who-does-that-server-really-serve.html - en to zh_CN translation catalogue (83 entries)

note: type: Content of: <title>
en: Who Does That Server Really Serve? - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation
zh_CN: 服务器究竟为谁服务？ - GNU工程 - 自由软件基金会

note: type: Content of: <div><h2>
en: Who Does That Server Really Serve?
zh_CN: 服务器究竟为谁服务？

note: type: Content of: <div><address>
en: by Richard Stallman
zh_CN: Richard Stallman 著

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: <em>On the Internet, proprietary software isn't the only way to lose your computing freedom.  Service as a Software Substitute, or SaaSS, is another way to give someone else power over your computing.</em>
zh_CN: <em>在网络上，专有软件不是唯一让你失去自由的途径。服务代替软件，或叫 SaaSS，就是另一个让你把计算控制交给别人的途径。</em>

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The basic point is, you can have control over a program someone else wrote (if it's free), but you can never have control over a service someone else runs, so never use a service where in principle running a program would do.
zh_CN: 重点是，你可以控制其他人编写的程序（如果它是自由软件），但是你永远不能控制其他人执行的服务，所以原则上在程序能够完成任务的时候，不要使用服务。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: SaaSS means using a service implemented by someone else as a substitute for running your copy of a program.  The term is ours; articles and ads won't use it, and they won't tell you whether a service is SaaSS.  Instead they will probably use the vague and distracting term &ldquo;cloud,&rdquo; which lumps SaaSS together with various other practices, some abusive and some OK.  And they talk about &ldquo;delivering a program by offering a service to run it.&rdquo; With the explanation and examples in this page, you can tell whether a service is SaaSS.
zh_CN: SaaSS 意味着使用他人实现的服务来代替运行你自己的软件。该术语是我们用的；其他文章和广告不会使用它，并且他们不会告诉你一项服务是否为 SaaSS。反之，他们可能会用含糊和分散注意力的 &ldquo;云&rdquo; 这一术语，它把 SaaSS 和其他一些实践搞在一起，其中有的是滥用，有的还可以。他们说的是 &ldquo;通过提供服务来交付软件&rdquo;。通过本页的解释和举例，你就能够分辨一项服务究竟是不是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Background: How Proprietary Software Takes Away Your Freedom
zh_CN: 背景：专有软件如何拿走你的自由

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Digital technology can give you freedom; it can also take your freedom away.  The first threat to our control over our computing came from <em>proprietary software</em>: software that the users cannot control because the owner (a company such as Apple or Microsoft)  controls it.  The owner often takes advantage of this unjust power by inserting malicious features such as spyware, back doors, and <a href="https://www.defectivebydesign.org">Digital Restrictions Management (DRM)</a> (referred to as &ldquo;Digital Rights Management&rdquo; in their propaganda).
zh_CN: 数字技术能够给你自由；它也能拿走你的自由。第一个对我们自主控制计算的威胁来自<em>专有软件</em>因为其所有者（诸如苹果或微软之类的公司）掌控软件，所以用户无法控制该软件。其所有者经常利用这种不公平的权力植入恶意功能，比如间谍软件、后门和<a href="https://www.DefectiveByDesign.org">数字权限管理（DRM）</a>（请参考他们宣传的&ldquo;数字版权管理&rdquo;）。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Our solution to this problem is developing <em>free software</em> and rejecting proprietary software.  Free software gives you, as a user, four essential freedoms: (0)&nbsp;to run the program as you wish, (1)&nbsp;to study and change the source code so it does what you wish, (2)&nbsp;to redistribute exact copies, and (3)&nbsp;to redistribute copies of your modified versions.  (See the <a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">free software definition</a>.)
zh_CN: 我们对此的解决方案是开发<em>自由软件</em>并拒绝专有软件。自由软件意味着，你，作为一个用户，拥有四项基本自由：(0)&nbsp;按照自己的意愿运行该软件，(1)&nbsp;通过学习和修改源代码而使软件按照自己的意愿运行，(2)&nbsp;分发原来软件的拷贝，(3)&nbsp;分发修改后软件的拷贝（请参看<a href="/philosophy/free-sw.html">自由软件的定义</a>。）

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With free software, we, the users, take back control of our computing.  Proprietary software still exists, but we can exclude it from our lives and many of us have done so.  However, we are now offered another tempting way to cede control over our computing: Service as a Software Substitute (SaaSS).  For our freedom's sake, we have to reject that too.
