en to zh_CN translation catalogue (85 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Free Hardware and Free Hardware Designs - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 自由硬件和自由硬件设计 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Free Hardware and Free Hardware Designs
zh_CN: 自由硬件和自由硬件设计

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a>
zh_CN: <a href="https://www.stallman.org/">Richard Stallman</a> 著

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: To what extent do the ideas of free software extend to hardware? Is it a moral obligation to make our hardware designs free, just as it is to make our software free? Does maintaining our freedom require rejecting hardware made from nonfree designs?
zh_CN: 自由软件的理念在多大程度上可以扩展到硬件？硬件设计也和软件一样需要道义上的自由吗？维护自由软件需要我们拒绝非自由设计的硬件吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Definitions
zh_CN: 定义

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <em>Free software</em> is a matter of freedom, not price; broadly speaking, it means that users are free to use the software and to copy and redistribute the software, with or without changes.  More precisely, the definition is formulated in terms of <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">the four essential freedoms</a>.  To emphasize that &ldquo;free&rdquo;refers to freedom, not price, we often use the French or Spanish word &ldquo;libre&rdquo; along with &ldquo;free.&rdquo;
zh_CN: <em>自由软件</em> 关乎自由，而非价格；广义来讲，它意味着用户有自由使用软件、复制软件、分发软件，无论是否有更改。更准确地说，自由软件定义了 <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">四个基本自由</a>。为了强调 &ldquo;free&rdquo; 指的是自由，而非价格，我们通常与 &ldquo;free.&rdquo; 一起，同时使用法语和西班牙语的 &ldquo;libre&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Applying the same concept directly to hardware, <em>free hardware</em> means hardware that users are free to use and to copy and redistribute with or without changes.  However, there are no copiers for hardware, aside from keys, DNA, and plastic objects' exterior shapes.  Most hardware is made by fabrication from some sort of design.  The design comes before the hardware.
zh_CN: 将同样的概念直接应用到硬件，<em>自由硬件</em> 指用户可以自由使用、自由复制、自由分发的硬件，无论是否有修改。不过，除了钥匙、DNA、塑料品的形状，并没有全能的硬件复制机器。大多数硬件是由工厂通过某种设计生产的。设计先于硬件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Thus, the concept we really need is that of a <em>free hardware design</em>.  That's simple: it means a design that permits users to use the design (i.e., fabricate hardware from it) and to copy and redistribute it, with or without changes.  The design must provide the same four freedoms that define free software.
zh_CN: 因此，我们实际上需要的是 <em>自由硬件设计</em>。这就简单了：它意味着用户可以自由使用、自由复制和自由分发的设计（比如用来生产硬件的设计），无论是否有修改。这样的设计必须提供和自由软件一样的四个基本自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Then we can refer to hardware made from a free design as &ldquo;free hardware,&rdquo; but &ldquo;free-design hardware&rdquo; is a clearer term since it avoids possible misunderstanding.
zh_CN: 然后，我们可以把使用自由设计的硬件称为 &ldquo;自由硬件&rdquo;，不过为了避免混淆，叫它 &ldquo;自由设计硬件&rdquo; 更清楚。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People first encountering the idea of free software often think it means you can get a copy gratis.  Many free programs are available for zero price, since it costs you nothing to download your own copy, but that's not what &ldquo;free&rdquo; means here.  (In fact, some spyware programs such as <a href="/proprietary/proprietary-surveillance.html">Flash Player and Angry Birds</a> are gratis although they are not free.)  Saying &ldquo;libre&rdquo; along with &ldquo;free&rdquo; helps clarify the point.
zh_CN: 第一次接触自由软件概念的人往往认为你可以免费获得软件拷贝。许多自由软件价格为零，因为你无需花费什么就可以下载一份，但那不是 &ldquo;free&rdquo; 所代表的意思。（实际上，象 <a href="/proprietary/proprietary-surveillance.html">Flash Player 和 Angry Birds</a> 这样的间谍软件也不收费，但是他们不是自由软件。）一起使用 &ldquo;libre&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;free&rdquo; 有助于澄清这一点。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For hardware, this confusion tends to go in the other direction; hardware costs money to produce, so commercially made hardware won't be gratis (unless it is a loss-leader or a tie-in), but that does not prevent its design from being free/libre.  Things you make in your own 3D printer can be quite cheap to make, but not exactly gratis since the raw materials will typically cost something.  In ethical terms, the freedom issue trumps the price issue totally, since a device that denies freedom to its users is worth less than nothing.
