kragen-software.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (23 entries)

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Software
zh_TW: 軟體

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Software is ideas.  Information.  It's different from people, places, and things; it's infinitely reduplicable like fire, at almost no cost.  This is a truism, even a cliche.  But it seems that there are particular consequences that aren't well-explored.
zh_TW: 軟體就是思想、資訊。它與人、土地、物品都不相同。 它可以像火一樣，被幾乎無代價地無限複製。 這個道理不言而喻，甚至被認為是陳詞濫調。 但它似乎總有一些沒有被人好好地探究的特殊後果。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: One is that it doesn't work well to sell it the way you sell slaves, places, and things; any of your customers can make an unbounded number of copies at cost, or less.  Market friction currently makes selling software a viable business model.  Perhaps branding does, too; there's a question as to whether Red Hat sells CDs for $50 because people like Red Hat's brand, or just because they don't know they can buy essentially the same CD from CheapBytes for $2.
zh_TW: 其中之一就是你不能像賣奴隸、土地和物品一樣去賣它﹔ 任何一個你的顧客可以按原價甚至更低的代價來製造無數的拷貝。 市場衝突正在使得賣軟體成為一種可實行的商業模式。 也許樹立品牌正是方法之一；有一個問題關於 Red Hat 的光碟賣 $50 美元， 不知是否因為人們喜歡 Red Hat 這個品牌， 還是因為他們不知道能花 $2 美元從 CheapBytes 買來一樣的光碟。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: The past and the present
zh_TW: 過去和現在

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Software makes it much easier to separate ideas from people, places, and things.  If I buy my computer to send email with, and I want to make fractals, I don't have to buy a new fractal machine.  I just have to download some fractal software.  If I want to calculate the yield force of a strut, I don't have to hire a structural engineer; I can download some <abbr title="Finite element analysis">FEA</abbr> software and simulate stressing it until it yields.  I don't have to go to a museum to look at my neighbor's fractals; I can just pull them up on my screen.  (Once I download them, of course.)
zh_TW: 軟體使得從人、土地和物品中分離出思想變得容易。 假設我買來一台計算機用來發送電子郵件， 並且我想把郵件分割成不同的大小再發出去， 我不需要再去買一台新的分割機。我只要去下載一些分割軟體。 如果我想計算一根支杆的屈服力，我不用去雇一個結構工程師。 我能下載一些 <abbr title="Finite element analysis">FEA</abbr> 軟體並用它來模擬對支杆加壓力直到它彎曲為止。 我不用跑到博物館去看我鄰居的作品殘片，我可以把它們顯示在我的螢幕上。 （當然只要我下載了它們）

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This is a spectacular change.
zh_TW: 這是一個驚人的改變。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Software locked up: the future?
zh_TW: 軟體封閉：未來？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As an example, I have a CD-ROM containing aggregated US phone listings.  Given sufficient time and expertise, I can extract these phone listings and put them up on a web site.  (I need to reverse-engineer the database structure they're stored in first.)  I can run correlation tests to see if people with certain last names tend to have more biased exchange distributions within a city.  (Which would indicate that they lived close to their families, perhaps, or that the city was ethnically segregated.)  I can find out which spelling of Cathy is most popular (Kathy? Cathi?), and I can see if people's choices of spellings of Cathy are correlated with their last names.
zh_TW: 例如，我現在擁有一張包含有美國電話號碼總表的 CD-ROM 。 如果有足夠的時間和專業技術，我就可以把那些電話表提取出來， 並把它們放在一個互聯網站上。（我首先需要對數據庫存放的結構進行反向工程。） 我能進行相關試驗來了解哪些姓氏的人是否較有偏見地選擇其居住地 （從它能看出他們住在他們家族的附近，或者也許，這個城市是種族隔離的）。 我能發現哪一個 Cathy 的拼寫最流行 （Kathy? Cathi?），並且， 我能發現人們對 Cathy 拼寫的選擇與他們的姓是否有關。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Why I don't like this
zh_TW: 為什麼我不喜歡這個