zh_CN: 通过使用自由软件，我们作为用户，拿回了对我们计算的控制。专有软件仍然存在，但是我们能够把他们排除在我们的生活之外，我们已经做到了。可是，现在有另一种方式诱使我们割让对计算的控制：服务代替软件（SaaSS）。看在自由的份上，我们也必须拒绝它。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: What Does Service as a Software Substitute Look Like?
zh_CN: 服务代替软件看起来是怎样的？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Service as a Software Substitute (SaaSS) means using a service as a substitute for running your copy of a program.  Concretely, it means that someone sets up a network server that does certain computing activities&mdash;for instance, modifying a photo, translating text into another language, etc.&mdash;then invites users to let that server do <em>their own computing</em> for them.  As a user of the server, you would send your data to the server, which does that computing activity on the data thus provided, then sends the results back to you or else acts directly on your behalf.
zh_CN: 服务代替软件（SaaSS）意思是使用服务代替运行程序。具体地，它的意思是有人设置一个网络服务器来从事某种计算工作&mdash;&mdash;比如，修改照片、翻译文稿等等。&mdash;&mdash;然后邀请用户使用该服务器做<em>用户的计算</em>。作为服务器的用户，你会把你的数据发送到服务器，而服务器使用该数据做计算，然后将结果发回给你或者直接以你的名义行事。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: To Which Activities Is the Issue of SaaSS Applicable?
zh_CN: SaaSS 涉及哪些活动？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The issue of SaaSS-or-not-SaaSS is meaningful for a computing activity that is <em>your own</em> computing.  What does that mean, precisely? It means that no one else is inherently involved in the activity.  To clarify the meaning of &ldquo;inherently involved,&rdquo; we present a thought experiment in which we focus on one unspecified imaginary computing activity.
zh_CN: SaaSS，还是不 SaaSS，对 <em>你自己的</em> 计算是有意义的。这究竟是什么意思呢？它的意思就是这个计算本身没有涉及其他人。为了明确 &ldquo;本身涉及&rdquo; 的意思，我们来做一个思想实验。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Suppose that all parts of the activity are implemented in free software and you have copies, and you have whatever data you might need, as well as computers of whatever speed, functionality and capacity might be required.  Could you (if given those prerequisites)  do this particular computing activity entirely within those computers, not communicating with anyone else's computers?
zh_CN: 假想你工作所需要的自由软件都有了，相关的数据、计算机算力和容量也都有了。那么你（有了这些前提条件）是否还会在工作中完全用这些计算机做自己的计算，而不和别人的计算机沟通？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If you could, then the activity is <em>essentially your own</em>.  Therefore, for your freedom's sake, you deserve to control it.  The concept of SaaSS is applicable to such activities and not to other activities.
zh_CN: 如果是的，那么这个活动是 <em>你自己的</em>。因此，看在自由份上，你值得控制这个计算。SaaSS 的概念适用于这类活动，而不是其他活动。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For such an activity, if you carry it out by running your copies of free programs, you do control it.  That protects the freedom you deserve.  However, doing it via someone else's service would give that someone else control over part of your computing activity.  That denies you the control you deserve, so we say it is unjust.  We call that scenario SaaSS.
zh_CN: 对此类活动，如果你运行的是自由软件，那么你是在控制它。这样做保护了你的自由。不过，通过别人的服务来进行这个计算的话，你就把计算的控制交给了别人。那样就剥夺了你应有的控制，所以我们认为它是不公正的。我们称之为 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: By contrast, if due to the inherent nature of the computing to be done you couldn't possibly do that activity entirely in your own computers, then the activity isn't entirely your own, so the issue of SaaSS is not applicable to that activity.  In general, these activities involve communication with others, so the others must be included in it.  Buying something from a store is a typical example of an activity that needs to include some other party (the store).
zh_CN: 反之，如果由于计算的自然属性，你根本就无法在自己的电脑上进行这些计算活动，那么这些计算就不完全是你自己的，而 SaaSS 也就不适用于这个活动。通常，这些计算活动会涉及与其他计算机的沟通，其他人必须要介入。从商店购买商品就是一个典型的例子，这个活动需要有其他人参与（商店）。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If a certain activity is essentially your own, then maintaining your full control over it requires that you do it using your copies of free programs, running them on computers you control.  Doing it in any other way is SaaSS because it denies you the control you deserve.  This is independent of your reasons for doing it in some other way.  If you choose some other way because of some convenience, it is SaaSS.  If it is because you can't obtain the free programs or the computer you'd need to keep control, that is still SaaSS.
