right-to-read.html - en to ko translation catalogue (50 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: The Right to Read - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 읽을 권리 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: The Right to Read
ko: 읽을 권리

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: From <cite>The Road To Tycho</cite>, a collection of articles about the antecedents of the Lunarian Revolution, published in Luna City in 2096.
ko: 다음은 달나라 시민 혁명(Lunarian Revolution)의 선조들에 관한 글 모음인 <cite>티코로 가는 길(The Road to Tycho)</cite>에서 가져온 것입니다. 이 책은 2096년에 루나 시티(Lunar City)에서 출판되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: For Dan Halbert, the road to Tycho began in college&mdash;when Lissa Lenz asked to borrow his computer.  Hers had broken down, and unless she could borrow another, she would fail her midterm project.  There was no one she dared ask, except Dan.
ko: 댄 홀버트(Dan Hallbert)에게 있어 티코(역자주: 달의 세 번째 상한에 있는 분화구, 혁명의 발단지)로 가는 길은 리사 렌츠(Lissa Lenz)가 그에게 컴퓨터를 빌려 달라고 요청했던 대학 시절에 이미 시작되었습니다. 그녀의 컴퓨터는 파손되었기 때문에 다른 사람의 컴퓨터를 빌리지 못한다면 중간 프로젝트를 완성할 수 없는 상황이었습니다. 하지만, 그녀가 도움을 요청할 만한 사람은 댄 이외에 아무도 없었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: This put Dan in a dilemma.  He had to help her&mdash;but if he lent her his computer, she might read his books.  Aside from the fact that you could go to prison for many years for letting someone else read your books, the very idea shocked him at first.  Like everyone, he had been taught since elementary school that sharing books was nasty and wrong&mdash;something that only pirates would do.
ko: 이러한 상황은 댄을 딜레마에 빠지게 했습니다. 그녀를 도와줘야겠지만, 컴퓨터를 빌려준다면 그녀는 컴퓨터에 있는 그의 책들을 읽을 지 모릅니다. 다른 사람에게 자신의 책을 읽게 하면 수년의 징역에 처해진다는 사실은 따지지 않는다고 해도, 처음에는 그녀가 자신의 책을 읽을 수 있으리라는 생각이 그에게 충격으로 다가왔습니다. 왜냐하면 어느 누구나처럼 그도 초등학교 때부터 책을 공유하는 것은 비열하고 나쁘다는 것을 배워왔기 때문입니다. 약탈 행위처럼 말입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: And there wasn't much chance that the SPA&mdash;the Software Protection Authority&mdash;would fail to catch him.  In his software class, Dan had learned that each book had a copyright monitor that reported when and where it was read, and by whom, to Central Licensing.  (They used this information to catch reading pirates, but also to sell personal interest profiles to retailers.)  The next time his computer was networked, Central Licensing would find out.  He, as computer owner, would receive the harshest punishment&mdash;for not taking pains to prevent the crime.
ko: 게다가 소프트웨어 보호국(SPA, Software Protection Authority)가 이러한 행위를 한 사람을 검거하지 못할 가능성은 거의 없었습니다. 댄은 소프트웨어 수업 시간을 통해 모든 책에는 저작권 감시 장치가 있어 언제, 어디서, 누구에게 읽혀졌는 지에 대한 사항이 중앙 열람 허가 시스템에 기록되게 되어 있다는 사실을 알고 있었습니다.(소프트웨어 보호국은 이 기록을 이용해서 불법 열람자를 검거하기도 하지만 개개인의 관심 사항에 대한 정보를 소매 상인들에게 판매하기도 합니다.) 만약, 그가 자신의 컴퓨터를 리사에게 빌려준다면, 다음번 접속 때 중앙 열람 허가 시스템은 그 사실을 알아낼 것입니다. 그는 컴퓨터의 소유자이기 때문에 범죄 행위를 근절시키기 위해 감당하기 힘든 가혹한 벌을 받게 될 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Of course, Lissa did not necessarily intend to read his books.  She might want the computer only to write her midterm.  But Dan knew she came from a middle-class family and could hardly afford the tuition, let alone her reading fees.  Reading his books might be the only way she could graduate.  He understood this situation; he himself had had to borrow to pay for all the research papers he read.  (Ten percent of those fees went to the researchers who wrote the papers; since Dan aimed for an academic career, he could hope that his own research papers, if frequently referenced, would bring in enough to repay this loan.)
