right-to-read.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (51 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: The Right to Read - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 閱讀的權利 - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: The Right to Read
zh_TW: 閱讀的權利

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: From <cite>The Road To Tycho</cite>, a collection of articles about the antecedents of the Lunarian Revolution, published in Luna City in 2096.
zh_TW: 本文來自 <cite>The Road To Tycho</cite>，一本關於月球革命原因的文章集，於2096年在月球市出版。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: For Dan Halbert, the road to Tycho began in college&mdash;when Lissa Lenz asked to borrow his computer.  Hers had broken down, and unless she could borrow another, she would fail her midterm project.  There was no one she dared ask, except Dan.
zh_TW: 對 Dan Halbert 來說，會接觸到 The Road To Tycho 是因為在大學期間 ── Lissa Lenz 向他借電腦。因為她的電腦壞了，而除非她可以借到另一台，否則她的期中專題勢必會失敗，而且除了 Dan 以外，她不敢問其他人。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: This put Dan in a dilemma.  He had to help her&mdash;but if he lent her his computer, she might read his books.  Aside from the fact that you could go to prison for many years for letting someone else read your books, the very idea shocked him at first.  Like everyone, he had been taught since elementary school that sharing books was nasty and wrong&mdash;something that only pirates would do.
zh_TW: 這讓 Dan 有點為難，一方面想要幫助她 ── 但他知道倘若他借她電腦，她可能會閱讀他的書。除了讓別人看到你自己收藏的書可能會讓你坐上好幾年的牢以外，這種念頭的出現也讓他感到震驚。和所有人一樣，他從小學開始就被教導說分享書籍是錯誤的事情 ── 這是只有那些盜版者才會做的事情。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: And there wasn't much chance that the SPA&mdash;the Software Protection Authority&mdash;would fail to catch him.  In his software class, Dan had learned that each book had a copyright monitor that reported when and where it was read, and by whom, to Central Licensing.  (They used this information to catch reading pirates, but also to sell personal interest profiles to retailers.)  The next time his computer was networked, Central Licensing would find out.  He, as computer owner, would receive the harshest punishment&mdash;for not taking pains to prevent the crime.
zh_TW: 而且他也沒有什麼機會可以躲避 SPA（Software Protection Authority、軟體保護局）的追查。在軟體課堂上，Dan 學到了任何書籍都有著作權監控器，然後當這些書籍被非其所有者閱讀時，著作權監視器就會馬上回報這件事情給授權中央（他們會使用這個資訊來抓住任何的盜版者，但他們同時也會把一些個人偏好的資料賣給零售商）。當下次他的電腦上網的時候，授權中心就會知道這件事情，而他身為電腦的持有者，會因為沒有避免造成犯罪而受到嚴厲的處罰。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Of course, Lissa did not necessarily intend to read his books.  She might want the computer only to write her midterm.  But Dan knew she came from a middle-class family and could hardly afford the tuition, let alone her reading fees.  Reading his books might be the only way she could graduate.  He understood this situation; he himself had had to borrow to pay for all the research papers he read.  (Ten percent of those fees went to the researchers who wrote the papers; since Dan aimed for an academic career, he could hope that his own research papers, if frequently referenced, would bring in enough to repay this loan.)
zh_TW: 當然，Lissa 也不是想要看他的書，她只是想要用電腦來做期中作業。但 Dan 知道她來自於一個中產階級家庭，連學費都難以負擔，更別提閱讀費。而閱讀他的書可能就是她能畢業的唯一途徑。Dan 深知這一點；而他自己也不得不借錢才能看到他需要閱讀的研究論文（閱讀費的一成是給作者的，因為 Dan 的目標是成為一名研究者，他當然也希望他的研究論文可以被頻繁引用，這樣他就可以償還他所欠下的債務）。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Later on, Dan would learn there was a time when anyone could go to the library and read journal articles, and even books, without having to pay.  There were independent scholars who read thousands of pages without government library grants.  But in the 1990s, both commercial and nonprofit journal publishers had begun charging fees for access.  By 2047, libraries offering free public access to scholarly literature were a dim memory.