zh_CN: 如果某个活动是你自己的，那么你要控制该活动就要求你自己运行自由软件，并且在自己控制的电脑上运行。其他方式都是 SaaSS，因为你失去了你应得的控制。这和你运行的原因没有关系。如果你是因为方便采用了其他方法，它是 SaaSS。如果你是因为没法得到自由软件或可控的计算机而采用了其他方法，它也是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Using SaaSS Compared with Running Nonfree Software
zh_CN: 使用 SaaSS 和运行非自由软件的比较

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: SaaSS servers wrest control from the users even more inexorably than proprietary software.  With proprietary software, users typically get an executable file but not the source code.  That makes it hard to study the code that is running, so it's hard to determine what the program really does, and hard to change it.
zh_CN: 这些 SaaSS 服务器夺取用户自由甚至比专有软件还无情。使用专有软件，用户通常得到可执行文件而不是源代码。这使学习其代码变得困难，所以判断该程序真正的操作变得困难，更改它也变得困难。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With SaaSS, the users do not have even the executable file that does their computing: it is on someone else's server, where the users can't see or touch it.  Thus it is impossible for them to ascertain what it really does, and impossible to change it.
zh_CN: 使用 SaaSS，用户甚至都没有从事其计算的可执行文件：它在别人的服务器上，用户看不到也摸不着。所以用户不可能弄清楚它做了什么，也不可能改变它。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Furthermore, SaaSS automatically leads to consequences equivalent to the malicious features of certain proprietary software.
zh_CN: 更进一步，SaaSS自动就导致了和某些专有软件的恶意功能相同的后果。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For instance, some proprietary programs are &ldquo;spyware&rdquo;: the program <a href="/philosophy/proprietary-surveillance.html"> sends out data about users' computing activities</a>.  Microsoft Windows sends information about users' activities to Microsoft.  Windows Media Player reports what each user watches or listens to.  The Amazon Kindle reports which pages of which books the user looks at, and when.  Angry Birds reports the user's geolocation history.
zh_CN: 例如，有些专有软件是&ldquo;间谍软件&rdquo;：该程序<a href="/philosophy/proprietary-surveillance.html">向外发送用户的计算活动数据</a>。微软的Windows就把用户的活动发送给微软。Windows媒体播放器汇报每个用户观看或收听的内容。Amazon Kindle汇报用户在看哪本书的哪一页以及什么时间。愤怒的小鸟汇报用户的历史位置。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Unlike proprietary software, SaaSS does not require covert code to obtain the user's data.  Instead, its structure requires users to send their data to the server in order to use it.  This has the same effect as spyware: the server operator gets the data&mdash;with no special effort, by the nature of SaaSS.  Amy Webb, who intended never to post any photos of her daughter, made the mistake of using SaaSS (Instagram) to edit photos of her.  Eventually <a href="https://slate.com/technology/2013/09/privacy-facebook-kids-dont-post-photos-of-your-kids-on-social-media.html"> they leaked from there</a>.
zh_CN: 和专有软件不同，SaaSS 不需要秘密的代码来获得用户数据。反过来，用户必须把数据交给服务器才能获得服务。这和间谍软件的效果一样：服务器操作者获得了数据&mdash;&mdash;不必花力气，因为 SaaSS 就是这样的。Amy Webb，从来也没有要发表她女儿的照片，错误地使用了 SaaSS（Instagram）来编辑女儿的照片。最后，<a href="https://slate.com/technology/2013/09/privacy_facebook_kids_don_t_post_photos_of_your_kids_on_social_media.html">照片还是从那里泄露了出去</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Theoretically, homomorphic encryption might some day advance to the point where future SaaSS services might be constructed to be unable to understand some of the data that users send them.  Such services <em>could</em> be set up not to snoop on users; this does not mean they <em>will</em> do no snooping.  Also, snooping is only one among the secondary injustices of SaaSS.
