en to zh_CN translation catalogue (27 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Enforcing the GNU GPL - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 实施 GNU GPL - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Enforcing the GNU GPL
zh_CN: 实施 GNU GPL

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by <a href="http://moglen.law.columbia.edu/">Eben Moglen</a>&#8239;<a href="#moglen"><sup>[*]</sup></a>
zh_CN: <a href="http://moglen.law.columbia.edu/">Eben Moglen</a>&#8239;<a href="#moglen"><sup>[*]</sup></a> 著

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <em>10 September 2001</em>
zh_CN: <em>2001 年 9 月 10 日</em>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Microsoft's anti-GPL offensive this summer has sparked renewed speculation about whether the GPL is &ldquo;enforceable.&rdquo; This particular example of &ldquo;FUD&rdquo; (fear, uncertainty and doubt)  is always a little amusing to me.  I'm the only lawyer on earth who can say this, I suppose, but it makes me wonder what everyone's wondering about: Enforcing the <a href="/licenses/gpl.html">GPL</a> is something that I do all the time.
zh_CN: 微软今夏对 GPL 的攻击引发了新一轮关于 GPL 是否 &ldquo;可以实施&rdquo; 的思考。这个特别的 &ldquo;FUD&rdquo;（恐惧、不安和怀疑）实例对我总是让我有点想笑。也许，我是世上唯一一个可以这么说的律师，但是此事让我疑惑大家都在质疑什么：实施 <a href="/licenses/gpl.html">GPL</a> 是我一直在做的事情。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Because <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">free software</a> is an unorthodox concept in contemporary society, people tend to assume that such an atypical goal must be pursued using unusually ingenious, and therefore fragile, legal machinery.  But the assumption is faulty.  The goal of the Free Software Foundation in designing and publishing the GPL, <em>is</em> unfortunately unusual: we're reshaping how programs are made in order to give everyone the right to understand, repair, improve, and redistribute the best-quality software on earth.  This is a transformative enterprise; it shows how in the new, networked society traditional ways of doing business can be displaced by completely different models of production and distribution.  But the GPL, the legal device that makes everything else possible, is a very robust machine precisely because it is made of the simplest working parts.
zh_CN: 因为 <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">自由软件</a> 的概念在当前社会显得离经叛道，人们会假想这种非典型的目标必须使用异常巧妙的——因而是脆弱的——法律机制来达成。但是这种假想是错误的。可惜，自由软件基金会设计和发布 GPL 的目标 <em>并不</em> 寻常：我们要重新塑造如何制造程序，以便赋予地球上每个人理解、修复、改进和分发最高质量软件的权利。这是一个革新型的事业；它展示了在新的、网络型社会中，传统的商业模式如何被完全不同的生产和分配模式替代。而 GPL，这个使一切成为可能的法律工具，正是因为它由最简单管用的部分组成，所以强而有力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The essence of copyright law, like other systems of property rules, is the power to exclude.  The copyright holder is legally empowered to exclude all others from copying, distributing, and making derivative works.
zh_CN: 版权法的要义，像其他产权规定一样，是一种排他权。版权持有者可以合法排除其他人复制、分发和制作衍生作品的活动。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This right to exclude implies an equally large power to license&mdash;that is, to grant permission to do what would otherwise be forbidden.  Licenses are not contracts: the work's user is obliged to remain within the bounds of the license not because she voluntarily promised, but because she doesn't have any right to act at all except as the license permits.
zh_CN: 这种排他权利意味着同样的许可证权力&mdash;&mdash;即，版权持有人被授权可以做其他人被禁止做的事情。许可证不是合同：作品的使用者有义务遵守许可证的边界，不是因为她主动承诺，而是因为她只能做许可证允许的事情。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But most proprietary software companies want more power than copyright alone gives them.  These companies say their software is &ldquo;licensed&rdquo; to consumers, but the license contains obligations that copyright law knows nothing about.  Software you're not allowed to understand, for example, often requires you to agree not to decompile it.  Copyright law doesn't prohibit decompilation, the prohibition is just a contract term you agree to as a condition of getting the software when you buy the product under shrink wrap in a store, or accept a &ldquo;clickwrap license&rdquo; on line.  Copyright is just leverage for taking even more away from users.