zh_TW: 後來，Dan 了解到曾經有那麼一個年代，所有人都可以去圖書館免費閱讀期刊文章，甚至是書籍。還有過一些獨立的學者，他們在沒有政府圖書館所許可的情況下可以閱讀上千頁的資料。但是自從1990年代開始，商業和非營利的出版商都開始了付費查閱機制，而到了2047年，向大眾免費提供學術文獻的圖書館已成為了模糊的記憶。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: There were ways, of course, to get around the SPA and Central Licensing.  They were themselves illegal.  Dan had had a classmate in software, Frank Martucci, who had obtained an illicit debugging tool, and used it to skip over the copyright monitor code when reading books.  But he had told too many friends about it, and one of them turned him in to the SPA for a reward (students deep in debt were easily tempted into betrayal).  In 2047, Frank was in prison, not for pirate reading, but for possessing a debugger.
zh_TW: 當然，是有一些方法可以繞過 SPA 和授權中心的。但毫無疑問都是非法的。 Dan 在軟體課上有一個同學，Frank Martucci，他不知道從哪裡取得了一個違法的除錯工具，然後使用這個工具來跳過著作權監控的程式碼，但他把這件事告訴給太多人，其中某個人便為了檢舉獎金而向 SPA 舉發了他（負債的學生是很容易為了誘惑而背叛朋友的），而2047年 Frank 就進了監獄，不是因為非法閱讀，而是因為擁有這個除錯工具。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Dan would later learn that there was a time when anyone could have debugging tools.  There were even free debugging tools available on CD or downloadable over the net.  But ordinary users started using them to bypass copyright monitors, and eventually a judge ruled that this had become their principal use in actual practice.  This meant they were illegal; the debuggers' developers were sent to prison.
zh_TW: 後來，Dan 了解到曾經有那麼一個年代，人人都可以擁有這個除錯工具。有專門裝有此工具的光碟片，甚至還可以到網路上下載。然而使用者幾乎都使用這個工具跳過著作權監控，法官判定這個行為是違法的，最後導致工具開發者進了監獄。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Programmers still needed debugging tools, of course, but debugger vendors in 2047 distributed numbered copies only, and only to officially licensed and bonded programmers.  The debugger Dan used in software class was kept behind a special firewall so that it could be used only for class exercises.
zh_TW: 但是當然，程式設計師們仍然需要除錯程式，但2047年時，除錯程式的供應商僅發佈帶有編號的副本，並且只賣給有正式授權和持有擔保書的工程師們。Dan 在軟體課上使用的除錯程式被特殊的防火牆保護，所以它只能用於課堂練習。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: It was also possible to bypass the copyright monitors by installing a modified system kernel.  Dan would eventually find out about the free kernels, even entire free operating systems, that had existed around the turn of the century.  But not only were they illegal, like debuggers&mdash;you could not install one if you had one, without knowing your computer's root password.  And neither the FBI nor Microsoft Support would tell you that.
zh_TW: 還有其他方法可以繞過著作權監控，就是安裝一個修改過的作業系統核心。Dan 最終會發現，在世紀之初，作業系統核心、甚至是整個作業系統全部都是自由的。但不知他們和除錯程式一樣是非法的 ── 就算你拿到了作業系統，在不知道電腦的 root 密碼的情況下，你也無法安裝，無論是 FBI 還是微軟的支援團隊都不會告訴你密碼是什麼。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Dan concluded that he couldn't simply lend Lissa his computer.  But he couldn't refuse to help her, because he loved her.  Every chance to speak with her filled him with delight.  And that she chose him to ask for help, that could mean she loved him too.
zh_TW: Dan 最後得出的結論是，他不能簡單地就把電腦借給 Lissa。但他也不能不借，因為他愛著她。每一次在與她交談的時候，他都感覺自己充滿喜悅，而既然她選擇向他求助，這也意味著她可能也愛著他。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Dan resolved the dilemma by doing something even more unthinkable&mdash;he lent her the computer, and told her his password.  This way, if Lissa read his books, Central Licensing would think he was reading them.  It was still a crime, but the SPA would not automatically find out about it.  They would only find out if Lissa reported him.
zh_TW: Dan 選擇了一個令人意想不到的方式來解決這個難題 ── 他把電腦的密碼給她，這樣哪怕 Lissa 閱讀了他的書，授權中心就會以為是 Dan 自己在看。當然這同樣也是違法的，但除非 Lissa 回報，不然 SPA 不可能會發現。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Of course, if the school ever found out that he had given Lissa his own password, it would be curtains for both of them as students, regardless of what she had used it for.  School policy was that any interference with their means of monitoring students' computer use was grounds for disciplinary action.  It didn't matter whether you did anything harmful&mdash;the offense was making it hard for the administrators to check on you.  They assumed this meant you were doing something else forbidden, and they did not need to know what it was.