zh_CN: 理论上，同态加密<sup><a href="#TransNote1">1</a></sup>可能发展到有一天未来的 SaaSS 服务无法理解用户发来的某些数据。这样的服务<em>可能</em>无法窥探用户；这并不意味着他们<em>不再</em>窥探。再说，窥探用户只是 SaaSS 不公正之处的次要部分之一。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some proprietary operating systems have a universal back door, permitting someone to remotely install software changes.  For instance, Windows has a universal back door with which Microsoft can forcibly change any software on the machine.  Nearly all portable phones have them, too.  Some proprietary applications also have universal back doors; for instance, the Steam client for GNU/Linux allows the developer to remotely install modified versions.
zh_CN: 某些专有软件带有全局后门，它允许远程安装软件。例如，Windows就有一个全局后门，微软可以用它强制改变电脑上的任何软件。几乎所有移动电话也都有后门。一些专有软件也有全局后门；例如，工作在GNU/Linux上的Steam客户端允许其开发者远程安装更改后的版本。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: With SaaSS, the server operator can change the software in use on the server.  Person ought to be able to do this, since it's per computer; but the result is the same as using a proprietary application program with a universal back door: someone has the power to silently impose changes in how the user's computing gets done.
zh_CN: 使用SaaSS，服务器操作员能够改变服务器使用的软件。他应该能够这样做，因为这是他的电脑；但是其结果和带有全局后门的专有软件是一样的：有人有权不动声色地更改用户的计算。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: It is common for SaaSS dis-services to charge a monthly fee for use.  Usually one SaaSS site does not substitute for another, so if users become unhappy with one dis-service provider it is no easy matter to switch to another.  When users become dependent on one, <a href="https://www.theguardian.com/business/2023/nov/05/cloud-service-provider-consumer-prices-netflix-microsoft">it can gouge them at will with repeated small price increases that over time add up to a lot</a>.  We view the loss of freedom inherent in SaaSS as worse than the cost in money, but when a dis-service has you over a barrel, the cost can be painful.  Thus, even users who don't see deeper than the bottom line should beware of SaaSS.
zh_CN: SaaSS 敌服务通常会按月收费。一个 SaaSS 站点通常不能用另一个站点代替，所以如果用户对一个敌服务不满意，他们并不能轻易换到另一家。当用户开始依赖某一家时，<a href="https://www.theguardian.com/business/2023/nov/05/cloud-service-provider-consumer-prices-netflix-microsoft">它就开始随意用反复涨价的方式试探用户，逐渐累加到相当可观的价格</a>。我们认为 SaaSS 本身带来自由丧失比金钱花费更糟糕，不过当敌服务让你别无选择时，这钱花得就相当痛苦。因此，即使未曾看透 SSaaS 底线的用户也应谨防上当。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: SaaSS is equivalent to running proprietary software with spyware and a universal back door.  It gives the server operator unjust power over the user, and unjust power is something we must resist.
zh_CN: SaaSS 和带有间谍软件及全局后门的专有软件是一样的。它给予服务器操作员凌驾于用户之上的权力，而这正是我们必须反抗的权力。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: SaaSS and SaaS
zh_CN: SaaSS和SaaS

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Originally we referred to this problematical practice as &ldquo;SaaS,&rdquo; which stands for &ldquo;Software as a Service.&rdquo; It's a commonly used term for setting up software on a server rather than offering copies of it to users, and we thought it described precisely the cases where this problem occurs.
zh_CN: 最初我们认为这个有问题的实践是&ldquo;SaaS&rdquo;，意思是&ldquo;软件即服务&rdquo;。这是一个常用的术语，它是指在服务器上设置软件而不给用户拷贝，而我们认为该术语准确地描述了此类实践的问题所在。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Subsequently we became aware that the term SaaS is sometimes used for communication services&mdash;activities for which this issue is not applicable.  In addition, the term &ldquo;Software as a Service&rdquo; doesn't explain <em>why</em> the practice is bad.  So we coined the term &ldquo;Service as a Software Substitute,&rdquo; which defines the bad practice more clearly and says what is bad about it.
zh_CN: 后来我们认识到 SaaS 这一术语有时也用于通讯服务&mdash;&mdash;而此问题并不适用于这些服务。另外，&ldquo;软件即服务&rdquo;这一术语不能解释<em>为什么</em>这种实践是不好的。所以我们创造了&ldquo;服务代替软件&rdquo;这一术语，它更清楚地定义了这个不好的实践，并且说出为什么它是不好的。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Untangling the SaaSS Issue from the Proprietary Software Issue
zh_CN: 区分SaaSS问题和专有软件问题

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: SaaSS and proprietary software lead to similar harmful results, but the mechanisms are different.  With proprietary software, the mechanism is that you have and use a copy which is difficult and/or illegal to change.  With SaaSS, the mechanism is that you don't have the copy that's doing your computing.