zh_CN: 但是大多数专有软件公司想要的比版权给予它们的更多。这些公司会说它们的软件是 &ldquo;授权&rdquo; 给消费者的，但是其许可证包含着远非版权法所辖的义务。你不许理解其软件，比如，通常你要同意不反编译该软件。版权并不禁止反编译，禁止是你在商店购买时同意的条款或者网店购买时接受的 &ldquo;点击许可&rdquo;。版权只是用于进一步剥削用户。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The GPL, on the other hand, subtracts from copyright rather than adding to it.  The license doesn't have to be complicated, because we try to control users as little as possible.  Copyright grants publishers power to forbid users to exercise rights to copy, modify, and distribute that we believe all users should have; the GPL thus relaxes almost all the restrictions of the copyright system.  The only thing we absolutely require is that anyone distributing GPL'd works or works made from GPL'd works distribute in turn under GPL.  That condition is a very minor restriction, from the copyright point of view.  Much more restrictive licenses are routinely held enforceable: every license involved in every single copyright lawsuit is more restrictive than the GPL.
zh_CN: 而 GPL，在另一方面，对版权做了减法而不是加法。许可证不用那么复杂，因为我们要尽量减少对用户的限制。版权给予出版商禁止用户复制、修改和分发的权利，而我们相信用户应该有这些权利；所以 GPL 解放了几乎所有版权系统的限制。我们绝对要求的唯一一件事就是分发 GPL 作品或者其衍生作品的人必须按照 GPL 来分发。从版权的视角来看，这是一个非常小的限制。比这严格得多的许可证都一直在实行：每个版权诉讼涉及的许可证都比 GPL 更严格。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Because there's nothing complex or controversial about the license's substantive provisions, I have never even seen a serious argument that the GPL exceeds a licensor's powers.  But it is sometimes said that the GPL can't be enforced because users haven't &ldquo;accepted&rdquo; it.
zh_CN: 因为 GPL 许可证的实质性条款毫不复杂也没有引起争议，所以我从未看到就 GPL 超出许可证发布者权力的严肃讨论。但是时常可以听到 GPL 不能实施因为用户并未 &ldquo;接受&rdquo; 之。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This claim is based on a misunderstanding.  The license does not require anyone to accept it in order to acquire, install, use, inspect, or even experimentally modify GPL'd software.  All of those activities are either forbidden or controlled by proprietary software firms, so they require you to accept a license, including contractual provisions outside the reach of copyright, before you can use their works.  The free software movement thinks all those activities are rights, which all users ought to have; we don't even <em>want</em> to cover those activities by license.  Almost everyone who uses GPL'd software from day to day needs no license, and accepts none.  The GPL only obliges you if you distribute software made from GPL'd code, and only needs to be accepted when redistribution occurs.  And because no one can ever redistribute without a license, we can safely presume that anyone redistributing GPL'd software intended to accept the GPL.  After all, the GPL requires each copy of covered software to include the license text, so everyone is fully informed.
zh_CN: 这是一个误解。人们并不需要接受它才能获取、安装、使用、查看甚至实验性修改 GPL 软件。而专有软件公司或者禁止这些活动、或者控制这些活动，所以它们在你使用其软件之前，就要求你接受它们的许可证，其中包括超越版权的合同条款。自由软件运动认为所有这些活动都是所有用户应有的权利；我们甚至不 <em>想</em> 在许可证中涉及这些活动。几乎所有每天使 GPL 软件的用户都不需要许可证，也不曾接受任何许可证。GPL 只是要求你在分发基于 GPL 代码的作品时，而且只是在分发发生时需要接受 GPL 许可证。因为分发确实需要许可证，所以我们可以放心地假设所有分发 GPL 软件的人都会接受 GPL。毕竟，GPL 要求每份 GPL 软件的副本都要包含许可证文本，所以每个人都已完全知晓。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Despite the FUD, as a copyright license the GPL is absolutely solid.  That's why I've been able to enforce it dozens of times over nearly ten years, without ever going to court.
zh_CN: 尽管在 FUD 时代，GPL 作为一项版权许可证也绝对是站得住脚的。这就是为什们我能在过去将近十年里能够数十次实施 GPL，而从来不用去法庭。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Meanwhile, much murmuring has been going on in recent months to the supposed effect that the absence of judicial enforcement, in US or other courts, somehow demonstrates that there is something wrong with the GPL, that its unusual policy goal is implemented in a technically indefensible way, or that the Free Software Foundation, which authors the license, is afraid of testing it in court.  Precisely the reverse is true.  We do not find ourselves taking the GPL to court because no one has yet been willing to risk contesting it with us there.