zh_TW: 當然，如果學校發現他給 Lissa 他的密碼，那他們就完蛋了。學校的政策是做出任何對於干擾他們監視學生電腦的行為都是要被懲罰的，儘管你做的事情是完全無害的。因為如果你做出了干擾監視的行為，那他們無法真的判斷你有沒有被禁止的事情，他們因此直接假定你違規了，至於你究竟做了什麼，他們不需要知道。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Students were not usually expelled for this&mdash;not directly.  Instead they were banned from the school computer systems, and would inevitably fail all their classes.
zh_TW: 學生通常不會因此而被開除 ── 至少不是直接被開除。但他們會被禁止使用學校的電腦系統，這必然導致他們所有的課程都無法通過。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Later, Dan would learn that this kind of university policy started only in the 1980s, when university students in large numbers began using computers.  Previously, universities maintained a different approach to student discipline; they punished activities that were harmful, not those that merely raised suspicion.
zh_TW: 此後，Dan 可能會了解到說這樣子的政策是在1980年代才開始的，當時有大量的大學生開始使用電腦。在此之前，大學的校規於此全然不同，他們此前只會懲罰有害的行為，而不是那些只是引起懷疑的行為。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Lissa did not report Dan to the SPA.  His decision to help her led to their marriage, and also led them to question what they had been taught about piracy as children.  The couple began reading about the history of copyright, about the Soviet Union and its restrictions on copying, and even the original United States Constitution.  They moved to Luna, where they found others who had likewise gravitated away from the long arm of the SPA.  When the Tycho Uprising began in 2062, the universal right to read soon became one of its central aims.
zh_TW: Lissa 沒有向 SPA 舉報 Dan，而 Dan 選擇幫助她也促使了他們最後走向婚姻的殿堂，這也讓他們開始質疑了從小所接收到的關於盜版的教育是否是合理的。他們夫婦開始閱讀有關著作權的歷史，關於蘇聯對於複製行為的限制，以及美國憲法的起源。他們搬到了月亮城裡，在這裡他們發現了很多逃離 SPA 荼毒的其他人，當2062年的 Tycho 革命開始時，所有人的閱讀權利成為了他們主要的奮鬥目標之一。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><h3>
en: Author's Notes
zh_TW: 作者小記

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: This story is supposedly a historical article that will be written in the future by someone else, describing Dan Halbert's youth under a repressive society shaped by the unjust forces that use &ldquo;pirate&rdquo; as propaganda. So it uses the terminology of that society.  I have tried to project it forwards into something more visibly oppressive. See <a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html#Piracy">&ldquo;Piracy&rdquo;</a>.
zh_TW: 這則應該會變成未來某個人所寫的歷史故事，他描述的是年輕時生活在專制社會的 Dan Halbert，這是個不公不義的社會，他們使用「盜版」一詞作為口號，所以這個故事也使用了那個社會的用語，我試著將他投射成某個更具壓迫感的事物。請見<a href="/philosophy/words-to-avoid.html#Piracy">「盜版」</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The Electronic Frontier Foundation, a separate organization not related to the Free Software Foundation, also campaigns against DRM.
zh_TW: 電子前哨基金會 (Electronic Frontier Foundation)，一個與自由軟體基金會無關的獨立組織，也參與了反 DRM 的運動。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The following note has been updated several times since the first publication of the story.
zh_TW: 此註記在發表後進行了多次更新。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The battle for the right to read is already being fought.  Although it may take 50 years for our past freedoms to fade into obscurity, most of the specific repressive laws and practices described above have already been proposed; some have been enacted into law in the US and elsewhere.  In the US, the 1998 Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) gave explicit government backing to the computer-enforced restrictions known as DRM, by making the distribution of programs that can break DRM a crime.  The European Union imposed similar restrictions in a 2001 copyright directive, in a form not quite as strong.
zh_TW: 對於閱讀權的戰爭已然開始。雖然可能要花50年我們才會發現現在所擁有的自由完全被剝奪，但本文裡面所講訴的一些專制法律與作法已被提出，有些在美國與其他地方已被頒布成為法律。在美國，1998年所頒佈的數位千禧年著作權法 (DMCA) 明文賦予了政府對於 DRM 的支持，該法案把破解 DRM 的程式稱之為犯罪。而歐盟在2001年所頒佈的法令也類似，只是以不那麼強烈的形式產生而已。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The US campaigns to impose such rules on the rest of the world through so-called &ldquo;free trade&rdquo; treaties.  <a href="https://stallman.org/business-supremacy-treaties.html"> Business-supremacy treaties</a> is a more fitting term for them, since they are designed to give business dominion over nominally democratic states.  The DMCA's policy of criminalizing programs that break DRM is one of many unjust policies that these treaties impose across a wide range of fields.