zh_CN: 对硬件，结论趋于另一个方向；硬件需要花钱来生产，所以商业硬件不会免费（除非亏本或搭售），你用自己的 3D 打印机做的东西可以很便宜，但是由于有原材料，也不会没有成本。从道德上讲，自由问题远超价格问题，因为剥夺用户自由的设备比不花钱还糟糕。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We can use the term &ldquo;libre hardware&rdquo; as a concise equivalent for &ldquo;hardware made from a free (libre)  design.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 我们可以使用 &ldquo;libre hardware&rdquo; 一词作为和 &ldquo;使用自由设计制造的硬件&rdquo; 一样的概念。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The terms &ldquo;open hardware&rdquo; and &ldquo;open source hardware&rdquo; are used by some with the same concrete meaning as &ldquo;free-design hardware,&rdquo; but those terms downplay freedom as an issue.  They were derived from the term &ldquo;open source software,&rdquo; which refers more or less to free software but <a href="/philosophy/open-source-misses-the-point.html">without talking about freedom or presenting the issue as a matter of right or wrong</a>.  To underline the importance of freedom, we make a point of referring to freedom whenever it is pertinent; since &ldquo;open&rdquo; fails to do that, let's not substitute it for &ldquo;free.&rdquo;
zh_CN: &ldquo;开放硬件&rdquo; 和 &ldquo;开源硬件&rdquo; 也和 &ldquo;自由设计硬件&rdquo; 作为一样的意思来使用，但是它们不重视自由的问题。它们来自 &ldquo;开源软件&rdquo; 这一名词，它的所指也差不多是自由软件，但是它 <a href="/philosophy/open-source-misses-the-point.html">不讨论自由，也不表明对错</a>。为了强调自由的重要，只要有关，我们都会论及自由；因为 &ldquo;开放&rdquo; 未能做到这一点，那么我们就不要用它来替代 &ldquo;自由&rdquo;。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Hardware and Software
zh_CN: 硬件和软件

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Hardware and software are fundamentally different.  A program, even in compiled executable form, is a collection of data which can be interpreted as instructions for a computer.  Like any other digital work, it can be copied and changed using a computer.  A copy of a program has no inherent preferred physical form or embodiment.
zh_CN: 硬件和软件有根本的区别。一个程序，即使是可执行的形式，也是可以解释为电脑指令的一组数据。它就象其他数字作品一样，可以使用电脑复制和修改。程序的拷贝并没有限定的物理形式或化身。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: By contrast, hardware is a physical structure and its physicality is crucial.  While the hardware's design might be represented as data, in some cases even as a program, the design is not the hardware.  A design for a CPU can't execute a program.  You won't get very far trying to type on a design for a keyboard or display pixels on a design for a screen.
zh_CN: 相反，硬件是物理结构，其物理形态非常关键。虽然硬件设计可能用数据甚至程序代表，但设计不是硬件。CPU 的设计并不能执行程序。你不能使用键盘设计来打字，也不能使用显示器设计来显示图像。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Furthermore, while you can use a computer to modify or copy the hardware design, a computer can't convert the design into the physical structure it describes.  That requires fabrication equipment.
zh_CN: 另外，虽然你可以使用电脑来修改或复制硬件设计，但是电脑无法把设计变成物理实体，生产需要制造设备。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: The Boundary between Hardware and Software
zh_CN: 软件和硬件的边界

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What is the boundary, in digital devices, between hardware and software? It follows from the definitions.  Software is the operational part of a device that can be copied, and modified with a computer; hardware is the operational part that can't be.  This is the right way to make the distinction because it relates to the practical consequences.
zh_CN: 对于数字设备，哪里才是软件和硬件的边界？这要根据定义。软件是设备可以操作的一个部分，它可以用电脑复制和修改；硬件是设备可以操作的其他部分，不能用电脑复制和修改。这是正确区别软件和硬件的方法，因为它和实际操作相关。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is a gray area between hardware and software that contains firmware that <em>can</em> be upgraded or replaced, but is not meant ever to be upgraded or replaced once the product is sold.  Or perhaps it is possible but unusual, or the manufacturer can release a replacement but you can't.  In conceptual terms, the gray area is rather narrow.  In practice, it is important because many products fall in it.  Indeed, nowadays keyboards, cameras, disk drives and USB memories typically contain an embedded nonfree program that could be replaced by the manufacturer.
zh_CN: 软件和硬件还有一个灰色地带，其中包含<em>可以</em>升级或替换的固件，但是它不是指在产品完成之后还能升级或替换。或者也许产品完成之后还能升级或替换固件，但不是常规操作；或者制造商可以发布替换固件而你不行。从概念上讲，这个灰色地带相当狭小。从实践上看，它又非常重要，因为很多产品处在这个地带。实际上，现今的键盘、相机、磁盘和 U 盘一般都包含嵌入式的非自由程序，厂家可以更换这些程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We can think of the difference between built-in firmware and equivalent hardware as a minor implementation detail, provided that we are sure in either case that it won't be changed.  A hardware circuit can't be changed; that's its nature.  If it's acceptable for a device to be implemented with internal circuitry that no one can alter, then an internal program that no one can alter is no worse.  It would not be sensible to reject an equivalent internal software implementation, when operationally they are indistinguishable.
