freedom-or-power.html - en to ko translation catalogue (16 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Freedom Or Power? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 자유인가 권력인가? - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단 (FSF)

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: GNU, FSF, Free Software Foundation, Linux, general, public, license, gpl, general public license, freedom, software, power, rights
ko: GNU, FSF, 자유 소프트웨어 재단, 리눅스, 일반, 공중, 허가, GPL, 일반 공중 허가서, 자유, 소프트웨어, 권력, 권리

note: type: Attribute 'content' of: <meta>
en: In this essay, Freedom or Power?, Bradley M. Kuhn and Richard M. Stallman discuss the reasons that the free software movement doesn't advocate the so-called freedom to choose any license you want for software you write.
ko: 자유인가 권력인가라는 이 글에서 브래들리 M. 쿤과 리처드 M. 스톨먼은 자유 소프트웨어 운동이 여러분이 작성하는 프로그램에 대해 여러분이 원하는 어떤 이용허락도 선택할 수 있는 자유를 옹호하는 것은 아니라는 점에 대해 토론합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Freedom or Power?
ko: 자유인가 권력인가?

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In the free software movement, we stand for freedom for the users of software.  We formulated our views by looking at what freedoms are necessary for a good way of life, and permit useful programs to foster a community of goodwill, cooperation, and collaboration.  <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">Our criteria for free software</a> specify the freedoms that a program's users need so that they can cooperate in a community.
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 운동에서 우리는 소프트웨어 사용자의 자유를 지지합니다.  우리는 선한 삶의 방식에 어떤 자유가 필요한 지에 대한 우리의 시각을 공식적으로 말했습니다. 그리고 호의적이고 서로 협력하는 공동체를 육성하기 위해 유용한 프로그램을 허용했습니다.  <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">자유 소프트웨어에 대한 우리의 기준</a>은 프로그램 사용자가 공동체에서 서로 돕는 데 필요한 자유를 분명히 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We stand for freedom for programmers as well as for other users.  Most of us are programmers, and we want freedom for ourselves as well as for you.  But each of us uses software written by others, and we want freedom when using that software, not just when using our own code.  We stand for freedom for all users, whether they program often, occasionally, or not at all.
ko: 우리는 사용자뿐만 아니라 프로그래머의 자유도 지지합니다. 우리는 대부분 프로그래머이고 여러분뿐만 아니라 우리 자신의 자유도 원합니다. 그러나 우리 모두는 다른 사람이 짠 소프트웨어를 쓰고 그 소프트웨어를 쓸 때 자유를 원합니다. 우리 자신이 만든 코드를 사용할 때가 아닙니다. 우리는 모든 사용자의 자유를 지지합니다. 그들이 프로그램을 자주 짜든, 가끔 짜든, 전혀 짜지 않든 간에 말입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, one so-called freedom that we do not advocate is the &ldquo;freedom to choose any license you want for software you write.&rdquo; We reject this because it is really a form of power, not a freedom.
ko: 하지만 이른바 &ldquo;자기가 만든 소프트웨어에 자기가 원하는 이용허락(라이선스)를 고를 수 있는 자유&rdquo;는 옹호하지 않습니다. 우리는 이 자유를 거부합니다. 그것은 실제로는 권력의 한 형태이지, 자유가 아니기 때문입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This oft overlooked distinction is crucial.  Freedom is being able to make decisions that affect mainly you; power is being able to make decisions that affect others more than you.  If we confuse power with freedom, we will fail to uphold real freedom.