zh_TW: 美國透過所謂的「自由貿易」條約來強加這類的規則到世界上的其他國家。<a href="https://stallman.org/business-supremacy-treaties.html">商業至上條約</a>其實更確切一點，因為這些條約是設計來透過商業來統治那些名義上民主的國家。而 DMCA 政策將破解 DRM 的程式歸類成犯罪行為只是這類條約眾多不公平的政策之一，而這些條約已經被大範圍的推行到不同領域了。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The US has imposed DMCA requirements on Australia, Panama, Colombia and South Korea through bilateral agreements, and on countries such as Costa Rica through another treaty, CAFTA.  Obama has escalated the campaign with two new proposed treaties, the TPP and the TTIP.  The TPP would impose the DMCA, along with many other wrongs, on 12 countries on the Pacific Ocean.  The TTIP would impose similar strictures on Europe.  All these treaties must be defeated, or abolished.
zh_TW: 美國已經透過雙邊協定將 DMCA 推廣到澳洲、巴拿馬、哥倫比亞與韓國，並且在哥斯達黎加等國家透過另一項條約 CAFTA 來強加類似的要求，歐巴馬總統還使用了 TPP 和 TTIP 這兩個新提出的條約來升級這個行動。TPP 向太平洋地區 12 個國家推廣 DMCA，連帶許多其他錯誤政策。而 TTIP 會向歐洲國家推廣類似的法規。這些條約都必須要被廢除或是撤銷。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: Even the World Wide Web Consortium has fallen under the shadow of the copyright industry; it is on the verge of approving a DRM system as an official part of the web specifications.
zh_TW: 就連全球資訊網協會 (W3C) 也已經被籠罩在著作權行業的陰影下，它甚至正要批准 DRM 系統進入正式的網路規範。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><div><p>
en: Nonfree software tends to have <a href="/proprietary/">abusive features of many kinds</a>, which lead to the conclusion that <a href="/philosophy/free-software-even-more-important.html">you can never trust a nonfree program</a>.  We must insist on free (libre)  software only, and reject nonfree programs.
zh_TW: 非自由軟體傾向於擁有<a href="/proprietary/">多種易被濫用的功能</a>，因此可以得出如此結論，亦即<a href="/philosophy/free-software-even-more-important.html">不要相信任何非自由軟體</a>。我們必須堅持只使用自由軟體，然後拒絕所有非自由軟體。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: With Windows Vista, Microsoft admitted it had built in a back door: Microsoft can use it to forcibly install software &ldquo;upgrades,&rdquo; even if users consider them rather to be downgrades.  It can also order all machines running Vista to refuse to run a certain device driver.  The main purpose of Vista's clampdown on users was to impose DRM that users can't overcome.  Of course, Windows 10 is no better.
zh_TW: 對於 Windows Vista 來說，微軟承認了他們內建了後門：微軟可以使用它來強迫安裝軟體「升級」，即使使用者想要的是降級。它也可以命令所有 Vista 電腦的程式拒絕執行某個指定的裝置驅動程式。Vista 這樣子限制使用者的目的便是為了要引入 DRM，使用者根本無從去反抗。當然 Windows 10 也沒有比較好。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: One of the ideas in the story was not proposed in reality until 2002.  This is the idea that the FBI and Microsoft will keep the root passwords for your personal computers, and not let you have them.
zh_TW: 這個故事所講到的其中一個想法在2002年被實現了。就是 FBI 與微軟擁有您電腦的密碼，而你自己卻沒有。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: What Microsoft keeps is not exactly a password in the traditional sense; no person ever types it on a terminal.  Rather, it is a signature and encryption key that corresponds to a second key stored in your computer.  This enables Microsoft, and potentially any web sites that cooperate with Microsoft, the ultimate control over what the user can do on per own computer.  Microsoft is likely to use that control on behalf of the FBI when asked: it already <a href="/proprietary/malware-microsoft.html">shows the NSA security bugs in Windows</a> to exploit.