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Having the phone book myself gives me more freedom.  On the other hand, it also requires me to install software on my machine, giving that software some degree of control over my machine.  In this particular case, the software runs under Win95, so it demands complete control over my machine.  So it's actually considerably more convenient for me to just visit the web page and fill out a form to look up someone's phone number.
zh_TW: 自己擁有電話簿會給我更大的自由。從另一方面來說， 它要求我在自己的機器上安裝軟體，給那個軟體一些對我機器的控制權。 在這個特例中，這個軟體在 Win95 下運行，所以它要求對我機器的完全控制。 所以實際上，如果只訪問互聯網頁並且只要填一張表單就可以找到某人的電話號碼， 對我來說是相當大的方便。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Information in things is also considerably more convenient than information in software; a special-purpose thing is often considerably easier to use for that purpose than a general-purpose computer is.  Because of this, many industry pundits have been forecasting that general-purpose computers will fall out of use in favor of special-purpose devices.
zh_TW: 物品中的資訊比軟體中的資訊用起來要方便很多﹔ 一個特殊用途的物品經常比一個通用的計算機在相當大程度上更容易使用。 因為這一點，許多工業上的權威專家預測， 通用計算機將會在使用特殊用途設備的傾向中淡出舞台。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Web sites and special-purpose hardware are not like this.  They do not give me the same freedoms general-purpose computers do.  If the trend were to continue to the extent the pundits project, more and more of what I do today with my computer will be done by special-purpose things and remote servers.
zh_TW: 互聯網站和特殊用途的硬件設備可不是這樣的。它們不給我像通用計算機一樣的自由。 如果這種趨勢發展到了那些權威專家預測的程度， 越來越多我今天用計算機能幹的事將會使用特殊用途設備和遠端伺服器來完成。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What does freedom of software mean in such an environment? Surely it's not wrong to run a Web site without offering my software and databases for download.  (Even if it were, it might not be feasible for most people to download them.  IBM's patent server has a many-terabyte database behind it.)
zh_TW: 在這種環境下，軟體自由的含義是指什麼？ 當然，運行一個互聯網站而不提供給我軟體和數據庫來下載並不是錯誤的。 （就算這是錯誤的，它可能不適合大多數人下載。在IBM 的專利伺服器後面有一個大小為幾兆 byte 的數據庫）

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What does it mean to have free software burned into a ROM? Is the software still free if I have to desolder the ROM to read the source code and burn a new ROM to run a modified version? What does it mean to have free software running a remotely-accessible application on a Web server? Even with the best of intentions, these technologies seem make it difficult to give people the same kind of freedom they enjoy with PCs.
zh_TW: 如果把自由軟體燒進 ROM 那將意味著什麼？ 如果我需要把 ROM 分解開來閱讀源碼並且把修改版燒進新的 ROM 中， 那麼軟體依然是自由的嗎？ 如果把自由軟體運行在互聯網伺服器中的一個可遠程訪問的應用中那意味著什麼？ 甚至是最好的意圖，這些技術似乎也很難帶給人們那種他們從 PC 所享受到的自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: How to fight it
zh_TW: 如何與之抗爭

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It's more expensive to buy a new device than it is to download software and install it on my machine.  So people won't use special-purpose devices if they provide no advantages.
zh_TW: 買一台新設備要比下載一個軟體並安裝在我的機器上的代價大很多。 所以如果特殊用途設備沒什麼優點的話，人們是不會用它們的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But they do provide advantages.  They're *much* easier to use than current general-purpose computers.  A button for every function; no funny modes in which the buttons do something else, or nothing.  A display for every state variable; you don't have to click on things to make them visible.  I suspect that this is not an inherent limitation of general-purpose computers, but a limitation of their current state.
zh_TW: 但是它們確實有優點。它們在 <strong>非常大</strong> 程度上比現在的那些通用計算機更容易使用。 一個按鈕為所有的功能服務﹔沒有什麼因為按鈕做了其他什麼事情或什麼都沒做而造成的滑稽情景。 一個可以用於所有可變狀態的顯示﹔你不用去點擊什麼來使它變得可見。 我懷疑這不是通用計算機固有的限制，而是一個它們目前狀態的限制。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: A third big issue is that they require software installation.  If I want to start using my machine for writing email different, I have to install email software on it.  While this is considerably less expensive than buying a special-purpose email machine, it's considerably less uncomfortable, intimidating, and confusing.  (Or so I'm told.)  It also takes longer.
zh_TW: 第三個大問題是它們需要軟體安裝。如果我想開始用我的機器來寫一封電子郵件， 我就得必須在我的機器上安裝一個電子郵件軟體。 雖然這比購買一台特殊用途的電子郵件電器代價要小很多，它仍然會使人非常地不舒服， 令人生畏並且使人困惑。（大約我是這樣被告知的）它也得花更多的時間。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If general-purpose computers are to survive the onslaught of tiny, cheap special-purpose boxes, they must become as easy to use, reliable, and easy to install software on as those special-purpose boxes.  This requires a totally different operating environment than anything we're using on the desktop today; not surprisingly, GNU/Linux is closer than anything else I've used.  (Squeak might be even better, but I haven't tried it yet.)  But GNU/Linux is an incredibly long way away.  This will require different hardware as well as different software.
zh_TW: 如果要使通用計算機能在小巧、便宜的特殊用途小匣機的沖擊中生存下來， 他們就得變得和那些特殊用途小匣機一樣易於使用，可靠，和容易安裝軟體。 這就需要一個與當前我們桌面上使用的完全不同的作業環境﹔毫不驚奇， GNU/Linux 比其他我使用過的任何東西都更接近這個目標。（Squeak 也許還要好一些，但我沒有嘗試過） 但是 GNU/Linux 並不是一個可靠的長遠之計。這個目標需要不同的軟體就像需要不同的硬件一樣。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This text is in the public domain.
zh_TW: 本文對大眾開放（公眾領域： public domain）。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>： 宋 楊, 2003.<br />
    <b>校對</b>： 劉 昭宏, 2003.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