ko: 물론, 리사의 의도가 그의 책을 읽기 위한 것이라고 할 수는 없습니다.  그녀는 단지 중간 프로젝트를 작성할 컴퓨터를 원하는 것일 수 있습니다.  그러나 댄은 그녀가 중산층 출신이기 때문에 책을 읽기 위한 비용은 물론이고 수업료를 감당하기도 힘들다는 사실을 잘 알고 있었습니다. 어쩌면 그의 책들을 몰래 읽는 것이 그녀가 졸업할 수 있는 유일한 방법일지 모릅니다. 그는 이러한 상황을 잘 이해하고 있었습니다. 댄은 자신이 읽었던 모든 연구 자료들의 열람료를 지불하기 위해 대출을 받아야 했습니다.(열람료의 10%는 자료를 작성한 연구자에게 돌아갑니다. 댄은 학계에서 일할 목표를 갖고 있었기 때문에 언젠가 자신의 연구 논문이 많은 열람자를 갖게 되면 그 돈으로 대출 경비를 충당할 수 있으리라고 기대할 수 있었습니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Later on, Dan would learn there was a time when anyone could go to the library and read journal articles, and even books, without having to pay.  There were independent scholars who read thousands of pages without government library grants.  But in the 1990s, both commercial and nonprofit journal publishers had begun charging fees for access.  By 2047, libraries offering free public access to scholarly literature were a dim memory.
ko: 나중에 댄은 누구나 도서관에 가서 정간물의 기사나 심지어 책도 비용을 지불하지 않고 읽을 수 있던 때가 있었다는 사실을 알게 되었습니다. 그 시절에는 정부 도서관의 허가 없이도 수천 장의 논문을 읽은 독립적인 학자들이 있었습니다. 그러나 1990년대부터 상업과 비영리 정간물 발행자 모두가 자료 접근에 대한 요금을 징수하기 시작했고, 2047년에 이르면 학술 자료에 대한 자유로운 접근을 허용하는 도서관은 거의 사라지게 되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: There were ways, of course, to get around the SPA and Central Licensing.  They were themselves illegal.  Dan had had a classmate in software, Frank Martucci, who had obtained an illicit debugging tool, and used it to skip over the copyright monitor code when reading books.  But he had told too many friends about it, and one of them turned him in to the SPA for a reward (students deep in debt were easily tempted into betrayal).  In 2047, Frank was in prison, not for pirate reading, but for possessing a debugger.
ko: 물론, 소프트웨어 보호국와 중앙 열람 허가 시스템을 속이는 방법이 있긴 했지만 모두 불법이었습니다. 댄과 소프트웨어 수업을 함께 듣던 친구인  프랭크 마루투치(Frank Martucci)는 책에 있는 저작권 감시 장치를 회피할 수 있는 불법 디버깅 툴을 구해 책을 읽곤 했습니다. 그러나 그는 너무 많은 친구들에게 그 사실을 말했기 때문에 현상금을 받기 위해 그를 소프트웨어 보호국에 신고한 사람이 생겨났습니다.(빚에 허덕이는 학생들은 배신의 유혹에 쉽게 빠져 들었습니다.) 프랭크는 열람 위반이 아닌 디버거 소지를 이유로 2047년에 수감되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Dan would later learn that there was a time when anyone could have debugging tools.  There were even free debugging tools available on CD or downloadable over the net.  But ordinary users started using them to bypass copyright monitors, and eventually a judge ruled that this had become their principal use in actual practice.  This meant they were illegal; the debuggers' developers were sent to prison.