ko: 종종 간과되는 이 구분은 매우 중요합니다. 자유는 여러분에게 영향을 미치는 결정을 할 수 있게 하지만 권력은 여러분이 아니라 다른 사람에게 영향을 미치는 결정을 할 수 있게 합니다. 권력과 자유를 헷갈린다면 진정한 자유를 지지할 수 없습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Making a program proprietary is an exercise of power.  Copyright law today grants software developers that power, so they and only they choose the rules to impose on everyone else&mdash;a relatively small number of people make the basic software decisions for all users, typically by denying their freedom.  When users lack the freedoms that define free software, they can't tell what the software is doing, can't check for back doors, can't monitor possible viruses and worms, can't find out what personal information is being reported (or stop the reports, even if they do find out).  If it breaks, they can't fix it; they have to wait for the developer to exercise its power to do so.  If it simply isn't quite what they need, they are stuck with it.  They can't help each other improve it.
ko: 독점 소프트웨어를 만드는 것은 권력을 행사하는 것입니다. 오늘날의 저작권법은 소프트웨어 개발자가 그러한 권력을 갖도록 허가합니다. 그들만이 모든 사람에게 강요할 규칙을 고를 수 있게 말입니다. 극소수의 사람들이 소프트웨어에 대한 기본적인 결정을 내리면서 대다수의 사람들의 자유를 부인합니다. 사용자에게 자유 소프트웨어를 정의하는 자유가 없을 때 사용자는 소프트웨어가 뭘 하는지 알 수 없고 백 도어를 확인할 수 없고 바이러스나 웜을 감시할 수 없고, 어떤 개인 정보가 새는지 알 수 없습니다(또는 알아채더라도 막을 수 없습니다). 소프트웨어가 고장 나도 사용자는 고칠 수 없습니다. 사용자는 그 권력을 행사할 수 있는 개발자가 소프트웨어를 고쳐주기를 기다려야 합니다. 사용자가 바라던 대로 되지 않으면 사용자는 그 소프트웨어에서 벗어날 수 없습니다. 사용자들은 소프트웨어를 개선하기 위해 서로 도울 수 없습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Proprietary software developers are often businesses.  We in the free software movement are not opposed to business, but we have seen what happens when a software business has the &ldquo;freedom&rdquo; to impose arbitrary rules on the users of software.  Microsoft is an egregious example of how denying users' freedoms can lead to direct harm, but it is not the only example.  Even when there is no monopoly, proprietary software harms society.  A choice of masters is not freedom.
ko: 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들은 사업적일 때가 있습니다. 자유 소프트웨어 운동가들은 사업에 반대하지 않습니다. 그러나 우리는 소프트웨어 사업자가 소프트웨어 사용자에게 임의의 규칙을 강요하는 &ldquo;자유&rdquo;를 가질 때 무슨 일이 생기는지 봤습니다. 마이크로소프트는 사용자의 자유를 부인하는 게 직접적으로 얼마나 해를 끼칠 수 있는지 보여주는 지독한 사례입니다. 그러나 마이크로소프트뿐만이 아닙니다. 독점이 존재하지 않아도 독점 소프트웨어는 사회에 해를 끼칩니다. 우두머리들의 선택은 자유가 아닙니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If &ldquo;code is law,&rdquo; <a href="#f1">(1)</a> then the real question we face is: who should control the code you use&mdash;you, or an elite few? We believe you are entitled to control the software you use, and giving you that control is the goal of free software.
ko: &ldquo;코드가 법이라면&rdquo; <a href="#f1">(1)</a>, 우리가 직면한 진짜 문제는 누가 여러분이 사용하는 코드를 통제할 것인가 하는 것입니다. 여러분인가요? 아니면 소수의 엘리트인가요? 우리는 여러분에게 여러분이 쓰는 소프트웨어를 통제할 자격이 있다고 믿습니다. 그리고 그 제어권을 여러분에게 주는 것이 자유 소프트웨어의 목표입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As more and more users realize that code is law, and come to feel that they too deserve freedom, they will see the importance of the freedoms we stand for, just as more and more users have come to appreciate the practical value of the free software we have developed.
ko: 점점 더 많은 사용자들이 코드가 법이란 것을 깨달을수록, 자유를 마땅히 누려야 한다는 것을 느낄수록 우리가 지지하는 자유의 중요성을 깨달을 것입니다. 그리고 우리가 개발한 자유 소프트웨어의 실용적인 가치에 감사하는 사용자들이 점점 더 늘어날 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Verbatim copying and distribution of this entire article is permitted without royalty in any medium, provided this notice is preserved.
ko: 저작권과 이용허락에 관한 본 사항을 명시한다면, 어떤 매체를 통해서도 변경하지 않은 이 글 전체의 복제 및 배포를 무상으로 할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 송우일 <a href="mailto:wooil@gnu.org">&lt;wooil@gnu.org&gt;</a>, 2006년 12월 25

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
