en to zh_CN translation catalogue (305 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: GNU &amp; The Free Software Foundation (Engineering Tech Talk at Google)  - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: GNU &amp; 自由软件基金会（在谷歌的工程技术演讲）- GNU 工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: GNU &amp; The Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: GNU &amp; 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Richard Stallman
zh_CN: Richard Stallman 著

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Engineering Tech Talk at Google, June 11, 2004
zh_CN: 2004年6月11日在谷歌的工程技术演讲

note: type: Content of: <div><div><h3>
en: Table of Contents
zh_CN: 目录

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#introduction">1. Introduction</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#introduction">1. 简介</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#how-it-started">2. How it started</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#how-it-started">2. 怎么开始的</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#gnu-operating-system">3. GNU operating system</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#gnu-operating-system">3. GNU 操作系统</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#expensive-habits">5. Expensive habits</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#expensive-habits">5. 奢侈的习惯</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#definition-of-free-software">6. Definition of free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#definition-of-free-software">6. 自由软件的定义</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#freedom-2-moral-dilemma">7. Freedom 2 moral dilemma</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#freedom-2-moral-dilemma">7. 自由之二——道德困境</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#freedom-2-spirit-of-good-will">8. Freedom 2 spirit of good will</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#freedom-2-spirit-of-good-will">8. 自由之二——美好愿望</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#freedom-0-to-run-a-program-freedom-1-to-modify-it">9.  Freedom 0 to run a program, Freedom 1 to modify it</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#freedom-0-to-run-a-program-freedom-1-to-modify-it">9. 自由之零——运行程序，自由之一——修改程序</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#drm-back-doors-bugs">10. DRM, back doors, bugs</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#drm-back-doors-bugs">10. DRM、后门、缺陷</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#freedom-3-having-no-master">11. Freedom 3 having no master</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#freedom-3-having-no-master">11. 自由之三——无需主人</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#copyleft-forbidding-is-forbidden">12. Copyleft forbidding is forbidden</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#copyleft-forbidding-is-forbidden">12. Copyleft：禁止限制</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#general-public-license">13. General Public License</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#general-public-license">13. 通用公共许可证</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#developing-gnu">13a. Developing GNU</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#developing-gnu">13a. 开发 GNU</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#making-money-off-free-software">14. Making money off free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#making-money-off-free-software">14. 通过自由软件赚钱</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#why-write-free-software">15. Why write free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#why-write-free-software">15. 为什么撰写自由软件</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#linux-kernel">16. Linux kernel</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#linux-kernel">16. Linux 内核</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#gnu-vs-linux-confusion-problem-freedom">17. GNU vs. Linux confusion problem freedom</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#gnu-vs-linux-confusion-problem-freedom">17. GNU 与 Linux 让自由有所混淆</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#enemies-of-free-software">18. Enemies of free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#enemies-of-free-software">18. 自由软件的敌人</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#treacherous-computing">19. Treacherous computing</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#treacherous-computing">19. 背叛的计算</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#help-gnu">20. Help GNU</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#help-gnu">20. 帮助 GNU</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#saint-ignucius">21. Saint Ignucius</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#saint-ignucius">21. Emacs 之圣（Saint Ignucius）</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#about-anonymity-credit-cards-cell-phones">22. About anonymity, credit cards, cell phones</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#about-anonymity-credit-cards-cell-phones">22.关于匿名、信用卡、手机</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#free-formats-copyright-microsoft">23. Free formats, copyright, Microsoft</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#free-formats-copyright-microsoft">23. 自由格式、版权、微软</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#dangers-of-webmail-loss-of-freedom">24. Dangers of webmail loss of freedom</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#dangers-of-webmail-loss-of-freedom">24. 网络邮箱有失去自由的危险</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#copyright-art-vs-software">25. Copyright art vs. software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#copyright-art-vs-software">25. 艺术版权与软件版权</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#malicious-free-software">26. Malicious free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#malicious-free-software">26. 有害的自由软件</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#patented-file-formats">27. Patented file formats</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#patented-file-formats">27. 专利文件格式</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#games-as-free-software">28. Games as free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#games-as-free-software">28. 作为自由软件的游戏</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#gpl-freedoms-for-cars-saving-seeds">29. GPL freedoms for cars, saving seeds</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#gpl-freedoms-for-cars-saving-seeds">29. GPL 带给汽车的自由，保存种子</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#no-software-is-better-than-non-free-software">30. No software is better than nonfree software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#no-software-is-better-than-non-free-software">30. 没有软件也比非自由软件强</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#portability-of-free-software">31. Portability of free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#portability-of-free-software">31. 自由软件的可移植性</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#is-some-free-software-obfuscated-on-purpose">32. Is some free software obfuscated on purpose?</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#is-some-free-software-obfuscated-on-purpose">32. 某些自由软件故意做了代码混淆吗？</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#proprietary-keeping-an-edge">33. Proprietary keeping an edge</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#proprietary-keeping-an-edge">33. 专有具有优势</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#forbidding-is-forbidden-how-is-this-freedom">34.  Forbidding is forbidden how is this freedom?</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#forbidding-is-forbidden-how-is-this-freedom">34. 禁止就是禁止，如何变成自由？</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#can-google-help-free-software">35. Can Google help free software</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#can-google-help-free-software">35. 谷歌可否帮助自由软件</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#free-software-on-windows-good-or-bad">36. Free software on windows, good or bad</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#free-software-on-windows-good-or-bad">36. windows 下的自由软件，好事还是坏事</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#scos-suit">37. SCO's suit</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#scos-suit">37. SCO 诉讼案</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#stallmans-problem-typing">38. Stallman's problem typing</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#stallmans-problem-typing">38. Stallman 的打字问题</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#open-source-good-or-bad-pat-riot-act">39. Open source, good or bad Pat-riot Act</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#open-source-good-or-bad-pat-riot-act">39. 开源，好的还是坏的策略</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li>
en: <a href="#the-end">40. The end</a>
zh_CN: <a href="#the-end">40. 结尾</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 1. Introduction
zh_CN: 1. 简介

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>ED:</b> Well, thank you everybody for making it. I'm Ed Falk and this man needs very little introduction; if you don't know what the letters RMS stand for, you probably don't belong in this room.
zh_CN: <b>ED：</b>感谢大家。我是 Ed Falk，而我旁边的这位先生无需多做介绍；如果你不知道 RMS 三个字母代表的含义，也许我得说你可能来错了会议室。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Richard was the founder of the Free Software Foundation, in 1984 I believe it was, and as such could be considered the father of free software and, of course, Google's infrastructure is based on free software. So we owe the free software movement quite a great deal of thanks. [And my mic is dying on this microphone so I won't talk too long.] This is Richard Stallman and we thank him for being here on short notice and we thank our mutual friend Lile Elam who arranged all of this and I think with no further ado, I give you Richard!
zh_CN: Richard 是自由软件基金会的创始人，我记得该基金会创立于1984年，所以他可以看作是自由软件之父。当然，谷歌的设施基于自由软件，所以我们得非常感谢自由软件运动。[我的麦克风就要不行了，所以我不能说太多。]这位是 Richard Stallman，我们非常感谢他能在短时间内接受邀请来到这里，感谢我们共同的朋友 Lile Elam 对此的安排。闲言少叙，有请 Richard！

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [Richard bows]
zh_CN: [Richard 鞠躬致意]

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 2. How it started
zh_CN: 2. 怎么开始的

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Please raise your hands if you cannot hear me.  [Laughter] Yes, somebody raised his hand.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>如果你听不见我说话，请举手。[笑声]是的，有人举手。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, the topic of my speech is free software. I didn't begin free software; there was free software going back to the early days of computing. As soon as there were a couple of computers of the same model, people could try sharing software. And they did.
zh_CN: 今天的话题是自由软件。并不是我开始的自由软件；在计算机的早期就有了自由软件。一旦有了几个同样的计算机后，人们大概就可以共享软件。人们就是这么做的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: {This is not&hellip; This has a problem. How do we stop the feedback? Can someone do anything? I'm willing to get some feedback, but only from you, not from the PA system.
zh_CN: {这不行&hellip;&hellip;这有问题。如何消除回声？有人可以处理吗？我愿意接受反馈，不是来自话筒，而是来自听众。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> [unintelligible]
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>[听不清]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, that doesn't matter; I'm not an advocate of open source and never was and never will be.}
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>没关系；我不提倡开源，过去没有，将来也不会。}

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So free software existed before I started programming and I had the good fortune, in the 1970s, of being part of a community of programmers who shared software. So I learned about free software as a way of life, by living it. And I came to appreciate what it meant to be free to share with people, not divided from the rest of the world by attitudes of secrecy and hostility.
zh_CN: 所以自由软件早在我开始编程之前就已经有了，而我有幸在1970年代参与到一个分享软件的程序员社区。因此，分享软件是我身处其中学到的一种生活方式。我欣赏有自由与人分享的意义，而不是因敌意和为保守秘密而与世界分裂的生活。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But that community died in the early '80s and I found myself confronted by the prospect of spending the rest of my life in a world of proprietary software. And, worst of all, confronted by the prospect of signing a non-disclosure agreement {which I}. And I had concluded that it is unethical to sign a non-disclosure agreement for generally useful technical information, such as software. To promise not to share with one's fellows is a violation of human solidarity. So when I saw that the machine downstairs was asking me to sign an NDA, I just said, &ldquo;I can't sign an NDA.&rdquo; Well, fortunately, there was an option; they let me come in here and speak without signing it, otherwise you would have had to go outside to listen. [Laughter]
zh_CN: 但是该社区在1980年代早期消亡了，而我发现自己将面对在一个专有软件世界里度过余生的前程。最惨的是，要面对一个需签署保密协议的前程 {这个我}。我早已认定为软件这样的通用技术信息签署保密协议是不道德的，而发誓不和同伴分享违反人类团结。因此，当我看到楼下的机器让我签署保密协议时，我直接说，&ldquo;我不能签。&rdquo;幸运的是，还有一个选项：他们让我过来演讲而不签保密协议。否则，你们就得到别的地方听我的演讲了。[笑声]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: (They asked a couple of other interesting questions; they asked about company, so I said I'm available tonight. [Looking at name tag][Laughter] And they asked for my host, so I put down fencepost.gnu.org. But that's just the hacker spirit.)
zh_CN: （他们还问了一些有趣的问题。他们问我公司的事，我说我今晚就可以。[看着名牌][笑声]他们又问我的接待人，我给了 fencepost.gnu.org。但这就是黑客精神。）

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I found myself in a situation where the only way you could get a modern computer and start to use it was to sign a non-disclosure agreement for some proprietary operating system. Because all the operating systems for modern computers in 1983 were proprietary, and there was no lawful way to get a copy of those operating systems without signing a non-disclosure agreement, which was unethical. So I decided to try to do something about it, to try to change that situation. And the only way I could think of to change it was to write another operating system, and then say as the author &ldquo;this system is free; you can have it without a non-disclosure agreement and you're welcome to redistribute it to other people. You're welcome to study how it works. You're welcome to change it.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 我发现我的处境是如果我要使用一个现代计算机，我就得签署一个专有操作系统的保密协议。因为在1983年所有现代计算机的操作系统都是专有的，不签署保密协议，人们就无法得到这些操作系统的合法拷贝，这是不道德的。因此，我决定做点什么来改变这种处境。我能想到的唯一方法就是撰写另一个操作系统，然后以作者的身份说，&ldquo;这个系统是自由的；你可以不签署保密协议就获得拷贝，而且欢迎你把它分享给其他人，欢迎你学习它的工作原理，欢迎你改变它。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, instead of being divided and helpless, the users of this system would live in freedom. Ordinary proprietary software is part of a scheme where users are deliberately kept divided and helpless. The program comes with a license that says you're forbidden to share it, and in most cases you can't get the source code, so you can't study it or change it. It may even have malicious features and you can't tell. With free software, we respect the user's freedom, and that's the whole point. The reason for the free software movement is so that the people of cyberspace can have freedom, so that there is a way to live in freedom and still use a computer, to avoid being kept divided and helpless.
zh_CN: 因此，不用变得分裂和无助，使用该系统的用户将生活在自由之中。专有软件的常用策略就是故意让用户分裂和无助。这些程序的许可证说，禁止分享，而且大多数情况下，你得不到源代码，所以你无法学习和改变它。它可能还带有你无法识别的恶意功能。而自由软件尊重用户的自由，这才是重点。自由软件运动的原因就是让数字世界的人们获得自由，这样他们就能够自由生活并使用计算机，避免被分裂和变得无助。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 3. GNU operating system
zh_CN: 3. GNU 操作系统

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You can't use a computer without an operating system, so a free software operating system was absolutely essential. And in 1983 I announced my plan to develop one: an operating system called GNU.
zh_CN: 没有操作系统你就无法使用计算机，所以自由操作系统绝对重要。在1983年，我宣布了开发一个自由操作系统的计划：一个叫做 GNU 的操作系统。.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I had decided to make the system UNIX-like so that it would be portable. The operating system that we had used for many years at the Artificial Intelligence Lab was the Incompatible Timesharing System, or ITS. It had been written in assembler language for the PDP-10, so when Digital discontinued the PDP-10, our many years of work turned into dust and blew away. I didn't want to write another system and have the same thing happen, so I decided this system had better be portable. But there was only one successful portable operating system I knew of, and that was UNIX. So I decided to follow the design of UNIX, figuring that way I'd have a good chance of succeeding in making a system that was useful and portable. And then I decided to make the system upward-compatible with the interfaces of UNIX, and the reason for this was so that users could switch to it without an incompatible change.
zh_CN: 我决定让这个操作系统类似 UNIX，这样它就可移植。我们在人工智能实验室用了多年的系统是不兼容分时系统，ITS。它是在 PDP-10 上用汇编写的，因此当 Digital 公司不再生产 PDP-10 后，我们多年的工作就付之东流了。我不想再写一个操作系统而又重蹈覆辙，所以我决定让这个系统最好是可移植的。但是我所知的成功的可移植操作系统只有一个，就是 UNIX。所以我决定按照 UNIX 的设计来开发，认为这样我就很可能成功开发出一个既有用又可移植的系统。然后，我又决定让这个系统的接口和 UNIX 兼容，理由就是这样用户就可以直接使用而没有兼容性的更改。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I realized that I could take the best ideas from the various systems I had helped develop or use and add my pet ideas and make my dream operating system. But this would have been incompatible, and the users would mostly have rejected it, saying &ldquo;it would be too much work to switch, so we're just not going to.&rdquo; So, by making the system upward-compatible with UNIX, I could spare the users that obstacle and make more of a chance that users would actually use the system.
zh_CN: 我有想过把我使用过和开发过的各种操作系统的优点以及我的一些点子加在一起，开发出我心中理想的操作系统。但是那样就会不兼容，而用户大概不太能接受，会说 &ldquo;切换太费劲了，所以还是不用了。&rdquo;因此，让系统和 UNIX 兼容，我就能减少用户的困难而更有机会让用户用这个系统。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If the users had rejected it, I would have had a perfect excuse. I could have said &ldquo;I offered them freedom and they rejected it; it's their fault.&rdquo; But I wanted to make more than just an excuse. I wanted to build a community where people would actually live in freedom, which meant I had to develop a system people would actually use. So I decided to make the system upward-compatible with UNIX.
zh_CN: 如果用户拒绝了该系统，我也许还有不错的借口。我会说 &ldquo;我给过他们自由，他们拒绝了；这是他们的问题。&rdquo;但是我不想只有借口，我要创立一个社区。在这个社区，人们可以自由生活，就是说我开发的系统真的有人用。所以我决定让这个系统兼容 UNIX。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, UNIX consists of many components that communicate through interfaces that are more or less documented. And the users use those interfaces. So to be compatible with UNIX required using the same interfaces, which meant that the initial design decisions were already made, except one: what range of target machines to support. UNIX had been designed to support 16-bit machines, which was a lot of extra work, because programs had to be kept small; so I decided to save that extra work by not supporting anything less than a 32-bit machine. I figured it would take many years to get the system done and by then people would normally be using 32-bit machines anyway, and that turned out to be true.
zh_CN: UNIX 由许多部件构成，它们通过多少有些文档的接口互相通信。用户会使用这些接口，所以和 UNIX 兼容就要求使用同样的接口，这就意味着初始设计已经定好了，除了一件事：我要支持哪些硬件。UNIX 支持16位的机器，因为程序要尽量小，所以有很多额外的工作量；所以我决定不支持32位以下的机器来省去这部分额外的工作。我考虑开发系统要花很多年，系统完成时，人们一般都在使用32位的机器了，而后来真的是这样。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So then the only thing that I needed before I could start work was a name. Now, to be a hacker means to enjoy playful cleverness&mdash;in programming, and in other areas of life, any area of life [where] you could be playfully clever. And there was a hacker tradition that when you were writing a program that was similar to some existing program, you could give your new program a name that's a recursive acronym, saying it is not the other program.
zh_CN: 此时，开始工作前的事情就只剩下起一个名字。作为一名黑客，就是要享受带幽默感的机智&mdash;&mdash;无论编程，无论生活的其他方面，乃至生活的各个方面都可以机智应对。当时有一个黑客传统，你要写一个类似已有程序的新程序时，你可以给新程序起一个递归缩写的名字，表达这个程序不是原来的程序。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For instance, in the '60s and '70s there were many TECO text editors, more or less similar; typically each system would have a TECO and it would be called something-or-other-TECO. But one clever hacker called his program TINT, for &ldquo;TINT Is Not TECO&rdquo;&mdash;the first recursive acronym.  And we thought that was very funny.  So after I developed the first Emacs extensible text editor in 1975, there were many imitations, and some were called this-or-that-Emacs. But one was called FINE for &ldquo;FINE Is Not Emacs&rdquo; and there was SINE for &ldquo;SINE Is Not Emacs,&rdquo; and EINE for &ldquo;EINE Is Not Emacs,&rdquo; and MINCE for &ldquo;MINCE Is Not Complete Emacs.&rdquo; Then EINE was mostly rewritten, and version two was called ZWEI for &ldquo;ZWEI Was EINE Initially.&rdquo; [Laughter]
zh_CN: 比如，在60、70年代有很多 TECO 文本编辑器，大家类似；一般来说每个系统都会有一个 TECO，它们也可以叫做某某 TECO。但是一个聪明的黑客把他的程序叫做 TINT，意思是 &ldquo;TINT Is Not TECO（TINI 不是 TECO）&rdquo;&mdash;&mdash;第一个递归缩写。我们觉得这个很有趣。因此，我在1975年开发了第一个 Emacs 可扩展文本编辑器后，有很多模仿程序，有些就叫做某某 Emacs。但是有一个叫做 FINE，意思是 &ldquo;FINE Is Not Emacs（FINE 不是 Emacs）&rdquo;，另一个叫做 SINE，意思是 &ldquo;SINE Is Not Emacs（SINE 不是 Emacs）&rdquo;，还有一个是 EINE，意思是 &ldquo;EINE Is Not Emacs&rdquo;，再有就是 MINCE，意思是 &ldquo;MINCE Is Not Complete Emacs（MINCE 不全是 Emacs）&rdquo;。后来 EINE 又重写，第二版叫做 ZWEI，意思是 &ldquo;ZWEI Was EINE Initially（ZWEI 原来是 EINE）&rdquo;。[笑声]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I looked for a recursive acronym for &ldquo;Something is not UNIX,&rdquo; but the usual four-letter method was no good, because none of those was a word. And if it doesn't have some other meaning, it's not funny. So I thought, &ldquo;what else can I do, hmm?&rdquo; Nothing came to me, so I thought, &ldquo;I'll make a contraction, then I could get a three-letter recursive acronym.&rdquo; I started substituting all 26 letters: ANU, BNU, CNU, DNU, ENU, FNU, GNU! Well, &ldquo;gnu&rdquo; is the funniest word in the English language, so that had to be the choice. If you can call something &ldquo;GNU,&rdquo; it makes no sense to pick anything else.
zh_CN: 所以我就在找一个递归缩写，类似 &ldquo;某某 is not UNIX&rdquo;，但是通常的四个字母不是太好找，因为它们本身都不是单词。如果名字没有其他的意思，就不那么好玩了。然后我就在想，&ldquo;还有什么办法？&rdquo;毫无头绪，所以我又想，&ldquo;我可以缩短一点，这样我就可以用三个字母的递归缩写&rdquo;。我开始按照26个字母一个一个替换：ANU、BNU、CNU、DNU、ENU、FNU、GNU！好了，&ldquo;gnu&rdquo; 是英语里最好玩的一个单词，所以就选了它。如果你可以叫它 &ldquo;GNU&rdquo;，那么其他的就不用选了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, of course, the reason why the word &ldquo;gnu&rdquo; is used for so much word-play is that, according to the dictionary, it's pronounced &ldquo;new.&rdquo; So people started asking each other, &ldquo;hey, what's g-nu,&rdquo; as a joke, long before you could answer &ldquo;GNU's Not UNIX.&rdquo; But now you can give that answer and the best part is, it sounds like you're obnoxiously telling the person what it isn't, instead of answering his question. But the fact is, you're giving the exact meaning of GNU; so you are, in fact, answering the question in the most exact possible way, but it gives the appearance that you're refusing to.
zh_CN: 当然，&ldquo;gnu&rdquo; 一词常常被用来做词语游戏的原因是，根据辞典。它的发音是 &ldquo;牛（new）&rdquo;。因此，人们开始互相询问，&ldquo;嗨，g-nu 是什么&rdquo;，就像在讲一个笑话，最后才得到答案 &ldquo;GNU's Not UNIX（GNU 不是 UNIX）&rdquo;。你可以给出答案，最有趣的部分是，看起来你不是在告诉答案，而是在告诉问的人 GNU 不是什么。但是事实上，你就是在给出 GNU 的确切含义；因此，你在认真回答问题，但看起来你在拒绝回答。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In any case, when it's the name of our operating system, please pronounce a hard G; don't follow the dictionary. If you talk about the &ldquo;new&rdquo; operating system, you'll get people very confused. We've been working on it for 20 years now, so it's not new anymore. But it still is, and always will be, GNU, no matter how many people call it Linux by mistake.
zh_CN: 不过，当它指的是操作系统的名字的时候，请发出 G 的音；不要用字典的发音。如果你说 &ldquo;牛（new）&rdquo; 操作系统，人们会很迷惑。我们已经为此工作了20年，它不再是一个新（new） 操作系统了。但它还是 GNU，也一直会是 GNU，无论多少人错误地称之为 Linux。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: {[<b>AUDIENCE:</b> unintelligible] [<b>RICHARD:</b> Thank you!]}
zh_CN: {[<b>观众：</b> 听不清] [<b>RICHARD：</b> 谢谢！]}

