the public must suffer it no matter how painful it is.  They call sharing &ldquo;piracy,&rdquo; equating helping your neighbor with attacking a ship.
zh_CN: 以法律名义从版权获利最多的企业总是以作家的名义操作此事 (而大多数作家实际上所获甚微)。它们让我们相信版权是作家的自然权利，所以我们大众无论多痛苦都必须承受。它们把分享称为 &ldquo;盗版&rdquo;，就象把互相帮助称为攻击船只一样。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Public anger over these measures is growing, but it is held back by propaganda.  Terms such as &ldquo;piracy,&rdquo;<a id="tex2html62" href="#foot128"><sup>31</sup></a> &ldquo;protecting authors&rdquo; and &ldquo;intellectual property,&rdquo;<a id="tex2html64" href="#foot129"><sup>32</sup></a> and claims that reading, viewing or listening to anything without paying is &ldquo;theft,&rdquo; have convinced many readers that their rights and interests do not count.  This propaganda implicitly assumes that publishers deserve the special power which they exercise in the name of the authors, and that we are morally obliged to suffer whatever measures might be needed to maintain their power.
zh_CN: 公众对此的怨愤与日俱增，但是这个被宣传活动抑制了。诸如 &ldquo;盗版&rdquo;、<a id="tex2html62" href="#foot128"><sup>31</sup></a> &ldquo;保护作家&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;知识产权&rdquo;<a id="tex2html64" href="#foot129"><sup>32</sup></a> 等术语以及把阅读、观赏或聆听而不付费称为 &ldquo;盗窃&rdquo; 的论断让许多读者相信他们的权利和利益并不重要。这种宣传背后的假定是出版商应该有特权以作者的名义去操作，而我们在道德上就应该承受它们维护特权的种种折磨。

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: Digital restrictions management
zh_CN: 数字限制管理

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The publishers aim to do more than punish sharing.  They have realized that by publishing works in encrypted formats, which can be viewed only with software designed to control the users, they could gain unprecedented power over all use of these works.  They could compel people to pay, and also to identify themselves, every time they wish to read a book, listen to a song, or watch a video.  They could make people's copies disappear on a planned schedule.  They could even make copies unreadable at will, if they have all-purpose back-doors such as found in Windows, or special features for the purpose.<a id="tex2html66" href="#foot130"><sup>33</sup></a>
zh_CN: 出版商的目的不止是惩罚分享。他们已经意识到如果用加密的格式出版作品，作品就只能用专门的软件来看，而这些软件专门用来控制用户，那么他们就获得了使用这些作品的前所未有的权力。在用户每次要读书时、听音乐时、看电影时，出版商就可以强行收费，也可以强迫用户确认身份。他们可以按计划让你的书凭空消失。如果他们有了诸如 Windows 系统那样的全局后门或专门的功能，他们甚至可以随时让书不可读。<a id="tex2html66" href="#foot130"><sup>33</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Designing products and media to restrict the user is called Digital Restrictions Management, or DRM.<a id="tex2html68" href="#foot66"><sup>34</sup></a> Its purpose is an injustice: to deny computer users what would otherwise be their legal rights in using their copies of published works.  Its method is a second injustice, since it imposes the use of proprietary software.
zh_CN: 设计产品和媒体来限制用户叫做数字限制管理，简称 DRM。<a id="tex2html68" href="#foot66"><sup>34</sup></a> 其目的是不公正：剥夺计算机用户原本使用已出版作品的合法权利。其方法也不公正，因为强加了专有软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The publishers gained US government support for their dream of total power with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998 (DMCA).  This law gave publishers power, in effect, to write their own copyright rules, by implementing them in the code of the authorized player software.  Even reading or listening is illegal when the software is designed to block it.
zh_CN: 在美国政府的支持下，出版商已经通过数字千禧版权法案（1998 DMCA）拿到了梦寐以求的完整权力。该法案的实际效果就是给了出版商制定版权规则的权力，他们可以把这些规则通过授权播放软件来实现。如果他们愿意，甚至阅读和聆听都可以通过软件定为非法。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The DMCA has an exception: it does not forbid uses that qualify as &ldquo;fair use.&rdquo; But it strips this exception of practical effect by censoring any software that people could use to do these things.  Under the DMCA, any program that could be used to break digital handcuffs is banned unless it has other comparably important &ldquo;commercially significant&rdquo; uses.  (The denial of validity to any other kind of significance, such as social or ethical significance, explicitly endorses business' domination of society.)  Practically speaking, the limited right to disobey your software jailer is meaningless since the means to do so is not available.
zh_CN: DMCA 有个例外：它不禁止符合 &ldquo;合理使用&rdquo; 的活动。但是这个实际操作的例外被软件审查给干掉了，人们用来做这些事的软件都会受到审查。根据 DMCA，任何可能破坏数字枷锁的程序都会被禁止，除非它的 &ldquo;商业重要性&rdquo; 相当显著。(对其他重要性的否定，比如社会重要性或道德重要性，就是赤裸裸地支持商业对社会的主导。)就实际而言，人们反抗软件禁锢者的那点有限权利由于没有可用的手段而变得毫无意义。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Similar software censorship laws have since been adopted in the European Union, Australia, and New Zealand, and other countries.  Canada has tried to do this for several years, but opposition there has blocked it.  The publishers' lobbies seek to impose these restrictions on all countries; for instance, the US demands them in trade treaties.  WIPO (the World &ldquo;Intellectual Property&rdquo; Organization) helps, by promoting two treaties whose sole point is to require laws such as these.  Signing these treaties does no good for a country's citizens, and there is no good reason why any country should sign them.  But when countries do sign, politicians can cite &ldquo;compliance with treaty obligations&rdquo; as an excuse for software censorship.
zh_CN: 自那以后，类似的审查法律在欧盟、澳大利亚、新西兰以及其他一些国家被采纳。加拿大也曾为此努力了好几年，但是迫于阻力无法通过。出版商的游说者企图在所有国家强加这些限制; 例如，美国就在一些贸易协定中要求这些条件。WIPO (世界 &ldquo;知识产权&rdquo; 组织) 也推波助澜，鼓吹两个只为要求此类法律的协定。签署这些协定不会给国民带来好处，也没有其他好理由来签署这些协定。但是一旦签了，政治家们就会引用 &ldquo;符合协定的义务&rdquo; 作为软件审查的借口。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We still have the same old freedoms in using paper books and other analog media.  But if e-books replace printed books, those freedoms will not transfer.  Imagine: no more used book stores; no more lending a book to your friend; no more borrowing one from the public library&mdash;no more &ldquo;leaks&rdquo; that might give someone a chance to read without paying.  No more purchasing a book anonymously with cash&mdash;you can only buy an e-book with a credit card, thus enabling computerized surveillance&mdash;and public libraries become retail outlets.  That is the world the publishers want for us.  If you buy the Amazon Kindle (we call it the <a href="/philosophy/why-call-it-the-swindle.html">Swindle</a>)  or the Sony Reader (we call it the Shreader for what it threatens to do to books), you pay to establish that world.
zh_CN: 对于纸质书和其他模拟类媒体，我们还拥有和过去一样的自由。但是如果电子书代替了印刷书，这些自由是不会转过来的。想象一下：再没有旧书店; 再也不能借书给朋友; 再也不能从公共图书馆借书&mdash;&mdash;再也不能&ldquo;泄漏内容&rdquo;让人免费偷看一眼书。再也不能用现金匿名买书&mdash;&mdash;你只能用信用卡买电子书，这就给了数字监控机会&mdash;&mdash;而公共图书馆变成了零售亭。这就是出版商想给我们的世界。如果你要购卖 Amazon Kindle (我们称之为 <a href="/philosophy/why-call-it-the-swindle.html">Swindle</a>) 或者 Sony Reader (我们称之为 Shreader，因为它对书的威胁)，那么你就是为建造那样的世界投钱。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: SUPPORTING THE ARTS
zh_CN: 支持艺术

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The publishers tell us that a War on Sharing is the only way to keep art alive.  Supporting the arts is a desirable goal, but it could not justify these means.  Fortunately, it does not require them either.  Public sharing of copies tends to call attention to obscure or niche works: when Monty Python put its video files on the net for download, its sales increased by a factor of over 200.<a id="tex2html69" href="#foot131"><sup>35</sup></a> Meanwhile, digital technology also offers new ways to support the arts.
zh_CN: 出版商说针对分享的战争是保护艺术的唯一手段。保护艺术的目标没错，但是它并不能支持这些手段是正当的。幸运的是，它也不需要这些手段。公众的分享往往会让晦涩或小众的作品引起众视：当 Monty Python 把视频放到网络上供下载后，其销量增加了 200 倍。<a id="tex2html69" href="#foot131"><sup>35</sup></a> 与此同时，数字技术还提供了支持艺术的新手段。

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: Donations
zh_CN: 捐助

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The singer Jane Siberry offers her music for download through her own web site, called <a id="tex2html71" href="https://janesiberry.com">janesiberry.com</a> in 2010, allowing people to pay whatever amount they wish.  The average price paid per song was earlier reported to be more than the $.99 that the major record companies charge.<a id="tex2html72" href="#foot132"><sup>36</sup></a>
zh_CN: 歌手 Jane Siberry 在其网站上提供音乐下载，在 2010 年称为 <a id="tex2html71" href="https://janesiberry.com">janesiberry.com</a>，她让人们任意付费下载。较早的报告说每首歌的平均价格比唱片公司的收费 $.99 要高。<a id="tex2html72" href="#foot132"><sup>36</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Bestsellers also can still do well without stopping people from sharing.  Stephen King got hundreds of thousands of dollars selling a serialized unencrypted e-book with no technical obstacle to sharing of copies.  Radiohead made millions in 2007 by inviting fans to copy an album and pay what they wished, while it was also shared on the Internet.  In 2008, Nine Inch Nails released an album with permission to share copies and made 750,000 dollars in a few days.<a id="tex2html74" href="#foot133"><sup>37</sup></a>
zh_CN: 即使不阻止人们分享，畅销书也还是可以做得很好。Stephen King 的系列小说电子书卖掉了数十万本，它们并未加密，没有设置分享的技术障碍。Radiohead 在 2007 年通过让粉丝随心付费拷贝一个专辑赚了数百万，而该专辑同时也在网络上被分享。在 2008 年，Nine Inch Nails 发布了一部允许分享拷贝的专辑，在几天之内就赚了 750,000 美元．<a id="tex2html74" href="#foot133"><sup>37</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Even hampered by today's inconvenient methods of sending money to artists, voluntary contributions from fans can support them.  Kevin Kelly, former editor of Wired Magazine, estimates the artist need only find approximately 1,000 true fans in order to earn a living from their support.<a id="tex2html76" href="#foot134"><sup>38</sup></a>
zh_CN: 即使现在向艺术家转钱的方法并不便利，粉丝们的志愿捐助还是可以支持他们。前《连线》杂志编辑 Kevin Kelly 曾估计，艺术家只需要大约 1,000 名真正的粉丝就可以获得支持生活的收入。<a id="tex2html76" href="#foot134"><sup>38</sup></a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But when computer networks provide an easy anonymous method for sending someone a small amount of money, without requiring a credit card, voluntary support for artists will become far more effective.  Every player could have a button you can press, &ldquo;Click here to send the artists one dollar.&rdquo; (The optimal amount may vary between countries; in India, one rupee might be a better choice.)  Wouldn't you press it, at least once a week?
zh_CN: 但是当电脑网络提供简单匿名发送小额款项的手段，而无需信用卡时，志愿支持艺术家就会变得有效得多。每个播放器都有个按钮，&ldquo;点此按钮给当前艺术家 1 美元。&rdquo; (金额可能随国家而变; 比如，印度可能是 1 卢比。) 你难到不会每星期至少点击一次吗?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Why, today, would you hesitate to send one dollar to an artist, once a week or even once a day? Not because you would miss the dollar, but because of the inconvenience of sending it.  Remove the inconvenience, and voluntary support for artists will soar.
zh_CN: 今天，为什么你还会对每周一次、甚至每天一次给艺术家 1 美元有迟疑? 不是因为你不舍得那 1 美元，而是因为转钱太麻烦。如果麻烦解除了，那么志愿对艺术家的支持会飙升。

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: Tax-based support
zh_CN: 税收支持

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another way to support the arts is with tax funds: perhaps with a special tax on blank media or Internet connectivity, or with general revenue.<a id="tex2html78" href="#foot135"><sup>39</sup></a> If this is to succeed in supporting artists, the state should distribute the tax money directly and entirely to them, and make sure it cannot under any pretext be taken from them by publishers such as record companies.  Thus, in order to design this tax system to achieve the valid goal of &ldquo;supporting the arts,&rdquo; we must first reject the misguided goal of &ldquo;compensating the rights-holders.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 税收基金是另一种支持艺术的方法：也许是对空白介质或网络连接的专项税收，或者是对一般收入的专项税收。<a id="tex2html78" href="#foot135"><sup>39</sup></a>如果税收要成功地支持艺术家，国家应该把该税收的钱直接全给到艺术家，并确保诸如唱片公司之类的出版商不能以任何借口从艺术家手里分走这些钱。因此，为了设计达到 &ldquo;支持艺术&rdquo; 目的的税收体系，我们首先必须拒绝 &ldquo;补偿权利所有者&rdquo; 这个误导性目标。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The state should not distribute this tax money in linear proportion to popularity, because that would give most of it to superstars, leaving little to support all the other artists.  I therefore recommend using a function whose derivative is positive but tends towards zero, such as cube root.  With cube root, if superstar A has 1000 times the popularity of successful artist B, A will get 10 times as much money as B.  (A linear system would give A 1000 times as much as B.)  This way, although each superstar still gets a larger share than other artists, the superstars together will get only a small fraction of the funds, so that the system can adequately support a large number of fairly popular artists.  This system would use its funds efficiently for the support of art.
zh_CN: 国家不应该按照受欢迎程度线性分配税收的钱，因为这样大部分钱会给到超级明星，而留给其他艺术家就很少。所以我建议使用一个导数是正的但是趋于零的函数，比如是三次方根函数。使用三次方根，如果超级明星甲比乙受欢迎 1000 倍，甲就会得到 10 倍于乙的钱。(线性系统下，甲会得到 1000 倍于乙的钱。)这样，明星还是会得到比其他艺术家多的份额，但是整个明星群体只得到整个基金的小部分，因此这样的系统足够支持大量的还算受欢迎的艺术家。这样的系统对支持艺术家的资金的使用就是有效的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I propose this system for art because art is where the controversy is.  There is no fundamental reason why a tax-based system should not also be used to support functional works that ought to be free/libre, such as software and encyclopedias, but there is a practical difficulty in doing so: it is common for those works to have thousands of coauthors, and figuring out the right way to divide the funds among them might be difficult even with the cooperation and generosity of everyone involved.  Fortunately it appears not to be necessary to solve this problem, because people already put so much effort into developing free/libre functional works.
zh_CN: 我为艺术作此提议，因为艺术是有争议的地方。并没有其他根本理由限制我们对支持应该自由的功能性作品使用税收系统，比如软件和百科全书，但是实际操作有困难：通常这些作品有几千个共同作者，即使大家都很慷慨和配合，要搞清楚如何分配基金也是不容易的。幸运的是，我们可能不需要那么费神了，因为人们已经在努力开发功能性的自由作品了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Francis Muguet<a id="tex2html80" href="#foot79"><sup>40</sup></a> and I have developed a new proposal called the M&#233;c&#233;nat Global (or Global Patronage) which combines the idea of tax-support and voluntary payments.<a id="tex2html81" href="#foot136"><sup>41</sup></a> Every Internet subscriber would pay a monthly fee to support certain arts that are shared on the Internet.  Each user could optionally divide up to a certain maximum portion of her fee among her choice of works; the funds for each work would be divided among the creative contributors to the work (but not the publishers).  The totals thus assigned to various artists would also provide a measure of each artist's popularity.  The system would then distribute the rest of the money on the basis of that popularity, using a cube-root or similar tapering-off function.
zh_CN: Francis Muguet<a id="tex2html80" href="#foot79"><sup>40</sup></a> 和我开发了一种新的方案，叫做 M&#233;c&#233;nat Global (或称 Global Patronage)，它结合了税收支持和志愿付费。<a id="tex2html81" href="#foot136"><sup>41</sup></a> 每个网络订阅者按月付费支持在网上分享的某些艺术。每个用户可以选择把自己的支持费按某种有最大限制的比例分配给有创新的贡献者（但不是出版商）。各种艺术家分配到的总数也可以当作是每个艺术家受欢迎程度的一种度量。然后，这个系统就可以把其余的资金按照受欢迎程度分配，使用立方根或类似的平滑公式。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: MAKING DIGITAL INCLUSION GOOD
zh_CN: 让数字包容更美好

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The paper so far describes the factors that can make digital inclusion good or bad.  These factors are part of human society and subject to our influence.  Beyond just asking whether and when digital inclusion is a good thing, we can consider how to make sure it is good.
zh_CN: 到此为止，本文论及的因素即可以让数字包容变好，也可以让数字包容变坏。这些因素是人类社会的一部分，并且受我们的影响。除了只是询问数字包容是否或者何时是好事，我们要考虑如何让它变得美好。

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: Defending freedom legally
zh_CN: 合法捍卫自由

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Full victory over the threats to digital freedom can only be achieved through changes in laws.  Systematic collection or retention of information on any person using computers and/or networks should require a specific court order; travel and communication within any country should normally be anonymous.  States should reject censorship and adopt constitutional protections against it.  States should protect their computing sovereignty by using only free software, and schools should teach only free software in order to carry out their mission to educate good citizens of a strong, free and cooperating society.
zh_CN: 对数字自由威胁的全面胜利只有通过改变法律才能实现。使用电脑和/或网络系统性收集或保留个人信息应当要求专门的法令; 国内旅行和通信正常应该保持匿名。国家应该拒绝审查并通过宪法禁止审查。国家应该只使用自由软件以保护计算自主权，学校只应该教授自由软件以弘扬培育强大、自由和具有合作精神的社会公民之使命。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: To respect computer users' freedom to operate their computers, states should not allow patents to apply to software or (more generally) using computers in particular ways.  States should mandate their own use of freely implementable, publicly documented formats for all communication with the public, and should lead the private sector also to use only these formats.  To make copyright acceptable in the network age, noncommercial copying and sharing of published works should be legal.  Commercial use of DRM should be prohibited, and independently developed free software to access DRM formats should be lawful.
zh_CN: 若要尊重用户使用计算机的自由，国家就不应该允许专利应用到软件或（更一般地）计算机的使用方法。国家应该在和公众的全部沟通中支持自己使用可以自由实现、有公开文档的文件格式，并应该引导私有沟通者也使用这些格式。要让版权在网络时代可接受，对已发表作品的非商业性复制和分享应该合法化。DRM 的商业使用应该被禁止，独立开发访问 DRM 格式的自由软件应该是合法的行为。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: To make these changes in laws happen, we need to organize.  The Electronic Frontier Foundation (<a href="https://www.eff.org/">eff.org</a>)  campaigns against censorship and surveillance.  End Software Patents (<a href="https://endsoftpatents.org/">endsoftpatents.org</a>) campaigns against software patents.  The Free Software Foundation campaigns against DRM through the site <a href="https://www.defectivebydesign.org/">DefectiveByDesign.org</a>.
zh_CN: 要实现这些改变，我们要组织起来。电子前线基金会 (<a href="https://www.eff.org/">eff.org</a>) 在和审查与监控作斗争。终结软件专利 (<a href="https://endsoftpatents.org/">endsoftpatents.org</a>) 是针对软件专利的活动。自由软件基金会也针对 DRM 有网站 <a href="https://www.defectivebydesign.org/">DefectiveByDesign.org</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: Defending freedom personally
zh_CN: 个人捍卫自由

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: While we fight these legislative battles, we should also personally reject products and services designed to take away our freedom.  To resist surveillance, we should avoid identifying ourselves to web sites unless it is inherently necessary, and we should buy things anonymously&mdash;with cash, not with bank cards.  To maintain control of our computing, we should not use proprietary software or software as a service.
zh_CN: 当我们进行这些合法斗争时，我们个人也应该拒绝设计上就是要夺走自由的产品和服务。为了反抗监控，我们应该只在确有必要时才对网站认证身份，而且我们应该匿名购物&mdash;&mdash;用现金，不用银行卡。为了保持对自己电脑的控制，我们不应该使用专有软件，也不要用服务替代软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Above all, we should never buy or use products that implement DRM handcuffs unless we personally have the means to break them.  Products with DRM are a trap; don't take the bait!
zh_CN: 此外，除非我们自己有可以破解的手段，坚决不要购买或使用带有 DRM 桎铐的产品。它们是一个陷井，不要上当!

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: Defending others' freedom
zh_CN: 捍卫他人的自由

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We can take direct action to protect others' freedom in the digital world.  For instance, we can remove the passwords from our wireless networks&mdash;it is safe, and it weakens government surveillance power.  (The way to protect the privacy of our own Internet communications, to the extent that it is possible, is with end-to-end encryption.)  If others use enough of the bandwidth to cause actual inconvenience, we need to protect ourselves, but we can try gentle methods first (such as talking with the neighbors, or setting a password occasionally for a day or two), and keep the option of a permanent password as a last resort.
zh_CN: 我能够直接行动来保护其他人在数字世界的自由。比如，我们可以把无线网的密码去掉&mdash;&mdash;这是安全的，而且这会削弱政府的监控力。(如果可能，在网络上保护我们沟通隐私的方法是点对点加密。)如果其他人占用了太多的带宽而导致不便，那么我们需要自我保护，但是我们可以先试试平和的手段(比如和友邻商量，或者隔一阵子就设置一下密码)，把设置永久密码当作最后的手段。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: When we publish, we should grant the users of our work the freedoms they deserve, by applying an explicit license appropriate to the type of work.  For works that state your thoughts or observations, and artistic works, the license should permit at least noncommercial redistribution of exact copies; any Creative Commons license is suitable.  (I insisted on such a license for this article.)  Works that do functional jobs, such as software, reference works and educational works, should carry a free/libre license that grants users the four freedoms.
zh_CN: 当我们发布时，我们应当给予用户他们应得的自由，就是使用适合作品的明明白白的许可证。对于陈述思想或观察的作品和艺术作品，许可证应当至少允许对原作品的非商业再分发; 任何 Creative Commons 许可证都可以。(我坚持对本文使用此类许可证。) 对功能性作品，比如软件、参考书和教育类作品，它们应该使用自由许可证，给予用户四个自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><h4>
en: Inclusion in freedom
zh_CN: 自由的包容性

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In our efforts to help others in practical ways, we must avoid doing them harm at a deeper level.  Until freedom is generally assured in Internet use, projects for digital inclusion must take special care that the computing they promote is the freedom-respecting kind.  This means using free/libre software&mdash;certainly not Windows or MacOS.  This means using free, documented formats, without DRM.  It also means not exposing the supposed beneficiaries to surveillance or censorship through the computing practices to which they are being introduced.
zh_CN: 在我们努力帮助他人的实际活动中，我们必须避免在更深层次上伤害他们。直到确保网络普遍自由之前，数字包容的项目必须特别注意提倡尊重自由的计算。这意味着使用自由软件&mdash;&mdash;当然不是 Windows 或 MacOS。这意味着使用自由的、没有 DRM 的格式。这还意味着这些计算不能让其获益方受到监控或审查。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Footnotes
zh_CN: 脚注

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.cecc.gov/publications/commission-analysis/beijing-requires-photo-registration-at-all-internet-cafes-by">cecc.gov/publications/commission-analysis/beijing-requires-photo-registration-at-all-internet-cafes-by</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.cecc.gov/publications/commission-analysis/beijing-requires-photo-registration-at-all-internet-cafes-by">cecc.gov/publications/commission-analysis/beijing-requires-photo-registration-at-all-internet-cafes-by</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.schneier.com/blog/archives/2006/12/remotely_eavesd_1.html">schneier.com/blog/archives/2006/12/remotely_eavesd_1.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.schneier.com/blog/archives/2006/12/remotely_eavesd_1.html">schneier.com/blog/archives/2006/12/remotely_eavesd_1.html</a>。