zh_CN: 与此同时，最近数月流传很多抱怨，说 GPL 在美国或其他国家的法庭上没有过法律意义的实施记录，这似乎说明 GPL 有问题——它异乎寻常的政策目标是以难以立足的技术手段实现的，或者自由软件基金会作为许可证作者，不敢在法庭上验证 GPL。实际上恰恰相反。我们没上法庭是因为没人愿意冒险到法庭上和我们对质。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So what happens when the GPL is violated? With software for which the Free Software Foundation holds the copyright (either because we wrote the programs in the first place, or because free software authors have assigned us the copyright, in order to take advantage of our expertise in protecting their software's freedom), <a href="/licenses/gpl-violation.html">the first step is a report</a>, usually received by email to <a href="mailto:license-violation@gnu.org">&lt;license-violation@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  <a href="/licenses/gpl-violation.html">We ask the reporters of violations to help us establish necessary facts</a>, and then we conduct whatever further investigation is required.
zh_CN: 那么违反 GPL 会发生什么呢？对自由软件基金会持有版权的软件来说（有些是我们首先创作的软件，有些是作者为了让我们保护软件自由而把版权转交给我们的软件），<a href="/licenses/gpl-violation.html">第一步是举报</a>，通常是发邮件给 <a href="mailto:license-violation@gnu.org">&lt;license-violation@gnu.org&gt;</a>。<a href="/licenses/gpl-violation.html">我们会请举报人帮我们确定必要的事实</a>，然后我们会采取进一步的必要调查。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We reach this stage dozens of times a year.  A quiet initial contact is usually sufficient to resolve the problem.  Parties thought they were complying with GPL, and are pleased to follow advice on the correction of an error.  Sometimes, however, we believe that confidence-building measures will be required, because the scale of the violation or its persistence in time makes mere voluntary compliance insufficient.  In such situations we work with organizations to establish GPL-compliance programs within their enterprises, led by senior managers who report to us, and directly to their enterprises' managing boards, regularly.  In particularly complex cases, we have sometimes insisted upon measures that would make subsequent judicial enforcement simple and rapid in the event of future violation.
zh_CN: 每年我们都数十次达到这个阶段。通常我们平静地发起初始沟通就足以消解问题。涉事方原以为遵循了 GPL，沟通之后会欣然接受建议改正错误。不过有时，由于违反的尺度或持久性不是仅仅做一些自愿修改就足够的，我们有必要要求做一些让我们确信会改正的措施。在这种情况下，我们会和这些组织一起工作，构建企业层面的 GPL 合规项目，领导项目的高级经理定期直接向企业管理层汇报，同时也汇报给我们。对于特别复杂的案例，我们有时会坚持采取一些会让后续违规的法律实施更简单、更快速的措施。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In approximately a decade of enforcing the GPL, I have never insisted on payment of damages to the Foundation for violation of the license, and I have rarely required public admission of wrongdoing.  Our position has always been that compliance with the license, and security for future good behavior, are the most important goals.  We have done everything to make it easy for violators to comply, and we have offered oblivion with respect to past faults.
zh_CN: 在将近十年的 GPL 实施过程中，我从未坚持要违规方向基金会支付违规带来的损害赔偿，也极少要求违规方公开承认错误。我们的立场一直都是以保证合规与不再违规作为最重要的目标。我们尽量让违规者能够更容易做到合规，并且我们一直是既往不咎。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In the early years of the free software movement, this was probably the only strategy available.  Expensive and burdensome litigation might have destroyed the FSF, or at least prevented it from doing what we knew was necessary to make the free software movement the permanent force in reshaping the software industry that it has now become.  Over time, however, we persisted in our approach to license enforcement not because we had to, but because it worked.  An entire industry grew up around free software, all of whose participants understood the overwhelming importance of the GPL&mdash;no one wanted to be seen as the villain who stole free software, and no one wanted to be the customer, business partner, or even employee of such a bad actor.  Faced with a choice between compliance without publicity or a campaign of bad publicity and a litigation battle they could not win, violators chose not to play it the hard way.
