self-interest.html - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (18 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Self-Interest - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_TW: 利己主義 - GNU 專案 - 自由軟體基金會

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Self-Interest
zh_TW: 利己主義

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Loyd Fueston
zh_TW: 作者為 Loyd Fueston

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Is Self-Interest Sufficient to Organize a Free Economy?
zh_TW: 利己主義足夠組織一個自由的經濟社會嗎？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The quick answer is, &ldquo;No.&rdquo; And few of the better-known theoreticians of the free-market have ever thought that self-interest was, or even could be, sufficient to organize, or long maintain, a free economy.  Among those theoreticians, Adam Smith is often regarded as having been the primary philosopher of self-interest. In a book written to correct a number of misunderstandings of Smith's teachings, we find the following summaries of Smith's view about self-interest:
zh_TW: 回答將是：不能。而且， 沒有一個知名的自由市場理論方面的專家會認為利己主義曾經、 甚至有可能足以組織自由經濟，或是將它維持一段時間。在這些理論家中， 亞當‧斯密經常被認為是利己主義的主要的衛道士。 但是在一本用來糾正對他的教義的錯誤理解的書中， 我們看到了這樣的對於他對利己主義的觀點的評述：

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: Far from being an individualist, Smith believed it is the influence of society that transforms people into moral beings. He thought that people often misjudge their own self-interest.
zh_TW: 「與『成為個人主義者』相比，斯密 認為是社會的影響將人轉變為道德的生物。 他認為人們經常高估了自己的利己主義。」

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Even more directly to the point:
zh_TW: 更多更直接的論述如下：

note: type: Content of: <div><blockquote><p>
en: [Adam Smith] regarded the attempt to explain all human behavior on the basis of self-interest as analytically misguided and morally pernicious.&nbsp;<a href="#fn1">[1]</a>
zh_TW: 「（亞當‧斯密）認為基於利己主義來解釋人類行為的嘗試是在分析上被誤導的， 並且在道德上是有害的。」&nbsp;<a href="#fn1">[1]</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: As Adam Smith certainly realized, self-interest will be one of the principal forces organizing economic activities in any society, but that is as true of the most repressive or brutal society as it is of a relatively free and open society. Most of us will not like the results of self-interest untempered by a respect for other creatures.  As a recent example, in running their country to the disadvantage of most Soviet citizens, the leaders of the Communist Party and of the Soviet military and intelligence services were advancing their own self-interests, at least as they understood or misunderstood those interests.
zh_TW: 亞當‧斯密意識到，利己主義在任何社會中都是激勵經濟活力的首要力量， 無論在相對自由開放的社會中，還是在最最壓抑甚至是禽獸統治的社會中。 我們大多數人不喜歡由於尊敬某人而帶來的他(她)的無節制的利己主義造成的後果。 例如，在蘇聯，蘇聯共產黨和蘇聯軍事和文化辦公室的頭頭們， 在極力發展利己主義的同時，把蘇聯帶到了對人民不利的境地， 無論他們是否知道自己做了什麼。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Self-interest is not necessarily evil, though it can lead people to act in morally reprehensible ways. The love of self, and the consequent development of self-interest, is one aspect of a creature who is also a social, and hence moral, being. Self-interest itself can serve moral interests in a free society so long as that society has the proper foundations. The elements of those foundations include not only a populace sharing a substantial body of moral beliefs and habits but also the formal political structures, positive laws, and accepted court decisions capable of supporting both social order and personal freedom. Once those are in place, and once they have been internalized by the bulk of the citizens, then self-interest will provide a fuel of sorts to keep an economy functioning effectively without leading to immoral results on the whole. The question is always: Is our society organized properly, in its positive laws and in the habits we teach our children and reinforce in ourselves, so that self-interest and moral principles do not generally come into conflict?
zh_TW: 利己主義並不是一種罪惡，盡管它常驅使人以一種應當譴責的方式行事。 對自己的關心和因此而來的利己主義的發展，是我們作為一個人的一方面。 它也因而使人成為道德的生物。只要一個開放的社會有其基礎， 利己主義也可以滿足道德的利益需求。 這種基礎的構成不僅包括擁有堅實道德信仰和習慣的平民，也包括正式的政治的機構， 嚴格的法律，以及被承認的能夠維護社會秩序和個人自由的法庭裁決。 當這些條件都已具備，並且都已被大多數人銘記於心時， 利己主義將完全成為使經濟運轉有效，不會導致邪惡結果的種種燃料。問題是， 我們的社會是否在法律和我們教給孩子並且約束我們自己的道德習慣中被合理組織， 從而利己主義與道德準則並不衝突了呢？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Those people aware of modern mathematics or of programming techniques should appreciate the recursive, and inherently unstable, interactions between individual morality and social structure. To oversimplify in a useful manner: People with substantial moral beliefs organize societies along those beliefs and those societies then begin to form the habits and beliefs of children, immigrants, etc. according to those same beliefs. Always, it is a messy historical process which can be destroyed or rerouted into less desirable paths. There is inevitably a question as to whether we are straying from a proper path and also a question as to how robust the society is, i.e., how much of a disturbance it would take to destroy much of what is good about that society.
zh_TW: 研究現代數學的或是程式設計技術的人們應當仔細鑒賞這種， 個人道義與社會結構間的遞歸的、天然不穩定的交互作用。 簡單的說，有堅定道德信仰的人以他的信仰來組織社會， 然後社會又開始根據這些信仰來培養孩子們，移民們的信仰與習慣。 這是一個頭緒紛繁的過程，經常會被打斷或是被引導到其他並不想要的路子上。 不可避免的有人會問，我們是不是正在偏離正確的路途，還有人問， 這個社會有多少承受力，也就是， 要多大的打擊就會把這個社會的大部分好的部分毀滅掉。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Sometimes, good people will decide that something has gone wrong and it is time to fight for a moral principle even if it becomes necessary to sacrifice, or at least qualify, their own self-interest. In the words of Thomas Sowell, a free-market theorist of our time:
zh_TW: 有時候，人們會認為事情出了差錯，他們需要為了某個道德準則而奮鬥， 有必要犧牲，或者至少是限制自己的利己主義。 當代的自由市場理論家 Thomas Sowell 說：

