en to zh_CN translation catalogue (39 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Free World Notes - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 自由世界的注记 - GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Free World Notes
zh_CN: 自由世界的注记

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Tom Hull <a id="hull-rev" href="#hull"><sup>[*]</sup></a>
zh_CN: Tom Hull <a id="hull-rev" href="#hull"><sup>[*]</sup></a> 著

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: This page contains supplemental notes to the manifesto &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/free-world.html">Only the Free World Can Stand Up to Microsoft</a>.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 本页是关于宣言 &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/free-world.html">只有自由世界能够直面微软</a>&rdquo; 的一些补充注释。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In general, this critique reflects a more general line of thought, which is based on the recognition that the inefficiencies and ulterior motives in our current modes of production require much unnecessary work to produce products and services of often dubious merit for grossly inflated prices, effects which diminish the quality of our lives and the worth of our work. Nonetheless, my proposal here is not especially radical: it does not challenge the precepts of intellectual property; it requires no political action (not even the application of antitrust law); it can be initiated by a small group of people, and to some extent simply builds on work already done by various individuals and groups.
zh_CN: 总的来说，此次评论反映了一种更加广泛的思维方式，其基础是认识到我们当前的生产模式存在效率低下和隐藏动机，它需要大量不必要的工作来生产价格高涨但质量可疑的产品和服务，其效果就是降低了我们生活的质量和工作的价值。尽管如此，我在此提出的建议并不特别激进：它并未挑战知识产权的原则；它不需要政治行动（甚至不需要应用反垄断法）；它可以由少数人发起，在某种程度上可以直接从现有个人和团体工作的基础上建立起来。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some paragraph notes:
zh_CN: 某些段落注释：

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Commercial software companies typically divide their costs into several sectors: development; manufacturing; marketing/sales; service; general and administrative. Development costs are usually less than 20% of revenues. By far the largest cost is marketing/sales, so most of what the customer is actually paying for is the persuasion to convince the customer to pay so much for something that costs so little to develop, and practically nothing to reproduce and deliver.
zh_CN: 商业软件公司通常把花费分成几类：开发费；制作费；市场/营销费；服务费；管理和其他费用。开发费一般占总收入的20%，而最大的费用是市场/营销费。所以，客户支付的大头实际上是要说服客户花大价钱购买这个花了小钱开发的产品的游说部分，这部分实际上既不能再生产也不算交付物。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: More expensive software often includes after-the-sale service, which should be considered a marketing/sales cost, since it props up an extravagant price structure. Service should be considered a separate cost, independent of development. Free software is always delivered with no service, and customers who need service can obtain help independently, since the inner workings of the software are public knowledge.
zh_CN: 更贵的软件经常包括了售后服务费，它也可以认为是市场/营销费用，因为它助长了奢华的价格结构。服务应该是一个独立于开发之外的费用。自由软件一直以来都是无服务交付，而需要服务的客户可以独立购买服务，因为自由软件的内在逻辑是公开的知识。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Media companies have comparable cash flows, but necessarily work within the technical standards of their media. Consuming their products does not in any way prevent or even disincline one from consuming competitive products.
zh_CN: 媒体公司也有类似的现金流，但是这些公司只须在自己的媒体技术标准下工作。消费一个公司的产品丝毫不会阻止或减少你对其他有竞争力的产品的消费。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Microsoft likes to expand its operating system to eliminate the market for add-on software, such as for disk compression and networking. Microsoft's claim that IE is part of the operating system is spectacularly spurious.
zh_CN: 微软喜欢把自己的操作系统扩展并消灭其附加软件的市场，比如磁盘压缩和网络软件。微软声称 IE 是操作系统的一部分就是极端的错误典型。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Microsoft's dominance is at least partly due to the lack of any significant challengers. Apple and IBM used their operating systems to lock customers into their hardware, and would at any rate have been rejected by the rest of the PC industry, which at least with Microsoft got access to the same product. Unix vendors have stuck steadfastly to higher priced markets, avoiding direct competition, even though NT is aimed directly at destroying Unix. The longer Microsoft goes without serious competition, the harder it gets to mount any such competition.
zh_CN: 微软的主导地位至少部分归因于缺少主要的挑战者。苹果和 IBM 使用自己的操作系统把用户锁定到自己的硬件上，至少如果微软有了同样的产品，电脑世界的其他人就会拒绝苹果和 IBM 的产品。Unix 供应商坚定不移地守着高价格市场，避免直接竞争，即使 NT 的目标是直接消灭 Unix。微软没有严峻竞争的时间越长，市场就越难容下任何竞争对手。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: The last sentence is a slight exaggeration. Many capitalists do in fact realize that they will never be in the position to wield the sort of power that Microsoft commands, and as such have no use for the megalomania that goes with such power.
zh_CN: 最后一句话有少许夸大。许多资本家已经意识到他们将永远不会手握和微软一样的权力，所以权力魔王也就没有必要使用这个权力。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: The main point, however, is that under current circumstances no sane investor will directly challenge Microsoft. The cases in other industries where challenges are made to dominant companies depend on the discovery of some significant cost advantage (e.g., MCI's challenge to AT&amp;T), but cost advantages are essentially impossible in software, unless you're willing to forego all your margin, a position no investor will take.
zh_CN: 不过，重点在于，就目前的形势，不会有发狂的投资人会直接挑战微软。其他行业对主导公司的挑战会基于有明显成本优势的新发现（比如，MCI 挑战 AT&amp;T），但是挑战软件行业的成本优势几乎不可能，除非你要放弃所有盈利，大概不会有投资人这么干。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Antitrust laws work more for the protection of other businesses than to protect consumer interests, although consumers generally do benefit from increased, more even handed competition, at least in the long run. In the short run consumers may benefit more from crippling price competition. Netscape, for example, having gained a dominant market share in its niche, still cannot raise its prices because of Microsoft's competition, which is a windfall of sorts for customers.
zh_CN: 虽然长远来看消费者一般会从平衡性竞争中获益，但是反垄断法更保护其他公司的利益而不是消费者的利益。短期来看，消费者可能从激烈的价格竞争中获益更多。举个例子，Netscape 在其行业获得了市场主导，但是因为微软的竞争，它就不能提高价格，微软成了消费者的意外之财。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: We talk much about the advantages of &ldquo;letting the market decide,&rdquo; but most business activity is oriented toward rigging the market.  Look at any business plan and the key section will be something like &ldquo;Barriers to Competition,&rdquo; because competition kills profits, and successful companies are the ones that avoid competition, or at least are able to dictate its terms.
zh_CN: 我们讨论了许多关于 &ldquo;让市场决定&rdquo; 的优势，但是大多数商业活动倾向于操纵市场。看看商业计划书，你就会发现核心部分都是 &ldquo;竞争壁垒&rdquo;，因为竞争会消灭利润，而成功的公司正是那些能够规避竞争，或者至少能够制定规则的公司。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: The key thing here is that the free software must have at least the same level of quality and utility as the commercial software that it challenges, which means that it must be professionally designed and developed, tested and supported. Which means that free software must move well beyond its current niche as an academic hobby, to a point where it is supported by well-financed organizations that can attract and support quality workers.
zh_CN: 关键是自由软件必须至少和其商业对手有同水平的质量和功用，就是说，自由软件必须有专业的设计、开发、测试和支持。这就意味着自由软件必须走出现在的学术爱好圈，走到由良好资金支持的组织维护并能吸引和承担高质量工作人员的状态。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Of course, Microsoft (and all other commercial software companies so threatened) will do their best to compete with free software, and can be expected to do so as desperately as they compete with everything else. There will be many arguments floated as to why commercial software is better than free software. Many of these arguments are variations on the master salesman's boast that he can sell more $10 bills for $20 than a less convincing huckster can give away. Such arguments can be defeated by establishing that free software is quality software and makes sound economic sense. Some arguments are more substantial: commercial software companies have a huge head start; some such companies have convinced many users to trust their brands; the true costs of software include the time that it takes to learn and use, so no software is really cost-free; the investment that users and companies have in commercial software can make switching painful; many people still regard commercial software as something of a bargain.
