savingeurope.html - en to ko translation catalogue (21 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Saving Europe from Software Patents - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
ko: 소프트웨어 특허로부터 유럽을 지킵시다 - GNU 프로젝트 - 자유 소프트웨어 재단

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Saving Europe from Software Patents
ko: 소프트웨어 특허로부터 유럽을 지킵시다

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Imagine that each time you made a software design decision, and especially whenever you used an algorithm that you read in a journal or implemented a feature that users ask for, you took a risk of being sued.
ko: 여러분이 소프트웨어의 설계를 결정할 때마다, 특히 저널에서 읽었거나 사용자들이 요청하는 기능을 구현하기 위해서 필요한 알고리즘을 사용할 때마다, 고소당할 지 모를 위험을 감수해야 한다고 한번 상상해 보세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: That's how it is today in the US, because of software patents.  Soon it may be the same in most of Europe (<a href="#ft1">1</a>).  The countries that operate the European Patent Office, spurred by large companies and encouraged by patent lawyers, are moving to allow patents covering mathematical computations.
ko: 이것이 바로 소프트웨어 특허로 인한 미국의 현재 모습입니다. 곧 비슷한 일이 대부분의 유럽 국가에서도 일어날 지 모릅니다.(<a href="#ft1">1</a>) 거대 기업과 변리사들이 주도하고 있는 유럽 특허청의 영향을 받고 있는 나라들은 수학적 계산 알고리즘에 특허를 허용하려는 움직임을 보이고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: To block this move, European citizens must take action, and do it soon&mdash;by talking with their national governments to raise opposition to the change.  Action in Germany, Sweden, Finland, the Netherlands, and/or Denmark is especially important, to join a campaign already under way in France.
ko: 이러한 변화를 막기 위해서 유럽 시민들은 정부와 대화를 하는 것과 같은 적극적인 반대 움직임을 지금 즉시 보여주어야 합니다. 이미 프랑스에서 진행중인 캠페인에 합류할 수 있도록, 특히 독일과 스 웨덴, 핀란드, 네덜란드 그리고 덴마크에서는 이런 행동이 더욱 필요합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Patents have played havoc with free software already.  During the 1980s, the patent holders for public key encryption entirely suppressed free software for that job.  They wanted to suppress PGP too, but facing public criticism, they accepted a compromise: adding restrictions to PGP so that it was no longer free software.  (We began developing the GNU Privacy Guard after the broadest patent expired.)
ko: 특허는 이미 자유 소프트웨어 진영에 큰 혼란을 초래했습니다. 1980년대에는 공개키 암호화 방식에 대한 특허를 가진 사람들이 공개키 암호화를 위한 자유 소프트웨어를 억압하였습니다. 그들은 PGP 역시 억압하기를 원했습니다. 그러나 대중의 비판을 받게 되자, 그들은 PGP에 더이상의 제재를 가하지 않는 대신 PGP를 자유 소프트웨어로 두지 않는다는 타협안을 수용했습니다.(자유 소프트웨어 재단은 공개키 암호화 방식에 대한 특허가 소멸된 이후부터 GNU Privacy Guard를 개발하기 시작했습니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Compuserve developed GIF format for images, then was stunned when Unisys threatened to sue them and everyone else who developed or ran software to produce GIFs.  Unisys had obtained a patent on the LZW data compression algorithm, which is one part of generating GIF format, and refuses to permit free software to use LZW (<a href="#ft2">2</a>).  As a result, any free software in the US that supports making true compressed GIFs is at risk of a lawsuit.
ko: 컴퓨서브(Compuserve)가 GIF 그래픽 포맷을 개발하던 당시에, GIF를 생성하는 소프트웨어를 개발하거나 사용하는 모든 사람들과 컴퓨서브를 유니시스(Unisys)가 고소하려고 위협했던 일이 있었습니다. 유니시스는 GIF 포맷을 생성하는데 사용된 LZW 데이터 압축 알고리즘에 대한 특허권을 갖고 있었는데, LZW가 자유 소프트웨어로 사용되는 것을 거절하였습니다.(<a href="#ft2">2</a>) 그 결과 미국 내에서 실제 GIF 압축 기능을 지원하는 모든 소프트웨어들은 소송 위기에 처하게 되었습니다.(역자주: 미국을 포함한 대부분의 나라에서는 수학적 알고리즘 자체가 아닌 기계 장치 등과 결합된 시스템에 대해서만 특허를 허용하는 경향이 강했습니다. 그러나 소프트웨어 분야의 전문성과 다양성에 대한 특허청 전문 인력의 부족으로 인해 알고리즘에 대해 특허가 인정된 경우도 있으며 동일한 대상에 대해 여러명에게 특허가 인정된 경우도 존재합니다. 또한 기술 보호에 대한 정부의 정책에 따라 특허를 인정하는 법원의 판단 기준이 시기마다 달라지기도 했습니다. 이러한 여러 이유들로 인해 자유 소프트웨어의 개발에 있어 특허로 인한 여러가지 미묘한 문제들이 발생하게 됩니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Later in 1998, Microsoft menaced the World Wide Web, by obtaining a patent affecting style sheets&mdash;after encouraging the WWW Consortium to incorporate the feature in the standard.  It's not the first time that a standards group has been lured into a patent's maw.  Public reaction convinced Microsoft to back down from enforcing this patent; but we can't count on mercy every time.