ko: 댄은 누구나 디버깅 툴을 가질 수 있었던 때가 있었다는 사실을 나중에 알게 되었습니다. 심지어 CD-ROM이나 인터넷 다운로드를  통해 이용할 수 있는 자유 디버깅 툴도 있었습니다. 그러나 일반인들이 이러한 툴들을 이용해 저작권 감시 장치를 우회시켜 책을 읽게 되자, 결국 한 판사는 이러한 행위가 디버깅 툴의 실제 주된 용도라고 판결했습니다. 그것은 곧 디버깅 툴 자체가 불법이라는 것을 의미했고, 디버거의 개발자들은 감옥으로 보내졌습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Programmers still needed debugging tools, of course, but debugger vendors in 2047 distributed numbered copies only, and only to officially licensed and bonded programmers.  The debugger Dan used in software class was kept behind a special firewall so that it could be used only for class exercises.
ko: 물론 프로그래머들은 여전히 디버깅 툴이 필요했지만, 2047년의 디버거 제조업체들은 한정된 수량의 디버거만을 배포할 수 있었고, 담보된 공인 프로그래머들에게만 이를 공급할 수 있었습니다. 댄이 소프트웨어 수업 시간에 사용한 디버거는 오직 수업 실습용으로만 사용될 수 있게끔 특별한 방화벽 뒤에 놓여진 것이었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: It was also possible to bypass the copyright monitors by installing a modified system kernel.  Dan would eventually find out about the free kernels, even entire free operating systems, that had existed around the turn of the century.  But not only were they illegal, like debuggers&mdash;you could not install one if you had one, without knowing your computer's root password.  And neither the FBI nor Microsoft Support would tell you that.
ko: 저작권 감시 장치를 우회할 수 있는 또 하나의 방법은 수정된 시스템 커널을 설치하는 것입니다. 댄은 세기가 바뀌어 가던 무렵에 자유 커널이 존재했고, 심지어 완전한 자유 운영체제마저 존재했던 사실을 알아낼 수 있었습니다. 그러나, 그것은 디버거와 마찬가지로 불법이었을 뿐만 아니라 자신의 컴퓨터의 루트 패스워드를 모르는 한, 갖고 있다고 해도 설치할 방법이 없었습니다. <abbr title="Federal Bureau of Investigation">FBI</abbr>나 마이크로소프트 고객 지원 센터가 루트 패스워드를 알려줄 리는 만무한 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Dan concluded that he couldn't simply lend Lissa his computer.  But he couldn't refuse to help her, because he loved her.  Every chance to speak with her filled him with delight.  And that she chose him to ask for help, that could mean she loved him too.
ko: 댄은 리사에게 컴퓨터를 쉽게 빌려줄 수 없다고 결론지었습니다. 그러나 그녀를 돕는 것을 거부할 수 없었습니다. 왜냐하면 그녀를 사랑했기 때문입니다. 그녀와 대화하는 모든 순간마다 그는 벅찬 희열을 느꼈습니다. 또한 그녀가 자신을 택해 도움을 청하고 있다는 것은 그녀 또한 자신을 사랑하고 있다는 의미일 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Dan resolved the dilemma by doing something even more unthinkable&mdash;he lent her the computer, and told her his password.  This way, if Lissa read his books, Central Licensing would think he was reading them.  It was still a crime, but the SPA would not automatically find out about it.  They would only find out if Lissa reported him.
ko: 댄은 상상하기 힘든 방법으로 이 문제를 해결했습니다. 그는 컴퓨터를 빌려주면서 자신의 패스워드도 알려주었습니다. 이렇게 되면 리사가 그의 책을 읽더라도 중앙 열람 허가 시스템은 댄이 책을 읽고 있는 것으로 여길 것입니다. 이러한 행위가 불법이기는 했지만, 그녀가 그를 고발하지 않는 한 소프트웨어 보호국이 그 사실을 알아낼 수는 없을 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Of course, if the school ever found out that he had given Lissa his own password, it would be curtains for both of them as students, regardless of what she had used it for.  School policy was that any interference with their means of monitoring students' computer use was grounds for disciplinary action.  It didn't matter whether you did anything harmful&mdash;the offense was making it hard for the administrators to check on you.  They assumed this meant you were doing something else forbidden, and they did not need to know what it was.
