gif.html - en to ko translation catalogue (26 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Why There Are No GIF Files on GNU Web Pages - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: GNU 웹 페이지에 GIF 파일을 사용하지 않는 이유 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Why There Are No GIF Files on GNU Web Pages
ko: GNU 웹 페이지에 GIF 파일을 사용하지 않는 이유

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There are no GIFs on the GNU web site because of the patents (Unisys and IBM) covering the LZW compression algorithm which is used in making GIF files.  These patents make it impossible to have free software to generate proper GIFs.  They also apply to the <strong>compress</strong> program, which is why GNU does not use it or its format.
ko: GNU의 웹 사이트에는 GIF 파일이 없습니다. 왜냐하면 GIF 파일을 만들 때 쓰이는 LZW 압축 알고리즘에 Unisys와 IBM사의 특허권이 설정되어 있기 때문입니다. 이 특허권은 올바른 GIF 파일을 생성하는 자유 소프트웨어가 만들어 지는 것을 불가능하게 합니다. 또한 이 특허권은 <strong>compress</strong> 프로그램에도 적용되기 때문에 GNU는 이 프로그램과 파일 포맷을 사용하지 않습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If we released such a program, Unisys and IBM might think it wiser (for public relations reasons) not to sue a charity like the FSF.  They could instead sue the users of the program, including the companies who redistribute GNU software.  We feel it would not be responsible behavior for us to set up this situation.
ko: 만약 우리가 그런 프로그램을 배포한다면, Unisys와 IBM사는 대중 홍보의 이유에서 FSF와 같은 자선 단체는 고소하지 않는 것이 더 현명하다고 생각할 지 모릅니다. 대신에 그들은 GNU 소프트웨어를 재배포하는 회사들을 포함하여 그 프로그램의 사용자들을 고소할 수 있습니다. 우리는 그런 상황을 만드는 것은 책임있는 행동이 아니라고 생각합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Many people think that Unisys has given permission for distributing free software to make GIF format.  Unfortunately that is not what Unisys has actually done.  Here is what Unisys actually said about the matter in 1995:
ko: 많은 사람들은 Unisys사가 GIF 파일 포맷을 만들 수 있는 자유 소프트웨어의 배포를 허가했다고 생각합니다. 불행히도 Unisys사는 실제로 그런 일을 한 적이 없습니다. 다음은 Unisys가 1995년에 이 문제에 대해 실제로 말했던 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Unfortunately, this doesn't permit <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">free software</a> which can be used in a free operating system such as GNU.  It also does not permit <em>at all</em> the use of LZW for other purposes such as compression of files.  This is why we think it is still best to reject LZW, and switch to alternatives such as <a href="/software/gzip/gzip.html">GNU Gzip</a> and PNG.
ko: 불행히도 이것은 GNU와 같은 자유 운영 체제에서 사용될 수 있는 <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">자유 소프트웨어</a>를 허용한 것이 아닙니다. 또한, 이것은 파일의 압축과 같은 다른 목적을 위한 LZW의 사용을 허용한 것도 <strong>전혀</strong> 아닙니다. 이러한 이유로 인해서 우리는 LZW를 거부하고 <a href="/software/gzip/gzip.html">GNU zip</a>과 PNG와 같은 대안으로 전환하는 것이 최선이라고 아직 생각합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <a href="/philosophy/selling.html">Commercial redistribution of free software</a> is very important, and we want the GNU system as a whole to be redistributed commercially.  This means we can't add a GIF-generating program to GNU, not under the Unisys terms.
ko: <a href="/philosophy/selling.html">자유 소프트웨어의 상업적 재배포</a>는 매우 중요합니다. 그리고 우리는 GNU 시스템 전체가 상업적으로 재배포될 수 있기를 원합니다. 이것은 Unisys가 내세운 조건을 따르지 않으면, 우리가 GNU에 GIF를 만들어 내는 프로그램을 추가할 수 없다는 것을 의미합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Shortly after Unisys made its announcement, when the net in general was reassured thinking that Unisys had given permission for free GIF-generating software, we wrote to the Unisys legal department asking for clarification of these issues.  We did not receive a response.