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, having the name I could start work. I quit my job at MIT to begin writing pieces of the GNU operating system, in January 1984. I had to quit my job because, had I remained an MIT employee, that would have enabled MIT to claim to own all the code I was writing, and MIT could have turned it into proprietary software products. And since MIT had already done that kind of thing, I certainly couldn't trust them not to do so here. And I didn't want to have to argue with the MIT administration about all the details of the license I was going to use.  So, by quitting my job, I took them out of the equation, and I have never had a job since then. However, the head of the AI Lab was nice enough to let me keep using the facilities, so I began using a UNIX machine at the AI Lab to start bootstrapping pieces of the GNU system.
zh_CN: 有了名字之后，我可以开始工作了。我辞去了在 MIT 的工作，开始编写 GNU 操作系统的各个部分。我必须辞去工作，因为如果我还是 MIT 的员工，那么 MIT 有资格宣称拥有我写的代码，并且 MIT 可以把它变成专有软件。因为 MIT 曾经做过这样的事情，所以我当然不能相信他们不会再做。我也不想和 MIT 的管理部门争论我要使用的许可证的各种细节。辞去工作之后，我就摆脱了这些问题，自那以后我都没有再找过工作。不过，人工智能实验室的领导很不错，他们让我继续使用实验室的设施，我开始使用实验室的一台 UNIX 机器启动我的 GNU 系统。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I had never used UNIX before that time. I was never a UNIX wizard and I chose to follow the design of UNIX for the exact reason that I've told you, not because UNIX was my favorite system or anything. Sometimes people write that it was changes in UNIX's licensing policy that inspired GNU. Well, this is not true; in fact, UNIX was never free software. They were more or less restrictive and more or less nasty about enforcing the requirements, but it was never free software, so those changes actually made no difference and, in any case, they took place long before I ever saw an actual UNIX machine.
zh_CN: 此前，我并未使用过 UNIX。我也不是 UNIX 高手，而我采用 UNIX 设计的原因就象我告诉你们的那样，而不是因为 UNIX 是我最喜欢的系统。有时，人们会写文章说因为 UNIX 改变了许可证而激发了 GNU。不是那样的；实际上，UNIX 从来也不是自由软件。它们的限制或多或少，强制性要求也有多有少，但从它们来不是自由软件，所以许可证的改变实际上没有什么区别；而且，这些更改早在我看到第一台实际的 UNIX 机器前就发生了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, at the time, I thought that I and the other people I was recruiting to try to help would develop all these pieces and make a complete system and then we'd say, &ldquo;come and get it.&rdquo; But that's not how it happened. In September '84, I started developing GNU Emacs, which was my second implementation of the extensible programmable text editor. And by early '85, it was suitable for me to do all my editing with it. Now, that was a big relief. You see, I had absolutely no intention of learning to use Vi. [Laughter, applause] So, until that point, I did my editing on other machines where there was an Emacs and copied the files through the net, in order to test them on the UNIX machine. Once GNU Emacs was running, I could do my editing on the UNIX machine.
zh_CN: 那时侯，我曾想我和我招募的伙伴会开发所有的模块并完成整个系统，然后我们会说，&ldquo;来吧，拿去用。&rdquo;但是事情并不是那样发展的。1984年夏天，我开始开发 GNU Emacs，这是我第二次实现这个可扩展编程的文字编辑器。到1985年初，它已经可以让我做所有的编辑任务了。我感到特别释然。你们知道，我毫无学习使用 Vi（另一个文字编辑器） 的愿望。[笑声，鼓掌]直到那一刻，我一直都在其他有 Emacs 的机器上编辑，然后通过网络复制文件。当 GNU Emacs 运行起来之后，我就可以直接在 UNIX 机器上编辑了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But other people wanted to get copies of GNU Emacs to use it for their editing, to use it on their UNIX systems. There was no GNU system yet, there were just a few pieces. But this one piece turned out to be interesting by itself. People asked me for copies, so I had to work out the details of how to distribute it. Of course, I put a copy in the anonymous FTP server, and that was good for people on the net, but in 1985, most programmers were not on the Internet. So they asked me for copies; what was I going to say? I could have said, &ldquo;I want to spend my time writing more pieces of the GNU system, not writing mag tapes, so please find a friend who can download it and put it on tape for you,&rdquo; and they would have found people sooner or later, because programmers generally know other programmers.
zh_CN: 可是还有其他人想要得到 GNU Emacs 的拷贝并在他们的 UNIX 系统上编辑文本。当时还没有 GNU 系统，只有那么几个模块。不过 GNU Emacs 本身引起了大家的兴趣。人们开始向我要拷贝，所以我不得不考虑如何发布的问题。当然，我在匿名 FTP 服务器上放了拷贝，这对有网络的人是好的，但是在1985年，大多数程序员还没有互联网。所以，他们还是问我要拷贝；我该怎么说呢？我也许会说，&ldquo;我还要花时间为 GNU 系统写更多的模块，而不是写磁带，所以你可以找一个有网络的朋友帮你下载然后复制在磁带上给你&rdquo;，人们迟早会找到人，因为程序员一般认识其他程序员。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 5. Expensive habits
zh_CN: 5. 奢侈的习惯

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But I had no job, and I was looking for some way to make some money through my work on free software. So I announced, &ldquo;send me $150 and I'll mail you a tape of GNU Emacs.&rdquo; And the orders began dribbling in. By the middle of the year, they were trickling in, eight to ten orders a month, which, if necessary, I could have lived on.
zh_CN: 但是当时我没有工作，而且在寻找通过自由软件挣钱的方法。所以我宣告，&ldquo;给我 $150，我就会寄给你 GNU Emacs 的磁带。&rdquo;订单开始一点点进来。到了年中，订单多起来，每个月有八到十单，这个让我有了必要时的生活来源。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: That's because I make efforts to resist expensive habits. An expensive habit is like a trap; it's dangerous. Now most Americans have the exact opposite attitude: if they make this much money, they look for how to spend this much, [makes ample gesture] which is completely imprudent. So they start buying houses and cars and boats and planes and rare stamps and artwork and adventure travel and children, [laughter] all sorts of expensive luxuries that use up a lot of the world's resources, especially the children.
zh_CN: 因为我努力抵制了奢侈的习惯。奢侈的习惯就像一个陷阱：很危险。大多数美国人和我有相反的态度：他们挣多少钱，就会打算花多少钱，[做了一个富足的手势]这非常不明智。他们开始购买房子、汽车、游艇、飞机、稀有邮票、艺术品、探险旅游以及生孩子，[笑声]这些是消耗很多资源的奢侈活动，特别是生孩子。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And then, the next thing they know, they've got to desperately struggle all day long to get money to pay for these things, so they have no time even to enjoy them, which is especially sad when it's a matter of children.  The other things, I guess, can get repossessed. So then they become puppets of money, unable to decide what they're going to do with their lives. If you don't want to be a puppet of money, then resist the expensive habits, so that the less you need to spend to live on, the more flexibility you've got and the less of your life you're forced to spend to make that money.
zh_CN: 然后，下面的事情就是他们不顾一切地每日奋斗来挣钱支付这些奢侈活动，以至于他们根本没有时间来享受这一切，对小孩来说尤其悲哀。因为其他的东西，我觉得，应该可以被收回。所以，他们成了金钱的玩偶，无法决定如何度过自己的生命。如果你不想成为金钱的玩偶，那么请抵制奢侈的习惯。这样，你的生活成本越低，你的灵活度就越高，你就越不用强迫自己去挣那份钱。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I still live, basically, like a student, and I want it to be that way.
zh_CN: 因此，我基本上还是过着学生式的生活，而且知足常乐。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 6. Definition of free software
zh_CN: 6. 自由软件的定义

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But people sometimes used to say to me, &ldquo;what do you mean, it's free software, if it costs $150?&rdquo; Well, the English word &ldquo;free&rdquo; has multiple meanings and they were confused by that. It even took me a few years to realize that I needed to clarify this. One meaning, you see, refers to price, and another meaning refers to freedom. When we speak of free software, we're talking about freedom, not price. So think of &ldquo;free speech,&rdquo; not &ldquo;free beer.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 但是人们过去常对我说，&ldquo;你什么意思，这是 free 软件，为什么要花 $150？&rdquo;在英语中，&ldquo;free&rdquo; 有好几个意思，是人们搞混了。我也是花了几年的时间才意识到我应该澄清一下。free 的一个意思指的是价格，另一个意思是自由。当我们说 free 软件时，我们指的是自由，不是价格。此时，请想象一下 &ldquo;言论自由&rdquo;，而不是 &ldquo;免费午餐&rdquo;。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some users got their copies of GNU Emacs from me through the net, and did not pay. Some users got their copies from me on a tape, and did pay.  And some got their copies from someone else, not from me, because everyone who had a copy was free to redistribute it. And did they pay that somebody else? Well, I don't know; that was between them. They didn't have to tell me. So GNU Emacs was gratis for some users and paid for for other users, but it was free software for all of them, because all of them had certain essential freedoms, which are the definition of free software.
zh_CN: 有些用户从网络上获取我提供的 GNU Emacs 副本，没有花钱。有些用户从我寄的磁带获得了副本，花了钱。还有用户从其他人那里而不是我这里获得了副本，因为有副本的人都有自由再分发给别人。那么这些用户付钱了吗？我不知道；这是他们之间的事。他们没必要告诉我。所以，GNU Emacs 对有些人是免费的，对有些人则是花钱的，但是对他们都是自由软件，因为他们都获得了一些重要的自由，这就是自由软件的定义。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So let me now give you the definition of free software. You see, it's very easy to say &ldquo;I'm in favor of freedom.&rdquo; I mean, even Bush can say that. [Laughter] I don't think he knows what it means. But the point is, unless you make a person get more specific, it's just cheap talk. So let me give you&mdash;let me get more specific now, and give you the definition of free software.
zh_CN: 现在让我来告诉你自由软件的定义。你知道，说 &ldquo;我支持自由&rdquo; 非常容易。我是说，布什总统也可以这么说。[笑声]我觉得他不知道那意味着什么。但是关键在于，除非你让人了解到具体的意义，否则只是空谈。因此，让我来&mdash;&mdash;具体一些，给出自由软件的定义。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A program is free software for you, a particular user, if you have the following four freedoms:
zh_CN: 一个程序对作为用户的你而言是自由软件，如果你有以下四个自由：

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Freedom 0 is the freedom to run the program however you like; Freedom 1 is the freedom to help yourself by studying the source code to see what the program really does and then changing it to do what you want; Freedom 2 is the freedom to help your neighbor by distributing copies to others; and Freedom 3 is the freedom to help build your community, that is the freedom to publish a modified version so others can benefit from your changes;
zh_CN: 自由之零是你有自由按自己的意愿运行该程序；自由之一是你有自由通过学习程序的源代码了解它究竟做了什么，然后按照自己的意愿修改它，让它按照自己的意愿运行；自由之二是你有自由通过把该程序分发给友邻而帮助他们；自由之三是你有自由帮助社区的建立，就是说你有自由发布你修改的版本，让大家从中获益。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: All four of these freedoms are essential. They are not levels of freedom, they are four freedoms, all of which you must have in order for the program to qualify as free software. All of these are freedoms that no computer user should ever be denied.
zh_CN: 所有这四个自由都很重要。它们不分层级，它们是四个自由，你必须全部拥有，程序才能称为自由软件。计算机用户永远也不能被剥夺这些自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 7. Freedom 2 moral dilemma
zh_CN: 7. 自由之二——道德困境