zh_CN: SaaSS和专有软件导致类似的有害结果，但是其机制各有不同。对专有软件，该机制是你有软件拷贝，并使用该软件拷贝，但是修改该拷贝是困难/或者是非法的。对SaaSS，该机制是软件进行你的计算，但是你并没有该软件的拷贝。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: These two issues are often confused, and not only by accident.  Web developers use the vague term &ldquo;web application&rdquo; to lump the server software together with programs run on your machine in your browser.  Some web pages install nontrivial, even large JavaScript programs into your browser without informing you.  <a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">When these JavaScript programs are nonfree</a>, they cause the same sort of injustice as any other nonfree software.  Here, however, we are concerned with the issue of using the service itself.
zh_CN: 这两个问题常常令人困扰，这并不仅仅是意外。网络开发者使用含糊不清的术语&ldquo;网络应用&rdquo;把服务器软件和运行在本地电脑的浏览器里的程序搞在一起。有些网页会在你的浏览器里安装非平凡的、甚至是大型的JavaScript软件，并且不告诉你。<a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">当这些JavaScript程序不是自由软件时</a>，它们就和其他非自由软件一样导致不公正。然而，在这里，我们关心的是使用服务本身。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Many free software supporters assume that the problem of SaaSS will be solved by developing free software for servers.  For the server operator's sake, the programs on the server had better be free; if they are proprietary, their developers/owners have power over the server.  That's unfair to the server operator, and doesn't help the server's users at all.  But if the programs on the server are free, that doesn't protect <em>the server's users</em> from the effects of SaaSS.  These programs liberate the server operator, but not the server's users.
zh_CN: 许多自由软件支持者认为SaaSS问题会由于开发服务器端的自由软件而解决。对服务器操作者来说，服务器端的程序最好是自由软件；如果它是专有软件，那么其开发者/所有者就有凌驾于服务器之上的权力。这对服务器操作者是不公正的，而且对服务器的用户也毫无帮助。但是如果服务器端的程序是自由软件，它也没有保护<em>服务器用户</em>不受SaaSS的影响。该程序使服务器操作者自由，但是没有给服务器用户自由。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Releasing the server software source code does benefit the community: it enables suitably skilled users to set up similar servers, perhaps changing the software.  <a href="/licenses/license-recommendations.html"> We recommend using the GNU Affero GPL</a> as the license for programs often used on servers.
zh_CN: 把服务器软件的源代码发布可以使社区受益：这使有相应技术的用户可以搭建类似的服务器，也可能修改软件。<a href="/licenses/license-recommendations.html">我们建议使用GNU Affero GPL</a>作为服务器端软件的许可证。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: But none of these servers would give you control over computing you do on it, unless it's <em>your</em> server (one whose software load you control, regardless of whether the machine is your property).  It may be OK to trust your friend's server for some jobs, just as you might let your friend maintain the software on your own computer.  Outside of that, all these servers would be SaaSS for you.  SaaSS always subjects you to the power of the server operator, and the only remedy is, <em>Don't use SaaSS!</em> Don't use someone else's server to do your own computing on data provided by you.
zh_CN: 但是这些服务器都没有让你能够控制自己的计算，除非它是<em>你的</em>服务器（你控制它的软件，尽管服务器的硬件可能不是你的）。也许某些工作你可以放心地使用朋友的服务器，就像你让朋友在你的机器上维护软件一样。除此之外的服务器对你都应该是SaaSS。SaaSS总是使你受制于服务器操作者的权力，而唯一的解药是，<em>不要使用SaaSS！</em>不要使用他人的服务器来对你提交的数据进行计算。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This issue demonstrates the depth of the difference between &ldquo;open&rdquo; and &ldquo;free.&rdquo; Source code that is open source <a href="/philosophy/free-open-overlap.html">is, nearly always, free</a>.  However, the idea of an <a href="https://opendefinition.org/ossd/">&ldquo;open software&rdquo; service</a>, meaning one whose server software is open source and/or free, fails to address the issue of SaaSS.