zh_CN: 当然，微软（以及其他所有受到威胁的商业软件公司）会竭尽全力和自由软件竞争。我们可以想象它们会象对待其他竞争一样不遗余力。专有软件优于自由软件的论调也会层出不穷。这类论调多是销售大师吹嘘他可以按照20美元一份卖到100亿，而另一个人免费送也没有送出几份。这些论调可以用自由软件的高质量和实际经济性回击得粉碎。另外一些论点更加重要：商业软件巨大的起步优势；这些公司说服它们的用户信任自己的品牌；软件的实际费用还包括学习使用的时间投入，所以没有软件是真正免费的；用户和公司在商业软件的投入让切换非常困难；许多人仍然认为商业软件很划算等等。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: One issue that needs to be recognized and understood is the notion that free software, openly published in source form and freely inspected by anyone who has an interest or desire to do so, is worthy of far greater trust than closed, proprietary, secretive software. I for one found the installation of Microsoft's Internet Explorer to be a very scary experience: the computer running totally out of my control, reconfiguring itself, plugging into Microsoft's own web sites, setting up preferences and defaults according to Microsoft's business machinations.
zh_CN: 有一点我们需要理解并说明的是：自由软件，由于发布源代码，可以被任何有兴趣或有意愿的人检查，它值得比封闭的、专有的、秘密的软件多得多的信任。我就发现安装微软的 IE 浏览器是一次极其恐怖的经历：电脑完全不受我的控制，它自己做配置，自己插入微软页面，自己根据微软的商业需求设定首选项和默认值。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Sometimes I wonder whether Microsoft's underlying goal isn't simply to make the world safe for computer viruses. I'm not an especially paranoid person, but how can you ever know?
zh_CN: 有时，我会怀疑微软背后的目的是不是让计算机病毒在电脑世界更安全。我并不是一个特别多疑的人，但是你怎么知道真相呢？

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Consumers nowadays are so often (and so effectively) fleeced that there is much resistance to paying for something you can get away with not paying for, so this will be an uphill educational battle.  There is a game theory problem here: Who should I commit to paying for a development which I can get for nothing if only I wait for someone else to pay for it? But if everyone waits, no one benefits.
zh_CN: 当今的消费者是如此经常（如此有效）地被剪羊毛，以至于如果有东西可以不付钱，你很难让他们掏腰包，所以教育的难度很大。这里涉及一个博弈论问题：只要我等到有人买单之后就可以免费用的话，我又何必现在就付钱呢？但是如果大家都在等，那么大家都不会获益。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: There are other ways to handle this level of funding, such as imposing taxes on computer hardware (sort of like the gas tax is used to build roads) or even on commercial software (sort of like using cigarette taxes for public health). Developing countries, in particular, should support free software development, since the notion of intellectual property must appear to them as one more form of tribute to the rich. These approaches require political efforts that are sure to be contested and hamstrung. I'm inclined to start small, start voluntarily, and see how far reason and civility takes us.
zh_CN: 还有一些其他方法来解决资金问题，比如对电脑硬件征税（就象为了修路收燃油税）或者甚至可以向商业软件征税（就象为了公众健康收烟草税）。发展中国家尤其应该支持自由软件的开发，因为知识产权总会以这样或那样的形式让它们向发达国家上贡。这些措施需要历经考验和约束的政治努力。我建议可以逐步开始，从志愿形式开始，先看看理性和文明究竟能走多远。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: It should also be emphasized that there is at present a substantial amount of free software already written and available, and that there are many organizations and individuals that have contributed to the development and dissemination and support of free software.  What is missing is a systematic approach to funding development, and a strong and consistent system for user feedback and direction.
zh_CN: 我们应当强调，现在已经有了大量的自由软件，许多组织和个人为开发、传播和支持自由软件作出了贡献。我们缺失的是一个系统性资助开发的方法，以及一个有力而又一致的用户反馈和指导系统。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: I would estimate that free software can be developed to quality standards that meet/exceed commercial software for less than 25% of the price of equivalent commercial software. This estimate is based on common R&amp;D expenditure levels plus a generous amount for those organizations which coordinate development and promote use. Given that free software is not compelled to become obsolescent (it can continue to be used as long as it is useful, whereas commercial software must obsolete old product to promote the sales of new), the costs for free software will decline over time, sharply except for the cases where new needs arise.