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Why these particular freedoms? Why should we define it this way?
zh_CN: 为什么是这些自由？我们为什么这么定义自由软件？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Freedom 2 is necessary so that you can live an upright life, so that you can be ethical, be a good member of society. If you use a program that does not give you Freedom 2, the freedom to help your neighbor, the freedom to distribute copies to others, then you are facing a potential moral dilemma that could happen at any moment, when somebody comes up and says, &ldquo;could I have a copy of that program?&rdquo; At that point, what are you going to do? You're forced to choose between two evils. One evil is to make a copy of the program for that person and violate the license.  The other evil is to comply with the license, but be a bad neighbor. So you've got to choose the lesser evil, which is to make a copy for that person and violate the license. [Laughter, applause]
zh_CN: 要作为一个有道德的社会成员堂堂正正地生活，自由之二就是必须的。如果你使用的程序没有给你自由之二——让你可以帮助友邻的自由、让你可以分发程序给他人的自由，那么你将随时面临一个道德困境：当有人对你说，&ldquo;我可否获得那个程序的副本？&rdquo;此时，你要如何去做？你将被迫在两个恶魔之间做选择。一个恶魔是违反许可证、复制一份软件。另一个恶魔是遵守许可证、做个不友好的社区成员。因此，你可能会选择那个不太恶的恶魔——违反许可证，复制一份软件给那个人。[笑声、掌声]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You see, in this case, this evil is lesser because it's directed at somebody who intentionally tried to divide you from the rest of society, and thus did something extremely wrong to you; and therefore deserves it. However, it's not good to live your life by lying to people. When somebody {asks you to promise that} says, &ldquo;I'll let you have a copy of this, but you'll have to promise not to share it with anyone,&rdquo; the right thing to do is say no. Once you have thought about this moral dilemma, you should anticipate that when you start using that program it's going to lead you to choose between two evils, and therefore you should refuse to use that program. You should just say &ldquo;no, thanks&rdquo; to it, and that's the principle that I believe in. If someone offers me a program that I'm not free to share with you, I'm going to say no, on principle.
zh_CN: 你知道，此时这个恶魔不太恶，因为它针对的是故意要把你从社区分裂的人，而这非常错误；因此它咎由自取。不过，做一个不诚实的人并不好受。当有人 {让你承诺} 说，&ldquo;我给你一份副本，但是你必须承诺不给其他人。&rdquo;正确的事情是说不。一旦你想明白这个道德困境，你就知道当你开始使用那个程序时，你就要在两个恶魔之间做选择，所以你应该拒绝使用那个程序。你应该说 &ldquo;不，谢谢&rdquo;，这就是我坚信的原则。如果有人给我一个程序，而我没有分享给其他人的自由，那么我会根据原则说不。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In fact, I was once in the audience when John Perry Barlow was giving a speech and he said, &ldquo;raise your hands if you have no unauthorized copies of software.&rdquo; And he was surprised to see someone raise his hand, until he saw it was me. And then he said, &ldquo;oh, of course, you,&rdquo; because he knew why I have no unauthorized copies; that's because all my copies of software are free software, and everybody's authorized to make copies. That's the whole point.
zh_CN: 事实上，有一次 John Perry Barlow 做演讲时，我也是一名观众。他说，&ldquo;如果你没有未授权的软件副本，请举手。&rdquo;他看到有人举手时非常意外，直到他认出那个举手的人是我。然后他说，&ldquo;奥，当然，是你。&rdquo;因为他知道我没有未授权的软件副本；因为我的软件都是自由软件，所有人都有权拥有副本。这就是重点。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 8. Freedom 2 spirit of good will
zh_CN: 8. 自由之二——美好愿望

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The most essential resource of any society is the spirit of good will, the willingness to help your neighbor; not necessarily every time you're asked, but fairly often. This is what makes the difference between a livable society and a dog-eat-dog jungle. This spirit is not going to be 100% and it's not going to be zero, but it's going to be somewhere in between&mdash;and cultural actions can influence it, can raise it or lower it. And it's essential to work to raise it some, because that makes life easier for everyone. So it's no accident that the world's major religions have been encouraging this spirit of good will for thousands of years.
zh_CN: 任何社会的最重要资源就是友善精神，你愿意帮助友邻；不必是每次都帮忙，不过也应该是相当经常地帮忙。这构成宜居社会和野蛮丛林的不同。这种精神不会是100%，但也不会是零，它介于两者之间&mdash;&mdash;文化活动会影响它，使之升高或减少。让它升高很关键，因为这样大家就更安居乐业。所以，世界上主要的宗教几千年来都在鼓励友善精神也就不意外了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So what does it mean when powerful social institutions say that it's wrong to share? They're poisoning this vital resource, something no society can afford. Now what does it mean when they say that if you share with your neighbor, you're a pirate? They're saying that helping your neighbor is the moral equivalent of attacking a ship. Well, nothing could be more wrong than that. Attacking ships is very, very bad; helping your neighbor is good.
zh_CN: 那么，当有社会权力的机构声称分享不对时，意味着什么呢？他们是在毒害重要的资源，任何社会都不能容忍此事。当他们说你和友邻分享就是海盗，又意味着什么？他们断言你帮助友邻等同于攻击船只。这是弥天大谎。攻击船只非常恶劣；而帮助友邻善莫大焉。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And what does it mean when they establish harsh punishments for anyone caught sharing? How much fear do you think it's going to take before everyone's too scared to help his neighbor? And do you want that terror campaign to go on in our society? I hope that the answer is no.  We need to abolish the war on copying that is being imposed on our society. We need to say, loud and clear, &ldquo;copying and sharing with your neighbor is good, it's legitimate, and laws that prohibit this are wrong.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 当他们为分享之人设立严苛的惩罚时，又是什么意思呢？人们要多害怕才会停止帮助友邻？而你是否想让那种恐怖气氛在社会上弥漫荡漾？我希望的答案是不。我们需要废止强加到我们社会的复制之战。我们要大声而清晰地说，&ldquo;复制并与友邻分享是好事，是正当的事，禁止这件事的法律是错误的法律。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 9. Freedom 0 to run a program, Freedom 1 to modify it
zh_CN: 9. 自由之零——运行程序，自由之一——修改程序

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So that's the reason for Freedom 2; it's essentially an ethical reason. You can't live an ethical life if you don't have Freedom 2.
zh_CN: 这就是自由之二的缘由；主要是因为道德。如果没有自由之二，我们无法过有道德的生活。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Freedom 0 is needed for a completely different reason: so you can control your own computer. If you are restricted in when or how much or how you can run the program, clearly you're not using your computer in freedom. So Freedom 0 is obvious, but freedom 0 is not enough, because with Freedom 0 all you can do is use the program the way it was programmed by its developer. You're free to do this [makes hand sign] or nothing. To really be free, you've got to be in control of what the program does, so you need Freedom 1, which is the freedom to help yourself, the freedom to study the source code and then change it to do what you want.
zh_CN: 自由之零的缘由完全不同：你需要控制自己的计算机。如果你运行程序的时间或方式受到限制，那么很显然你无法自由使用自己的计算机。因此，自由之零显而易见，但是只有自由之零并不充分，因为自由之零只是让你按照程序既定的方式使用它。你有自由用[做手势]或者不用。要想有真的自由，你理应可以控制程序做什么，所以你需要自由之一，就是你可以自助，你有自由学习程序的源代码，然后可以改变它，让它按照你的意愿运行。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If you don't have Freedom 1, you don't know what the program's doing.  The developer is saying, &ldquo;just trust me&rdquo; and blind faith is the only way you can do it. And you have to be really blind, given that it's not unusual for proprietary programs to have malicious features, features that are put in not to serve the user, but rather to impose on, harm or restrict the user. For instance, spyware is quite common.
zh_CN: 如果没有自由之一，你无法知道程序做究竟做了什么。开发者会说，&ldquo;相信我&rdquo; 而你只能盲目地相信。你确实瞎了眼，因为专有程序带有恶意功能并不罕见，这些功能并不是为用户服务，而是强加对用户的伤害和限制。比如，间谍软件就相当普遍。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [51 seconds of missing audio were filled in by RMS in Aug 2010]
zh_CN: [有51秒的音频丢失，RMS 在2010年8月做了如下补充]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Microsoft Windows spies on the user; specific spy features have been found.  Windows Media Player spies too; it reports to Microsoft whatever the user looks at.
zh_CN: 微软的 Windows 就在监视用户；人们发现了它有许多监控功能。Windows 媒体播放器也在监视；它会向微软汇报用户在看什么。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [End replacement for 51 seconds of missing audio]
zh_CN: [丢失音频的51秒结束]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: course do it. RealPlayer, for instance, spies on you. The TiVo spies on you. Some people were excited about the TiVo, enthusiastic about it, because it uses some free software inside. But it also has nonfree software in it and it spies on you. So this shows it's not enough. We shouldn't cheer when something uses some free software; we should cheer when it respects the user's freedom.
zh_CN: 又如，RealPlayer 也在监视你。TiVo 在监视你。有些人很热衷 TiVo，对它特别喜爱，因为它使用了一些自由软件。但是它也使用了非自由软件，它也在监视你。这说明它做得还不够。我们不能因为有人使用了一些自由软件而欢呼雀跃；我们应该为有人尊重用户的自由而鼓掌赞叹。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 10. DRM, back doors, bugs
zh_CN: 10. DRM、后门、缺陷

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But spyware is not as bad as it gets. There are nonfree software packages that are deliberately designed to refuse to work. This is called DRM, Digital Restrictions Management, where the program says, &ldquo;I won't let you look at that file; I won't let you copy this; I won't let you edit this.&rdquo; Well, who the hell is this program to stop you? And sometimes nonfree programs will reconfigure your machine, for instance make it display advertisements, figuring that you won't know it's going to happen and you won't know how to undo it afterward.
zh_CN: 但是间谍软件还只是坏在偷听。有些非自由程序甚至是故意不工作。DRM 就是一例，DRM 是数字限制管理，它会说，&ldquo;我不许你看那个文件；我不许你复制这个档案；我不许你编辑这个资料。&rdquo;这个软件为什么要阻止你？有时非自由软件还会重新配置你的机器，比如让它显示广告，它觉得你不知道这是怎么回事，也不知道应该怎么改回去。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And sometimes they have actual back doors. For instance, Windows XP has a back door: when it asks for an upgrade, it tells Microsoft who you are, so Microsoft can give you an upgrade designed just for you. And this upgrade could have secret accounts, it could have special spy features, it could just refuse to work. And there's essentially nothing you can do. So that's the back door that Microsoft knows about and we know about.
zh_CN: 有时它们还会有实实在在的后门。例如，Windows XP 就有一个后门：当它要求升级的时候，它会告诉微软你是谁，微软因而会专门定制针对你的升级。而且这个升级可能会有秘密的账号、特别的间谍功能，也许会拒绝工作。你基本上什么也做不了。微软知道这个后门，我们也知道。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [Added in 2010: We later learned that Microsoft can force &ldquo;upgrades&rdquo;&mdash;a much nastier back door.]
zh_CN: [于2010添加：我们后来了解到微软可以强制 &ldquo;升级&rdquo;&mdash;&mdash;这是更加恶劣的后门。]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: There might be other back doors that we don't know about and maybe even Microsoft doesn't know about. When I was in India in January, I was told some programmers in India had been arrested and accused of working for Al-Qaeda, trying to introduce back doors into Windows XP. So, apparently, that effort failed. But did some others succeed? There's no way we can tell.
zh_CN: 可能还有我们不知道的后门，也许有些后门微软也不知道。我一月份在印度的时候，我听说有些印度工程师被抓了，他们被控为 Al-Qaeda 工作，试图给 Windows XP 导入后门。因此，他们的努力显然没有成功。但是有没有其他人做到了？我们无法知晓。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, I won't claim that all developers of nonfree software put in malicious features. There are some who try to put in features so that they will be convenient for the user and only for that. But they are humans, so they make mistakes. They can design features with all the best will that you don't like, or they can write bugs in their code. And when that happens, you're helpless too; you're the helpless prisoner of any decision that they make. Whether it's malicious or made with good will, if you don't like it, you're stuck.
zh_CN: 我不是说所有非自由软件的开发者都设计了恶意的功能。有些开发者仅仅开发方便用户的功能，但是他们也是人，也会犯错误。他们怀着美好愿望设计的功能可能你并不喜欢，或者他们的代码有缺陷。此时，你也很无助；你只是他们做出决定后无助的用户。无论是恶意还是好心，如果你不想要，你都没办法。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, we, the developers of free software, are also human, we also make mistakes. I have designed features that users didn't like. I have written code that had bugs in it. The difference is, {with our} you're not a prisoner of our decisions, because we don't keep you helpless. If you don't like my decisions, you can change them, because you have the freedom to change them. I won't blame the developers of nonfree, user-subjugating software for being human and making mistakes; I will blame them for keeping you helpless prisoner of their mistakes by denying you the freedom to correct those mistakes yourself.
zh_CN: 我们作为自由软件的开发者，也是人，也会出错。我曾经设计过用户不喜欢的功能，也曾写过有缺陷的代码。不同的是，{用我们的软件}你不是我们决定之后的被限制的用户，因为我们并未让你无助。如果你不喜欢我们的决定，你可以改变它们，因为你有改变的自由。我不是要批评挟制用户的非自由软件的开发者犯了是人都会犯的错误；我要批评他们剥夺用户改正这些错误的自由，批评他们因这些错误让用户无助。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 11. Freedom 3 having no master
zh_CN: 11. 自由之三——无需主人

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But Freedom 1 is not enough. Freedom 1 is the freedom personally to study and change the source code. Freedom 1 is not enough because there are millions of users who use computers, but don't know how to program, so they can't take advantage of Freedom 1, not personally. And Freedom 1 is not enough even for us programmers, because there's just so much software, even so much free software, that nobody has the time to study it all and master it all and make all the changes that she wants.
zh_CN: 但是自由之一不够。它是个人学习和修改代码的自由。因为还有数百万不懂编程的计算机用户不能从自由之一中获利，所以自由之一不够。即使对程序员，自由之一也不够，因为软件很多，自由软件也很多，没人有时间学习并掌握所有的软件并按照自己的想法做所有的修改。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So the only way we can really, fully have control over our own software is if we do so together. And that's what Freedom 3 is for.  Freedom 3 is the freedom to publish a modified version, so others can use it too. And this is what enables us to work together, taking control of our software. Because I could make this change in a program and publish the modified version, and then you could make that change and publish the modified version, and someone else can make that change and publish the modified version. And now we've got a version with all three changes in it and everybody can switch to that if everybody likes it.
zh_CN: 因此，我们能够真正、完全地控制我们软件的唯一方法就是我们是否可以一起控制。这就是自由之三的缘由。它是发布修改版本的自由，这样其他人就也可以使用修改版的软件。这正是让我们一起工作，一起控制软件的自由。因为我可以修改一个程序，并公开修改版，而后你也可以做修改并发布修改版，其他人也可以这么做。现在，我们就有了一个带有以上三个修改的版本，如果大家喜欢这些修改，大家都可以用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With this freedom, any collectivity of users can take control together and make the software do what they together want. Suppose there are 1,000,000 users who would like a certain change. Well, by luck, some of them will be programmers; let's say there are 10,000 of them who know how to program. Well, sooner or later, a few of them will make the change and publish the modified version and then all of those million users can switch to it. You know, most of them don't know how to program, but they can still switch to it. So they all get what they want.
zh_CN: 有了自由之三，用户作为集体可以一起控制软件，让软件做他们想要的事。假设有一百万用户想要某个改变，可能他们中有人是程序员；假设其中有一万个人了解如何编程。他们中有人迟早会对程序做出改变并发布修改版，那么这一百万用户都可以用上修改版。你看，大多数人并不知道如何编程，但是他们还是用上了新版本。他们都获益了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now let's suppose there are only 1,000 people who want some other change and none of them knows how to program. They can still make use of these freedoms. They can form an organization and each put in money, so if each puts in $100, that makes $100,000. And at that point they can go to a programming company and say, &ldquo;will you make this change for $100,000 and when can you have it done?&rdquo; And if they don't like the answer from there, they can go to another programming company and say, &ldquo;will you make this change and when can you have it done?&rdquo; Which shows us, first of all, that these 1,000 users who don't know how to program can, by using the four freedoms, get the change that they want. And second, it shows that free software means a free market for support.
zh_CN: 现在，我们假设只有一千人想要某些改动，而他们中没人会编程。他们还是可以从自由中获益。他们可以成立一个组织，每人投入一些钱，比如每人100元，就有了十万元。此时，他们可以找到一个软件公司，说，&ldquo;你愿意用十万元做这个改动吗？什么时候可以改好？&rdquo;如果答复不令人满意，可以再找另一家，继续说，&ldquo;你们可以做这个改动吗？什么时候可以做好？&rdquo;我们看到，首先，这一千个不懂编程的人可以利用四个自由获得他们想要的改变。其次，我们看到自由软件意味着技术支持市场的自由竞争。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Proprietary software typically means a monopoly for support. Only the developer has the source code in most cases, so only the developer can offer any support. If you want a change, you've got to go to the developer and beg. Now, if you're very big and important, maybe the developer will pay attention. If you're not, the developer will say, &ldquo;go away, don't bother me.&rdquo; Or maybe the developer will say, &ldquo;pay us and we'll let you report a bug.&rdquo; And if you do that, the developer will say, &ldquo;thank you. In six months there will be an upgrade. Buy the upgrade and you'll see if this bug was fixed and you will see what new bugs we have for you.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 专有软件通常意味着技术支持的垄断。大多数情况下，只有其开发者拥有源代码，所以只有他们可以提供技术支持。如果你想改，那么你得去求助于这些开发者。如果你是非常重要的大客户，那么这些开发者也许会重视。如果不是，他们会说，&ldquo;一边去，别来烦我。&rdquo;也许还会说，&ldquo;付钱吧，我们让你们提一个问题。&rdquo;如果你提了问题，他们又会说，&ldquo;谢谢你。六个月后会有一次升级。购买升级版，看看你的问题是否得到解决，也看看我们又给你什么新问题。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But with free software, you're dealing with a free market, so that those who really value support can, in general, get better support for their money by using free software. Now, one paradoxical consequence of this is, when you have a choice between several nonfree programs to do a job, this is actually a choice between monopolies. If you pick this program, the support for it afterwards will be a monopoly. If you pick this program, [points hand in different direction] the support for it will be a different monopoly, and if you pick this program, [points hand in different direction] the support for it will be yet another monopoly.  So you're choosing one of these three monopolies.
zh_CN: 但是有了自由软件，你面对的是自由市场，所以那些真正在乎技术服务的公司通常会用合理的价格获得使用自由软件的更好技术服务。这里有个矛盾的后果，当你在几个非自由软件公司之间选择，你实际上是在垄断之间做选择。如果你选择了其中一个，那么后面的技术服务也就被垄断了。如果你选了另一个[手势指向另一个方向]，那么技术支持是另一家垄断。因此，你是在垄断之间做选择。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, what this shows is that merely having a choice between a discrete set of options is not freedom. Freedom is something much deeper and much broader than having a few choices you can make. Many people try to equate freedom with having some choice and they're missing the point completely. Freedom means that you get to make the decisions about how to live your life. {It doesn't mean, you know} Having three choices about being able to choose this master or this master or this master is just a choice of masters, and a choice of masters is not freedom.  Freedom is having no master.
zh_CN: 这就是说你只是在不同的非自由之间做选择。自由是你可以在远超以上选择的范围外有更深入、更广泛的选择。许多人把自由等同于有几个选项，他们完全错失了重点。自由意味着你能决定如何过自己的生活。{它不是说，}我可以选择这个主子、或者那个主子、或者第三个主子，选择主子不是自由。自由是选择没有主子。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 12. Copyleft forbidding is forbidden
zh_CN: 12. Copyleft：禁止限制