zh_CN: 我们可以认为内置固件和等价硬件只是实现方式的不同，前提是我们确信它们都不再会更改。硬件线路不会更改，这是物理特性。如果我们接受没人能更改一个设备的内部线路，那么接受一个没人能更改的内部程序也不会差到哪里去。当它们和硬件在操作层面无法分辨的时候，拒绝等价的内部软件程序没有什么意思。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The equivalence falls apart, however, when the software implementation is not totally internal and some company can modify that code.  For example, when firmware needs to be copied into the device to make the device function, or included in the system distribution that you install, that is no <em>internal</em> software implementation; rather, it is a piece of installed nonfree software.  It is unjust because some manufacturer can change it but you can't.
zh_CN: 不过，当软件实现不完全是内部的——有些公司可以更改其代码时，这种等价不再成立。例如，当你需要把固件复制到设备上才能让它工作时，或者固件包含在你安装的系统发布版本中时，那么它们不是 <em>内部</em> 软件实现；反之，它们是需要安装的非自由软件。厂商能改，而你不能改，这是不公正的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In order for a firmware program to be morally equivalent to hardware, it must be unmodifiable.  What about when the device can't possibly run without some firmware and it offers a way to modify that? We can make that firmware unmodifiable in practice by taking care never to let that replacement happen.  This solution is not entirely clean, but no entirely clean solution has been proposed; this is the only way we know to preserve some meaning for the rejection of nonfree software while using that device.  This is much better than just giving up.
zh_CN: 为了使固件和硬件在道义上等价，固件必须是不能修改的。如果一个设备由于缺少固件无法运行，而有人提供了修改的方法，这又该如何看待？我们可以在实际操作中避免这种修改，不让修改发生。这个方法并不完美，但是还没有找到完美的方案；这是我们所知要使用这些设备而又拒绝其非自由软件的唯一方法。这比完全放弃要好得多。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But we can't have it both ways.  To make preinstalled firmware effectively unmodifiable by not letting anyone invoke the method to change it, we must carry that out without exception even when there are changes we would wish were installed.  That means rejecting all upgrades or patches to that firmware.
zh_CN: 但是我们不能两个都要。要让预先安装的固件无法修改，我们必须坚持它是硬件，即使有我们很想要的固件升级，我们也不安装。这就是说我们要拒绝所有的固件升级或修改。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some have said that preinstalled firmware programs and Field-Programmable Gate Array chips (FPGAs) &ldquo;blur the boundary between hardware and software,&rdquo; but I think that is a misinterpretation of the facts.  Firmware that is installed during use is software; firmware that is delivered inside the device and can't be changed is software by nature, but we can treat it as if it were a circuit.  As for FPGAs, the FPGA itself is hardware, but the gate pattern that is loaded into the FPGA is a kind of firmware.
zh_CN: 有人说预安装的固件程序和可编程门阵列芯片（FPGA）&ldquo;模糊了硬件和软件的界限&rdquo;，但是我认为这是错误解读。在使用时安装的固件是软件；和硬件一起交付而且无法更改的固件虽然属于软件范畴，但是我们可以把它当成是硬件线路的一部分来看。而 FPGA，本身是硬件，但加载到 FPGA 的门逻辑是一种固件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Running free gate patterns on FPGAs could potentially be a useful method for making digital devices that are free at the circuit level.  However, to make FPGAs usable in the free world, we need free development tools for them.  The obstacle is that the format of the gate pattern file that gets loaded into the FPGA is secret.  For many years there was no model of FPGA for which those files could be produced without nonfree (proprietary) tools.
zh_CN: 在 FPGA 上运行自由的门逻辑是在线路层面上让数字设备变得自由的潜在好手段。不过，要让自由世界使用 FPGA，我们需要自由的开发工具。困难在于加载到 FPGA 的门逻辑格式是个秘密。多年以来，如果不使用非自由的软件工具，我们无法为 FPGA 输出这类文件格式。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As of 2015, free software tools are available for <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20211106213411/http://www.clifford.at/icestorm/"> programming the Lattice iCE40</a>, a common model of FPGA, from input written in a hardware description language (HDL).  It is also possible to compile C programs and run them on the Xilinx Spartan 6 LX9 FPGA with <a href="https://gothub.projectsegfau.lt/Wolfgang-Spraul/fpgatools/"> free tools</a>, but those do not support HDL input.  We recommend that you reject other FPGA models until they too are supported by free tools.
