push-copyright-aside.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (16 entries)

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Richard Stallman
zh_TW: 作者為 Richard Stallman

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <em>Many points that lead to a conclusion that software freedom must be universal often apply to other forms of expressive works, albeit in different ways. This essay concerns the application of principles related to software freedom to the area of literature.  Generally, such issues are orthogonal to software freedom, but we include essays like this here since many people interested in Free Software want to know more about how the principles can be applied to areas other than software.</em>
zh_TW: <em>支持軟體自由的論點經常也都適用於其他類型的作品。本文將那些與軟體自由相關的原則應用於科學文獻。一般情況下，這些問題通常與軟體自由無關，但因為很多對自由軟體感興趣的人想知道要怎麼把這些原則應用到軟體以外的領域，所以我們就收錄了這類的文章。</em>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It should be a truism that the scientific literature exists to disseminate scientific knowledge, and that scientific journals exist to facilitate the process.  It therefore follows that rules for use of the scientific literature should be designed to help achieve that goal.
zh_TW: 科學文獻是為了傳播科學知識而存在，而科學期刊是為了讓這個過程更簡單而存在。理所當然地，使用科學文獻的規則應該用以協助實現這個目標。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The rules we have now, known as copyright, were established in the age of the printing press, an inherently centralized method of mass-production copying.  In a print environment, copyright on journal articles restricted only journal publishers&mdash;requiring them to obtain permission to publish an article&mdash;and would-be plagiarists. It helped journals to operate and disseminate knowledge, without interfering with the useful work of scientists or students, either as writers or readers of articles. These rules fit that system well.
zh_TW: 我們目前所知的規則稱為著作權，是在印刷機的年代建立起來的，印刷術本質上是一種集中式的大規模複製方法。在印刷環境中，期刊文章的著作權僅用於限制期刊出版商（要求他們必須獲得作者的許可才能刊登文章）以及潛在的剽竊者。它讓期刊得以順利經營並傳播知識，同時也不會干擾作為作者或讀者的科學家與學生的實用成果。這些規則非常適用於那樣的體系。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The modern technology for scientific publishing, however, is the World Wide Web.  What rules would best ensure the maximum dissemination of scientific articles, and knowledge, on the web? Articles should be distributed in nonproprietary formats, with open access for all. And everyone should have the right to &ldquo;mirror&rdquo; articles&mdash;that is, to republish them verbatim with proper attribution.
zh_TW: 然而，今非昔比，現在的科學出版技術是使用網際網路。哪種規則才能確保科學文獻與知識在網路上最大化地傳播呢？文章應以非專有的型式散佈，並讓所有人都可以開放近用。每個人都應該有權「鏡像」文章，亦即在加上了正確的聲明後，一字不差地重新發佈這些文章。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: These rules should apply to past as well as future articles, when they are distributed in electronic form. But there is no crucial need to change the present copyright system as it applies to paper publication of journals because the problem is not in that domain.
zh_TW: 只要是以電子格式發佈，這些規則應該適用於過去與未來所有的文章。但對於期刊的紙本出版形式而言，因為問題不在這個領域，因此沒有必要改變現行的著作權系統。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Their approach has been to restrict access even to read the scientific literature to those who can and will pay for it. They use copyright law, which is still in force despite its inappropriateness for computer networks, as an excuse to stop scientists from choosing new rules.
zh_TW: 他們的作法是限制科學文獻的使用，甚至只把科學文獻讓那些有財力且願意付錢的人閱讀。他們使用的著作權法規顯然不適用於電腦網路，但依然有效，這是阻止科學家改採新規則的好藉口。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For the sake of scientific cooperation and humanity's future, we must reject that approach at its root&mdash;not merely the obstructive systems that have been instituted, but the mistaken priorities that inspired them.
zh_TW: 為了科學合作與人類的未來，我們必須從根本上拒絕這種行為，不僅是已然制定的具有阻礙的制度本身，還有它背後的錯誤思維。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Journal publishers sometimes claim that online access requires expensive high-powered server machines, and that they must charge access fees to pay for these servers. This &ldquo;problem&rdquo; is a consequence of its own &ldquo;solution.&rdquo; Give everyone the freedom to mirror, and libraries around the world will set up mirror sites to meet the demand. This decentralized solution will reduce network bandwidth needs and provide faster access, all the while protecting the scholarly record against accidental loss.
zh_TW: 期刊出版商有時會聲稱線上存取需要昂貴的高耗電伺服器，所以他們必須收取使用費來支付伺服器的費用。這個「問題」可歸因於自身的「解決方案」。給予每個人鏡像的自由，世界各地的圖書館都會設立鏡像網站以滿足需求。這種去中心化的解決方案可減少網路頻寬需求並提供更快的存取速度，同時保護學術紀錄避免意外遺失。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Publishers also argue that paying the editors requires charging for access.  Let us accept the assumption that editors must be paid; this tail need not wag the dog. The cost of editing for a typical paper is between 1 percent and 3 percent of the cost of funding the research to produce it. Such a small percentage of the cost can hardly justify obstructing the use of the results.
zh_TW: 他們還會爭辯說，付錢給編輯也需要收取使用費。姑且假設必須付給編輯酬勞（雖然這個說法根本是本末倒置）。一份典型的論文的編輯費用約只有其研究資金的百分之一到三。如此微薄的成本很難成為限制其使用的正當理由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Instead, the cost of editing could be recovered, for example, through page charges to the authors, who can pass these on to the research sponsors.  The sponsors should not mind, given that they currently pay for publication in a more cumbersome way, through overhead fees for the university library's subscription to the journal. By changing the economic model to charge editing costs to the research sponsors, we can eliminate the apparent need to restrict access. The occasional author who is not affiliated with an institution or company, and who has no research sponsor, could be exempted from page charges, with costs levied on institution-based authors.
zh_TW: 反向思考，編輯的費用可以來自作者給付的版面費，而作者可以將這些費用轉嫁到研究贊助者身上。有鑑於贊助者們當今正以一種更麻煩的方式，亦即給大學圖書館訂閱期刊的間接費用為出版品掏錢，贊助者應當不會介意。透過改變經濟模型來向研究贊助者收取編輯費用，我們可以消除限制使用的表面需求。偶爾會有與機構或公司無關且沒有研究贊助者的研究人員，這時就可以免收版面費，亦即只向有有從屬機構的研究者收費。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another justification for access fees to online publications is to fund conversion of the print archives of a journal into online form. That work needs to be done, but we should seek alternative ways of funding it that do not involve obstructing access to the result. The work itself will not be any more difficult, or cost any more. It is self-defeating to digitize the archives and waste the results by restricting access.
zh_TW: 另一個為線上文獻收費的理由是，將紙本刊物轉換為線上格式需要資金。這項工作確實必須完成，但我們應該尋求不妨礙成果使用的其他方式來籌措資金。工作本身並不會變得比較困難，或是花費更多的錢。將存檔數位化卻又限制使用這是浪費既有成果，根本是扯自己的後腿。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.zh_TW">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 4.0 國際</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2019.<br />
    <b>校稿</b>：洪朝貴 <a href="mailto:ckhung (at) cyut (dot) edu (dot) tw">&lt;ckhung (at) cyut (dot) edu (dot) tw&gt;</a>, 2020.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