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Self-interest can be a powerful fuel for a society, at least when the citizens of that society are well-formed individuals, but there is no mystical or magical aspect to self-interest that guarantees moral results. Self-interest will lead to generally moral results to the extent that moral constraints, external but mostly internal, guide the actions of the self-interested parties. A society with the proper constraints does not come into existence by some act of magic, but rather by the acts of people who are aiming at a higher purpose, whether the preservation of liberty in the society as a whole or the preservation of a cooperative spirit within communities of programmers, or maybe both of those at the same time.
zh_TW: 利己主義是一種社會的強力的燃料， 至少當這個社會的人們是經過良好教育的個人時是如此， 但是利己主義沒什麼神奇而神秘的東西能保証道德的後果。 只有在外部的，更多的是內心的道德的約束下，利己主義才會產生道德的後果， 指引當事人的行動。一個有良好約束的社會並不靠魔術而存在， 而是靠向著更高目標的人們的行動，無論是整個社會中對自由的保護， 還是程式員社群中合作精神的保留，或是在同一時間。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Footnotes
zh_TW: 註釋

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_TW: 請來信到 <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a> 詢問有關自由軟體基金會（FSF）和 GNU 的一般問題；或者<a href="/contact/">以其他方式</a>聯絡自由軟體基金會。至於損毀的連結及其他修正和建議，可以將之寄給 <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Verbatim copying and distribution of this entire article is permitted in any medium, provided this notice is preserved.
zh_TW: 本文允許在不變更文件內容的前提下刊登在任何形式的媒體中，但需保留此聲明。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_TW: <b>翻譯</b>： 袁 乙鈞, 2002.<br />
    <b>校對</b>： 劉 昭宏, 2002.

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_TW: 更新時間︰