ko: 1998년 후반에 마이크로소프트는 WWW 컨소시움에 참가해서 스타일 시트(style sheet)가 표준에 포함되도록 유도한 뒤에 스타일 시트에 영향을 미치는 특허를 취득함으로써 WWW를 위협했습니다. 표준화 기구가 특허 문제에 휩싸인 경우는 이것이 처음은 아닙니다. 여론이 마이크로소프트의 특허권 행사를 취소하게 만들었지만, 우리가 항상 특허권자의 자비심에 의존할 수는 없습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The list could go on and on, if I had time to look through my old mail for examples and space to describe them.
ko: 예전의 메일들을 읽어볼 수 있는 시간과 그것에 대해 설명할 공간이 있다면, 이런 예가 될 수 있는 많은 사례를 열거할 수 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: On the issue of patents, free software developers can make common cause with most proprietary software developers, because in general they too stand to lose from patents.  So do the many developers of specialized custom software.
ko: 특허권 문제에 대해서 자유 소프트웨어 개발자들은 대부분의 독점 소프트웨어 개발자들과 협력할 수도 있을 것입니다. 왜냐하면 이들이 특허로 인해서 잃게 되는 것들이 일반적으로 너무나 많기 때문입니다. 많은 수의 커스텀 소프트웨어(custom software) 개발자들도 마찬가지 입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: To be sure, not everyone loses from software patents; if that were so, the system would soon be abolished.  Large companies often have many patents, and can force most other companies, large or small, to cross-license with them.  They escape most of the trouble patents cause, while enjoying a large share of the power patents confer.  This is why the chief supporters of software patents are multinational corporations.  They have a great deal of influence with governments.
ko: 분명한 것은 모든 사람이 소프트웨어 특허 때문에 손해를 보지는 않는다는 것입니다. 만약 그렇다면 특허 제도는 곧 사라질 것입니다. 대기업들은 흔히 많은 특허를 가지고 있습니다. 그리고 그들은 다른 크고 작은 기업들에게 라이선스에 대한 상호 제휴 압력을 가할 수 있습니다. 그들은 특허를 이용한 많은 이점들을 챙기면서, 골치 아픈 대부분의 문제들은 피해갑니다. 소프트웨어 특허의 주된 지지자들이 다국적 기업인 이유는 바로 이것입니다. 그들은 각국 정부에 큰 영향력을 행사하고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Occasionally a small company benefits from a patent, if its product is so simple that it escapes infringing the large companies' patents and thus being forced to cross-license with them.  And patent owners who develop no products, but only squeeze money out of those who do, can laugh all the way to the bank while obstructing progress.
ko: 만약 중소 기업이 만든 제품이 지극히 단순해서 대기업의 관련 특허를 침해하지 않을 수 있다면, 대기업과 라이선스 제휴를 체결해서 이익을 얻는 경우도 존재할 수 있습니다. 또한 제품을 직접 개발하지 않고 라이선스 사용료로만 수익을 챙기는 사람들은 특허가 소프트웨어의 발전을 가로막는 동안 계속해서 돈을 벌 수 있을 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But most software developers, as well as users, lose from software patents, which do more to obstruct software progress than to encourage it.
ko: 그러나 대부분의 소프트웨어 개발자들과 사용자들은 소프트웨어 특허로부터 손해를 봅니다. 특허는 소프트웨어의 발전을 장려하기보다 저해하는 측면이 더 강합니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: People used to call free software an absurd idea, saying we lacked the ability to develop a large amount of software.  We have refuted them with empirical fact, by developing a broad range of powerful software that respects users' freedom.  Giving the public the full spectrum of general-purpose software is within our reach&mdash;unless giving software to the public is prohibited.
ko: 사람들은 우리에게 많은 소프트웨어를 개발할 능력이 부족하다는 점을 이유로 해서, 자유 소프트웨어는 어리석고 섣부른 이상이라고 말하곤 합니다. 그리나 우리는 사용자들에게 자유를 보장해 줄 수 있는 대중적인 소프트웨어들을 개발해옴으로써 그들의 주장을 경험적으로 반박해 왔습니다. 소프트웨어를 대중에게 배포하는 것이 금지되지 않는 한, 우리는 모든 종류의 범용 소프트웨어를 만들 능력을 갖고 있습니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Footnotes
ko: 각주