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I've explained the reasons for the four freedoms. And thus I've explained to you what free software means. A program is free software for you, a particular user, if you have all of these four freedoms.  Why do I define it that way? The reason is that sometimes the same code can be free software for some users and nonfree for the rest. This might seem strange, so let me give you an example to show how it happens.
zh_CN: 现在，我已经解释了四个自由的缘由，所以我也就向你解释了自由软件的含义。如果一个程序能够给作为用户的你这四个自由，那么它是自由软件。为什么我要这么定义呢？理由是有时同一个代码对有些人是自由软件，而对其他人则是非自由软件。这听起来有点奇怪，所以我来举个例子，看看这究竟是怎么回事。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The biggest example I know of is the X Window System. It was developed at MIT in the late '80s and released under a license that gave the user all four freedoms, so if you got X in source code under that license, it was free software for you. Among those who got it were various computer manufacturers that distributed UNIX systems. They got the source code for X, they changed it as necessary to run on their platform, they compiled it and they put the binaries into their UNIX system, and they distributed only the binaries to all of their customers under the same license as the rest of UNIX&mdash;the same non-disclosure agreement.
zh_CN: 据我所知的最大的例子就是 X 窗口系统。它由 MIT 在80年代后期开发，发布所用的许可证给予其用户四个自由。对你而言，它是自由软件。有些拿到这个软件的是发行 UNIX 系统的计算机制造商。他们拿到了 X 系统的代码，他们做了可以让 X 在其系统上运行的必要改动，他们做了编译，然后把二进制文件放到他们的 UNIX 系统上，并且只向其用户发行二进制，使用和 UNIX 系统其他部分一样的许可证&mdash;&mdash;一样的保密协议。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, for those many users, the X Window System was no more free than the rest of UNIX. In this paradoxical situation, the answer to the question &ldquo;is X free software or not?&rdquo; depended on where you made the measurement. If you made the measurement coming out of the developer's group, you'd say, &ldquo;I observe all four freedoms; it's free software.&rdquo; If you made the measurement among the users, you'd say, &ldquo;most of them don't have these freedoms; it's not free software.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 那么对这许多用户，X 窗口系统和 UNIX 的其他部分一样不再是自由软件。在这种矛盾的情况下，对问题 &ldquo;X 是不是自由软件？&rdquo; 的回答取决于你在哪里使用它。如果你是开发者，你会说，&ldquo;我有四个自由；它是自由软件。&rdquo;如果你是用户，你会说，&ldquo;大多数人没有四个自由；它不是自由软件。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The developers of X did not consider this a problem, because their goal was not to give users freedom, it was to have a big success, and as far as they were concerned, those many users who were using the X Window System without freedom were just a part of their big success. But, in the GNU Project, our goal specifically was to give the users freedom. If what happened to X had happened to GNU, GNU would be a failure.
zh_CN: X 的开发者未曾考虑这个问题，因为他们的目标并不是给用户自由，他们的目标是获得成功，获得他们自己的成功。那些没有自由的 X 用户只是他们成功的一部分。但是，GNU 项目的目标就是要给予用户自由。如果 GNU 像 X 那样，那么 GNU 是个失败。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I looked for a way to stop this from happening. And the method I came up with is called copyleft. Copyleft is based legally on copyright law, and you can think of it as taking copyright and flipping it over to get copyleft.
zh_CN: 所以，我曾在寻找不让 GNU 变成那样的方法。我找到的方法叫做 copyleft。Copyleft 的合法基础是版权法，你可以认为 Copyleft 是使用版权并反过来用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Here's how it works: we start with a copyright notice which legally doesn't actually make a difference anymore, but it reminds people that the program is copyrighted, which means that, by default, it's prohibited to copy, distribute or modify this program.
zh_CN: 其工作原理：我们用一个版权声明开始，这没有法律意义上的不同，但是它提醒人们程序是有版权的，就是说，在默认情况下，该程序被禁止复制、分发或修改。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But then we say, &ldquo;you are authorized to make copies, you are authorized to distribute them, you are authorized to modify this program and you are authorized to publish modified or extended versions.&rdquo; But there is a condition, and the condition says that any program you distribute that contains any substantial part of this must, as a whole, be distributed under these conditions, no more and no less. Which means that, no matter how many people modify the program or how much, as long as any substantial amount of our code is in there, that program must be free software in the same way. In effect, we guarantee that nobody can put himself between you and me and strip off the freedom and pass the code on to you missing the freedom. In other words, forbidding is forbidden.
zh_CN: 但是然后我们说，&ldquo;你被授权复制、分发和修改此程序以及它的修改版或扩展版。&rdquo;但是有一个条件，就是你分发的程序如果显著地包括此程序的一部分，那么整个程序必须也按照同样的条件分发，不多也不少。这就意味着，无论多少人修改了此程序，也无论修改了多少，只要其中包含了相当一部分此程序的代码，那么那个程序也必须一样是自由软件。效果就是，我们保证没有人可以站在你我之间，除去某些自由，然后再把没有自由的程序给你。换句话说，就是禁止限制。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 13. GNU General Public License
zh_CN: 13. GNU 通用公共许可证

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyleft makes the four freedoms into inalienable rights for all users, so that wherever the code goes, the freedom goes with it. The specific license that we use to implement the general concept of copyleft is called the GNU General Public License, or GNU GPL for short.  This license is used for around two thirds or three quarters of all free software packages. But that still leaves a substantial number that have other licenses. Some of those licenses are copyleft licenses, some are not. So we have copylefted free software and we have non-copylefted free software.
zh_CN: Copyleft 让四个自由成为所有用户不可剥夺的权利，无论代码传播到哪里，自由都跟到哪里。我们实现 copyleft 这一普遍理念的具体方法叫做 GNU 通用公共许可证，简称 GNU GPL。大概有三分之二或四分之三的自由软件包使用该许可证。不过，仍然有不少软件使用其他许可证。这些许可证有些是 copyleft 许可证，有些不是。所以，有些自由软件是 copyleft 的，有些不是。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In both cases, the developers have respected your freedom; they have not tried to trample your freedom. The difference is, with copyleft we go further and we actively defend your freedom against anyone who would try to be a middleman and take it away from you, whereas the developers of non-copylefted free software don't do that. They have not tried to take away your freedom, but they don't actively protect your freedom from anyone else. So I think that they could do more for the sake of freedom. But they haven't done anything bad; insofar as they have done things, those things are good. So I won't say that they are wrong, I will just say that they could do more. I think that they're making a mistake.
zh_CN: 无论是哪种情况，这些开发者尊重你的自由；他们没有要侵害你的自由。不同之处在于，copyleft 让我们走得更远——我们积极地保卫你的自由，不让中间人拿走你的自由；而非 copyleft 的自由软件没有这么做——他们没有拿走你的自由，但是也没有积极保护你的自由不被其他人拿走。所以，我认为这些开发者为了自由可以再进一步。但是他们并没有做坏事；他们做的事情都是好事。所以，我不会说他们错了，我会说他们可以做得更多。我认为他们犯了错。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But their work is free software, so it does contribute to our community and, in fact, that software can be part of a free operating system such as GNU.
zh_CN: 不过，他们的作品是自由软件，所以他们对社区做出了贡献，事实上，这些软件可以是诸如 GNU 这样的自由操作系统的一部分。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 13a. Developing GNU
zh_CN: 13a. 开发 GNU

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: During the 1980s, our work on the GNU Project was to develop or find all these pieces of GNU so that we could have a complete GNU system. In some cases, someone else wrote a program and made it free software and we were able to use it, and that was good because it shortened the work that we had to do. For instance, the X Window System is one of the programs that was developed by others for reasons of their own, but they did make it free software, so we could use it.
zh_CN: 在1980年代，我们在 GNU 工程的工作就是开发或找到所有 GNU 软件包来构成完整的 GNU 系统。有时，其他人写了一个程序并把它发布为自由软件，我们就可以用，这是好事，因为减少了我们的工作量。例如，X 窗口系统就是其他人为了他们自己的目的开发的程序，但是他们让它变成自由软件，所以我们可以用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, people were saying the job was so big, we'd never finish it.  Well, I thought we would eventually get a free operating system but I agreed the job was big; we had to look for shortcuts. So, for instance, I always wanted to have windowing facilities in GNU. I had written a couple of window systems at the AI LAB before even starting GNU, so of course I wanted that in the system. But we never developed a GNU window system because someone else developed X first. I looked at it and I said, &ldquo;well, it's not copylefted, but it is free, it's popular, it's powerful, so let's just use it.&rdquo; And so we saved one big chunk of work.  So we took it, X, and we put it into the GNU system and we started making other pieces of GNU work with X. Because the goal was to have a free operating system, not to have a free operating system every piece of which had been written purposely by us just for that.
zh_CN: 当时，人们说这个工作量很大，我们永远也不能完工。我觉得我们最终会有一个自由的操作系统，但是我同意这个工作量很大；我要找捷径。所以，比如，我一直要 GNU 有一个窗口系统。甚至在开始 GNU 之前，我在人工智能实验室就写过几个窗口系统，所以我当然希望 GNU 有窗口系统。但是我们从来也没有开发一个 GNU 窗口系统，因为有人已经首先开发了 X 窗口系统。我查看了 X 并说，&ldquo;它不是 copyleft，但它是自由软件，它很受欢迎，它很强大，那么我们就用它吧。&rdquo;因此，我们省去了很多工作。我们直接拿了 X，把它放到 GNU 系统中，我们让其他 GNU 模块能够和 X 一起工作。因为我们的目标是一个自由的操作系统，而不是一个每个模块都由我们自己专门撰写的自由操作系统。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 14. Making money off free software
zh_CN: 14. 通过自由软件赚钱

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, it only happened occasionally that someone else released some free software that was useful in GNU and when it happened, it was a coincidence, because they were not writing this software in order to have a free operating system. So when it happened, that was great, but there were lots of other pieces we had to develop. Some were developed by staff of the Free Software Foundation. The Free Software Foundation is a tax-exempt charity to promote free software which we founded in October, '85, after GNU Emacs' popularity suggested that people might actually start donating money to the GNU project.
zh_CN: 不过，其他人发布的自由软件 GNU 恰巧能用只是偶尔之事，是巧合，因为他们写这个软件不是为了要有一个自由的操作系统。有之，是好事，但是我们还要开发很多 GNU 软件包。有些软件包是由自由软件基金会的员工开发的。GNU Emacs 的受欢迎让我们看到人们可能真的会开始给 GNU 工程捐款，自由软件基金会就是我们在1985年10月成立的一个免税慈善组织，用来推动自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So we founded the Free Software Foundation and it asked for donations, but also took over selling the tapes of GNU Emacs. And it turns out that most of the FSF's income for the first many years came from that, from selling things, from selling copies of software and manuals that everyone was free to copy. Now this is interesting, because this was supposedly impossible; but we did it anyway.
zh_CN: 我们创立了自由软件基金会，它请求捐助，但是也接管了销售 GNU Emacs 磁带的工作。结果自由软件基金会开头许多年的收入正是来自于此，来自销售物品，来自销售人人都可以自由复制的软件副本和手册。这很有意思，因为人们觉得这不可行；但是我们做到了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now that meant I had to find some other way to make a living. As the president of the FSF, I did not want to compete with it; I thought that would be unfair and not correct behavior. So I started making my living by commissions to change the software I had written and teaching classes about it. So people would want some change to be made in Emacs or GCC, and they would think of hiring me, because they figured I was the author so I could do a better job faster. So I started charging as much as $250 an hour and I calculated I could make a living in 7 weeks of paid work per year&mdash;and that meant enough money to spend, an equal amount to save, and an equal amount for taxes. And [when I reached] that point I figured, &ldquo;I won't take any more paid work this year, I've got other, better things to do.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 这也意味着我要找到其他谋生的手段。作为自由软件基金会的主席，我不想和它竞争；我觉得那样不公平，是不正确的做法。所以，我开始以收费修改和教授我写的软件来谋生。人们有时想要修改 Emacs 或 GCC，他们想到雇佣我，因为他们知道我是软件的作者，所以我能做得又快又好。因此我开始按照每小时250美元收费，我计算过，这样我一年干七周的活就够生活了&mdash;&mdash;有足够的钱花，一部分缴税，一部分储蓄。[当我达到]我计算的这个工作量，&ldquo;我当年就不再接活了，我还有其他、更好的事情要做。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I've actually had three different free software businesses during the period I've been working on GNU. I've described two of them; the third one is, I get paid for some of my speeches. Whether I get paid for this speech, I don't yet know. [Laughter] I said, &ldquo;please pay me what you can.&rdquo; Now, I think Google ought to be able to afford to pay me some handsome amount, but whether it will, I don't know. Anyway, I figured it's worth doing the speech just for the good it will do for the movement.
zh_CN: 在我为 GNU 工作期间，我实际上从事了三种不同的自由软件生意。我已经讲了两个；第三个是，有人为我的演讲支付报酬。此次演讲是否会有报酬，我还不知道。[笑声]我说了，&ldquo;请你们力所能及地支付报酬。&rdquo;我认为谷歌应该可以付得起一个不错的报酬，但是是不是会有，我不知道。不管怎样，我觉得仅仅是为了自由软件运动的利益，做这个演讲也是值得的。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 15. Why write free software
zh_CN: 15. 为什么撰写自由软件

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So this raises the question of why people develop free software. You see, there are people who believe that no one would ever write software except to get paid, that that's the only motive that anyone would ever have to write code. It's amazing, the kind of utterly stupid, simplistic theories that people will sometimes believe because that's part of a prevailing ideology.
zh_CN: 这里提出了一个问题：人们为什么会开发自由软件？你们知道，有人认为除非有报酬，没有人会撰写自由软件，赚钱是撰写软件的唯一动机。这种非常愚蠢、非常简单的理论，居然会有人因为它是流行的观点就相信了，太让我惊奇了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, human nature is very complex. Whatever it is people are doing, they might do for various reasons. In fact, one person will often have multiple motives simultaneously for a single act. Nonetheless, there are people who say, &ldquo;if the software is free, that means nobody's paid to write it, so no one will write it.&rdquo; Now, obviously they were confusing the two meanings of the word &ldquo;free,&rdquo; so their theory was based on a confusion. In any case, we can compare their theory with empirical fact and we can see that at least hundreds, maybe thousands of people are paid to work on free software, including some people here, I believe, and there are about a million or so people developing free software at all for the many different reasons they have. {So to say that nobody} This simplistic theory about motivation is absurd.
zh_CN: 人性非常复杂。无论人们做什么，理由都可能五花八门。事实上，一个人的一个活动常常同时有多个动机。尽管有人说，&ldquo;如果软件免费，那么就意味着没人因为写软件获得报酬，所以就没有人写软件。&rdquo;他们显然混淆了 &ldquo;free,&rdquo; 一词的两个意思，所以他们的理论建立在混淆之上。不管怎样，我们可以把他们的理论和实际情况做比较，我们看到至少有几百人、或许几千人由于自由软件的工作而获得报酬，包括现场的一些人。我相信，大约有一百万左右的人因为多种原因在开发自由软件。{说没有人}这种关于动机的简单化理论很可笑。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So let's see what motivates people to write free software; what are the real motives? Well, I don't necessarily know about them. There could always be a person who has a motive that I don't know about or I've forgotten about. I can only tell you the motives that I recall encountering.
zh_CN: 那么我们来看看驱使人们撰写自由软件的动机有哪些；有哪些真正的动机？我不必全部知道。总会有人的动机我不知道，或者记不起来。我只能告诉你我还记得的一些动机。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One motive is political idealism: making the world a better place where we can live together in freedom. Now, that's a very important motive for me, but it's not my only motive. And there are others who write free software and don't agree with that motive at all.
zh_CN: 一个动机是政治理想：让世界变成一个我们可以自由生活的好地方。这是我的一个重要动机，但不是我的唯一动机。有些撰写自由软件的人完全不同意这个动机。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another motive that's very important is fun. Programming is tremendous fun. Not for everybody, of course, but for a lot of the best programmers. And these are the people whose contributions we want most.  In fact, it's so much fun, it's especially fun, when no one can tell you what to do, which is why so many people who have jobs programming like to write free software in their spare time.
zh_CN: 另一个重要的动机是有趣。编程非常有趣。当然不是所有人这么看，但是有很多最好的程序员这么看。我们最希望这些人来做贡献。事实上，没人来告诉你做什么时，那就更有趣、特别有趣，这也是为什么这么多做编程工作的人喜欢在业余时间撰写自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But this is not the only motive; another motive is to be appreciated.  If 1% of our community is using your program, that's hundreds of thousands of users. That's a lot of people admiring you.
zh_CN: 但是这并不是唯一的动机；另一个动机是被欣赏。如果社区有1%的人使用你的程序，那么你就有成千上万的用户。这么多人在崇拜你。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another related, but different, motive is professional reputation. If 1% of our community is using your program, you can put that on your resume and it proves you're a good programmer. You don't even have to go to school.
zh_CN: 另外一个有关联、但又不同的动机是职业声望。如果社区有1%的人使用你的程序，那么你可以把它写在简历中，它证明你是一个优秀的程序员。你甚至不必有学历。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another motivation is gratitude. If you've been using the community's free software for years and appreciating it, then when you write a program, that's your opportunity to pay something back to the community that has given you so much.
zh_CN: 还有一个动机是感恩。如果你多年来一直在使用并感谢社区的自由软件，那么当你写程序时就是你回馈社区的机会。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another motivation is hatred for Microsoft. [Laughter] Now, this is a rather foolish motive, because Microsoft is really just one of many developers of nonfree software and they're all doing the same evil thing. It's a mistake to focus [solely] on Microsoft, and this mistake can have bad consequences. When people focus too much on Microsoft, they start forgetting that all the others are doing something just as bad.  And they may end up thinking that anything that competes with Microsoft is good, even if it is also nonfree software and thus inherently just as evil.
zh_CN: 憎恨微软也是一个动机。[笑声]这不是一个聪明的动机，因为微软只是众多开发非自由软件公司中的一员，他们都在做同样的恶事。[只]关注微软是错的，而错误会有不良后果。当人们过多关注微软时，他们可能会忘记同样作恶的其他人。他们可能会认为只要和微软对着干就是好的——即使是非自由软件这样原本就是作恶的事也在所不惜。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, it's true that these other companies have not subjugated as many users as Microsoft has, but that's not for want of trying; they just haven't succeeded in mistreating as many people as Microsoft has, which is hardly, ethically speaking, an excuse. Nonetheless, {when this particular motive motivates} this motive does motivate people to develop free software, so we have to count it as one of the motives that has this result.
zh_CN: 其他公司没有像微软那样挟持了如此多的用户，这是事实，但是那不是说他们就不想；他们只是还没有达到象微软那样成功对付那么多用户而已，这并不是一个道义上的借口。不管怎样，{当这个特别的动机起作用时}这个动机确实会驱使人们开发自由软件，所以我们应当把它计算在动机之列。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And another motive is money. When people were being paid to develop free software, that's part of their motive for the work that they're doing. In fact, when I was paid to make improvements in various programs I had written, that money was part of my motive for doing those particular jobs, too.
zh_CN: 金钱是一个动机。当人们通过开发自由软件获得报酬时，这个工作就是他们的一部分动机。实际上，当我通过改进我的多个程序获得报酬时，金钱也是我做这些工作的一部分驱动。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [RMS, 2010: A motive I forgot to mention is improving a free program because you want to use the improvement yourself.]
zh_CN: [RMS，2010年：还有一个动机我忘了说，就是改进一个自由程序，因为你要自己使用这个改进。]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So there are many possible motives to write free software. And, fortunately, there are many developers of free software and a lot of free software is being developed.
zh_CN: 因此，撰写自由软件有很多动机。幸运的是，自由软件的开发者很多，而我们也已经开发了很多自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 16. The Kernel, Linux
zh_CN: 16. Linux 内核