ko: 만약 학교 당국이, 그가 리사에게 자신의 패스워드를 준 사실을 알아 냈다면 그녀가 무슨 용도로 사용했는가에 관계없이 둘 모두의 학창생활은 끝났을 것입니다. 학교의 정책은, 학생들의 컴퓨터 사용 감시 수단에 대한 어떠한 방해도 징계하겠다는 것입니다. 나쁜 행위를 했느냐 아니냐가 중요한 것이 아니라, 학교 당국이 학생을 감시하는 것을 어렵게 하는 것이 금지되는 것입니다. 학교는 금지된 행위를 한다는 것을 중시하지 그 자체가 무엇인지에 대해서는 관심을 갖지 않습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Students were not usually expelled for this&mdash;not directly.  Instead they were banned from the school computer systems, and would inevitably fail all their classes.
ko: 학생들은 이러한 행위 때문에 곧바로 퇴학되지 않았습니다. 그 대신 학교 컴퓨터 시스템을 사용할 수 없게 되기 때문에, 어쩔 수 없이 모든 과목에서 낙제하게 되는 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Later, Dan would learn that this kind of university policy started only in the 1980s, when university students in large numbers began using computers.  Previously, universities maintained a different approach to student discipline; they punished activities that were harmful, not those that merely raised suspicion.
ko: 나중에 댄은 학교의 이러한 정책이 많은 학생들이 컴퓨터를 사용하기 시작한 1980년대에 시작되었다는 사실을 알게 되었습니다. 그 이전에는 다른 방식으로 학생들을 규제했습니다. 학교는 단순한 혐의가 아닌 해로운 행위에 대해 학생들을 처벌했습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Lissa did not report Dan to the SPA.  His decision to help her led to their marriage, and also led them to question what they had been taught about piracy as children.  The couple began reading about the history of copyright, about the Soviet Union and its restrictions on copying, and even the original United States Constitution.  They moved to Luna, where they found others who had likewise gravitated away from the long arm of the SPA.  When the Tycho Uprising began in 2062, the universal right to read soon became one of its central aims.
ko: 리사는 소프트웨어 보호국에 댄을 고발하지 않았습니다. 그녀를 돕겠다는 그의 결정은 결국 그들의 결혼으로 이어졌고, 그들은 어린 시절에 교육받았던 저작권 침해에 대해서도 의문을 갖게 되었습니다. 그들은 저작권의 역사와 소비에트 연방, 그들의 복제 규제, 그리고 미국 헌법 초판에 대해서도 공부하게 되었습니다. 그들은 루나 시티로 이주했고 그곳에서 소프트웨어 보호국의 넓은 감시망에서 벗어나려는 동류의 사람들과 만날 수 있었습니다. 서기 2062년, 티코에서 혁명이 시작되었을 때, 자유롭게 읽고자 하는 이 보편적인 권리는 곧 혁명의 중심 목표가 되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><h3>
en: Author's Notes
ko: 저자의 말

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: This story is supposedly a historical article that will be written in the future by someone else, describing Dan Halbert's youth under a repressive society shaped by the unjust forces that use &ldquo;pirate&rdquo; as propaganda. So it uses the terminology of that society.  I have tried to project it forwards into something more visibly oppressive. See <a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html#Piracy">&ldquo;Piracy&rdquo;</a>.
ko: 이 이야기는 미래의 누군가에 의해 쓰여진 역사 이야기로, 댄 헐버트의 유년시절의 이야기로, "저작권 침해"를 선동의 도구로 사용하는 적대자에 의해 억압받던 시절을 서술하고 있다. 그렇기에 그 사회의 용어를 사용하고 있다. 나는 여기에 사용된 용어를 조금 더 억압적으로 들리도록 하였다. <a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html#Piracy">&ldquo;불법 복제&rdquo;</a>의 의미를 살펴 보자.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The Electronic Frontier Foundation, a separate organization not related to the Free Software Foundation, also campaigns against DRM.
ko: 자유 소프트웨어 재단과 관련이 없는 별도의 조직인 Electronic Frontier Foundation도 DRM에 반대합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The following note has been updated several times since the first publication of the story.
ko: 아래의 내용은 이 이야기가 처음 출판된 이후 여러 차례 수정되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The battle for the right to read is already being fought.  Although it may take 50 years for our past freedoms to fade into obscurity, most of the specific repressive laws and practices described above have already been proposed; some have been enacted into law in the US and elsewhere.  In the US, the 1998 Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) gave explicit government backing to the computer-enforced restrictions known as DRM, by making the distribution of programs that can break DRM a crime.  The European Union imposed similar restrictions in a 2001 copyright directive, in a form not quite as strong.
ko: 읽을 권리를 위한 싸움은 지금도 벌어지고 있는 현실입니다. 현재의 생활 방식이 사라지는데 50년이 걸린다고 하더라도, 윗 글에 묘사되어 있는 대부분의 법률과 관행들은 이미 제안되어 있고, 많은 법들이 미국과 다른 곳에서 입법 되었습니다. 미국에서는 1998년에 디지털 밀레니엄 저작권법(DMCA, Digital Millennium Copyright Act)가 입법되어, DRM과 같이 컴퓨터를 이용하여 책을 열람하거나 대여하는 것을 제한하는 DRM을 망가트리는 것을 범죄로 규정하는 것에 대한 법률 근거가 마련되었습니다. 유럽 연합은 유사한 제한을 2001년 저작권 훈령에 부가 하였습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The US campaigns to impose such rules on the rest of the world through so-called &ldquo;free trade&rdquo; treaties.  <a href="https://stallman.org/business-supremacy-treaties.html"> Business-supremacy treaties</a> is a more fitting term for them, since they are designed to give business dominion over nominally democratic states.  The DMCA's policy of criminalizing programs that break DRM is one of many unjust policies that these treaties impose across a wide range of fields.
ko: 미국은 이른바 &ldquo;자유 무역&rdquo;라는 조약을 통하여 이런 규칙을 강제하고 있습니다. 명목상으로 민주주의 국가에 대한 비즈니스 지배권을 부여하기 위해 설계된 것이기 때문에 <a href="https://stallman.org/business-supremacy-treaties.html">비지니스 우월주의 조약</a>이라는 용어가 더 적합한 용어 입니다.  . DRM을 위반하는 프로그램을 범죄로 규정하는 DMCA의 이러한 정책은 광범위한 분야에 강제되는  많은 부당한 정책 중 하나입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The US has imposed DMCA requirements on Australia, Panama, Colombia and South Korea through bilateral agreements, and on countries such as Costa Rica through another treaty, CAFTA.  Obama has escalated the campaign with two new proposed treaties, the TPP and the TTIP.  The TPP would impose the DMCA, along with many other wrongs, on 12 countries on the Pacific Ocean.  The TTIP would impose similar strictures on Europe.  All these treaties must be defeated, or abolished.
ko: 미국은 양자 협정을 통해 호주, 파나마, 콜롬비아, 한국에 DMCA를 강제 하였으며, 코스타리카와 같은 국가는 다른 조약을 통해 CAFTA를 체결하였습니다.  오바마 대통령은 TPP와 TTIP라는 두 가지 새로운 조약으로 이 캠페인을 확대 하였습니다.  TPP는 DMCA를 다른 많은 잘못된 조항과 함께 태평양에 있는 12 개국에 강제 할 것입니다. TTIP는 유럽과도 유사한 협약을 맺을 것입니다. 이 모든 조약들은  무효화 하거나 폐지하여야 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: Even the World Wide Web Consortium has fallen under the shadow of the copyright industry; it is on the verge of approving a DRM system as an official part of the web specifications.
ko: 심지어 월드 와이드 웹 컨소시엄 (World Wide Web Consortium)도 저작권 산업의 그늘 안으로 들어갔습니다. DRM 시스템을 웹 사양의 공식적인 부분으로 승인하기 직전입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><div><p>
en: Nonfree software tends to have <a href="/proprietary/">abusive features of many kinds</a>, which lead to the conclusion that <a href="/philosophy/free-software-even-more-important.html">you can never trust a nonfree program</a>.  We must insist on free (libre)  software only, and reject nonfree programs.
ko: 비 자유 소프트웨어는 <a href="/proprietary/"> 여러 종류의  부정한 기능을 가지고</a>있어서 <a href = "/ philosophy / free-software-even-more-important.html "> 비 자유 프로그램을 신뢰할 수는 없습니다 </a>. 그렇기에 자유(libre) 소프트웨어만을 고집해야 하며 비 자유 프로그램을 거부해야 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: With Windows Vista, Microsoft admitted it had built in a back door: Microsoft can use it to forcibly install software &ldquo;upgrades,&rdquo; even if users consider them rather to be downgrades.  It can also order all machines running Vista to refuse to run a certain device driver.  The main purpose of Vista's clampdown on users was to impose DRM that users can't overcome.  Of course, Windows 10 is no better.
ko: 비스타는 마이크로소프트에게 추가적인 권한을 부여합니다. 예를 들어, 마이크로소프트는 &ldquo;강제로&rdquo; 업그레이드를 설치할 수 있고 비스타가 실행되는 모든 기계에 대해서특정한 장치 드라이버가 구동하지 못하도록 할 수 있습니다. 비스타가 가진 많은 제한 기능의 주된 목적은  사용자에게 DRM을 강제하는데 있습니다. 물론, 윈도우즈 10도 마찬가지 입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: One of the ideas in the story was not proposed in reality until 2002.  This is the idea that the FBI and Microsoft will keep the root passwords for your personal computers, and not let you have them.
ko: 이 이야기의 아이디어 중 하나는 사실 2002 년까지 제안되지 않았습니다. 개인용 컴퓨터에 대한 루트 암호를 FBI와 Microsoft가  보유하고 사용자가 가지지 못하도록 하는 아이디어 입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: What Microsoft keeps is not exactly a password in the traditional sense; no person ever types it on a terminal.  Rather, it is a signature and encryption key that corresponds to a second key stored in your computer.  This enables Microsoft, and potentially any web sites that cooperate with Microsoft, the ultimate control over what the user can do on per own computer.  Microsoft is likely to use that control on behalf of the FBI when asked: it already <a href="/proprietary/malware-microsoft.html">shows the NSA security bugs in Windows</a> to exploit.
ko: 마이크로소프트가 보유하는 것은 전통적인 의미에서의, 터미널에 입력하는 패스워드와 같은 것이 아닙니다. 그 보다는 여러분의 컴퓨터에 저장된 두번째 키에 대응하는 암호화된 키와 서명입니다. 이것은 마이크로소프트에게, 그리고 잠재적으로는 마이크로소프트에 협력하는 어떤 웹 사이트에게도 사용자가 자신의 컴퓨터에서 통제권을 가지는 것과 같은 통제권을 부여합니다. 마이크로소프트는 FBI의 요청에 응하여 이 통제권을 사용할 수 있으며, 이미 <a href="/proprietary/malware-microsoft.html">윈도우즈의 NSA 보안 버그</a> 로 존재하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: Secure boot can be implemented in a way that permits the user to specify the signature key and decide what software to sign.  In practice, PCs designed for Windows 10 carry only Microsoft's key, and whether the machine's owner can install any other system (such as GNU/Linux) is under Microsoft's control.  We call this <em>restricted boot</em>.
ko: 시큐어 부트를 사용하면, 사용자가 서명 키와 어떤 소프트웨어에 서명을 할 것 인지를 특정하도록 구현이 가능합니다. 실제로 Windows 10 용으로 설계된 PC는 Microsoft의 키만 가지고 있기 때문에, 컴퓨터 소유자가 다른 운영체제 (예 : GNU / Linux)을 설치할 수 있는 지가  Microsoft의 통제하에 있습니다. 이것을 <em>제한된 부팅(restricted boot) </em>이라 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: In 1997, when this story was first published, the SPA was threatening small Internet service providers, demanding they permit the SPA to monitor all users.  Most ISPs surrendered when threatened, because they could not afford to fight back in court.  One ISP, Community ConneXion in Oakland, California, refused the demand and was actually sued.  The SPA later dropped the suit, but the DMCA gave it the power it sought.