zh_CN: 这个问题展示了&ldquo;开放&rdquo;和&ldquo;自由&rdquo;的深度不同。源代码是开源<a href="/philosophy/free-open-overlap.html">意味着，差不多总是，自由软件</a>。但是，<a href="https://opendefinition.org/ossd/">&ldquo;开源软件&rdquo;服务</a>，意味着服务器软件是开源或是自由软件，却错失了SaaSS的问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Services are fundamentally different from programs, and the ethical issues that services raise are fundamentally different from the issues that programs raise.  To avoid confusion, we <a href="/philosophy/network-services-arent-free-or-nonfree.html"> avoid describing a service as &ldquo;free&rdquo; or &ldquo;proprietary.&rdquo;</a>
zh_CN: 服务从根本上不同于程序，由它带来的道德问题从根本上也和程序的不同。为了避免混淆，我们<a href="/philosophy/network-services-arent-free-or-nonfree.html">避免把服务描述为&ldquo;自由&rdquo;或&ldquo;专有。&rdquo;</a>

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Distinguishing SaaSS from Other Network Services
zh_CN: 区分SaaSS和其他网络服务

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Which online services are SaaSS? The clearest example is a translation service, which translates (say) English text into Spanish text.  Translating a text for you is computing that is purely yours.  You could do it by running a program on your own computer, if only you had the right program.  (To be ethical, that program should be free.)  The translation service substitutes for that program, so it is Service as a Software Substitute, or SaaSS.  Since it denies you control over your computing, it does you wrong.
zh_CN: 哪些在线服务是SaaSS？最明确的例子是翻译服务，比如它把英语文字翻译成西班牙语文字。你要翻译这件事纯粹是你自己的计算。你可以通过在自己的电脑上运行一个程序完成。（道义上说，该程序应该是自由软件。）翻译服务代替了该程序，所以这是服务代替软件，即SaaSS。由于它剥夺了你对自己计算的控制，所以它对你作恶。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Another clear example is using a service such as Flickr or Instagram to modify a photo.  Modifying photos is an activity that people have done in their own computers for decades; doing it in a server you don't control, rather than your own computer, is SaaSS.
zh_CN: 另一个明确的例子是使用诸如Flickr或Instagram之类的服务来编辑照片。几十年以来，人们都是在自己的电脑上编辑照片；在你无法控制的服务器上编辑照片，而不是在自己的电脑上，就是SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Rejecting SaaSS does not mean refusing to use any network servers run by anyone other than you.  Most servers are not SaaSS because the jobs they do are some sort of communication with visitors, rather than each visitor's own computing.
zh_CN: 拒绝 SaaSS 并不是说要拒绝所有的其他人运行的网络服务。大多数服务器不是 SaaSS，因为它们的任务是和来访者进行某种通讯，而不是为每个来访者做计算服务。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The original idea of web servers wasn't to do computing for you, a visitor; it was to publish information for you to access.  Even today this is what most web sites do, and it doesn't raise the SaaSS issue, because accessing someone's published information on a web site isn't a matter of your own computing.  Neither is use of a blog site to publish your own works, or using a microblogging service such as Mastodon, or StatusNet, or Ex-Twitter.  (These services may or may not have other problems, depending on details.)  The same goes for other communication not meant to be private, such as chat groups.
zh_CN: 网络服务器最初的概念不是为你——来访者——做计算，而是让你能够访问它发布的信息。即使在今天这也是大多数网站做的事，这个没有 SaaSS 的问题，因为访问别人发布的信息不是在做你的计算。使用博客网站发布自己的成果也不是，使用诸如 Mastodon、StatusNet 或 Ex-Twitter 的服务发布微博也不是。（这些服务可能会有其他问题，根据具体情况而不同。）这个道理对其他非私人的通讯服务也适用，比如聊天室。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In its essence, social networking is a form of communication and publication, not SaaSS.  However, a service whose main facility is social networking can have features or extensions which are SaaSS.
zh_CN: 究其本质，社交网络是一种沟通和出版的形式，不是SaaSS。然而，如果一个服务的主要设施是社交网络的话，它就可能带有SaaSS的功能和扩展。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If a service is not SaaSS, that does not mean it is OK.  There are other ethical issues about services.  For instance, Facebook requires running nonfree JavaScript code, and it gives users a misleading impression of privacy while luring them into baring their lives to Facebook.  Those are important issues, but distinct from the SaaSS issue.