zh_CN: 到 2015 年，我们有了 <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20211106213411/http://www.clifford.at/icestorm/"> 对 Lattice iCE40 编程</a>——一种通用 FPGA 型号——的自由软件，其输入是硬件描述语言（HDL）。使用 <a href="https://gothub.projectsegfau.lt/Wolfgang-Spraul/fpgatools/">自由工具</a> 在 Xilinx Spartan 6 LX9 FPGA 上编译和运行 C 语言程序也已经实现，但是还不支持 HDL 输入。我们建议你拒绝其他型号的 FPGA，直到它们支持自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As for the HDL code itself, it can act as software (when it is run on an emulator or loaded into an FPGA) or as a hardware design (when it is realized in immutable silicon or a circuit board).
zh_CN: 对于 HDL 代码本身，它可以作为软件（当它运行在模拟器或者加载到 FPGA 上时），也可以作为硬件（它表现为不能更改的硬件或线路板时）。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: The Ethical Question for 3D Printers
zh_CN: 关于 3D 打印机的道德问题

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Ethically, <a href="/philosophy/free-software-even-more-important.html">software must be free</a>; a nonfree program is an injustice.  Should we take the same view for hardware designs?
zh_CN: 从道德上看，<a href="/philosophy/free-software-even-more-important.html">软件必须是自由的</a>；非自由程序是不公正的。我们是否应该对硬件设计采用同样的视角呢？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We certainly should, in the fields that 3D printing (or, more generally, any sort of personal fabrication) can handle.  Printer patterns to make a useful, practical object (i.e., functional rather than decorative) <em>must</em> be free because they are works made for practical use.  Users deserve control over these works, just as they deserve control over the software they use.  Distributing a nonfree functional object design is as wrong as distributing a nonfree program.
zh_CN: 在 3D 打印领域（或者更广泛的说，对任何个人制造领域），我们当然应该采取同样的视角。使用打印机打印模式制造的有用的、实际的物体（是功能，而不是装饰）必须是自由的，因为它们是实用的作品。正如用户应该可以控制自己使用的软件，他们也有权控制这些作品。发布非自由的功能性物品设计和发布非自由软件一样，都是错误的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So make sure to choose 3D printers that work with exclusively free software; the Free Software Foundation <a href="https://ryf.fsf.org/">endorses such printers</a>.
zh_CN: 因此，请确保你选择只使用自由软件的 3D 打印机；自由软件基金会 <a href="https://ryf.fsf.org/">支持此类打印机</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Must We Reject Nonfree Digital Hardware?
zh_CN: 我们必须拒绝非自由的数字硬件吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Is a nonfree digital <a href="#fn1">[1]</a> hardware design an injustice? Must we, for our freedom's sake, reject all digital hardware made from nonfree designs, as we must reject nonfree software?
zh_CN: 非自由的数字<a href="#fn1">[1]</a>硬件设计是否不公正？为了自由，我们必须象拒绝非自由软件一样拒绝所有由非自由设计生产的数字硬件吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Due to the conceptual parallel between hardware designs and software source code, many hardware hackers are quick to condemn nonfree hardware designs just like nonfree software.  I disagree because the circumstances for hardware and software are different.
zh_CN: 由于硬件设计和软件代码在概念上类似，所以许多硬件黑客急迫地象谴责非自由软件一样谴责非自由硬件设计。我不同意，因为硬件的情形和软件有所不同。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Present-day chip and board fabrication technology resembles the printing press: it lends itself to mass production in a factory.  It is more like copying books in 1950 than like copying software today.
zh_CN: 当今的芯片和线路板制造类似印刷业：量产借助工厂完成。相比复制软件，这更象是1950年代的复制书籍。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Freedom to copy and change software is an ethical imperative because those activities are feasible for those who use software: the equipment that enables you to use the software (a computer) is also sufficient to copy and change it.  Today's mobile computers are too weak to be good for this, but anyone can find a computer that's powerful enough.
zh_CN: 复制和修改软件的自由在道义上非常重要，因为这些活动对使用软件的人来说是可行的：复制和修改软件的工具（电脑）就是你使用软件的工具。今天，用移动电脑的能力还不够复制和修改软件，但是人们总能找到能够复制和修改软件的电脑。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Moreover, a computer suffices to download and run a version changed by someone else who knows how, even if you are not a programmer.  Indeed, nonprogrammers download software and run it every day.  This is why free software makes a real difference to nonprogrammers.
zh_CN: 此外，即使你不是程序员，如果你知道怎么做，你也可以用电脑下载和运行其他人修改好的软件。实际上，普通人每天都在下载和运行软件。这正是自由软件给普通用户带来的不同。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: How much of this applies to hardware? Not everyone who can use digital hardware knows how to change a circuit design, or a chip design, but anyone who has a PC has the equipment needed to do so.  Thus far, hardware is parallel to software, but next comes the big difference.
zh_CN: 这里有多少可以适用于硬件呢？不是每个使用数字硬件的人都知道如何修改线路设计或芯片设计，但是每个有电脑的人都可以有修改的工具。到此，硬件和软件非常象。但是后面还有很大的不同。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You can't build and run a circuit design or a chip design in your computer.  Constructing a big circuit is a lot of painstaking work, and that's once you have the circuit board.  Fabricating a chip is not feasible for individuals today; only mass production can make them cheap enough.  With today's hardware technology, users can't download and run a modified version of a widely used digital hardware design, as they could run a modified version of a widely used program.  Thus, the four freedoms don't give users today collective control over a hardware design as they give users collective control over a program.  That's where the reasoning showing that all software must be free fails to apply to today's hardware technology.
zh_CN: 你无法在电脑上构建和运行线路设计或芯片设计。制造大型线路板需要大量艰苦工作，直到你有了第一块线路板。目前个人制造芯片还不太可能；只有量产的芯片才够便宜。和运行修改板软件不同，使用当今的硬件技术，用户还无法下载和运行一款已为广泛使用的硬件设计或其修改板。因此，四项自由不能给用户象控制软件一样对硬件设计的集体控制。这就是软件必须自由的理念现在还不能应用到硬件技术的原因。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In 1983 there was no free operating system, but it was clear that if we had one, we could immediately use it and get software freedom.  All that was missing was the code for one.
zh_CN: 在1983年，世界上还没有自由操作系统，但是道理很清楚——如果有一个自由操作系统，那么我们马上就可以使用并且获得软件自由。我们所缺少的就是第一个自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In 2014, if we had a free design for a CPU chip suitable for a PC, mass-produced chips made from that design would not give us the same freedom in the hardware domain.  If we're going to buy a product mass produced in a factory, this dependence on the factory causes most of the same problems as a nonfree design.  For free designs to give us hardware freedom, we need future fabrication technology.
zh_CN: 在2014年，如果我们有一个适用于电脑的自由芯片设计，那么由此设计量产的芯片也无法使我们在硬件领域获得和软件一样的自由。如果我们要从工厂购买一个硬件产品，那么对工厂的依赖带来的问题也和非自由设计大致一样。要让自由设计带给我们硬件自由，我们需要未来的制造技术。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We can envision a future in which our personal fabricators can make chips, and our robots can assemble and solder them together with transformers, switches, keys, displays, fans and so on.  In that future we will all make our own computers (and fabricators and robots), and we will all be able to take advantage of modified designs made by those who know hardware.  The arguments for rejecting nonfree software will then apply to nonfree hardware designs too.
zh_CN: 我们可以展望未来，那时个人工厂可以生产芯片，我们的机器人可以焊接和组装变压器、开关、按键、显示器、风扇等。将来，我们都会制造自己的电脑（包括个人工厂和机器人），我们都会利用懂硬件的人对设计的修改。那么，拒绝非自由硬件和拒绝非自由软件就一样有道理了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: That future is years away, at least.  In the meantime, there is no need to reject hardware with nonfree designs on principle.
zh_CN: 未来至少还需要很多年。与此同时，我们原则上不必拒绝非自由设计的硬件。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: We Need Free Digital Hardware Designs
zh_CN: 我们需要自由的数字硬件设计

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Although we need not reject digital hardware made from nonfree designs in today's circumstances, we need to develop free designs and should use them when feasible.  They provide advantages today, and in the future they may be the only way to use free software.
zh_CN: 今天，我们虽然不必拒绝来自非自由设计的硬件，但是我们仍需要开发自由设计并尽可能使用它们。今天它们提供一些优势，将来它们可能是我们使用自由软件的唯一方法。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Free hardware designs offer practical advantages.  Multiple companies can fabricate one, which reduces dependence on a single vendor.  Groups can arrange to fabricate them in quantity.  Having circuit diagrams or HDL code makes it possible to study the design to look for errors or malicious functionalities (it is known that the NSA has procured malicious weaknesses in some computing hardware).  Furthermore, free designs can serve as building blocks to design computers and other complex devices, whose specs will be published and which will have fewer parts that could be used against us.
zh_CN: 自由硬件设计有实用优势。多个厂商可以制造同一款硬件，这样我们就不必依赖于单一供应商。大家还可以组团制造一定量的硬件。有了线路图和 HDL 代码，我们就有可能研究这些设计，查找错误和恶意功能（人们已经知道 NSA 会制造一些带有恶意弱点的计算机硬件）。此外，自由设计可以作为计算机和其他复杂计算设备的组件，它们设计公开，所以复杂计算设备上的非自由部分就会变少。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Free hardware designs may become usable for some parts of our computers and networks, and for embedded systems, before we are able to make entire computers this way.
zh_CN: 在我们能够制造完全由自由设计构成的计算机之前，自由硬件设计可以用于计算机和网络的某些部件，也可以用于嵌入式设备。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Free hardware designs may become essential even before we can fabricate the hardware personally, if they become the only way to avoid nonfree software.  As common commercial hardware is increasingly designed to subjugate users, it becomes increasingly incompatible with free software, because of secret specifications and requirements for code to be signed by someone other than you.  Cell phone modem chips and even some graphics accelerators already require firmware to be signed by the manufacturer.  Any program in your computer, that someone else is allowed to change but you're not, is an instrument of unjust power over you; hardware that imposes that requirement is malicious hardware.  In the case of cell phone modem chips, all the models now available are malicious.
zh_CN: 如果自由硬件设计是我们避免非自由软件的唯一方法，那么即使在我们个人能够制造硬件之前，自由硬件设计也会变得非常重要。随着常见商业硬件变得越来越要征服用户，硬件变得越来越不兼容自由软件，因为其规格是秘密的，其代码是其他人而不是用户加密签署的。移动电话的调制解调器芯片甚至某些图形加速芯片已经开始要求制造商加密签署的固件。你电脑里的程序，别人有权更改，而你不行，这是对你施加不公正的权力；这些硬件是恶意硬件。就移动电话的调制解调器而言，其所有型号都是恶意硬件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some day, free-design digital hardware may be the only platform that permits running a free system at all.  Let us aim to have the necessary free digital designs before then, and hope that we have the means to fabricate them cheaply enough for all users.
zh_CN: 将来，自由设计的硬件可能是允许运行自由系统的唯一平台。让我们在此之前计划好必要的自由数字设计，让我们期待我们能够为所有用户制造出足够便宜的硬件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If you design hardware, please make your designs free.  If you use hardware, please join in urging and pressuring companies to make hardware designs free.
zh_CN: 如果你作硬件设计，那么请让你的设计自由。如果你使用硬件，那么请加入我们一起敦促硬件公司让它们的硬件设计自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Levels of Design
zh_CN: 设计的层级

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Software has levels of implementation; a package might include libraries, commands and scripts, for instance.  But these levels don't make a significant difference for software freedom because it is feasible to make all the levels free.  Designing components of a program is the same sort of work as designing the code that combines them; likewise, building the components from source is the same sort of operation as building the combined program from source.  To make the whole thing free simply requires continuing the work until we have done the whole job.
zh_CN: 软件有实现的层级；例如，一个软件包可能有库、命令和脚本。但是这些层级对软件自由并不构成重大区别，因为我们能让所有层级都变得自由。设计程序的组件和把组件组合成程序工作类似；同样，从源代码构建组件和构建整个程序也类似。要让整个程序自由只需按照步骤把整个工作进行下去就可以。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Therefore, we insist that a program be free at all levels.  For a program to qualify as free, every line of the source code that composes it must be free, so that you can rebuild the program out of free source code alone.
zh_CN: 因此，我们坚持程序的所有层级都要自由。作为一个自由程序，其包含的每一条源代码都必须自由，这样我们就能从源代码构建整个程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Physical objects, by contrast, are often built out of components that are designed and build in a different kind of factory.  For instance, a computer is made from chips, but designing (or fabricating) chips is very different from designing (or fabricating)  the computer out of chips.
zh_CN: 与此对照，物理器件往往是由在不同工厂生产的部件组成。例如，计算机由芯片构成，而设计（和制造）芯片与设计（和制造）计算机非常不同。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Thus, we need to distinguish <em>levels</em> in the design of a digital product (and maybe some other kinds of products).  The circuit that connects the chips is one level; each chip's design is another level.  In an FPGA, the interconnection of primitive cells is one level, while the primitive cells themselves are another level.  In the ideal future we will want the design be free at all levels.  Under present circumstances, just making one level free is a significant advance.
zh_CN: 因此，我们需要区别设计数字产品（也许还有其他产品）的不同 <em>层级</em>。连接芯片的电路是一个层级；每个芯片的设计又是一个层级。在 FPGA 中，单元的互联是一个层级，而单元本身又是一个层级。在理想的未来，我们想要每个层级的设计都自由。目前，只要让一个层级自由就是重大进步。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, if a design at one level combines free and nonfree parts&mdash;for example, a &ldquo;free&rdquo; HDL circuit that incorporates proprietary &ldquo;soft cores&rdquo;&mdash;we must conclude that the design as a whole is nonfree at that level.  Likewise for nonfree &ldquo;wizards&rdquo; or &ldquo;macros,&rdquo; if they specify part of the interconnections of chips or programmably connected parts of chips.  The free parts may be a step towards the future goal of a free design, but reaching that goal entails replacing the nonfree parts.  They can never be admissible in the free world.
zh_CN: 不过，如果一个层级的设计包括了自由设计和非自由的部件&mdash;&mdash;例如，一个 &ldquo;自由的&rdquo; HDL 线路和专有的核心&rdquo;&mdash;&mdash;我们必须说整个设计层级是非自由的。同样适用于非自由的 &ldquo;向导&rdquo; 或 &ldquo;宏&rdquo;，如果它们描述的是芯片内联的部分或芯片的连接部分。这些自由部分是迈向自由设计终点的重要步骤，要达到终点必须要替换掉其中非自由的部分。自由世界不能接受妥协。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Licenses and Copyright for Free Hardware Designs
zh_CN: 自由硬件设计的许可证和版权

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You make a hardware design free by releasing it under a free license.  We recommend using the GNU General Public License, version 3 or later.  We designed GPL version 3 with a view to such use.
zh_CN: 使用自由许可证发布硬件设计就使之自由。我们建议使用 GNU 通用公共许可证，版本 3 或以后版。我们设计 GPL 版本 3 时考虑了这个用途。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyleft on circuits, and on nondecorative object shapes, doesn't go as far as one might suppose.  The copyright on these designs only applies to the way the design is drawn or written.  Copyleft is a way of using copyright law, so its effect carries only as far as copyright law carries.
zh_CN: 线路和非装饰性形状的 Copyleft 许可证并不能象我们假设的那样传播。这些设计的版权只能适用于这些设计的描述或描画。Copyleft 许可证也是版权法的应用，所以它只能应用于版权适用的范围。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For instance, a circuit, as a topology, cannot be copyrighted (and therefore cannot be copylefted).  Definitions of circuits written in HDL can be copyrighted (and therefore copylefted), but the copyleft covers only the details of expression of the HDL code, not the circuit topology it generates.  Likewise, a drawing or layout of a circuit can be copyrighted, so it can be copylefted, but this only covers the drawing or layout, not the circuit topology.  Anyone can legally draw the same circuit topology in a different-looking way, or write a different HDL definition that produces the same circuit.
zh_CN: 举个例子，线路板是一种拓扑图，它不能申请版权（因而也不能 copylefted）。线路图的 HDL 语言可以申请版权（因而可以 copylefted），但是也只能涉及 HDL 代码的表达细节，不能涉及由此产生的线路拓扑结构。同样的，线路板的图稿或布局可以申请版权，所以它也可以是 copylefted，但是这些只涉及图稿或布局，不能涉及线路板的拓扑结构。任何人都可以把线路板的拓扑结构画成不同的图稿，或者把同一个线路写成不同的 HDL 定义。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright doesn't cover physical circuits, so when people build instances of the circuit, the design's license will have no legal effect on what they do with the devices they have built.
zh_CN: 版权不包括物理线路板，所以当人们制造线路板实体时，设计的许可证对这些实体没有法律效力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For drawings of objects, and 3D printer models, copyright doesn't cover making a different drawing of the same purely functional object shape.  It also doesn't cover the functional physical objects made from the drawing.  As far as copyright is concerned, everyone is free to make them and use them (and that's a freedom we need very much).  In the US, copyright does not cover the functional aspects that the design describes, but <a href="https://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap13.html#1301">does cover decorative aspects</a>.  When one object has decorative aspects and functional aspects, you get into tricky ground <a href="#fn2">[2]</a>.
zh_CN: 对物体的图稿、3D 打印模型，版权也不能限制同一功能物体的不同图稿。它也不能限制从图稿制造具体的功能物体。对版权来说，每个人都可以自由制造和使用这些功能物体（我们很需要这种自由）。在美国，版权也不涉及设计描述的功能，但是它 <a href="https://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap13.html#1301">包括装饰性特征</a>。当一个物体既有装饰特征又有功能时，你的处境就比较微妙<a href="#fn2">[2]</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: All this may be true in your country as well, or it may not.  Before producing objects commercially or in quantity, you should consult a local lawyer.  Copyright is not the only issue you need to be concerned with.  You might be attacked using patents, most likely held by entities that had nothing to do with making the design you're using, and there may be other legal issues as well.
zh_CN: 这些情形在你的国家可能适用，也可能不适用。在商业量产或大批量生产硬件之前，你应该咨询当地律师。版权不是我们唯一担心的问题。你可能会受到专利攻击，专利很可能被某些对此设计毫无瓜葛的实体控制，这里也可能有其他法律问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Keep in mind that copyright law and patent law are totally different.  It is a mistake to suppose that they have anything in common.  This is why the term &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/not-ipr.html">intellectual property</a>&rdquo; is pure confusion and should be totally rejected.
zh_CN: 请注意版权和专利完全不同。试图假定二者的共同点是错误的做法。因此 &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/not-ipr.html">知识产权</a>&rdquo; 这一术语只能造成混淆，它应该被完全废弃。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Promoting Free Hardware Designs Through Repositories
zh_CN: 在项目库里提倡自由硬件设计

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The most effective way to push for published hardware designs to be free is through rules in the repositories where they are published.  Repository operators should place the freedom of the people who will use the designs above the preferences of people who make the designs.  This means requiring designs of useful objects to be free, as a condition for posting them.