zh_CN: 我估计开发与商业软件具有同样甚至更好质量的自由软件只需商业软件价格的25%。这个估计依据了通常水平的研发花费加上一个为公司和组织提供的比较宽裕的开发协调和使用推广费用。考虑到自由软件并没有被弃用的压力（只要它有用，你可以一直用；而为了销售新产品，商业软件必须不断弃用老产品），自由软件的成本会随时间快速下降，除非出现新的需求。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Much of this work is already being done. What's missing is not so much the people or even the organization as a coherent sense of the economic imperatives. To date, free software has largely been driven by political sensibilities and the traditions of academic freedom, which have led it into a hodge podge of areas, many of which have very little impact on common needs and usages. (Some, such as the Web, have had major impact, and as such have attracted enormous commercial attention.) However, the driving force behind free software must be economics: why do we spend so much money propping up empires when all we really want are clean, simple programs that do our work? And why do software professions have to work for commercial companies when their skills and work are more immediately needed by users?
zh_CN: 许多工作已经完成。我们缺少的是作为一个有一致概念的经济驱动力，人数或组织数目还不那么多。今天，自由软件主要还是靠政治觉悟和传统学术自由来驱动，这让它进入一个大杂烩的地带，很多情况缺少对常规需求和用法的影响。（有些，比如网络，我们有主要影响，它就吸引了大量商业关注。）不过，自由软件背后的驱动必须是经济：当我们需要的只是能够解决问题的干净、简单的程序时，我们为什么要花大价钱支持一个软件帝国？当软件专家可以更直接地满足用户需求时，他们又为什么非要为商业公司工作呢？

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: The argument that large companies (government, any organization that spends serious money on software) should routinely support free software development is strong and well focused. Even if such an organization never directly used free software, its existence would provide a damper on prices and a strong bargaining point with commercial software vendors. It is a win/win bet: free software, cheaper software, more options, more competition.
zh_CN: 大公司（政府，任何会认真投入购买软件的组织）应该长期支持自由软件开发，这个观点很有力而且很聚焦。即使这样的组织从没有直接使用自由软件，自由软件也为之提供了和商业软件提供商进行价格谈判的有力参考。这是一个双赢的运作：自由软件，更省钱的软件，更多选项，更有竞争力。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: It is completely obvious that free software organizations must be international in scope. It seems likely that most of the support for free software will come from outside the US, perhaps by an overwhelming margin.
zh_CN: 毫无疑问，自由软件组织必须是国际范围的。大多数对自由软件的支持看起来会来自美国以外，很可能是非常大多数。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: This proposal does not dispute the rights of intellectual property owners. Under this proposal it should be possible to buy or license technology where appropriate, and inventors should consider the possibility of selling their inventions to the free world. Whether intellectual property rights in fact encourage innovation in any useful way can be debated separately.
zh_CN: 本提议并不排斥知识产权持有者的权利。在提议的框架下，条件合适时可以购买或授权技术，发明家也可以考虑把发明转让给自由世界。知识产权是否会鼓励创新可以单独讨论。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Another aspect of this proposal is that it does not try to kill off the profit motive in software development. As I envision it, most of the free software work would be done by small companies bidding on contract proposals, presumably with the intent of making a profit. (The companies are likely to be small because they won't need to float a large marketing/sales organization, which is the main advantage big software companies have over small ones. Also because the free software networking organizations should work for providing sharable resources, such as capital and services, saving small companies from having to overextend themselves.)