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, during the 1980s we were filling in these missing pieces of the GNU operating system. By the early '90s we had almost everything necessary. Only one important piece was missing, one essential piece for an initial system, and that was the kernel. We started developing a kernel in 1990. {I was looking for some way to} I was looking for some shortcut, some way we could start from something existing. I thought that debugging a kernel would be painful, because you don't get to do it with your symbolic debugger, and when it crashes, it's sort of annoying.
zh_CN: 在1980年代，我们一直在填补 GNU 操作系统的空缺模块。到90代初，我们差不多完成了所有必须的东西。只剩下一个重要的组件，一个启动系统的必要组件，它就是内核。我们从1990年起就开始开发一个内核。{我一直在寻找方法}我在找一些捷径，找一些我们可以从已有模块上开始的方法。我认为调试内核会很麻烦，因为你不能使用当前的符号调试器，而当内核崩溃时，情况会比较讨厌。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I was looking for a way to bypass that work, and I found one eventually, a microkernel called Mach that had been developed as a funded project at Carnegie Mellon. Now, Mach doesn't have all the features of UNIX; the idea is, it provides certain general low-level features and you implement the rest in user programs. Well, that, I thought, would be easy to debug, because they're user programs; when they crash, the system isn't dead. So people began working on those user programs, which we called the GNU Hurd, because it's a herd of GNU servers (you see, gnus live in herds).
zh_CN: 所以我想找一个绕过去的方法，我最后找到了，卡内基梅隆大学开发过一个叫做 Mach 的微内核。现在，Mach 还没有 UNIX 的所有功能；我们的想法是，这个内核提供某种通用的低层功能，然后你在用户程序中实现其他功能。这样，我觉得就容易调试了，因为调试的是用户程序；它们崩溃时，系统还没有死。因此，人们开始开发这些用户程序，它们叫做 GNU Hurd，因为它是 GNU 服务程序的放牧者（是的，牛（gnus）生活在牛群当中）。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Anyway, I thought that this design would enable us to get the job done faster, but it didn't work out that way; it actually took many years to get the Hurd to run, partly because Mach was unreliable, partly because the debugging environment wasn't very good, partly because it's hard to debug these multithreaded, asynchronous programs and partly because this was somewhat of a research project. At least that's as far as I can tell; I was never involved in the actual development of the Hurd.
zh_CN: 不管怎么说，我认为这样的设计可以使我们能够更快地完工，但是事与愿违；实际上让 Hurd 跑起来花了很多年，一方面是因为 Mach 不稳定，另一方面是因为调试环境不是特别好，还有一方面是因为调试多线程、异步的程序非常困难，再有就是因为这个项目某种度上是一个研究性质的项目。至少这是我所能告诉大家的情况；我并未参与 Hurd 的具体开发。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Fortunately, we didn't have to wait for that, because in 1991, Linus Torvalds, a Finnish college student, developed his own kernel, using the traditional monolithic design, and he got it to barely run in less than a year. Initially, Linux&mdash;that's what this kernel's name was&mdash;was not free, but in 1992 he re-released it under the GNU General Public License and at that point it was free software. And so it was possible, by combining Linux and the GNU system, to make a complete free operating system. And thus, the goal we had set out for, that I had announced in 1983, had been reached: there was, for the first time, a complete modern operating system for modern computers, and it was possible to get a modern computer and run it without betraying the rest of humanity, without being subjugated. You could do this by installing the GNU + Linux operating system.
zh_CN: 所幸的是，我们没有被迫等待，因为在1991年，一个叫 Linus Torvalds 的芬兰大学生开发了自己的内核，他用的是传统的单内核设计，他在一年之内就让这个内核跑了起来。一开始，Linux&mdash;&mdash;这个内核的名字&mdash;&mdash;并不是自由软件，但是在1992年，他把这个内核按照 GNU 通用公共许可证再发布，此时它就变成了自由软件。因此，我们有可能把 Linux 和 GNU 系统组合起来，构成一个完整的自由操作系统。这样，我在1983年宣布的目标，我们一直努力的目标，就达成了：第一次，我们有了现代计算机的一个完全自由的现代操作系统，我们可以在一台现代计算机上运行这个操作系统，同时不背叛我们的人性、不被控制。通过安装 GNU + Linux 操作系统，我们就做到了。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 17. GNU vs. Linux confusion problem freedom
zh_CN: 17. GNU 与 Linux 让自由有所混淆

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But the people who combined GNU and Linux got confused and they started naming the entire thing Linux, which was actually the name of one piece. And somehow that confusion spread faster than we have been able to correct it. So I'm sure you've heard many people speaking of Linux as an operating system, an operating system {most of which} which basically started in 1984 under the name of the GNU Project.
zh_CN: 但是把 GNU 和 Linux 组合在一起的人变得有点晕，他们开始把整个系统叫做 Linux，但这其实是一个模块的名字。不知怎的，这个混淆比我们做改正要传播得更快。所以我相信你听到很多人在说 Linux 操作系统，这个操作系统{的大部分}基本上是以 GNU 工程这个名字在1984年就开始开发的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, this clearly isn't right. This system isn't Linux; it contains Linux, Linux is the kernel, but the system as a whole is basically GNU.  So I ask you: please don't call it Linux. If you call it Linux, you're giving Linus Torvalds credit for our work. Now, he contributed one important piece of the system, but he didn't contribute the biggest part and the overall vision was there long before he got involved. We started developing the system when he was in junior high school. So please give us equal mention; surely we deserve at least that.  You can do that by calling the system GNU/Linux, or GNU+Linux, or GNU&amp;Linux, whichever punctuation mark you feel expresses it best.
zh_CN: 这显然有问题。这个系统不是 Linux；它包含 Linux，Linux 是内核，但是整个系统就是 GNU。所以我请求你们：请不要称之为 Linux。如果你叫它 Linux，那么你就把我们的工作贡献给予了 Linus Torvalds。他贡献了系统的一个重要部件，但他并没有贡献最大的部分，而且整个愿景也早在他介入之前就已经确立。在他还在读高中时，我们就已经开始开发这个系统。所以，请给予我们公平的声誉；我们的确值得至少被提及。要做到这一点，你只需把它叫做 GNU/Linux 系统，或者 GNU+Linux 系统，或者 GNU&amp;Linux 系统，无论你觉得哪个更好。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, of course, part of the reason why I'm asking for this is that we deserve credit, but that's not really a very important thing. If it were just a matter of credit, it wouldn't be worth making a fuss about. But there more at stake here. You see, when people think that the system is Linux, they then assume incorrectly that it was mainly developed and started by Linus Torvalds and then they assume incorrectly that the overall vision came from him, so they look at his vision and follow that. Now, his vision is apolitical. He's not motivated to fight for freedom. He doesn't believe that computer users deserve the freedom to share and change software. He has never supported our philosophy. Well, he has a right to his views and the fact that he disagrees with us doesn't reduce the value of his contribution.
zh_CN: 当然，我请求大家这样做的部分原因是我们应得的荣誉，但这真的不是非常重要的事情。如果只是荣誉的问题，那就不值得我们大费周折了。但是其中更有利害。当人们认为这个系统是 Linux 时，他们就会错误地假定它主要是由 Linus Torvalds 发起并开发的，然后他们还会错误地假定整个愿景也来自他，所以人们就会参照他的愿景并跟随之。他的愿景是去政治化。他不愿为自由而战。他不相信计算机用户应该有自由分享和修改软件。他从未支持过我们的哲学。当然，他可以有自己的看法，他不同意我们的看法并不减少他的贡献。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The reason we have the GNU+Linux system is because of a many-year campaign for freedom. We in the GNU Project didn't develop Linux, just as we didn't develop X, or TeX, or various other free programs that are now important parts of the system. But people who didn't share our values, who weren't motivated by the determination to live in freedom, would have seen no reason to aim for a complete system, and they would never have done so, and never have produced such a thing, if not for us.
zh_CN: 我们现在有 GNU+Linux 系统的原因是多年为自由奋斗的结果。GNU 工程没有开发 Linux，正如我们没有开发 X，没有开发 TeX，也没有开发诸多现在是系统重要组件的其他自由软件。但是不曾和我们有一样价值观的人、没有下定决心要自由生活的人，不会有理由以开发整个系统为目标，也从未这么做过，如果不是有我们，更不会做出这样的系统。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But this tends to be forgotten nowadays. You will see, if you look around, most of the discussion of the GNU system calls it Linux, and tends to refer to it as &ldquo;open source&rdquo; rather than as &ldquo;free software,&rdquo; and doesn't mention freedom as an issue. This issue, which is the reason for the system's existence, is mostly forgotten. You see many techies who prefer to think of technical questions in a narrowly technical context, without looking beyond at social effects of their technical decisions. Whether the software tramples your freedom or respects your freedom, that's part of the social context. That's exactly what techies tend to forget or devalue.
zh_CN: 但是这一点现在正在被忘却。如果你观察周围，你会看到，大多数对 GNU 系统的讨论称之为 Linux，并且一般会把它说成 &ldquo;开源&rdquo; 而不是 &ldquo;自由软件&rdquo;，也不再提及自由的问题。而这个问题，恰恰是这个系统存在的理由，它正在被大多数人忘却。你明白，许多喜欢在狭隘的技术框架下考虑技术问题的技术人员不会从社会影响的角度审视他们的技术决定。软件是侵害你的自由，还是尊重你的自由，这就是社会影响。而这正是技术人员宁愿忘却或轻视的问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We have to work constantly to remind people to pay attention to freedom and, unfortunately, while we keep doing this, the users of our system often don't pay attention because they don't know it's our system.  They don't know it's the GNU system, they think it's Linux. And that's why it makes a real difference if you remind people where the system came from.
zh_CN: 我们一直在提醒人们要注意自由，不幸的是，与此同时，我们系统的用户却常常不能注意到，因为他们不知道这是我们的系统。他们不知道这是 GNU 系统，他们以为它是 Linux。这就是为什么如果你提醒人们这个系统的起源会让情况真的变得不同。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People will say to me that it doesn't look good to ask for credit.  Well, I'm not asking for credit for me personally; I'm asking for credit for the GNU Project, which includes thousands of developers. But they are right, it's true: people who are looking for some reason to see evil can see evil in that. So they go on and say, &ldquo;you should let it drop, and when people call the system Linux, you can smile to yourself and take pride in a job well done.&rdquo; That would be very wise advice if the assumption were correct: the assumption that the job is done.
zh_CN: 人们会对我说，争荣誉看起来不那么好看。不过，我不是为我自己争这个名誉；我是为 GNU 工程争这个名誉，这里有数千个开发者。但是他们做得也对，正如：以小人之心度君子之腹。他们还会继续说，&ldquo;你就看开一点，当人们称之为 Linux 时，你可以笑对自我并为自己干得不错而自豪。&rdquo;如果干得不错这个假设是对的，那么他们的建议是非常明智的建议。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We've made a great beginning, but that's all. We haven't finished the job. We will have finished the job when every computer is running a free operating system and free application programs exclusively. The job is to liberate the inhabitants of cyberspace. We've made a great beginning; we've developed free operating systems and free GUI desktops and free office suites and there are now tens of millions of users of these. But there are hundreds of millions of users of proprietary systems, so we have a long way to go. And, despite this wide range of free software, there are still a lot of application things that there is no free software to do; so we have a lot more work ahead of us.
zh_CN: 我们的开局不错，但仅此而已。我们并没有做完。当每一台电脑都运行着而且只运行着自由的操作系统和自由的应用程序时，我们会说我们完成了工作。我们的工作是解放数字空间的居民。我们有了很棒的开局；我们开发了自由操作系统、自由图形桌面和自由办公套件，有几千万的用户在使用。但是有上亿的用户在使用专有系统，所以要走的路还很漫长。而且，尽管自由软件覆盖面很广，还是有很多应用没有自由软件；所以我们还有很多工作要做。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We've come in view of finishing the job, you know. Maybe we're only one order of magnitude away, having come through many orders of magnitude. But that doesn't mean that what's left is easy. And today we have something that we didn't have before: we have enemies; powerful, rich enemies, powerful enough to buy governments.
zh_CN: 我们已经可以看到完成的景象。或许只有一步之遥，我们已经跨过了千山万水。但是这并不意味着剩下的工作就是轻而易举的。今天，我们有了以前没有的东西：我们有敌人；有势力、有财力的敌人，他们的实力足以收买政府。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 18. Enemies of free software
zh_CN: 18. 自由软件的敌人