ko: 이 이야기를 처음 쓸 당시에 SPA(역자주: 여기서 언급되는 SPA는 이야기 본문에 나오는 소프트웨어 보호국, Software Protection Authority가 아닌 소프트웨어 출판자 협회, Software Publiser's Association을 말합니다.)가 모든 사용자를 감시할 수 있게 해 달라고 요구하며 소규모 인터넷 서비스 공급자들을 위협했습니다. 그들 대부분은 소송 비용을 감당할 수 없어 굴복하고 말았습니다. 단지 하나의 업체인, 캘리포니아 오클랜드에 위치한 Community ConneXion이 요구를 거부하여, 실제로 소송을 당했습니다. SPA는 후에 소송을 취하했지만, DMCA가 시행된 후에 그들은 원하던 권한을 갖게 되었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The SPA, which actually stands for Software Publishers Association, has been replaced in its police-like role by the Business Software Alliance.  The BSA is not, today, an official police force; unofficially, it acts like one.  Using methods reminiscent of the erstwhile Soviet Union, it invites people to inform on their coworkers and friends.  A BSA terror campaign in Argentina in 2001 made slightly veiled threats that people sharing software would be raped in prison.
ko: SPA의 경찰과 같은 역할은 이제 사무용 소프트웨어 연합(BSA, Business Software Alliance)의 것으로 대체되었습니다. BSA는 현재 공식적인 경찰력을 갖고 있지 않지만, 비공식적으로는 그와 같이 행동하고 있습니다. 그들이 사용하는 방식은 이전의 소련 연방을 연상시킵니다. 그들은 사람들로 하여금 자신의 동료와 친구들을 고발하도록 부추깁니다. 아르헨티나에서 2001년에 벌인 그들의 끔찍한 캠페인은 소프트웨어를 공유하는 사람은 감옥에서 성폭행을 당할 수도 있다는 은근히 감춰진 협박이었습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The university security policies described above are not imaginary.  For example, a computer at one Chicago-area university displayed this message upon login:
ko: 이야기의 본문에서 묘사된 대학의 보안 정책은 지어낸 이야기가 아닙니다. 예를 들면, 시카고 지역에 위치한 한 대학의 컴퓨터에는 로그인할 때 다음과 같은 메시지가 출력됩니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><blockquote><p>
en: This system is for the use of authorized users only.  Individuals using this computer system without authority or in the excess of their authority are subject to having all their activities on this system monitored and recorded by system personnel.  In the course of monitoring individuals improperly using this system or in the course of system maintenance, the activities of authorized user may also be monitored.  Anyone using this system expressly consents to such monitoring and is advised that if such monitoring reveals possible evidence of illegal activity or violation of University regulations system personnel may provide the evidence of such monitoring to University authorities and/or law enforcement officials.
ko: 이 시스템은 허가 받은 사용자에 한해 이용할 수 있습니다. 허가되지 않았거나 허가 수준을 넘는 모든 개인의 이용 내역은  관리 직원에 의해 감시되고 기록됩니다. 개인의 부적절한 시스템 사용을 감시하는 과정이나 시스템 유지보수 과정에서 허가된 사용자의 이용 내역도 감시될 수 있습니다. 이 시스템을 사용하는 사람은 이러한 감시 조건에 명시적으로 동의한 것이고, 감시 결과로 대학 규정 위반이나 불법 행위를 밝힐 수 있는 증거가 나타났을 때에는 관리 직원이 이러한 증거를 대학 당국이나 경찰에 제공할 수 있음을 알려드립니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: This is an interesting approach to the Fourth Amendment: pressure most everyone to agree, in advance, to waive their rights under it.
ko: 이것은 미국 수정 헌법 제4조에 대한 무척이나 흥미있는 접근 방식이라고 할 수 있습니다. 왜냐하면 모든 사람이 헌법상의 권리를  사전에 포기하는데 동의하도록 강제하고 있기 때문입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><h3>
en: Bad News
ko: 나쁜 소식들

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The battle for the right to read is going against us so far.  The enemy is organized, and we are not.