zh_CN: 本提议涉及另一个方面，它并不是要消灭软件开发牟利的动机。在我看来，大多数自由软件会由小公司通过竞标，通常是牟利的竞标，来完成。（这些公司不大，因为它们没有必要支持庞大的市场营销团队，而市场营销是大公司的主要优势。同时，因为自由软件的社交组织应该互相提供共享资源，比如资金和服务，小公司就省去了这些投入。）

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: My proposal is that free software will start out aiming to produce the most basic and most broadly used software: it will in effect harvest the &ldquo;cash cows&rdquo; of the commercial software industry, rather than attempt to innovate at the fringes of development. (Of course, innovators are more than welcome to contribute.) Beyond free software there will still be shareware and commercial products, which will to some extent compete with free software and to a larger extent open up new niches where free software is not yet available. The free software industry will provide a damper on the sort of prices that can be charged. It will also help lower the costs of all software development, and may eventually provide a salvage market for discontinued commercial software. Shareware may be a fruitful ground for speculative software development, with the goal being to develop and popularize a new product that can be sold off to the free market.
zh_CN: 我建议自由软件开始以最基础和最广泛使用的软件为目标：这会收割商业软件的 &ldquo;现金牛&rdquo;，自由软件先不要在边缘的开发上进行创新。（当然，我们非常欢迎创新的贡献。）除了自由软件，市面上还会有共享软件和商业产品，他们会在一定程度上和自由软件竞争，并在很大程度上开发还没有自由软件的领域。自由软件会为用户提供一个大致的价格缓冲。它也会帮助降低整个软件开发的成本，并最终为不再被支持的商业软件提供救援市场。共享软件可能会是一个成果丰厚的软件开发投机市场，其目标是开发和推广销售到自由市场的新产品。

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li><p>
en: Finally, I believe that no restrictions should be placed on the use of free software: that it can be repackaged, sold, incorporated into commercial products. Free software will reduce the development costs of commercial software, which will help make commercial software cheaper, better, more competitive: all good things. The goal after all is better, cheaper, more usable and useful software: victory is not measured in bankruptcies. The impulse to segregate free software from commercial software is doomed, as is the impulse to isolate free software from commerce. We live in a jungle of commerce, which no one can truly flee from, regardless of how offensive it may seem. The proposal here is to start to take short, deliberate, sensible steps toward reclaiming parts of that jungle for everyone's use and betterment.
zh_CN: 最后，我相信不应限制对自由软件的使用：你可以重新打包它、销售它、把它组合进商业产品等等。自由软件将降低商业软件的开发成本，会帮助商业软件变得更便宜、更好用和更具竞争力：都是好事。最终目标是更好、更便宜、更可用和更有用的软件：胜利不由破产来定义。要把自由软件从商业软件中隔离的冲动注定失败，反之亦然。我们生活在商业社会，不管它多么令人讨厌，没人可以逃避。本提议就是要从小的、有目的的、有效的步骤开始，让每个人都能在商业社会中找回自己的用途和价值。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This implies, of course, that (following the Reagan demonology)  Microsoft et al. are &ldquo;The Evil Empire.&rdquo; That's a joke, of course, but if it didn't harbor a shred of truth it wouldn't be funny.
zh_CN: 这当然意味着（根据里根恶魔学），微软等公司是 &ldquo;恶魔帝国&rdquo;。当然，这是诙谐说法，但是如果没有一丝道理，它也就不可笑了。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <a id="hull" href="#hull-rev">[*]</a> You may contact Tom Hull at <a href="mailto:ftwalk@contex.com">&lt;ftwalk@contex.com&gt;</a>. He is also the author of the Ftwalk programming language, a script programming language, which is free software available for Unix systems.
zh_CN: <a id="hull" href="#hull-rev">[*]</a>你可以联系 Tom Hull：<a href="mailto:ftwalk@contex.com">&lt;ftwalk@contex.com&gt;</a>。他也是 Ftwalk 编程语言的作者，这是一个脚本语言，是 Unix 系统下的自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send questions and comments regarding this specific page to Tom Hull <a href="mailto:ftwalk@contex.com">&lt;ftwalk@contex.com&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 如对此页有问题或评论，请发给 Hull <a href="mailto:ftwalk@contex.com">&lt;ftwalk@contex.com&gt;</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 1997 Tom Hull
zh_CN: Copyright &copy; 1997 Tom Hull<br></br>Copyright &copy; 2024 XIE Wensheng (translation)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You may link to this document and/or redistribute it electronically.
zh_CN: 你可以链接此文，也可以使用电子方式分发此文。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2024，2025。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