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: The European Patent Office, used by many European countries, has issued quite a number of patents that affect software, which were presented as something other than software patents.  The change now being considered would open the door to unlimited patenting of algorithms and software features, which would greatly increase the number of software patents issued.
ko: 많은 유럽 국가들이 이용하는 유럽 특허청은 소프트웨어에 영향을 미치는 많은 특허들을 발급해 주었는데, 이러한 특허들은 마치 소프트웨어 특허가 아닌 것처럼 보여집니다. 또한 현재 고려되고 있는 유럽 특허청의 정책 개정안에는 알고리즘과 소프트웨어적 기능에 대한 특허 출원을 제한하지 않고 있기 때문에, 정책이 확정될 경우에는 소프트웨어에 대한 특허 출원이 급증하게 될 것입니다.

note: type: Content of: <div><ol><li>
en: Unisys issued a cleverly worded statement which is often taken to permit free software for making GIFs, but which I believe does not do so.  I wrote to their legal department to ask for clarification and/or a change in the policy, but received no reply.
ko: 유니시스는 GIF를 만들 수 있는 자유 소프트웨어를 허가한다는 지능적인 성명을 발표했지만, 저는 그들이 정말로 그렇게 하리라고 믿지 않습니다. 저는 그들의 법률 관련 부서에 이 점에 대한 분명한 설명과 정책 변화에 대해 문의를 했지만, 답변은 없었습니다.(역자주: GIF의 문제점에 대한 보다 자세한 내용은 <a href="/philosophy/gif.html">GNU 웹 페이지에 GIF 파일을 사용하지 않는 이유</a>를 통해 참고할 수 있습니다.)

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
ko: FSF와 GNU에 대한 문의는 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요. FSF에 대한 <a href="/contact/">다른 연락 방법</a>도 있습니다. 끊어진 링크나 다른 수정 사항 또는 제안은 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a> 앞으로 보내 주세요.

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
ko: 이 페이지는 <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/deed.ko">크리에이티브 커먼스 저작자표시-변경금지 4.0 국제 이용허락서</a>에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
ko: <b>한국어 번역</b>: 장문수 <a href="mailto:gravi@postech.edu">&lt;gravi@postech@edu&gt;</a>, 2001년 3월 21일

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
ko: 최종 수정일:
