free-software-for-freedom.html - en to ko translation catalogue (26 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why &ldquo;Free Software&rdquo; is better than &ldquo;Open Source&rdquo; - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 왜 자유 소프트웨어가 오픈 소스보다 좋은가? - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Why &ldquo;Free Software&rdquo; is better than &ldquo;Open Source&rdquo;
ko: 왜 자유 소프트웨어가 오픈 소스보다 좋은가?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: While free software by any other name would give you the same freedom, it makes a big difference which name we use: different words <em>convey different ideas</em>.
ko: 자유 소프트웨어가 다른 이름으로 지칭된다고 해도 여러분에게 똑같은 자유를 주겠지만, 사용하는 이름에 따라서 의미상의 큰 차이를 만들게 됩니다. 왜냐하면 다른 단어의 사용은 <strong>다른 의미를 전달</strong>하기 때문입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Relationship between the Free Software movement and Open Source movement
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 운동과 오픈 소스 운동과의 관계

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So please mention the Free Software movement when you talk about the work we have done, and the software we have developed&mdash;such as the <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> operating system.
ko: 따라서 여러분이 <a href="/gnu/linux-and-gnu.html">GNU/Linux</a> 운영체제와 같이 우리가 개발한 소프트웨어나 우리가 추진해 왔던 일들에 대해서 얘기할 때는 그것이 자유 소프트웨어 운동에 대한 것이라는 사실을 잊지말고 언급해 주기를 바랍니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Ambiguity
ko: 의미의 모호성

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: Linux is &ldquo;open source&rdquo; software meaning, simply, that anyone can get copies of its source code files.
ko: 리눅스는 &ldquo;오픈 소스&rdquo; 소프트웨어이다. 간단히 말해 누구든지 소스 코드 파일의 복제본을 얻을 수 있다는 뜻이다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Fear of Freedom
ko: 자유의 두려움

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The main argument for the term &ldquo;open source software&rdquo; is that &ldquo;free software&rdquo; makes some people uneasy.  That's true: talking about freedom, about ethical issues, about responsibilities as well as convenience, is asking people to think about things they might rather ignore.  This can trigger discomfort, and some people may reject the idea for that.  It does not follow that society would be better off if we stop talking about these things.
ko: &ldquo;오픈 소스 소프트웨어&rdquo;의 주된 논거는 &ldquo;자유 소프트웨어&rdquo;가 사람들을 불편하게 한다는 점입니다. 그 말은 사실입니다. 자유, 윤리적인 주제, 책임감 그리고 편의성에 대해서 논하는 것은, 일반적인 상황에서 무시할 수 있는 사항들에 대한 보다 깊은 생각을 요구하기 때문입니다. 이러한 점이 사람들을 불편하게 만들 수 있으며, 어떤 사람들은 그러한 주제를 고려하는 자체를 거부할 수도 있을 것입니다. 그러나 우리가 그러한 주제에 대해 논의하는 것을 멈추면 사회가 더욱 나아질거라고 여기는 것은 이치에 맞지 않습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This approach has proved effective, in its own terms.  Today many people are switching to free software for purely practical reasons.  That is good, as far as it goes, but that isn't all we need to do! Attracting users to free software is not the whole job, just the first step.
ko: 이러한 접근 방법은 &ldquo;오픈 소스&rdquo;라는 말이 가진 원래의 의도를 사람들에게 효과적으로 전달할 수 있었습니다. 오늘날 많은 사람들이 순전히 실리적인 이유로 인해서 자유 소프트웨어로 전환하고 있습니다. 이러한 일이 지속되는 한 그것은 좋은 일이긴 하지만, 그것이 우리가 원하는 전부는 아닙니다. 사용자를 자유 소프트웨어로 끌어 들이는 것은 전부가 아니라 단지 시작에 불과합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Sooner or later these users will be invited to switch back to proprietary software for some practical advantage.  Countless companies seek to offer such temptation, and why would users decline? Only if they have learned to <em>value the freedom</em> free software gives them, for its own sake.  It is up to us to spread this idea&mdash;and in order to do that, we have to talk about freedom.  A certain amount of the &ldquo;keep quiet&rdquo; approach to business can be useful for the community, but we must have plenty of freedom talk too.
ko: 머지않아 이러한 사용자들은 몇가지 실질적인 이득을 얻을 수 있다는 이유 때문에 독점 소프트웨어에 관심을 갖게 될 것입니다. 무수히 많은 회사들이 그처럼 유혹하려고 노력하는데,사용자들이 어찌 넘어가지 않을 수 있겠습니까? 우리는 다만 그들이 자유 소프트웨어가 제공하는 본연의 목적인 <strong>자유의 가치</strong>를 배웠기를 바라지만 말입니다. 이러한 사상을 전파하는 것은 우리의 몫이며, 그러기 위해서 우리는 자유에 대해 이야기 해야만 합니다. 사업상 어느 정도 &ldquo;침묵&rdquo;을 지키는 것이 공동체에 유용할 수 있다 하더라도, 우리는 반드시 자유에 대해서 많은 얘기를 해야만 합니다

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Would a Trademark Help?
ko: 등록 상표는 도움이 되는가?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Companies also made announcements that give the impression that a program is &ldquo;open source software&rdquo; without explicitly saying so.  For example, one IBM announcement, about a program that did not fit the official definition, said this:
ko: 기업들은 자사의 프로그램이 &ldquo;오픈 소스 소프트웨어&rdquo;인 것같은 인상을 주도록 명시적인 형태를 피하는 설명 방법을 사용합니다. 예를 들어 &ldquo;오픈 소스 소프트웨어&rdquo;의 공식적인 정의에 부합하지 않는 IBM 소프트웨어의 발표 내용은 다음과 같았습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And here is how Cygnus Solutions, which was formed to be a free software company and subsequently branched out (so to speak) into proprietary software, advertised some proprietary software products:
ko: 또 한가지는 자유 소프트웨어 회사를 지향하며 설립되었지만 종국적으로 독점 소프트웨어 회사로 변경된 시그너스 솔루션즈가 그들의 독점 소프트웨어를 어떻게 광고했는 지에 대한 예입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: Cygnus Solutions is a leader in the open source market and has just launched two products into the [GNU/]Linux marketplace.
ko: 시그너스 솔루션즈는 오픈 소스 업계의 [GNU/]리더로서, 리눅스 시장에 두 가지 제품을 출시하게 되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Misunderstandings(?) of &ldquo;Open Source&rdquo;
ko: &ldquo;오픈 소스&rdquo;에 대한 오해

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: At the &ldquo;Open Source Developers Day&rdquo; meeting in August 1998, several of the commercial developers invited said they intend to make only a part of their work free software (or &ldquo;open source&rdquo;).  The focus of their business is on developing proprietary add-ons (software or <a href="/philosophy/free-doc.html">manuals</a>) to sell to the users of this free software.  They ask us to regard this as legitimate, as part of our community, because some of the money is donated to free software development.
ko: 1998년 8월에 &ldquo;오픈 소스 개발자의 날&rdquo; 모임에 참석한 여러 상용 소프트웨어 개발자들은그들의 작업 결과물 중 일부만을 자유 소프트웨어(또는 오픈 소스)로 만들 계획이라고 말했습니다. 그들의 사업 목표는 자유 소프트웨어 사용자들에게 팔 수 있는 독점적인 부가 상품 (소프트웨어 또는 <a href="/philosophy/free-doc.html">매뉴얼</a>)을 개발하는 데 집중되어 있습니다. 그들이 벌어들인 돈의 얼마만큼은 자유 소프트웨어 개발을 위해서 기부할 것이기 때문에, 그들은 우리에게 그들의 사업을 공동체 사업의 부분으로서 정당한 것으로 간주해 달라고 요구했습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In effect, these companies seek to gain the favorable cachet of &ldquo;open source&rdquo; for their proprietary software products&mdash;even though those are not &ldquo;open source software&rdquo;&mdash;because they have some relationship to free software or because the same company also maintains some free software.  (One company founder said quite explicitly that they would put, into the free package they support, as little of their work as the community would stand for.)
ko: 실제로 그 회사들은 그들의 독점 소프트웨어 제품들을 위해서 &ndash; 그것들이 &ldquo;오픈 소스 소프트웨어&rdquo;가 아님에도 불구하고 &ndash; &ldquo;오픈 소스&rdquo;라는 유리한 보증을 얻어 내려고 하는 것입니다. 그들이 자유 소프트웨어와 약간의 관계를 유지하고 있거나 혹은 몇개의 자유 소프트웨어를 보유하고 있다는 이유로 말입니다. (한 회사의 설립자는 공동체에서 지지하는 만큼만 최소한으로 자유 소프트웨어 패키지를 유지해 나갈것이라고 아주 분명하게 말했습니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This manipulative practice would be no less harmful if it were done using the term &ldquo;free software.&rdquo; But companies do not seem to use the term &ldquo;free software&rdquo; that way; perhaps its association with idealism makes it seem unsuitable.  The term &ldquo;open source&rdquo; opened the door for this.
ko: 이러한 교묘한 술책이 &ldquo;자유 소프트웨어&rdquo;라는 이름을 사용하여 행해졌다면 그만큼 해로왔을 것입니다. 그러나 회사들은 &ldquo;자유 소프트웨어&rdquo;라는 단어를 그같은 방법으로 사용하지는 않는 것 같습니다. 아마도 &ldquo;자유 소프트웨어&rdquo;라는 단어는 이상주의와의 관련성 때문에 그들이 이용하기에적합하지 않게 보였기 때문일 것입니다. &ldquo;오픈 소스&rdquo;라는 용어는 그러한 사용이 가능합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: He said, &ldquo;There is no way we will make our product open source, but perhaps we will make it &lsquo;internal&rsquo; open source.  If we allow our customer support staff to have access to the source code, they could fix bugs for the customers, and we could provide a better product and better service.&rdquo; (This is not an exact quote, as I did not write his words down, but it gets the gist.)
ko: 또한 그는 다음과 같은 언급을 했습니다. &ldquo;우리의 제품을 오픈 소스로 만들 수는 없지만, 개발 과정에서 &lsquo;내부적으로&rsquo; 오픈 소스 형태를 도입할 것입니다. 만약 우리의 고객 지원단이 소스 코드에 접근할 있다면, 그들은 고객을 위해 버그를 고칠 수 있으며 그로 인해서 우리는 더 나은 제품과 서비스를 제공할수 있을 것입니다.&rdquo; (그의 말을 받아적지 않았으므로 이 인용문은 정확한 것은 아닙니다만, 요지는 맞습니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People in the audience afterward told me, &ldquo;He just doesn't get the point.&rdquo; But is that so? Which point did he not get?
ko: 그후 청중들은 나에게 &ldquo;그는 핵심을 파악하지 못하고 있다.&rdquo;고 말했습니다. 정말 그럴까요? 그렇다면 그는 어떤 점을 놓치고 있는 것입니까?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The point that he missed is the point that &ldquo;open source&rdquo; was designed not to raise: the point that users <em>deserve</em> freedom.
ko: 그가 &ldquo;오픈 소스&rdquo;에 대해서 놓치고 있는 요점은 그것이 문제점을 줄이기 위해서 만들어 진 것이라는 점이 아니라 사용자들에게는 자유를 누릴 <strong>자격이 있다</strong>라는 점입니다

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: 최근 수정일: 2001년 9월 20일 chsong

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