zh_CN: 在自由软件运动早期，上述策略可能是唯一可行的策略。昂贵而又繁重的法律活动可能会毁掉自由软件基金会，或者至少会阻止基金会从事我们所知的必要事项，这些事项让自由软件运动成为重塑软件行业到如今状态的持久力量。不过，长久以来，我们坚持我们进行许可证实施的策略，不是因为我们只能如此，而是因为这样做奏效。围绕自由软件发展起来一个完整的行业，所有参与者都了解 GPL 无法抗拒的重要性&mdash;&mdash;没人愿意被看成是一个偷窃自由软件的反派，也没有人愿意成为反派的客户、合作伙伴甚至是雇员。面对不公开的合规配合与天下尽知的诉诸法庭，违规者不会选择没有胜算的艰难之路。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We have even, once or twice, faced enterprises which, under US copyright law, were engaged in deliberate, criminal copyright infringement: taking the source code of GPL'd software, recompiling it with an attempt to conceal its origin, and offering it for sale as a proprietary product.  I have assisted free software developers other than the FSF to deal with such problems, which we have resolved&mdash;since the criminal infringer would not voluntarily desist and, in the cases I have in mind, legal technicalities prevented actual criminal prosecution of the violators&mdash;by talking to redistributors and potential customers.  &ldquo;Why would you want to pay serious money,&rdquo; we have asked, &ldquo;for software that infringes our license and will bog you down in complex legal problems, when you can have the real thing for free?&rdquo; Customers have never failed to see the pertinence of the question.  The stealing of free software is one place where, indeed, crime doesn't pay.
zh_CN: 有那么一两次，根据美国版权法，我们甚至面对某些企业故意进行版权侵犯的罪行：使用 GPL 软件的代码，进行掩盖来源的重新编译，然后作为专有产品来销售。我曾经帮助非基金会的软件开发者处理此类问题，并解决了问题&mdash;&mdash;就我所知的案件中，因为侵权者不愿意自动停止，所以法律专家采取了避免犯罪起诉的行动&mdash;&mdash;通过和分发商以及潜在客户沟通。&ldquo;你为什么要花大价钱购买侵犯我们许可证的软件，&rdquo;我们问道，&ldquo;让自己陷入法律泥潭，而不使用货真价实的自由版本呢？&rdquo;客户毫无例外地都看出问题的利害关系。实际上，盗窃自由软件的犯罪得不偿失。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But perhaps we have succeeded too well.  If I had used the courts to enforce the GPL years ago, Microsoft's whispering would now be falling on deaf ears.  Just this month I have been working on a couple of moderately sticky situations.  &ldquo;Look,&rdquo; I say, &ldquo;at how many people all over the world are pressuring me to enforce the GPL in court, just to prove I can.  I really need to make an example of someone.  Would you like to volunteer?&rdquo;
zh_CN: 但是，可能我们太过成功。如果几年前我使用法庭来实施 GPL 的话，微软的流言就不会有人关注。就在这个月，我还在处理几件不那么合作的案子。&ldquo;你看，&rdquo;我会说，&ldquo;世界上有多少人盼着我通过法庭实施 GPL，就是要我证明给大家看我可以做到。我确实需要一个案例。哪个愿意以身试法？&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Someday someone will.  But that someone's customers are going to go elsewhere, talented technologists who don't want their own reputations associated with such an enterprise will quit, and bad publicity will smother them.  And that's all before we even walk into court.  The first person who tries it will certainly wish he hadn't.  Our way of doing law has been as unusual as our way of doing software, but that's just the point.  Free software matters because it turns out that the different way is the right way after all.
zh_CN: 总会有那么一个人。但是他的客户将会离开，富有才华的技术人员才不愿意把自己的声誉和这种企业扯在一起，而坏名声会让他寸步难行。这一切甚至会发生在法庭开始之前。第一个吃螃蟹的人保证会后悔莫及。我们执行法律的方式和我们处理软件的方式一样不那么寻常，但这正是重点。自由软件的意义就是因为它让不一样的方式成为正确的方式。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: [*] Eben Moglen is professor of law and legal history at Columbia University Law School.  He serves without fee as General Counsel of the Free Software Foundation.
zh_CN: [*] Eben Moglen 是哥伦比亚法学院的法律和法律史教授。他免费为自由软件基金会当总法律顾问。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Verbatim copying and distribution of this entire article is permitted in any medium, provided this notice is preserved.
zh_CN: 本文允许在任何媒体上进行全文逐字复制和分发，前提是保留此声明。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2024。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