zh_CN: 让已公开的自由硬件设计变得自由的最有效的方法是通过发布该设计的项目库设定规则。项目库的操作员应该把使用设计的用户利益放在设计者本身的利益之上。这就要求有用的设计应当自由，并作为发布规则。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For decorative objects, that argument does not apply, so we don't have to insist they must be free.  However, we should insist that they be sharable.  Thus, a repository that handles both decorative object models and functional ones should have an appropriate license policy for each category.
zh_CN: 对于装饰性物体，这个论点不适用，所以我们不坚持它们也必须自由。不过，我们需要坚持装饰性物体应该可共享。这样，一个管理装饰物体和功能部件的项目库就应该对不同类别的设计使用不同的许可证。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For digital designs, I suggest that the repository insist on GNU GPL v3-or-later, Apache 2.0, or CC0.  For functional 3D designs, the repository should ask the design's author to choose one of four licenses: GNU GPL v3-or-later, Apache 2.0, CC BY-SA, CC BY or CC0.  For decorative designs, it should suggest GNU GPL v3-or-later, Apache 2.0, CC0, or any of the CC licenses.
zh_CN: 对于数字设计，我建议项目库坚持使用 GNU GPL v3-or-later、Apache 2.0 或 CC0 许可证。对功能性 3D 设计，项目库应该请求设计作者选择以下四个许可证之一：GNU GPL v3-or-later、Apache 2.0、CC BY-SA、CC BY 或 CC0。对于装饰性设计，项目库应该建议使用 GNU GPL v3-or-later、Apache 2.0、CC0 或其他 CC 许可证。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The repository should require all designs to be published as source code, and source code in secret formats usable only by proprietary design programs is not really adequate.  For a 3D model, the <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/STL_%28file_format%29">STL format</a> is not the preferred format for changing the design and thus is not source code, so the repository should not accept it, except perhaps accompanying real source code.
zh_CN: 项目库应该要求所有设计公开源代码，而且这些代码不应当是只能用专有软件打开的秘密格式。对 3D 模型，<a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/STL_%28file_format%29">STL 格式</a> 就不是一个我们推荐的交换格式，所以它不算源代码，而项目库不要接收这种格式，除非它还有其他真正的源代码。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is no reason to choose one single format for the source code of hardware designs, but source formats that cannot yet be handled with free software should be accepted reluctantly at best.
zh_CN: 虽然我们没有理由指定单一的硬件设计源代码格式，但是目前自由软件还不能处理的格式最好不要放进来。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Free Hardware Designs and Warranties
zh_CN: 自由硬件设计和质保

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In general, the authors of free hardware designs have no moral obligation to offer a warranty to those that fabricate the design.  This is a different issue from the sale of physical hardware, which ought to come with a warranty from the seller and/or the manufacturer.
zh_CN: 一般来说，自由硬件设计的作者没有道德义务对使用这些设计进行生产提供质保。这和销售硬件不同，销售硬件的销售商或制造商理应提供质保。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Conclusion
zh_CN: 结论

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We already have suitable licenses to make our hardware designs free.  What we need is to recognize as a community that this is what we should do and to insist on free designs when we fabricate objects ourselves.
zh_CN: 我们已经有了适用于自由硬件设计的许可证。我们需要一个社区，在制造硬件的时候，社区公民知道如何去做并坚持自由设计。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Footnotes
zh_CN: 脚注

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: As used here, &ldquo;digital hardware&rdquo; includes hardware with some analog circuits and components in addition to digital ones.
zh_CN: 此处，&ldquo;数字硬件&rdquo; 包括带有模拟线路和数字元器件的硬件。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: An article by Public Knowledge gives useful information about this <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20211203021432/https://www.publicknowledge.org/assets/uploads/documents/3_Steps_for_Licensing_Your_3D_Printed_Stuff.pdf"> complexity</a>, for the US, though it falls into the common mistake of using the bogus concept of &ldquo;intellectual property&rdquo; and the propaganda term &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html#Protection">protection</a>.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 公共知识（Public Knowledge）的一篇文章对此问题在美国的 <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20211203021432/https://www.publicknowledge.org/assets/uploads/documents/3_Steps_for_Licensing_Your_3D_Printed_Stuff.pdf">复杂性</a> 给出了有用的信息，虽然它也象其他人一样错误地使用了 &ldquo;知识产权&rdquo; 这一伪概念和 &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html#Protection">保护</a> 这一鼓动词汇。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Most of this article was published in two parts in <cite>Wired</cite> in March 2015.
zh_CN: 本文的大部分内容分两篇发表于2015年3月的 <cite>连线</cite> 杂志。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 2015, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 Richard Stallman
zh_CN: Copyright &copy; 2015, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 Richard Stallman<br></br>Copyright &copy; 2024 XIE Wensheng (translation)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2024。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