zh_CN: 如果一项服务不是 SaaSS，并不意味着它就没有问题。服务有其他的道德问题。比如，Facebook 要求使用非自由的 JavaScript 代码，并且它通过让用户展示自己的生活来误导他们对隐私的感觉。这些都是重要的问题，不过不同于 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Services such as search engines collect data from around the web and let you examine it.  Looking through their collection of data isn't your own computing in the usual sense&mdash;you didn't provide that collection&mdash;so using such a service to search the web is not SaaSS.  However, using someone else's server to implement a search facility for your own site <em>is</em> SaaSS.
zh_CN: 搜索引擎之类的服务是从网络上收集数据并让你查看。查看他们收集的数据不是普通意义上的用户计算活动&mdash;你并没有提供这个收集活动&mdash;所以使用此类网络搜索不是SaaSS。然而，使用其他人的服务器为你自己的网站部署搜索设施<em>是</em>SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Purchasing online is not SaaSS, because the computing isn't <em>your own</em> activity; rather, it is done jointly by and for you and the store.  The real issue in online shopping is whether you trust the other party with your money and other personal information (starting with your name).
zh_CN: 网购不是SaaSS，因为这个计算不是<em>你自己的</em>活动；而是你和商店共同完成的活动。网购的真正问题在于你是否相信收钱的一方以及其他个人信息（从你的姓名算起）。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Repository sites such as Savannah and SourceForge are not inherently SaaSS, because a repository's job is publication of data supplied to it.
zh_CN: 仓库网站，如Savannah和SourceForge，本身不是SaaSS，因为仓库的工作是发布交给它的数据。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Some sites offer multiple services, and if one is not SaaSS, another may be SaaSS.  For instance, the main service of Facebook is social networking, and that is not SaaSS; however, it supports third-party applications, some of which are SaaSS.  Flickr's main service is distributing photos, which is not SaaSS, but it also has features for editing photos, which is SaaSS.  Likewise, using Instagram to post a photo is not SaaSS, but using it to transform the photo is SaaSS.
zh_CN: 有些网站提供多种服务，如果其中一个不是SaaSS，另一种也可能是SaaSS。例如，Facebook的主要服务是社交网络，这不是SaaSS；然而，它支持第三方应用，其中有些是SaaSS。Flickr的主要服务是发布照片，这不是SaaSS，但是它还有编辑照片的功能，这就是SaaSS。类似地，在Instagram发布照片不是SaaSS，但是使用它来转换照片格式就是SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Google Docs shows how complex the evaluation of a single service can become.  It invites people to edit a document by running a large <a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">nonfree JavaScript program</a>, clearly unjust, but not SaaSS.  However, it offers an API for uploading and downloading documents in standard formats.  A free software editor can do so through this API.  (Whether it is possible to get an account for Google Docs without running some nonfree JavaScript code, we don't know.)  Anyway, this usage scenario is not SaaSS, because it uses Google Docs as a mere repository.  Handing your work data to a company is bad, but that is a matter of privacy, not SaaSS; depending on a service for access to your data is bad, but that is a matter of risk, not SaaSS.
zh_CN: Google Docs 展示了评价一个服务有多么复杂。它让人们通过运行一个大型的 <a href="/philosophy/javascript-trap.html">非自由 JavaScript 程序</a> 来编辑文档，明显是错误的，但它不是 SaaSS。然而，它还提供上传和下载标准格式文档的 API。一个自由软件编辑器也可以通过此 API 传输文档。（我们并不知道，不运行非自由的 JavaScript 代码是否可以获得 Google Docs。）无论如何，这个应用场景不是 SaaSS，因为 Google Docs 只是作为仓库来使用。把自己的数据展示给一个公司是一件坏事，但这也只是隐私的问题，不是 SaaSS；依赖某个服务来访问自己的数据也是一件坏事，但它也只是风险的问题，也不是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: On the other hand, using Google Docs for converting document formats <em>is</em> SaaSS, because it's something you could have done by running a suitable program (free, one hopes) in your own computer.
zh_CN: 另一方面，使用 Goole Docs 服务来转换文档的格式 <em>是</em> SaaSS，因为你可以使用自己电脑里的合适程序（希望是，自由软件）来完成这件事。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Using Google Docs through a free editor is rare, of course.  Most often, people edit their Google Docs documents with the nonfree JavaScript program it sends, which is bad like any nonfree program.  This scenario might involve SaaSS, too; that depends on what part of the editing is done in the JavaScript program and what part in the server.  We don't know, but since SaaSS and proprietary software do similar wrong to the user, we can judge the whole scenario morally without knowing which part is which.