zh_TW: 微軟所擁有的並不是傳統意義上的密碼，甚至沒有人會真的將他輸入到終端機裡面。更確切來說，其為一個簽章與一把與你電腦上儲存的金鑰相對的另一把金鑰。這讓微軟，甚至任何與微軟合作的網站，都可以完全的控制使用者的電腦。微軟可能會在 FBI 要求時幫助 FBI 控制，他們<a href="/proprietary/malware-microsoft.html">已向 NSA 展示了 Windows 漏洞</a>可供利用。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: Secure boot can be implemented in a way that permits the user to specify the signature key and decide what software to sign.  In practice, PCs designed for Windows 10 carry only Microsoft's key, and whether the machine's owner can install any other system (such as GNU/Linux) is under Microsoft's control.  We call this <em>restricted boot</em>.
zh_TW: 安全啟動是被實作來允許使用者指定特定簽章金鑰來決定讓什麼軟體簽章。而在實務上，為 Windows 10 設計的個人電腦僅搭載了微軟的金鑰，且即便電腦的所有人安裝了其他系統（例如 GNU/Linux），他也仍在微軟的控制下。我們將之稱為<em>受限啟動</em>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: In 1997, when this story was first published, the SPA was threatening small Internet service providers, demanding they permit the SPA to monitor all users.  Most ISPs surrendered when threatened, because they could not afford to fight back in court.  One ISP, Community ConneXion in Oakland, California, refused the demand and was actually sued.  The SPA later dropped the suit, but the DMCA gave it the power it sought.
zh_TW: 1997年本文首次發表時，SPA 正在威脅一些小型的網際網路服務提供商，要求他們允許 SPA 來監控所有使用者。大多數的 ISP 都屈服於其淫威之下，因為他們無力承擔法律訴訟的高昂費用。而其中一個 ISP，加州 Oakland 的 ConneXion 真的拒絕了 SPA 的要求，然後也真的被起訴了。雖然 SPA 後來撤回了訴訟，但 DMCA 卻又給了他們想要的權力。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The SPA, which actually stands for Software Publishers Association, has been replaced in its police-like role by the Business Software Alliance.  The BSA is not, today, an official police force; unofficially, it acts like one.  Using methods reminiscent of the erstwhile Soviet Union, it invites people to inform on their coworkers and friends.  A BSA terror campaign in Argentina in 2001 made slightly veiled threats that people sharing software would be raped in prison.
zh_TW: SPA，其實是軟體出版者協會 (Software Publishers Association) 的簡寫，而其已被類似於警察的 BSA (Business Softeware Alliance) 所取代。BSA 目前還不是正式的警察，不過其扮演的就是非正式的警察。使用的手段令人想起了前蘇聯，它邀請人們來舉發自己的同事與朋友。BSA 在2001年阿根廷的一個恐怖行動毫不掩飾的威脅著人們說分享軟體的人們在監獄中會被強暴。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: The university security policies described above are not imaginary.  For example, a computer at one Chicago-area university displayed this message upon login:
zh_TW: 在這個故事當中所描述的大學安全政策也並不是杜撰的。舉個例子，芝加哥的某間大學裡有一台電腦，在登入的時候會顯示這樣的字樣：

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><blockquote><p>
en: This system is for the use of authorized users only.  Individuals using this computer system without authority or in the excess of their authority are subject to having all their activities on this system monitored and recorded by system personnel.  In the course of monitoring individuals improperly using this system or in the course of system maintenance, the activities of authorized user may also be monitored.  Anyone using this system expressly consents to such monitoring and is advised that if such monitoring reveals possible evidence of illegal activity or violation of University regulations system personnel may provide the evidence of such monitoring to University authorities and/or law enforcement officials.
zh_TW: 這個系統僅供被授權的使用者使用。沒有得到授權或是越權使用的人的動作都會被系統人員監視並紀錄。在進行不當使用檢測或是在進行系統維護的時候，獲得授權的使用者也可能會被監控。使用這個系統即意味著完全同意這樣子的監控行為，並了解如果監控得出的證據，將會被遞交至學校或是執法部門。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><ul><li><div><p>
en: This is an interesting approach to the Fourth Amendment: pressure most everyone to agree, in advance, to waive their rights under it.
zh_TW: 這是對於（美國憲法）第四修正案的一個很有趣的解讀：實現強迫所有人都同意，來讓他們放棄自己在此修正案下的權利。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><h3>
en: Bad News
zh_TW: 壞消息

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The battle for the right to read is going against us so far.  The enemy is organized, and we are not.