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: At the beginning, GNU and the free software movement had no enemies.  There were people who weren't interested, lots of them, but nobody was actively trying to stop us from developing and releasing a free operating system. Nowadays, they are trying to stop us and the main obstacle we face is this, rather than the work itself.
zh_CN: 开始时，GNU 和自由软件运动并没有敌人。有人、有很多人对此不感兴趣，但是没有人主动地要阻止我们开发和发布一个自由操作系统。现在，人们要阻止我们，而且这是我们面临的主要阻碍，超过工作本身。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In the US, there are two different laws that prohibit various kinds of free software.
zh_CN: 在美国，有两个不同的法律禁止多种自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One of them is the DMCA, which has been used to prohibit the free software to play a DVD. If you buy a DVD, it's lawful for you to view it in your computer, but the free software that would enable you to do this on your GNU/Linux system has been censored in the US. Now, this affects a fairly narrow range of software: software to view encrypted media. But many users may want to do that, and if they can't do that with free software, they may take that as a reason to use nonfree software, if they don't value their freedom.
zh_CN: 其中一个是 DMCA，它禁止开发播放 DVD 的自由软件。如果你买了 DVD，那么你用电脑看是合法的，但是在 GNU/Linux 系统下的播放自由软件在美国是被禁止的。它只影响非常少的一部分软件：播放加密媒体的软件。但是有很多用户想要播放 DVD，如果他们不能使用自由软件播放，他们就会借此使用非自由软件，如果人们不珍视自己的自由的话。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But the big danger comes from patent law, because the US allows software ideas to be patented. Now, writing a non-trivial program means combining hundreds of different ideas. It's very hard to do that if any one of those ideas might be someone's monopoly. It makes software development like crossing a mine field, because at each design decision, probably nothing happens to you, but there's a certain chance that you will step on a patent and it will blow up your project. And, considering how many steps you have to take, that adds up into a serious problem. We have a long list of features that free software packages don't have, because we're scared to implement them.
zh_CN: 但是更大的危险来自专利法，因为美国允许软件专利。现在，撰写一个不那么简单的程序就意味着要组合数百个想法。如果其中一个想法被人垄断着，那么完成一个程序就非常困难。它让软件开发像是在穿越雷区，因为每个技术决定，也许对你没什么，但是你会有一定的概率踩到一个专利，而它会摧毁你的项目。考虑到你有那么多步要走，它们加起来是一个严重的问题。我们有一个长长的功能清单，自由软件还没有这些功能，因为我们不敢开发它们。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And now, the FCC is considering applying the broadcast flag regulation to software. The FCC adopted a regulation {prohibiting digital TV tuners unless} requiring digital TV tuners to have a mechanism to block copying and this has to be tamper-resistant, meaning it can't be implemented in free software. They haven't finished deciding whether this applies to software or not, but if they do, they will have prohibited GNU Radio, which is free software that can decode digital TV broadcasts.
zh_CN: 现在，FCC 正在考虑对软件实施广播标识措施。FCC 采纳了一个措施{禁止数字电视系统，除非}：要求数字电视系统有一个拦截复制的机制，而且这个机制必须能够抗破解，这就是说你不能用自由软件实现它。他们还没有决定是否将此措施应用到软件，但是如果应用到软件，他们就会禁止 GNU Radio——这是可以解码数字电视广播的自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Then, there's the threat from hardware that has secret specifications or is designed to interfere with the user's control. Nowadays there are many pieces of hardware you can get for your PC whose specifications are secret. They'll sell you the hardware, but they won't tell you how to run it. So how do we write free software to run it? Well, we either have to figure out the specs by reverse engineering or we have to put market pressure on those companies. And in both cases, we are weakened by the fact that so many of the users of GNU/Linux don't know why this system was developed and have never heard of these ideas that I'm telling you today. And the reason is that, when they hear about the system, they hear it called Linux and it's associated with the apolitical philosophy of Linus Torvalds.
zh_CN: 然后，还有秘密规格的或用来干扰用户控制的硬件带来的威胁。如今，电脑上有很多硬件，你无法获得它们的规格书，它们是秘密。他们卖给你硬件，但是不告诉你怎么运行它。那么我们如何编写自由软件来运行它呢？要么我们得通过反向工程来搞清楚它的规格，要么我们得给予这些公司市场的压力。无论哪种情况，如此多 GNU/Linux 用户不知道为什么会开发这个系统，如此多用户从未听说过我今天告诉你们的这些道理，如此多的用户只听说这个系统叫 Linux 并且关联着 Linus Torvalds 去政治化的哲学，这些都会让我们变得弱小。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Linus Torvalds is still working on developing Linux. {which is, you know} Developing the kernel was an important contribution to our community. At the same time, he is setting a very public bad example by using a nonfree program to do the job. Now, if he were using a nonfree program privately, I would never even have heard about it and I wouldn't make a fuss about it. But by inviting the other people who work on Linux to use it with him, he's setting a very public example legitimizing the use of nonfree software.  So when people see that, you know, if they think that's okay, they can't possibly believe that nonfree software is bad. So then, when these companies say, &ldquo;yes, {we support} our hardware supports Linux, here is this binary-only driver you can install, and then it will work,&rdquo; these people see nothing wrong in that, so they don't apply their market pressure and they don't feel motivated to help in reverse engineering.
zh_CN: Linus Torvalds 还在为开发 Linux 而工作。{你知道}开发内核对社区是一个重要的贡献。与此同时，他也树立了一个非常公开的坏典型——使用非自由软件做这个工作。如果他私下使用非自由软件，那么我不会知道，也不会小题大作。但是他邀请进行 Linux 开发的其他人一起使用非自由软件，他就是在树立一个非常公开的典型说使用非自由软件是合理的。当人们看到他这么做时，你知道，如果人们觉得这也可以，那么他们就不可能相信非自由软件是坏事。然后，当这些公司说，&ldquo;是的，{我们支持}我们的硬件支持 Linux，给你这个可以安装的二进制驱动，然后系统就可以运行了&rdquo;，人们不会看到这有什么不对，所以他们就不会给予这些公司市场压力，他们也没有动力去做反向工程。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So when we face the various dangers that we must confront, we are weakened by the lack of resolve. Now, having strong motivation to fight for freedom won't guarantee that we win all of these fights, but it will sure help. It will make us try harder, and if we try harder, we'll win more of them.
zh_CN: 所以，我们必须面对多种危险，如果缺乏决心，我们就变得弱小。虽然拥有强大的动力为自由而战并不能保证取得所有的胜利，但是它肯定会有所帮助。它会让我们更加努力，如果我们更加努力，那么我们就会取得更多的胜利。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 19. Treacherous computing
zh_CN: 19. 背叛的计算

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We are going to have to politically organize to keep from being completely prohibited from writing free software.
zh_CN: 我们必须以政治的形式组织起来才能避免被完全禁止开发自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Today, one of the most insidious threats to the future of free software comes from treacherous computing, which is a conspiracy of many large corporations. They call it &ldquo;trusted computing,&rdquo; but what do they mean by that? What they mean is that an application developer can trust your computer to obey him and disobey you. So, from your point of view, it's _treacherous computing_, because your computer won't obey you anymore. The purpose of this plan is that you won't control your computer.
zh_CN: 今天，对自由软件的未来最隐蔽的威胁来自背叛的计算，它是众多大企业的秘密策划。他们称之为 &ldquo;可信计算&rdquo;，但是这是什么意思呢？他们的意思是应用开发者可以相信你的计算机会服从他的命令而不是你的。因此，从你的角度来看，它是 _背叛的计算_，因为你的电脑不再服从你的命令。这个计划的目的就是你不能控制你自己的电脑。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And there are various different things that treacherous computing can be used to do, things like prohibit you from running any program that hasn't been authorized by the operating system developer. That's one thing they could do. But they may not feel they dare go that far. But another thing that they plan to do is to have data that's only available to a particular application. The idea is that an application will be able to write data in an encrypted form, such that it can only be decrypted by the same application, such that nobody else can independently write another program to access that data. And, of course, they would use that for limiting access to published works, you know, something to be a replacement for DVDs so that it would be not only illegal, but impossible to write the free software to play it.
zh_CN: 背叛的计算可以用来做各种不同的事，比如禁止你运行未经系统开发者认证的程序。他们可以这么做，但是他们还没有大胆到这个程度。但是他们计划做的另一件事就是让数据只对特定程序可用。其想法是应用以加密的形式输出数据，使得只有同一应用才能解密，这样别人就无法独立编写一个程序来访问这些数据。当然，他们会使用这个来限制对公开作品的访问，比如用来替代 DVD，这样访问不但是非法的，甚至我们也无法编写一个自由软件来播放。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But they don't have to stop at doing this to published data. They could do it to your data too. Imagine if treacherous computing is common in 10 years and Microsoft decides to come out with a new version of Word format that uses treacherous computing to encrypt your data. Then it would be impossible to write free software to read word files. Microsoft is trying every possible method to prevent us from having free software to read Word files. First, they switched to a secret Word format, so people had to try to figure out the format. Well, we more or less have figured it out. There are free programs that will read most Word files (not all).
zh_CN: 但是他们不必仅限于已发布的数据。他们也能针对你的数据这么做。想象一下，10年后背叛的计算已经普及，微软决定发布一个新的 Word 格式，它使用背叛的计算来加密你的数据。那么，人们就无法编写自由软件来读取此 word 文件。微软一直在绞尽脑汁防止自由软件来读取 Word 文件。首先，他们使用了秘密的 Word 格式，让人们为理解格式费尽周折。不过，我们还是大致搞明白了。自由软件可以打开大部分（不是全部） Word 文件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But then they came up with another idea. They said, &ldquo;let's use XML.&rdquo; Now here's what Microsoft means when they speak of using XML. The beginning of the file has a trivial thing that says &ldquo;this is XML and here comes binary Word format data,&rdquo; and then there's the binary Word format data and then there's something at the end that says, &ldquo;that was binary Word format data.&rdquo; And they patented this. {so that&hellip; I'm not sure} I don't know exactly what the patent does and doesn't cover, but, you know, there are things we could do, either reading or writing that file format, probably they could try suing us about. And I'm sure that, if treacherous computing is available for them to use, they'll use that too.
zh_CN: 但是他们又有了新的点子。他们说，&ldquo;我们使用 XML&rdquo;。现在来看看，当微软说使用 XML 是什么意思。在文件的开头有一个简单格式说，&ldquo;这是 XML 和二进制的 Word 格式数据&rdquo;，然后就是二进制的 Word 格式数据，之后又在末尾说，&ldquo;上面是二进制的 Word 格式数据&rdquo;。他们还就此申请了专利。{就是这样&hellip;&hellip;我不是太确定}我不知道那个专利的范围，但是我们如果做某些事，不管是读文件，还是写文件，他们可能会起诉我们。我确信的是，如果他们有了背叛的计算，他们也会使用。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is why we have a campaign to refuse to read Word files. Now there are many reasons you should refuse to read Word files. One is, they could have viruses in them. If someone sends you a Word file, you shouldn't look at it. But the point is, you shouldn't even try to look at it. Nowadays there are free programs that will read most Word files.  But it's really better, better than trying to read the file is if you send a message back saying, &ldquo;please send that to me in a format that isn't secret. It's not a good idea to send people Word files.&rdquo; And the reason is, we have to overcome the tendency in society for people to use these secret formats for communication.
zh_CN: 这就是我们为什么有一个拒绝打开 Word 文件的运动。你有许多理由应该拒绝打开 Word 文件。其中一个是它们可能带有病毒。如果有人发给你一个 Word 文件，那么你不应该打开它。重点是，你甚至不应该想要打开它。现在，自由软件可以打开大部分 Word 文件。但是比打开文件好得多得多的方式是回复消息说，&ldquo;请用一个不是秘密的文件格式发我。发送 Word 文件不是一个好主意。&rdquo;原因是，我们要克服社会上要使用这些秘密格式来沟通的倾向。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We have to convince people to insist on publicly documented standard formats that everyone is free to implement.  And Word format is the worst offender and so that's the best place to start. If somebody sends you a Word file, don't try to read it. Write back, saying &ldquo;you really shouldn't do that.&rdquo; And there's a page in www.gnu.org/philosophy which is good to reference. It gives an explanation of why this is an important issue.
zh_CN: 我们要说服人们坚持使用所有人都可以自由实现的公开文档标准格式。Word 格式是最恶劣的攻击者，所以我们最好从它开始。如果有人发给你一个 Word 文件，不要打开。回复说，&ldquo;你真的不该发它。&rdquo;在 www.gnu.org/philosophy 有一个不错的参考页面。它解释了为什么这是一个重要的问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 20. Help GNU
zh_CN: 20. 帮助 GNU

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, www.gnu.org is the website of the GNU Project. So you can go there for more information. In the /gnu directory you'll find the history and in the /philosophy directory you'll find articles about the philosophy of free software and in the /directory you'll find the Free Software Directory, which now lists over 3,000 usable free software packages that will run the on GNU/Linux system.
zh_CN: GNU 工程的网站是 www.gnu.org。你可以到那里获得更多信息。在 /gnu 目录你可以找到历史，在 /philosophy 目录你可以找到关于自由软件哲学的文章，而在 /directory 目录你可以找到自由软件目录，其中列出了超过 3,000 个可用在 GNU/Linux 系统下的自由软件包。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [It is now over 6000, and located in directory.fsf.org]
zh_CN: [现在软件包超过 6000 个，目录的位置改到 directory.fsf.org]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, I'm about to close my speech, but before I do, I'd like to mention that I've got some stickers here to give away. These stickers show a flying gnu and a flying penguin, both rather unrealistic, but they're superheroes. And {I also have some things} if people don't mind, I've got some things I'm selling on behalf of the Free Software Foundation, so if you buy them, you're supporting us. I've got these buttons that say, &ldquo;ask me about free software&mdash;it's all about freedom&rdquo; and I've got some GNU keyrings and GNU pins that are sort of pretty. So you can buy those.  You can also support us by becoming an associate member. Now, you can do that just through our website, but I also have some cards you can have if you would like to join [right now].
zh_CN: 现在我要结束这次演讲，但是结束之前，我要提一下，我有一些贴纸赠送。这些贴纸画有一个飞行的牛（GNU）和一个飞行的企鹅，都是超现实的，但是他们都是英雄。{我还有一些物品}如果大家不介意，我有些物品是以自由软件基金会的名义出售的，如果你购买，那么你就是在支持我们。我有写着 &ldquo;请问我自由软件&mdash;&mdash;这一切都和自由有关&rdquo; 的按钮，我还有一些 GNU 钥匙环和 GNU 徽章，看起来很不错。你们可以购买。你也可以加入成为会员来支持我们，现在，你可以直接到网站加入，不过如果你要[马上]加入的话，我也有一些卡片。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 21. Saint Ignucius
zh_CN: 21. Emacs 之圣（Saint Ignucius）

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So now I will close my speech by presenting my alter ego. See, people sometimes accuse me of having a &ldquo;holier than thou&rdquo; attitude. Now, I hope that's not true. I'm not going to condemn somebody just for not being as firmly committed as I am. I will try to encourage him to become more so, but that's different. So I don't think I really have a &ldquo;holier than thou&rdquo; attitude, but I have a holy attitude because I'm a saint; it's my job to be holy.
zh_CN: 现在我要展示我的第二形象并结束演讲。人们有时会指责我有 &ldquo;高人一等&rdquo; 的态度。我不希望那样。我不会因为有人不象我这样坚定就贬低他们。我会鼓励他们变得更坚定，但这和贬低有所不同。所以，我不觉得我真的有 &ldquo;高人一等&rdquo; 的态度，但是我有变成圣人的态度；我的工作就是要变得神圣。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [Dons a black robe and a magnetic disk halo]
zh_CN: [穿上黑色长袍，戴上光环]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [Laughter, applause]
zh_CN: [笑声，掌声]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [Richard holds a laptop like a holy book and waves]
zh_CN: [Richard 手持一个笔记本电脑，就像拿着圣书在挥舞]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I am Saint Ignucius of the Church of Emacs. I bless your computer, my child.
zh_CN: 我是 Emacs 之圣。我会保佑你的电脑，我的孩子。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Emacs started out as a text editor which became a way of life for many computer users and then a religion. Does anyone know what the alt.religion.emacs newsgroup was used for? I know it existed, but since I'd never read net news, I don't know what was said in it.
zh_CN: Emacs 开始是一个文本编辑器，后来变成很多计算机用户的生活方式，后来成了一种信仰。有没有人知道 alt.religion.emacs 新闻组的用途？我知道有这么个组，但是由于我从不看网络新闻，所以我不知道组里说了什么。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In any case, now we even have a great schism between two rival versions of Emacs, and we also have saints; no gods, though.
zh_CN: 不管怎样，我们有了两个互为对手的伟大 Emacs 版本分支，我们也有圣人；但不是上帝。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: To be a member of the Church of Emacs, you must recite the Confession of the Faith: you must say, &ldquo;There is no system but GNU, and Linux is one of its kernels.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 要成为 Emacs 教堂的一员，你必须背诵忏悔的誓言：你要说，&ldquo;这个系统就是 GNU，Linux 是它的一个内核。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The Church of Emacs has advantages compared with other churches I might name. To be a saint in the Church of Emacs does not require celibacy. So if you're looking for a church in which to be holy, you might consider ours.
zh_CN: Emacs 教堂比起其他我知道的教堂更有优势。这里的圣徒无需禁欲。因此，如果你在找一个神圣的教堂，请考虑我们的教堂。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, it does require making a commitment to live a life of moral purity. You must exorcise the evil proprietary operating systems that possess all the computers under either your practical control or your authority, and you must install a wholly [i.e., holy] free operating system, where &ldquo;wholly&rdquo; can be spelled in more than one way, and then only install free software on top of that. If you make this commitment and live by it, then you, too, will be a saint and you, too, may eventually have a halo&mdash;if you can find one, because they don't make them anymore.
zh_CN: 不过，我们的教堂要求你承诺道德纯净的生活。你必须去除专有操作系统的恶魔，让所有的计算机由你掌控或指挥，你也必须安装一个完全[也即，神圣]的自由操作系统，&ldquo;完全&rdquo; 可以有多种拼法<sup><a href="#TransNote1">1</a></sup>，并在其上只安装自由软件。如果你做出这个承诺并身体力行，那么你也就会成为一个圣者，也会最终带有光环&mdash;&mdash;如果你还可以找到的话，因为它已经停产了。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Sometimes people ask me if, in the Church of Emacs, it is a sin to use Vi. Well, it's true that VI-VI-VI is the editor of the Beast, [laughter] but using a free version of Vi is not a sin, it's a penance.
zh_CN: 有时，人们会问我，在 Emacs 教堂使用 Vi 是不是罪恶。VI-VI-VI 确实是野兽的编辑器，[笑声]但是自由版本的 Vi 不是罪恶，而是忏悔。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And sometimes people ask me if my halo is really an old computer disk. [Points at halo] This is no computer disk, this is my halo. But it was a computer disk in a previous existence.
zh_CN: 有时，人们还会问我，我的光环是不是真的是一张旧光盘。[指了指光环]这不是光盘，这是我的光环。但是它的前世是一个光盘。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So, thank you everyone.
zh_CN: 谢谢诸位。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [Applause]
zh_CN: [掌声]

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 22. About anonymity, credit cards, cell phones
zh_CN: 22.关于匿名、信用卡、手机

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I can answer questions for a while.
zh_CN: 现在我可以回答一些提问。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Yeah, do you know, or can you tell us why Linus Torvalds, who has very very different attitudes with yours, released Linux under your [unintelligible]? What motivated him?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>你是否知道，或者你是否可以讲一讲 Linus Torvalds 既然有和你非常不同的态度，又为什么把 Linux 按照你的[听不清]发布？他的动机是什么？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> I don't know why Linus Torvalds switched to the GNU GPL for Linux. You'd have to ask him that. I don't recall ever seeing the reason for that. I don't know.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我不知道为什么 Linus Torvalds 把 Linux 的许可证切换成 GNU GPL。你要问他本人。我想不起来，甚至也没有想到任何理由。我不知道