ko: Unisys사가 그러한 발표를 한 직후에, Unisys사가 GIF를 만들어내는 자유 소프트웨어를 허용하였다고 생각하면서 대개의 네티즌들이 안심할 때, 우리는 Unisys사의 법률 관계 부서에 이 문제에 대한 명확한 설명을 요구하는 서한을 보냈습니다. 그러나 우리는 답신을 받지 못했습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Even if Unisys really did give permission for free software to generate GIFs, we would still have to deal with the IBM patent.  Both the IBM and the Unisys patents cover the same &ldquo;invention&rdquo;&mdash;the LZW compression algorithm.  (This could reflect an error on the part of the US Patent and Trademark Office, which is famous for incompetence and poor judgment.)
ko: 비록 Unisys가 GIF를 만들어내는 자유 소프트웨어를 정말로 허용한다고 하더라도, 우리는 여전히 IBM의 특허권을 처리해야만 합니다. IBM과 Unisys 두 회사의 특허권은 동일한 LZW 압축 알고리즘의 &ldquo;발명&rdquo;에 똑같이 적용됩니다.(이것은 무능력과 변변치 못한 판단으로 유명한 미국 특허청의 잘못을 반영하는 것일 수 있습니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Decoding GIFs is a different issue.  The Unisys and IBM patents are both written in such a way that they do not apply to a program which can only uncompress LZW format and cannot compress.  Therefore we can and will include support for displaying GIF files in GNU software.
ko: GIF 포맷을 디코딩하는 것은 별개의 문제입니다. Unisys와 IBM의 특허권은 LZW 파일을 압축하지 못하고 풀 수만 있는 프로그램에는 적용하지 못하게 되어 있습니다. 그래서 우리는 GNU 소프트웨어가 GIF 파일을 출력하는 것을 지원할 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Given this situation, we could still include GIF files in our web pages if we wanted to.  Many other people would be happy to generate them for us, and we would not be sued for having GIF files on our server.
ko: 이런 상황에서는, 우리가 원한다면 웹페이지에 GIF 파일을 계속해서 포함시킬 수 있습니다. 많은 사람들이 우리를 위해 기꺼이 GIF 파일을 만들어 줄 것이고, GNU 서버에 GIF 파일이 있다고 해서 우리가 고소당하지는 않을 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But we feel that if we can't distribute the software to enable people to generate GIF files properly, then we should not have other people run such software for us.  Besides, if we can't provide software in GNU to generate GIF files, we have to recommend an alternative.  We ourselves should use the alternative that we recommend.
ko: 하지만 만약 우리가 GIF 파일을 적절하게 만들 수 있는 소프트웨어를 배포할 수 없다면, 다른 사람들이 그런 소프트웨어를 사용하도록 권유할 수 없게 될 것입니다. 또한 우리가 GNU에서 GIF 파일을 만들어 내는 소프트웨어를 제공할 수 없다면, 우리는 다른 대안을 추천해야 합니다. 그리고 우리 스스로는 우리가 추천한 대안을 사용해야 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In 1999, Unisys had the following to say about the issue of their patent:
ko: 1999년에, Unisys는 자신들의 특허권에 대해서 다음과 같이 말했습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: Unisys has frequently been asked whether a Unisys license is required in order to use LZW software obtained by downloading from the Internet or from other sources. The answer is simple. In all cases, a written license agreement or statement signed by an authorized Unisys representative is required from Unisys for all use, sale or distribution of any software (including so-called &ldquo;freeware&rdquo;) and/or hardware providing LZW conversion capability (for example, downloaded software).