note: <a Dead link as of 2021-01-30 href="http://www.newarkspeaks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5379"> </a> type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See newarkspeaks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5379.
zh_CN: 参看 newarkspeaks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5379。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.aclu.org/documents/fbi-jttf-spying">aclu.org/documents/fbi-jttf-spying</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.aclu.org/documents/fbi-jttf-spying">aclu.org/documents/fbi-jttf-spying</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.democracynow.org/2008/9/4/eight_members_of_rnc_activist_group">democracynow.org/2008/9/4/eight_members_of_rnc_activist_group</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.democracynow.org/2008/9/4/eight_members_of_rnc_activist_group">democracynow.org/2008/9/4/eight_members_of_rnc_activist_group</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="http://web-old.archive.org/web/20160722044945/http://abcnews.go.com/International/story?id=7891929"> abcnews.go.com/international/story?id=7891929</a> (archived).
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="http://web-old.archive.org/web/20160722044945/http://abcnews.go.com/International/story?id=7891929"> abcnews.go.com/international/story?id=7891929</a> (已归档)。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See the documentary, Condor: the First War on Terror, by Rodrigo V&aacute;squez (2003).
zh_CN: 参看纪录片，Condor: the First War on Terror, Rodrigo V&aacute;squez 制作 (2003)。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.bbc.com/news/2/hi/programmes/whos_watching_you/8064333.stm">bbc.com/news/2/hi/programmes/whos_watching_you/8064333.stm</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.bbc.com/news/2/hi/programmes/whos_watching_you/8064333.stm">bbc.com/news/2/hi/programmes/whos_watching_you/8064333.stm</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20190918142631/https://www.computerworld.com.au/article/302161/watchdog_threatens_online_rights_group_11k_fine">computerworld.com.au/article/302161/watchdog_threatens_online_rights_group_11k_fine</a> (archived).
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20190918142631/https://www.computerworld.com.au/article/302161/watchdog_threatens_online_rights_group_11k_fine">computerworld.com.au/article/302161/watchdog_threatens_online_rights_group_11k_fine</a> (已归档)。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.smh.com.au/technology/banned-hyperlinks-could-cost-you-11-000-a-day-20090317-gdtf8j.html">smh.com.au/technology/banned-hyperlinks-could-cost-you-11-000-a-day-20090317-gdtf8j.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.smh.com.au/technology/banned-hyperlinks-could-cost-you-11-000-a-day-20090317-gdtf8j.html">smh.com.au/technology/banned-hyperlinks-could-cost-you-11-000-a-day-20090317-gdtf8j.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://netzpolitik.org/2009/the-dawning-of-internet-censorship-in-germany/">netzpolitik.org/2009/the-dawning-of-internet-censorship-in-germany/</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://netzpolitik.org/2009/the-dawning-of-internet-censorship-in-germany/">netzpolitik.org/2009/the-dawning-of-internet-censorship-in-germany/</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Govt-gearing-up-to-gag-news-websites/articleshow/4562292.cms">timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Govt-gearing-up-to-gag-news-websites/articleshow/4562292.cms</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Govt-gearing-up-to-gag-news-websites/articleshow/4562292.cms">timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Govt-gearing-up-to-gag-news-websites/articleshow/4562292.cms</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: I support medical research using animals, as well as abortion rights.  Our defense of political freedom should not be limited to causes we agree with.
zh_CN: 我支持医学动物研究，也支持流产权。我们的政治自由不应该只限于我们已经达成共识的部分。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20190922143213/https://www.mcclatchydc.com/news/politics-government/article24476581.html"> mcclatchydc.com/news/politics-government/article24476581.html</a>.
zh_CN: 请参看 <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20190922143213/https://www.mcclatchydc.com/news/politics-government/article24476581.html"> mcclatchydc.com/news/politics-government/article24476581.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.networkworld.com/article/2255678/20-years-after-tiananmen--china-containing-dissent-online.html"> networkworld.com/article/2255678/20-years-after-tiananmen--china-containing-dissent-online.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.networkworld.com/article/2255678/20-years-after-tiananmen--china-containing-dissent-online.html"> networkworld.com/article/2255678/20-years-after-tiananmen--china-containing-dissent-online.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="/philosophy/why-free.html">gnu.org/philosophy/why-free.html</a> and <a href="/philosophy/shouldbefree.html">gnu.org/philosophy/shouldbefree.html</a> for other arguments.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="/philosophy/why-free.html">gnu.org/philosophy/why-free.html</a> 和 <a href="/philosophy/shouldbefree.html">gnu.org/philosophy/shouldbefree.html</a> 了解其他论点。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://directory.fsf.org/wiki/Main_Page">directory.fsf.org/wiki/Main_Page</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://directory.fsf.org/wiki/Main_Page">directory.fsf.org/wiki/Main_Page</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_adoption">wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_adoption</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_adoption">wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_adoption</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html">gnu.org/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html">gnu.org/gnu/gnu-linux-faq.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="/philosophy/fs-motives.html">gnu.org/philosophy/fs-motives.html</a> for some of their motives.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="/philosophy/fs-motives.html">gnu.org/philosophy/fs-motives.html</a> 了解某些动机。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.theregister.com/2015/08/21/spotify_worse_than_the_nsa"> theregister.com/2015/08/21/spotify_worse_than_the_nsa</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.theregister.com/2015/08/21/spotify_worse_than_the_nsa"> theregister.com/2015/08/21/spotify_worse_than_the_nsa</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://badvista.fsf.org/">badvista.fsf.org/</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://badvista.fsf.org/">badvista.fsf.org/</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.informationweek.com/government/microsoft-updates-windows-without-user-permission-apologizes">informationweek.com/government/microsoft-updates-windows-without-user-permission-apologizes</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.informationweek.com/government/microsoft-updates-windows-without-user-permission-apologizes">informationweek.com/government/microsoft-updates-windows-without-user-permission-apologizes</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20101030172636/http://voices.washingtonpost.com/securityfix/2009/05/microsoft_update_quietly_insta.html">voices.washingtonpost.com/securityfix/2009/05/microsoft_update_quietly_insta.html</a> (archived).