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Can you say something about the current effort to put security in the network itself?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>你是否可以说一说目前在网络本身增加安全的工作？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> I don't know&hellip; he said, &ldquo;efforts to plug security into the network.&rdquo; I don't know what that means.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我不知道&hellip;&hellip;他说，&ldquo;在网络中加入安全。&rdquo;我知道这是什么意思。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> [unintelligible] remove anonymity from the network itself.
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>[听不清]在网络本身移除匿名。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Remove anonymity? Well, I don't know about those efforts, but I think it's horrible. I don't do e-commerce because I don't like to buy things with credit cards. I want to buy things anonymously and I do so by paying cash in a store. I don't like giving Big Brother any records about me. For the same reason, I do not have a cell phone. I don't want to carry a personal tracking device. We have to fight more to preserve our privacy from surveillance systems. So, although I'm not familiar with the specific efforts you're talking about, I find them dangerous, much more dangerous than computer insecurity. Now, perhaps that's because I'm not a Windows user; so I have less problem to deal with.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>移除匿名？我不知道这方面的工作，但是我认为这很恐怖。我不进行电子商务因为我不喜欢用信用卡购物。我想匿名购物，并通过实体店现金支付实现匿名。我不愿意给政府任何我的个人记录。同样的道理，我也没有手机。我不想带着一个个人追踪器。我们需要和监控系统做斗争以争取保留我们的隐私。因此，虽然我不熟悉你所说的具体工作，但是我觉得那很危险，远比不安全的电脑更危险。可能因为我不是 Windows 用户，所以我在这方面并没有那么多问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 23. Free formats, copyright, Microsoft
zh_CN: 23. 自由格式、版权、微软

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> No, we can't. Basically he's asking if we can monopolize file formats. Well, the answer is, we can't do so using our copyright-based licenses, because copyright does not cover any idea, principle, method of operation or system; it only covers the details of expression of a work of authorship. So we can't, using our licenses like the GNU GPL, prohibit anyone from writing his own code to handle the same format.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>不，我们不能。实际上，他在问我们是否可以垄断文件格式。回答是，我们不能使用我们以版权为基础的许可证这么做，因为操作（或）系统的想法、原理和方法不能作为版权；它只涉及作品详细表达著作权。所以，我们不能使用诸如 GNU GPL 许可证来禁止人们编写处理同一文件格式的代码。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We could conceivably get patents; however, it turns out patents are very, very different from copyright; they have almost nothing in common, and it turns out it costs a lot of money to get a patent and even more money to keep the patent going. And the other thing is, {Microsoft doesn't need to get} you shouldn't assume that what Microsoft is getting a patent on is important because it's a big improvement. It just has to be different. Microsoft can get a patent on something about a file format that's different and then they can force most users to switch over to a new format that uses that idea. And Microsoft can do this because of its market power, its control.
zh_CN: 我们可以假想取得专利；不过，又发现专利和版权非常、非常不同。获得专利要花很多钱，维持专利还要花更多。另外，{微软无需获得}你不必设想微软获得专利是因为做出了巨大改进。其实只需不同即可。微软可以为一个不同的文件格式取得专利，然后强制大多数用户切换到新的格式。微软能这么做是因为它的市场能力和控制力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: We can't do that. The whole thing about the free software is, the developers don't have any power; the users are in control. We can't force users to switch over to anything, not even for their own safety.
zh_CN: 我们无法做到。自由软件的理念就是，开发者没有权力；用户有控制。我们不能强制用户切换，即使是为了他们自己的安全也不行。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: You know, we've been trying since around 1992 or so to convince users to stop using GIF format, because that format is patented and some users will get sued. So we said, &ldquo;everybody please stop using GIF format for the sake of those who get sued if the public uses this format.&rdquo; And people haven't listened. So the thing is, we can't do what Microsoft does, because that's based on using the power that they have, and since we have chosen to respect people's freedom, we don't have power over the public.
zh_CN: 你要知道，我们从1992年就努力让用户不要使用 GIF 格式，因为该格式是专利，用户可能会因此吃官司。我们说，&ldquo;为了有人不因为大家使用 GIF 格式而被起诉，请所有人停止使用这个格式。&rdquo;人们不听。所以，微软可以做的，我们没法做，因为他们有那样的势力去那样做，而由于我们选择了尊重用户的自由，我们对公众没有强制力。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 24. Dangers of webmail loss of freedom
zh_CN: 24. 网络邮箱有失去自由的危险

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> So, when somebody's using Google, they don't have access to the source code that we use, so they have no way of [unintelligible] what we do, so using that violates their freedom.
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>当有人使用谷歌时，他们没有源代码，所以他们无法[听不清]我们所做，这侵犯了人们的自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> When a person is accessing the Google server, they don't have either the binaries or the source code of the program that Google is using, because it's Google that's using the program; that person is not using the program. So I wouldn't expect to have the authority to change the software that's running on your computer. You should have the freedom to change the software that's running on your computer, but I would never expect that I would have the freedom to go into your computer and change the software there. Why should you let me do that? So that's the way I see it when a person is using Google server to do a search.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>当一个人访问谷歌的服务器时，他们既没有谷歌的二进制，也没有源代码，因为那是谷歌在使用的程序；而那个人没有使用那个程序。所以，我不会想象我有修改你电脑里的程序的权力，你应该有自由修改你电脑里的程序，但是我不认为我该有进入你的电脑并修改软件的自由。你为什么会让我那么做呢？这就是我对一个人使用谷歌服务器进行搜索的看法。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, there is a possible danger there. The danger doesn't come from things like Google. The danger comes from things like Hotmail. When people start using a server on the net to store their data and to do the jobs that they really could be doing on their own computer, that introduces a danger. I've never understood the people who said that thin clients were the future, because I can't imagine why I would ever do things that way. I've got a PC and it's capable of doing things like running a mail reader; I'm going to have the mail on my own computer, I'm not going to leave it on anybody's server. Especially not a server I have no reason to trust. And these days, of course, if you allow your personal data to be on somebody's server, you might as well be handing it straight to Ashcroft and his gestapo.
zh_CN: 这里有一个可能的风险。风险来自谷歌。风险也来自 Hotmail。当人们使用网络服务器来保存数据和完成工作时，而这些本来可以在他们自己的电脑上进行，这就带来了风险。我不理解说瘦客户端是未来的那些人，因为我无法想象我怎么会那样做事。我有个人电脑，它有能力运行邮件阅读器；我就让邮件在我的电脑上，我不会把它留在别人的服务器上，尤其是一个我不能相信的服务器。当然，现如今，如果你把个人数据放在别人的服务器上，那么你可能就是把数据直接交给了盖世太保<sup><a href="#TransNote2">2</a></sup>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [RMS, 2010: Gmail is comparable to Hotmail in this regard.  See also <a href="/philosophy/who-does-that-server-really-serve.html"> gnu.org/philosophy/who-does-that-server-really-serve.html</a> for another issue that applies to some, but not all, network services.]
zh_CN: [RMS，2010年：在此问题上，Gmail 和 Hotmail 是类似的。又见 <a href="/philosophy/who-does-that-server-really-serve.html"> gnu.org/philosophy/who-does-that-server-really-serve.html</a>对一部分服务器而言，网络服务的另一个问题。]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> unintelligible
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>[听不清]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> He's asking, &ldquo;if people were using a thin client and all the computation were done on a remote server.&rdquo; Yes, it does mean that people lose freedom, because, clearly, you can't change the software that's set up on somebody else's server, so if you're using the software on somebody else's server, instead of running it on your own computer, you lose control. Now, I don't think that's a good thing, and therefore I'm going to encourage people not to go along with it. People will keep on developing the software to do these jobs on your own machine.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>他在问，&ldquo;是否人们使用瘦客户端，所有的计算都在远端的服务器上进行。&rdquo;是的，这意味着人们失去自由，因为你无法改变别人设置在服务器上的软件，所以如果你使用的是别人服务器上的软件，而不是你自己电脑的软件，你失去控制权。我不认为这是好事，所以我不建议人们这么做。人们会一直开发在自己的电脑上完成这些工作的软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: {Leaving so soon? [Laughter] I hope it wasn't something I said. And gee, now I won't get to meet her. Anyway.}
zh_CN: {这么早就走了？[笑声]我希望不是因为我的演讲。哎，我不能见到她了。不管怎样。}

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 25. Copyright art vs. software
zh_CN: 25. 艺术版权与软件版权

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Are the Creative Commons a different denomination of the same religion or a different religion?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>知识共享（和自由软件相比）是同一宗教的另一种形式，还是另外一种宗教？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> {Creative Commons} Well, first of all, this isn't a religion, except as a joke. The Church of Emacs is a joke. Please keep in mind, taking any church too seriously can be hazardous to your health, even the Church of Emacs. So this has nothing to do with religion.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>{知识共享}首先，它不是一个宗教，除非你在搞笑。Emacs 大教堂是一个玩笑。请记住，对待教堂过于认真的话，即便是 Emacs 大教堂，可能对你的身体健康有伤害。所以，这一切和宗教无关。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is a matter of ethics. It's a matter of what makes for a good society and what kind of society we want to live in. These are not questions of dogma, these are questions of philosophy and politics.
zh_CN: 它事关道德。它事关什么造就优良的社会和我们愿意在怎样的社会生活。这些不是教义的问题，这是哲学和政治的问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The Creative Commons licenses are designed for artistic works, and I think that they are good for artistic works. The issue for artistic works is not exactly the same as for software.
zh_CN: 知识共享协议为艺术作品而设计，而且我觉得它们对艺术作品是好事。艺术作品的问题和软件的问题不完全一样。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Software is an example of a practical, functional work. You use it do to a job. The main purpose of a program is not that people will read the code and think, &ldquo;boy, how fascinating, what a great job they did.&rdquo; The main purpose of software is, you run it and it does something. And yes, those people who are interested in software will also read it and learn, but that's not the main purpose. It's interesting because of the job it will do, not just because of how nice it is to read. Whereas with art, the main use of art is the sensation that you get when you look at it or listen to it. So these are very different ways of being used and, as a result, the ethical issues about copying and modification are different.
zh_CN: 软件是一个实用、有功用作品的实例。你用软件完成工作。一个程序的主要目的不是让人阅读代码和思考，&ldquo;你看，多么了不起，他们做得真不错。&rdquo;软件的主要目的是，你运行它，它做事。是的，对软件感兴趣的人也会读代码和学习代码，但是这不是主要目的。软件有趣是因为它做的事，而不只是因为它读起来多么爽。而对于艺术，艺术的主要用途是你的视觉或听觉感受。他们的用途非常不同，因此，复制和修改它们的涉及道德问题也不同。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For practical, functional works, people have to be free with the four freedoms, including free to publish a modified version. But for art I wouldn't say that. I think that there's a certain minimum freedom that we must always have for using any published work, and that is the freedom to non-commercially distribute verbatim, exact copies. But I wouldn't say that it has to go further than that necessarily. So I think the Creative Commons licenses are a very useful and good thing to use for art.
zh_CN: 对实用、功能性作品，人们必须有四个自由，包括自由发布修改版本。但是对于艺术，我不这样认为。我认为这里有一个自由的底线，就是我们必须有自由使用已经公开的作品，就是有自由非商业地原样分发作品的副本。但是我觉得我们不一定有必要超越这个底线。因此，我认为知识共享许可证非常有用，对艺术是好事。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 26. Malicious free software
zh_CN: 26. 有害的自由软件

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Since everybody has the freedom to modify the code and republish it, how do you keep out saboteurs?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>由于人人都有修改代码并发布的自由，如何避免破坏分子？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, you don't. The point is, you can't ever. So you just look at these different versions and you see which one you actually like. You can't keep the saboteurs out of nonfree software either; in fact, the developer could be the saboteur. The developers often put in, as I said, malicious features. And then you're completely helpless. At least with free software, you can read the source code, you can compare the two versions. If you're thinking of switching from this version to that version, you can compare them and see what's different and look for some malicious code.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>不能避免。重点是，你怎么也不能避免。所以你检查这些不同的版本，选择一个你喜欢的。你也不能在非自由软件上避免破坏分子；实际上，开发者就可能是破坏分子。就象我说的，开发者经常加入有害的功能。你却毫无办法。使用自由软件，你至少可以阅读源代码，可以比较两个版本。如果你要从一个版本切换到另一个版本，你可以做比较，看看哪里不同，看看是不是有害的代码。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 27. Patented file formats
zh_CN: 27. 专利文件格式

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Do you happen to know which popular file formats are secret and which ones are public?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>你是否知道哪个流行的文件格式是秘密，哪个又是公开？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, of the popular file formats, the only ones that I know of that are secret are some Microsoft ones. But, on the other hands, there are others that have patent problems. For instance, there's still a patent covering LZW compression, which is used in GIF format.  And someone has a patent he claims covers JPEG format and is actually suing a bunch of companies. And then there's a patent on MP3 audio, so that the free software MP3 encoders have been driven underground in the US [<a href="#ft1">1</a>]. That's why people should switch to Ogg Vorbis format. And then, if you look at, say, MPEG-2 video, there are 39 different US patents said to cover aspects of MPEG-2. So there are a lot of such problems.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>关于流行的文件格式，我知道的只有一个，就是微软的。但是，另一方面，有一些格式有专利的问题。例如，仍然有一个关于 LZW 压缩的专利，它用于 GIF 格式。有个人声称他的专利涉及 JPEG 格式，并且已经在起诉一批公司。还有一个专利是关于 MP3 音频的，所以解码 MP3 的自由软件在美国已经被迫转为地下[<a href="#ft1">1</a>]。这也是为什么人们应该转到 Ogg Vorbis 格式。然后，你再看，例如 MPEG-2 视频，有39个不同的美国专利涉及 MPEG-2。所以，这种问题非常多。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 28. Games as free software
zh_CN: 28. 作为自由软件的游戏

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Is there any software that sort of mixes between the Creative Commons and functional software, such as games or&hellip;?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>有没有软件介于知识共享和功能软件之间？类似游戏&hellip;&hellip;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, {you can say that a game} in many cases you can look at a game as the combination of a program and a scenario. And then it would make sense to treat the program like a program and the scenario like a work of fiction. On the other hand, what you see is that it's quite useful for the users to edit and republish modified versions of these scenarios. So, although those are like fiction and art, not like software, it really seems to be useful for users to be free to change them.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>{你可以说游戏}在很多情况下，游戏可以看成是程序和场景的结合。这样，把程序当程序、把场景当科幻作品就顺理成章。另一方面，你可以看出用户对场景的修改和再发布非常有用。因此，虽然它类似科幻和艺术，而不象软件，但是用户有自由修改它实际上是有好处的。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 29. GPL freedoms for cars, saving seeds
zh_CN: 29. GPL 带给汽车的自由，保存种子

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Do you envision this free software philosophy to go across, off the boundary to products, commodities&hellip;
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>你认为自由软件的哲学会超越产品、商品&hellip;&hellip;的界限吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> When you say, &ldquo;products, commodities,&rdquo; could you be concrete?
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>你说的 &ldquo;产品、商品&rdquo; 能具体点吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> [unintelligible] cars
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>[听不清]汽车

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> So should the free software philosophy apply to cars? Okay, well the free software philosophy is, you should be free to copy and modify them. So, if you have a car copier, I think you should be free to copy any car. But there are no car copiers, so that really is a meaningless question. And then, second, modifying. Well, yeah, I think if you've got a car, you should be free to modify it and, in fact, lots of people do modify their cars. So, there may be some restrictions on that, but to a large extent that freedom exists. So what you see is that this isn't really a meaningful question when you're talking about physical objects. There are, in general, no copiers for physical objects.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>自由软件的哲学是否应该使用在汽车上？好的，自由软件的哲学是你有自由复制和修改软件。所以，如果你有复制汽车的复印机，那么我认为你有自由复制汽车。但是这样的机器不存在，因此这个问题没有意义。然后是修改，我认为如果你有一辆车，那么你有自由修改它，事实上，许多人就是在改车。修改车也许有一些限制，但是修改的自由在很大程度上是有的。因此，当你想探讨物理实体时，你会看到这样的问题没有实际意义，一般来说，没有物理实体的复印机。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If we imagine, someday in the future, that such copiers exist, well that will be a different situation and yeah, that change would have consequences for ethics and politics. If we had food copiers, I'm sure that agribusiness would be trying to forbid people from having and using food copiers. And that would be a tremendous political issue, just as today there's a tremendous political issue about whether farmers ought to be allowed to save seeds. Now, I believe that they have a fundamental right to save seeds and that it's tyranny to stop them. A democratic government would never do that.
zh_CN: 如果我们想象将来有一天有了这种复印机，情况就变得不同，这种变化就会有道德和政治的后果。如果我们有了食物的复制机，那么我确信农业行业会极力禁止人们拥有和使用食物复制机。那会是一个影响非常巨大的政治问题。我相信农民有保留种子的基本权利，剥夺这个权利是暴君干的事。民主政府绝不会那么做。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 30. No software is better than nonfree software
zh_CN: 30. 没有软件也比非自由软件强