zh_TW: 到目前為止，關於閱讀權利的抗爭對我們不利，且敵人是有組織的行動，而我們不是。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><p>
en: Today's commercial e-books <a href="/philosophy/the-danger-of-ebooks.html"> abolish readers' traditional freedoms</a>.  Amazon's e-book reader product, which I call the &ldquo;<a href="/philosophy/why-call-it-the-swindle.html">Amazon Swindle</a>&rdquo; because it's designed to swindle readers out of the traditional freedoms of readers of books, is run by software with several demonstrated <a href="/proprietary/malware-kindle-swindle.html">Orwellian functionalities</a>.  Any one of them calls for rejecting the product completely:
zh_TW: 今日的商業電子書<a href="/philosophy/the-danger-of-ebooks.html">剝奪了使用者的傳統自由</a>。亞馬遜的電子書閱讀器，我稱之為<a href="/philosophy/why-call-it-the-swindle.html">亞馬遜 Swindle</a>（譯者註：騙局之意），因為這正是為了欺騙讀者來放棄傳統閱讀的自由而設計的。其展示了好幾種 <a href="/proprietary/malware-kindle-swindle.html">歐威爾式的功能</a>，我們應該完全拒絕包含這種功能的軟體。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: It spies on everything the user does: it reports which book the user is reading, and which page, and it reports when the user highlights text, and any notes the user enters.
zh_TW: 其監控了使用者所做的一切：回報使用者在閱讀哪一本書的哪一頁，甚至回報說使用者把哪一句話標為重點以及做了哪些註釋。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: It has DRM, which is intended to block users from sharing copies.
zh_TW: 其也有 DRM，來防止使用者分享副本。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: It has a back door with which Amazon can remotely erase any book.  In 2009, it erased thousands of copies of 1984, by George Orwell.
zh_TW: 其還有後門，讓亞馬遜可以遠端抹除任何書籍。2009年時，其刪除了數千本由喬治·歐威爾所著的《一九八四》副本。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><ul><li><p>
en: In case all that isn't Orwellian enough, there is a universal back door with which Amazon can remotely change the software, and introduce any other form of nastiness.
zh_TW: 如果這還不夠歐威爾式，其還有一個更大的後門，讓亞馬遜可以在遠端修改修改軟體，並引入任何形式的惡意軟體。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><div><p>
en: Amazon's e-book distribution is oppressive, too.  It identifies the user and records what books the user obtains.  It also requires users to agree to an antisocial contract that they won't share copies with others.  My conscience tells me that, if I had agreed to such a contract, the lesser evil would be to defy it and share copies anyway; however, to be entirely good, I should not agree to it in the first place.  Therefore, I refuse to agree to such contracts, whether for software, for e-books, for music, or for anything else.
zh_TW: 亞馬遜的電子書散佈方式也具有壓迫性，其會識別使用者並紀錄使用者所取得的書。其同時也要求使用者同意一個反社會契約，亦即使用者不得與他人分享書籍副本。我的意識告訴我，即便我同意了這份合約，我仍然會相較不那麼邪惡的違反這個條約然後分享書籍副本。然而，如果要完全善意，我首先就不該同意。因此，我拒絕同意這種合約，不管是軟體、電子書、音樂，還是任何東西。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: References
zh_TW: 參考資料

note: type: Content of: <div><ul><li>
en: The administration's &ldquo;White Paper&rdquo;: Information Infrastructure Task Force, Intellectual Property [<a href="/philosophy/not-ipr.html">sic</a>] and the National Information Infrastructure: The Report of the Working Group on Intellectual Property [sic] Rights (1995).
zh_TW: 政府的「白皮書」：Information Infrastructure Task Force, Intellectual Property [<a href="/philosophy/not-ipr.html">原文如此</a>]與 National Information Infrastructure: The Report of the Working Group on Intellectual Property [原文如此] Rights (1995).

note: type: Content of: <div><ul><li>
en: <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20151113122141/http://public-domain.org/">Union for the Public Domain</a>&mdash;an organization which aims to resist and reverse the overextension of copyright and patent powers.
zh_TW: <a href="https://web.archive.org/web/20151113122141/http://public-domain.org/">公有領域聯盟</a> ── 一個旨在抵制與扭轉著作權與專利權過度擴張的組織。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_TW: 本頁面採用<a rel="license" href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.zh_TW">創用 CC 姓名標示-禁止改作 4.0 國際</a>條款給予授權。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>：Lin Lee <a href="mailto:lin.cs09 (at) nctu (dot) edu (dot) tw">&lt;lin.cs09 (at) nctu (dot) edu (dot) tw&gt;</a>, 2021. 
    <b>校閱</b>：黃柏諺 <a href="mailto:s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com">&lt;s8321414 (at) gmail (dot) com&gt;</a>, 2021.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