zh_CN: 请参看 <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20101030172636/http://voices.washingtonpost.com/securityfix/2009/05/microsoft_update_quietly_insta.html">voices.washingtonpost.com/securityfix/2009/05/microsoft_update_quietly_insta.html</a>（已归档）。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: The standard in machine-readable form is only available to be &ldquo;leased&rdquo;; <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20160423155515/http://www.smpte.org/sites/default/files/IndividualLicenseAgreementforSMPTE_EngineeringDocuments.pdf"> smpte.org/sites/default/files/IndividualLicenseAgreementforSMPTE_EngineeringDocuments.pdf</a> (archived).
zh_CN: 机器可读的标准格式只可 &ldquo;租借&rdquo;; <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20160423155515/http://www.smpte.org/sites/default/files/IndividualLicenseAgreementforSMPTE_EngineeringDocuments.pdf"> smpte.org/sites/default/files/IndividualLicenseAgreementforSMPTE_EngineeringDocuments.pdf</a> (已归档)。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20120307122114/http://www.mpegla.com/Lists/MPEG%20LA%20News%20List/Attachments/176/n_06-08-17_pr.pdf"> mpegla.com/Lists/MPEG%20LA%20News%20List/Attachments/176/n_06-08-17_pr.pdf</a> (archived).
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20120307122114/http://www.mpegla.com/Lists/MPEG%20LA%20News%20List/Attachments/176/n_06-08-17_pr.pdf"> mpegla.com/Lists/MPEG%20LA%20News%20List/Attachments/176/n_06-08-17_pr.pdf</a> (已归档)。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2009/06/jammie-thomas-retrial-verdict/">arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2009/06/jammie-thomas-retrial-verdict/</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2009/06/jammie-thomas-retrial-verdict/">arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2009/06/jammie-thomas-retrial-verdict/</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.laquadrature.net/en/2009/06/10/hadopi-is-dead-three-strikes-killed-by-highest-court/">laquadrature.net/en/2009/06/10/hadopi-is-dead-three-strikes-killed-by-highest-court/</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.laquadrature.net/en/2009/06/10/hadopi-is-dead-three-strikes-killed-by-highest-court/">laquadrature.net/en/2009/06/10/hadopi-is-dead-three-strikes-killed-by-highest-court/</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2008/11/canadian-wish-list-for-secret-acta-treaty-long-varied/">arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2008/11/canadian-wish-list-for-secret-acta-treaty-long-varied/</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2008/11/canadian-wish-list-for-secret-acta-treaty-long-varied/">arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2008/11/canadian-wish-list-for-secret-acta-treaty-long-varied/</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html">gnu.org/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html">gnu.org/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="/philosophy/not-ipr.html">gnu.org/philosophy/not-ipr.html</a> for why this propaganda term is harmful.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="/philosophy/not-ipr.html">gnu.org/philosophy/not-ipr.html</a> 了解宣传词为什么有害。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~rja14/tcpa-faq.html">www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~rja14/tcpa-faq.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~rja14/tcpa-faq.html">www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~rja14/tcpa-faq.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: Those publishers, in an act of doublespeak, call it &ldquo;Digital Rights Management.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 这些出版商，用巧言欺骗，称之为 &ldquo;数字权限管理。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://boingboing.net/2009/01/23/monty-pythons-free-w.html">boingboing.net/2009/01/23/monty-pythons-free-w.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://boingboing.net/2009/01/23/monty-pythons-free-w.html">boingboing.net/2009/01/23/monty-pythons-free-w.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://signalvnoise.com/posts/419-jane-siberrys-you-decide-what-feels-right-pricing">signalvnoise.com/posts/419-jane-siberrys-you-decide-what-feels-right-pricing</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://signalvnoise.com/posts/419-jane-siberrys-you-decide-what-feels-right-pricing">signalvnoise.com/posts/419-jane-siberrys-you-decide-what-feels-right-pricing</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://boingboing.net/2008/03/05/nine-inch-nails-made.html">boingboing.net/2008/03/05/nine-inch-nails-made.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://boingboing.net/2008/03/05/nine-inch-nails-made.html">boingboing.net/2008/03/05/nine-inch-nails-made.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://kk.org/thetechnium/1000-true-fans/">kk.org/thetechnium/1000-true-fans/</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://kk.org/thetechnium/1000-true-fans/">kk.org/thetechnium/1000-true-fans/</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="/philosophy/dat.html">gnu.org/philosophy/dat.html</a> for my 1992 proposal.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="/philosophy/dat.html">gnu.org/philosophy/dat.html</a> 了解我在 1992 年的建议。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: Head of the Knowledge Networks and Information Society lab at the University of Geneva.
zh_CN: 日内瓦大学知识网络和信息社会实验室领导。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: See <a href="https://stallman.org/mecenat/global-patronage.html">stallman.org/mecenat/global-patronage.html</a>.
zh_CN: 参看 <a href="https://stallman.org/mecenat/global-patronage.html">stallman.org/mecenat/global-patronage.html</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><dl><dd>
en: As of 2017 the patents on playing MP3 files have reportedly expired.
zh_CN: 到了 2017 年，播放 MP3 文件的专利据报道已经到期。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: This essay was first published in the proceedings of the ITU's 2009 Kaleidoscope conference in Mar del Plata, Argentina.
zh_CN: 本文最早发表于 2009 年在阿根廷 Mar Del Plata 召开的 ITU's 2009 Kaleidoscope 会议记录。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将有关自由软件基金会(FSF) &amp; GNU 的一般性问题发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。也可以通过 <a href="/contact/">其他联系方法</a> 联系自由软件基金会(FSF)。有关失效链接或其他错误和建议，请发送邮件到<a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2022-2023。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