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> [roughly] Do you see a problem with free software being under-produced because nobody wants to invest money [unintelligible]?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>[大概意思]你是否认为由于没人投资[听不清]所以自由软件的生产力不行？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> I don't know what you mean by &ldquo;under-produced.&rdquo; We see that some people develop free software and some don't. So we could imagine more people developing free software and, if so, we'd have more of it. But, you see, the tragedy of the commons really is a matter of overuse. And that's something that can happen maybe with a field, but it doesn't happen with software; you can't overuse a program, you don't wear it out. So, really, there's no analogy there.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我不理解你说的 &ldquo;生产力不行。&rdquo;我们知道有人会开发自由软件，有人不开发。我们可以想象有更多的人开发自由软件，那么我们就会有更多的自由软件。但是，你知道，公地悲剧<sup><a href="#TransNote3">3</a></sup>实际上是因为过度使用。土地也许会有过度使用的问题，但是软件没有。所以，这里真的没法类比。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Well, the example you gave is, let's say there's a useful program and a thousand people want a change to it. You said they could get their money together and go hire a programmer to make the change. But each individual in that group can say, &ldquo;well, I'll just let the 999 pay for the change.&rdquo;
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>你给的例子是，假设一个好用的程序有一千人想要一个修改。你说这些人可以把钱凑起来雇佣一个程序员来修改。但是，每个人都会说，&ldquo;不如先让其他999个来付费。&rdquo;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, they can do that, but that would be pretty stupid, because if they saw that the result was, it wasn't getting done, then if it's of some importance to them, then they're much better off joining and contributing their money so that the change gets made. And whether they do this or not, either way I won't agree that anything tragic has happened. If they join and they pay for their change and they get it, that's good, and if they don't join and they don't pay for that change, that's good too; I guess they didn't want it enough. Either one's okay.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>他们可以那样做，但是那样一点也不聪明，因为当他们等到结果时，结果不是他们想要的；如果这个事情很重要，那么选择加入并付钱更好，因为结果会是他们想要的。无论他们是否付钱，我都不认为这是一个悲剧。如果他们付钱得到了结果，很好；如果没有，也没什么。我觉得他们不是那么想要那个改变。这也正常。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Nonfree software is evil and we're better off with nothing than with nonfree software. The tragedy of the commons can happen either through overuse or under-contribution, but overuse is impossible in software.  Under-contribution happens when a program is proprietary. Then it's a failure to contribute to the commons. And so I would like that proprietary software to stop being developed. A nonfree program is worse than no program, because neither one allows you to get a job done in freedom, but the nonfree program might tempt people to give up their freedom and that's really bad.
zh_CN: 非自由软件是在作恶，没有软件比有非自由软件对我们更有利。公地悲剧既可以是因为过度使用，也可以是因为贡献不够，但是软件不会使用过度。当软件是专有时，会有贡献不够。那是对公地贡献的失败。因此，我希望停止开发非自由软件。非自由软件比没有软件更糟糕，因为他们都不能在自由中完成任务，但是非自由软件可能会诱使人们放弃自由，而这非常糟糕。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 31. Portability of free software
zh_CN: 31. 自由软件的可移植性

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Is their a potential conflict between the free software philosophy and the portability of [unintelligible]?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>自由软件的哲学是否会和可移植性[听不清]有潜在的冲突？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> No, {I don't see} this makes no sense to me at all. I see no conflict between the philosophy of free software and portability.  And in the free software world we've worked very hard to achieve portability from all sides. We make our software very portable and we make our software standardized so that other people can easily have portability, so we are aiding portability from every possible direction.  Meanwhile, you see Microsoft deliberately introducing incompatibilities and deliberately blocking interoperability. Microsoft can do that because it has power. We can't do that. If we make a program incompatible and the users don't like it, they can change it. They can change it to be compatible. So we are not in a position where we could impose incompatibility on anybody, because we have chosen not to try to have power over other people.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>不，{我没看到}这个对我完全没有意义。我没看到自由软件的哲学和可移植性有任何冲突。在自由软件的世界中，我们非常努力使软件能够全方位具有兼容性。我们使我们的软件非常兼容，我们使我们的软件非常标准，其他人可以轻松拥有兼容性，我们从各个方面帮助软件实现兼容。同时，你看到微软蓄意引入不兼容性并蓄意阻止互操作。微软因其势力大而这样做。我们不能。如果我们的程序不够兼容，而用户不喜欢，他们可以更改之。他们能把它改得更兼容。因此，我们的地位并不足以强加不兼容，因为我们没有选择追求凌驾于用户之上的权力。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 32. Is some free software obfuscated on purpose?
zh_CN: 32. 某些自由软件故意做了代码混淆吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Something [unintelligible] obfuscated [unintelligible] understand it.
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>有些东西[听不清]做了混淆[听不清]理解。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, I disagree with you. Please, this is silly. If you're saying a program is hard to understand, that's not the same as the people are restricting it. It's not the same as saying, &ldquo;you're forbidden to see it.&rdquo; Now, if you find it unclear, you can work on making it clearer. The fact is, the developers probably are trying to keep it clear, but it's a hard job and, unless you want to compare our software with proprietary software and see which one is clearer, you have no basis to make the claim that you're making. From what I hear, nonfree software is typically much worse and the reason is that the developers figure no one will ever see it, so they'll never be embarrassed by how bad it is.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我不同意你的说法。这很可笑。如果你说某个程序很难理解，那和人们要限制你不一样。这并不是说，&ldquo;禁止你看它。&rdquo;如果你觉得它不够简明，那么你可以把它变得更简明。实际上，开发者可能在努力使之简明，但是它很难；除非你要把我们的程序和专有软件做比较，来看看哪个更简明，你的说法没有根据。就我所知，非自由软件通常更糟搞，原因就是开发者知道没人会看到代码，所以他们从来不会因为代码一塌糊涂而尴尬。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 33. Proprietary keeping an edge
zh_CN: 33. 专有具有优势

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> You hear the argument a lot from people who manufacture devices or [unintelligible] hardware that they need to have proprietary software in order to give them an edge, because, if they gave away the software for free, then a competitor could manufacture the device [unintelligible].
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>你知道，许多来自设备制造商或[听不清]硬件商的人在讨论，他们需要专有软件来获得优势，因为如果他们免费分发软件，那么竞争对手就也能制造这些设备[听不清]。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> I don't believe this. I think it's all bullshit, because there they are competing with each other and each one's saying, &ldquo;we need to make the software proprietary to have an edge over the others.&rdquo; Well, if none of them did it, they might all lose their edge? I mean, so what? We shouldn't buy this. And I mean, we shouldn't buy what they're saying and we shouldn't buy their products either.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我不信。我认为这是谬论，因为他们在互相竞争，所以每个人都会说，&ldquo;我们要让软件专有以获得优势。&rdquo;如果他们都不这么做，那么他们就都失去优势了吗？我的意思是，这又如何呢？我们不应该购买他们的东西。我们不应该相信他们的自吹自擂，也不要买他们的产品。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 34. Forbidding is forbidden how is this freedom?
zh_CN: 34. 禁止就是禁止，如何变成自由？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> I might be saying [unintelligible]
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>我会说[听不清]

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Please don't. The issue that you want to raise may be a good issue, but please try to raise it in a neutral way, rather than raising it with an attack.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>请不要那样。你的问题可能是个好问题，但是请尽量用中立而不是攻击性的方式提出来。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> There's something in my mind, so I'll just speak up.  The thing is, by actually registering [unintelligible] thing and saying that &ldquo;you can redistribute this software but you have to comply with these four freedoms,&rdquo; is that not restricting my freedom too?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>我想到什么，就直接说了出来。我的问题是，注册[听不清]一个事情并说，&ldquo;你可以再发布这个软件，但是你必须遵守四个自由，&rdquo;这难道不也是限制我的自由？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> No, it's restricting you from having power. To stop A from subjugating B is not a denial of freedom to A, because to subjugate others is not freedom. That's power.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>不，它是要限制你的权力。阻止甲主宰乙并不是剥夺甲的自由，因为主宰别人不是一种自由，那是权力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Now, there may be people who would like to exercise power and we're stopping them, but that's good and that's not denying anyone freedom.
zh_CN: 有人想拥有权力，我们要阻止他们，但是我们是在做好事，并不是在剥夺自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I mean, you could just as well say if you're overthrowing a dictator, the dictator's saying, &ldquo;you're taking away my freedom to dictate to everyone!&rdquo; But that's not freedom, that's power.
zh_CN: 比如，你也可以直接说如果你要推翻一个独裁者，独裁者说，&ldquo;你在剥夺我独裁的自由！&rdquo;但那不是自由，那是权力。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So I'm making the distinction between freedom, which is having control over your own life, and power, which is having control over other people's lives. We've got to make this distinction; if we ignore the difference between freedom and power, then we lose the ability to judge whether a society is free or not. You know, if you lose this distinction, then you look at Stalinist Russia and you say, &ldquo;well, there was just as much freedom there, it's just that Stalin had it all.&rdquo; No! In Stalinist Russia, Stalin had power and people did not have freedom; the freedom wasn't there, because it's only freedom when it's a matter of controlling your own life. Controlling other people's lives is not freedom at all, not for either of the people involved.
zh_CN: 所以，我区分了控制自己生活的自由和控制别人生活的权力。我们必须区分它们；如果忽略了自由和权力的区别，那么我们就失去了判断一个社会是否自由的能力。你知道，如果你不区分它们，那么你看斯大林的俄罗斯时，你会说，&ldquo;那里的自由也一样多，只不过是斯大林拿到了所有的自由。&rdquo;不。在斯大林的俄罗斯，斯大林拥有权力，而人民没有自由；那里没有自由，因为只有你能控制自己的生活时，才有自由。控制别人的生活绝不是自由，对双方都不是。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 35. Can Google help free software
zh_CN: 35. 谷歌可否帮助自由软件

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> In your opinion, is there anything that Google as a company could do better in the spirit of free software?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>在你看来，谷歌公司在自由软件方面如何做得更好？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> I actually don't know enough about what Google is doing to have any opinion. But if Google would like to donate some money to the Free Software Foundation, we would gladly accept it. {I gather that, I mean} I met some people here who are working on a particular free program, namely Linux, the kernel. And I didn't ask actually if they publish their improvements. [<b>AUDIENCE:</b> They do] Oh good, so that's contributing. I mean, if you want to contribute to other pieces of free software, that would be nice too, but I don't know if you have a need to do that. And, of course, if you ever have a chance to release some other generally useful new piece of free software, that would be good too.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我不太了解谷歌做的事情，所以没有太多发言权。但是如果谷歌愿意捐钱给自由软件基金会，那么我们很高兴接受。{我是说，我可以接受}我在这里遇到一些为某个自由软件工作的人，就是 Linux 内核。我不曾问他们是否发布了他们的改进。[<b>听众：</b>他们发布了]那很好，那就是贡献。我的意思是，如果你们想要为其他自由软件做贡献，也很好。但是我不知道你们是否有需要那么做。当然，如果你们有机会发布一些好用的通用自由软件，那也是好事。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [RMS, 2010: Google now distributes some large nonfree programs.  Some are written in Javascript, and servers install them without your noticing.]
zh_CN: [RMS，2010年：谷歌现在发布一些大型的非自由程序。有些是用 Javascript 写的，服务器会在你不知情时安装这些程序。]

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 36. Free software on windows, good or bad
zh_CN: 36. windows 下的自由软件，好事还是坏事

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: I'll take three more questions.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我再回答3个问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> So, if I develop free software for a proprietary system such as Windows, essentially I'm supporting the proprietary system. Am I doing a good or a bad thing here?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>如果我为象 Windows 这样的专有操作系统开发自由软件，我实际上是在支持专有系统。那么我是在做好事，还是坏事？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, there's a good aspect and a bad aspect. In regard to the use of your code, you're respecting other people's freedom, so that's good, but the fact that it only runs on Windows is bad. So, really, you shouldn't develop it on Windows. You shouldn't use Windows. Using Windows is bad. {That is, in itself} It's not as bad as being the developer of Windows, but it's still bad and you shouldn't do that.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>这既有好的一面，也有坏的一面。从使用你的代码来看，你尊重了其他人的自由，这是好的一面。不过，你真的不该在 Windows 上开发。你不该使用 Windows。使用 Windows 是坏事。{就其本身来说}并不象作为 Windows 的开发者那么坏，但是它还是坏事，你不该那么做。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> So you're saying, just don't do it at all.
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>因此你是说，完全不要那么做。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Yeah, don't use Windows. Use GNU/Linux and develop your free program for GNU/Linux instead. And then it will be good in both ways.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>是的，不要使用 Windows，而是用 GNU/Linux 开发 GNU/Linux 的自由软件。这样就在两方面都是好事。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> But couldn't it open Windows users to this ideology?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>但是那样就不能向 Windows 用户展示这个理念了吧？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> It could, but there's enough free software available for use on Windows to have that effect. And the thing is, developing software for Windows is going to create a practical incentive for people to use Windows, rather than use GNU/Linux. So, please don't.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>有可能，但是已经有了足够多的 Windows 自由软件来达到那个效果了。而且，为 Windows 开发软件实际上刺激大家使用 Windows，而不是 GNU/Linux。因此，不要那么做。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: [RMS, 2010: to put it more clearly, making free programs run also on Windows can be useful as he said; however, writing a free program only for Windows is a waste.]
zh_CN: [RMS，2010年：说得更清楚一些，让自由软件也在 Windows 上运行会向他说得那样有用；不过，编写只在 Windows 上运行的自由软件是浪费。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 37. SCO's suit
zh_CN: 37. SCO 诉讼案

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> What would be the impact of SCO winning their argument against Linux? So what would be the impact on&hellip;
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>SCO 如果打赢了和 Linux 的官司有什么影响？影响会&hellip;&hellip;

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> I don't know, it depends. It would have no effect on the GPL. But {it might have some effect} some code might have to be removed from Linux. And whether that would be a big problem or a tiny problem depends on what code, so there's no way of saying. But I don't think SCO is a real problem. I think software patents and treacherous computing and hardware with secret specs, those are the real problems.  That's what we've got to be fighting against.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>我不知道，要分开来看。它对 GPL 没有影响。但是{可能会有一些影响}Linux 可能需要移除一些代码。根据代码的不同，这个可能是大问题，也可能是小问题，还无法判断。但是我不认为 SCO 是一个真正的问题。我认为软件专利和背叛的计算以及秘密的硬件规格才是真正的问题。那才是我们应该与之斗争的问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 38. Stallman's problem typing
zh_CN: 38. Stallman 的打字问题

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> I have a non-ideology question. I'm personally very interested in your battle with repetitive stress injuries and the impact that it had on the development of GNU Hurd.
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>我有一个非理念性的问题。我个人对你和反复压力伤病的斗争以及它对 GNU Hurd 开发的影响非常感兴趣。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> None, because I was never working on the GNU Hurd.  {I've never} We hired a person to write the GNU Hurd. I had nothing to do with writing it. And there were a few years when I couldn't type much and then we hired people to type for me. And then I found, by using keyboards with a light touch, I could type again.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>没有影响，因为我从未在 GNU Hurd 项目上工作。{我没有}我们雇了一个人来开发 GNU Hurd。我没有写过 GNU Hurd 的代码。有几年我没法打太多的字，然后我们雇人来为我打字。后来我发现，使用带光触的键盘，我又能打字了。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 39. Open source, good or bad Pat-riot Act.
zh_CN: 39. 开源，好的还是坏的策略<sup><a href="#TransNote4">4</a></sup>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>AUDIENCE:</b> Can you give us your opinion of open source?
zh_CN: <b>听众：</b>你可以说说你对开源的看法吗？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: <b>RICHARD:</b> Well, the open source movement is sort of like the free software movement, except with the philosophical foundation discarded. So they don't talk about right and wrong, or freedom, or inalienable rights, they just don't present it in ethical terms. They say that they have a development methodology that they say typically results in technically superior software. So they only appeal to practical, technical values.
zh_CN: <b>RICHARD：</b>开源运动有点象自由软件运动，除了它把我们的哲学基础放弃了。他们不谈论对错，也不谈论自由，也不说不可剥夺的权利，他们就是不提道德词语。他们会说他们有一套开发方法，他们会说这套方法会产生技术上更优秀的软件。所以他们只诉求实用的、技术的价值。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: And what they're saying may be right and if this convinces some people to write free software, that's a useful contribution. But I think they're missing the point when they don't talk about freedom, because that's what makes our community weak, that we don't talk about and think about freedom enough. People who don't think about freedom won't value their freedom and they won't defend their freedom and they'll lose it.  Look at the USA Pat-riot Act. You know, people who don't value their freedom will lose it.
zh_CN: 他们说得也许是对的，如果它能够说服人们来写自由软件，那么也是很好的贡献。但是我认为他们不说自由是错失了重点，因为不说也不想那么多自由会使社区变弱。不思考自由的人不会珍视自由，也不会保卫自由，他们会失去自由。你看看美国爱国者法案，你就明白，不珍视自由的人会失去自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: 40. The end
zh_CN: 40. 结尾

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So thank you, and if anyone wants to buy any of these FSF things or&hellip;
zh_CN: 谢谢你们，如果有人要购买 FSF 的物品或者&hellip;&hellip;

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Footnote
zh_CN: 脚注

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: All the patents on MP3 will have expired by 2018.
zh_CN: 所有关于 MP3 的专利将于 2018 到期失效。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't have notes. type: Content of: <div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S NOTES*
zh_CN: <h3>译注</h3>
    <ol>
    <li id="TransNote1">wholly，意思是完全的。此处作者用来它和英语单词“holy”（神圣的）的同音巧妙地把操作系统的完全自由和 Emacs 教堂的神圣连接在一起。</li>
    <li id="TransNote2">原文是“Ashcroft and his gestapo”，Ashcroft 应该是一个人名，可能是盖世太保的头目，但未找到出处，故没有翻译。</li>
    <li id="TransNote3">原文是“the tragedy of the commons”，公地的悲剧，指有限的资源因为自由使用而被过度剥削的现象。</li>
    <li id="TransNote4">原文是“Pra-roit Act”，爱国者法案，该法案以反恐的目的扩展了美国警察的权力。</li>
    </ol>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将对FSF&amp;GNU的一般询问发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。还有一些其他联系FSF的<a href="/contact/">方式</a>。关于链接错误和&rdquo;其他更正或建议&ldquo;请发信到<a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Copyright &copy; 2004, 2021 Richard Stallman
zh_CN: Copyright &copy; 2004, 2021 Richard Stallman<br></br>Copyright &copy; 2024 XIE Wensheng (translation)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a> 授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="//savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2024。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