ko: 읽을 권리를 위한 싸움은 아직 진행 중입니다. 적은 조직되어 있지만, 우리는 그렇지 않습니다. 그래서 우리에게 불리해져 갑니다. 이 글이 처음 발표된 이후에 일어난 나쁜 소식들은 다음과 같습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><p>
en: Today's commercial e-books <a href="/philosophy/the-danger-of-ebooks.html"> abolish readers' traditional freedoms</a>.  Amazon's e-book reader product, which I call the &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/why-call-it-the-swindle.html">Amazon Swindle</a>&rdquo; because it's designed to swindle readers out of the traditional freedoms of readers of books, is run by software with several demonstrated <a href="/proprietary/malware-kindle-swindle.html">Orwellian functionalities</a>.  Any one of them calls for rejecting the product completely:
ko: 오늘날 상업용 전자 서적 <a href="/philosophy/the-danger-of-ebooks.html"> 독자의 전통적 자유를 폐지합니다 </a>. &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/why-call-it-the-swindle.html">Amazon Swindle</a>&rdquo;은 Amazon의 전자 책 리더로,  독자의 전통적인 자유를 빼앗기 위해 고안 되었고, <a href="/proprietary/malware-kindle-swindle.html">오웰리안 기능</a>으로 소개된 다양한 소프트웨어들에 의해 실행되기 때문에, 필자가 부르는 이름입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: It spies on everything the user does: it reports which book the user is reading, and which page, and it reports when the user highlights text, and any notes the user enters.
ko: 사용자가 읽는 책과 읽은 페이지에 대한 정보를 캐냅니다. 사용차가 어떤 책의 어떤 페이지를 읽고 있는지, 어떤 문구를 강조 표시 해 두는지와, 사용자가 입력한 메모를 보고 합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: It has DRM, which is intended to block users from sharing copies.
ko: DRM을 가지고 있어서 사용자가 사본을 공유하지 못하도록 막습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: It has a back door with which Amazon can remotely erase any book.  In 2009, it erased thousands of copies of 1984, by George Orwell.
ko: 아마존이 원격으로 어떤 책이든 지울 수 있는 백도어가 있습니다. 2009년에는 조지 오웰이 쓴 1984의 수천 부의 사본을 삭제 하였습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: In case all that isn't Orwellian enough, there is a universal back door with which Amazon can remotely change the software, and introduce any other form of nastiness.
ko: 오웰리안의 경우가 아니라 하더라도, 아마존은 소프트웨어를 원격에서 변경할 수 있는 백도어를 가지고 있기 떄문에, 다른 형태의 위험성을 가지고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><p>
en: Amazon's e-book distribution is oppressive, too.  It identifies the user and records what books the user obtains.  It also requires users to agree to an antisocial contract that they won't share copies with others.  My conscience tells me that, if I had agreed to such a contract, the lesser evil would be to defy it and share copies anyway; however, to be entirely good, I should not agree to it in the first place.  Therefore, I refuse to agree to such contracts, whether for software, for e-books, for music, or for anything else.
ko: 아마존의 전자 책 배포 역시 억압적 입니다. 사용자를 식별하고 사용자가 소유한 책을 기록합니다. 또한 사용자는 다른 사람과 사본을 공유하지 않도록 하는 반사회적인 계약에 동의해야 합니다. 필자의 양심에 따른다면, 그러한 계약에 동의한 이후, 그것을 무시하고 어쨌든 사본을 공유하는 것은 더욱 나쁜 일입니다. 하지만, 모두를 위해서는 이러한 계약에 대해 절대로 동의하지 않아야 합니다. 그렇기에 필자는 소프트웨어, 전자 서적, 음악 또는 다른 어떤 것에 대해서도 이러한 계약에 동의하지 않습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: References
ko: 참고 자료

note: type: Content of: <div><ul><li>
en: <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20151113122141/http://public-domain.org/">Union for the Public Domain</a>&mdash;an organization which aims to resist and reverse the overextension of copyright and patent powers.
ko: <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20151113122141/http://public-domain.org/">Union for the Public Domain</a>: 저작권과 특허의 지나친 확대에 반대하고 이를 되돌리는 것을 목적으로 하는 단체.

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 지연주 <a href="mailto:jiyounju@nownuri.net">&lt;jiyounju@nownuri.net&gt;</a>, 1997년 12월 21일

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