ko: Unisys사는 종종 인터넷이나 다른 출처로부터 다운로드하여 얻은 LZW 소프트웨어를 사용하기 위해서는 Unisys의 라이센스가 필요한 지에 대해 질문을 받습니다. 대답은 간단합니다. 모든 경우의 LZW 변환 능력을 제공하는 어떤 소프트웨어도(소위 말하는 &ldquo;무료 소프트웨어&rdquo;도 포함됨) 그리고 LZW 변환 기능을 제공하는 하드웨어는 그 사용이나 판매, 배포 등을 위해서 공인된 Unisys의 대표가 서명한 서면 라이선스 동의서나 합의서가 필요합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With this statement, Unisys is trying to take back what they said in 1995 when they gave parts of the patent to the public. The legality of such a move is questionable.
ko: 이런 언급으로 봐서, Unisys사는 그들이 특허권의 일부분을 대중에게 부여한다고 1995년에 자신들이 말했던 것을 되돌리려고 노력하고 있습니다. 그런 움직임의 적법성이 의심스럽습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A further issue is that the LZW patents&mdash;and computational idea patents in general&mdash;are an offense against the freedom of programmers generally, and all programmers need to work together to <a href="/philosophy/limit-patent-effect.html">protect software from patents.</a>
ko: 더욱 문제인 것은 LZW 특허와 일반적인 소프트웨어 특허가 프로그래머들의 자유에 대한 하나의 공격이라는 점이며, 모든 프로그래머들은 이러한 <a href="/philosophy/limit-patent-effect.html">소프트웨어 특허에 함께 대항</a>해 나갈 필요가 있다는 점입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So even if we could find a solution to enable the free software community to generate GIFs, that isn't really a solution, not for the problem as a whole.  The solution is switching to another format and not using GIF any more.
ko: 따라서 비록 자유 소프트웨어 공동체가 GIF 파일을 만들 수 있는 해결책을 찾을 수 있다고 하더라도, 그것은 문제를 전부 해결할 수 있는 진정한 해결책이 아닙니다. 해결책은 다른 파일 형식으로 대체하는 것이며 GIF를 더이상 사용하지 않는 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Therefore, we don't use GIF, and we hope you won't use it either.
ko: 그래서 우리는 GIF를 사용하지 않으며, 여러분도 그것을 사용하지 않기를 바랍니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is possible to make non-compressed images that act like GIFs, in that they work with programs that decode GIF format.  This can be done without infringing patents.  These pseudo-GIFs are useful for some purposes.
ko: GIF 파일 포맷을 디코드 하는 프로그램과 함께 움직이면서, GIF처럼 작동하는 압축되지 않은 이미지를 만드는 것은 가능합니다. 이것은 특허권을 침해하지 않고 이루어질 수 있으며 이러한 모조 GIF 포맷은 몇몇 목적에 유용합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is also possible to create GIFs using a patent-free run length encoding but this doesn't achieve the compression that one normally expects in a GIF.
ko: 특허에 무관한 RLE(Run-Lenght Encoding) 방식으로 GIF를 만드는 것도 가능합니다. 그러나 이것은 사람들이 일반적으로 GIF 파일에서 기대하는 압축 효과에 이르지 못합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We decided not to use these pseudo-GIFs on our web site because they are not a satisfactory solution to the community's problem.  They work, but they are very large.  What the web needs is a patent-free compressed format, not large pseudo-GIFs.
ko: 우리는 웹 사이트에 이런 모조 GIF를 사용하지 않기로 결정했습니다. 왜냐하면 그것은 공동체의 문제를 만족시키는 해결책이 아니기 때문입니다. 그것은 작동하지만 파일의 크기가 매우 큽니다. 웹에서 필요한 것은 크기가 큰 모조 GIF가 아니라 특허에 무관한 압축 포맷입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There is a library called libungif that reads gif files and writes uncompressed gifs to circumvent the Unisys patent.
ko: libungif 라이브러리는 Unisys사의 특허를 피해서 gif 파일을 읽고 압축되지 않은 gif 파일을 만들 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 김효준 <a href="mailto:hhanul@korea.gnu.org">&lt;hhanul@korea.gnu.org&gt;</a>, 2000년 9월 2일

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