zh_CN: 当然，通过自由软件使用 Google Docs 并不常见。最常见的是，人们通过非自由的 JavaScript 程序来使用它，这和使用其他非自由软件一样糟糕。这个场景还可能引入 SaaSS；这取决于哪些操作是 JavaScript 程序做的，哪些是服务器做的。我们不知道，但是由于 SaaSS 和专有软件都对用户作恶，知不知道我们都可以对这个场景作出道德判断。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Publishing via someone else's repository does not raise privacy issues, but publishing through Google Docs has a special problem: it is impossible even to <em>view the text</em> of a Google Docs document in a browser without running the nonfree JavaScript code.  Thus, you should not use Google Docs to publish anything&mdash;but the reason is not a matter of SaaSS.
zh_CN: 通过他人的仓库进行发布不会有隐私的问题，但是通过Google Docs发布却有一个特别的问题：不运行非自由的JavaScript代码，你甚至不能在浏览器里<em>查看Google Docs文本</em>。所以，你不应该使用Google Docs发布文档&mdash;但是这不是由于SaaSS的原因。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The IT industry discourages users from making these distinctions.  That's what the buzzword &ldquo;cloud computing&rdquo; is for.  This term is so nebulous that it could refer to almost any use of the Internet.  It includes SaaSS as well as many other network usage practices.  In any given context, an author who writes &ldquo;cloud&rdquo; (if a technical person) probably has a specific meaning in mind, but usually does not explain that in other articles the term has other specific meanings.  The term leads people to generalize about practices they ought to judge separately.
zh_CN: IT 产业并不鼓励用户做这些区分。这就是 &ldquo;云计算&rdquo; 这一时髦词汇的用途。该词是如此的模糊不清，以至于它几乎可以表示任何互联网的使用形式。它包含 SaaSS，也包含许多其他的网络使用情况。在一个特定的语境，使用者可能用 &ldquo;云&rdquo;（如果是技术背景的使用者）表示脑海里一个特定的意思，但是通常不会解释说该词在其他文章中有其他的意思。该术语引导人们对本应该单独处理的情况进行普遍化。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If &ldquo;cloud computing&rdquo; has a meaning, it is not a way of doing computing, but rather a way of thinking about computing: a devil-may-care approach which says, &ldquo;Don't ask questions.  Don't worry about who controls your computing or who holds your data.  Don't check for a hook hidden inside our service before you swallow it.  Trust companies without hesitation.&rdquo; In other words, &ldquo;Be a sucker.&rdquo; A cloud in the mind is an obstacle to clear thinking.  For the sake of clear thinking about computing, let's avoid the term &ldquo;cloud.&rdquo;
zh_CN: 如果&ldquo;云计算&rdquo;有定义，那么它不是一个计算的方式，而是对计算的一种思考方法：一种魔鬼才会考虑的方法，意思是，&ldquo;不要提问。不要担心是谁控制你的计算或者是谁掌握你的数据。在你吞掉鱼饵之前不要检查藏在服务之饵里的钓钩。要毫不怀疑地相信这些公司。&rdquo;换句话说，&ldquo;做一个没有主见的人。&rdquo;思想里的云就是要阻碍清楚地思考。为了清楚地思考计算，让我们避免使用&ldquo;云&rdquo;这个词。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Renting a Server Distinguished from SaaSS
zh_CN: 区分租用服务器和SaaSS的不同

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: If you rent a server (real or virtual), whose software load you have control over, that's not SaaSS.  In SaaSS, someone else decides what software runs on the server and therefore controls the computing it does for you.  In the case where you install the software on the server, you control what computing it does for you.  Thus, the rented server is virtually your computer.  For this issue, it counts as yours.
zh_CN: 如果你租用服务器（真实的或虚拟的），你可以控制其软件，它就不是SaaSS。在SaaSS的情形，其他人决定服务器运行的软件，因而他们控制着你的计算。在你安装服务器软件的情形，你控制着你的计算。所以，租用服务器实际上是你的电脑。此时，我们认为它就是你的。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The <em>data</em> on the rented remote server is less secure than if you had the server at home, but that is a separate issue from SaaSS.
zh_CN: 租用的远程服务器上的<em>数据</em>没有在自己家里的服务器上的数据安全，但是这个是SaaSS之外的问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This kind of server rental is sometimes called &ldquo;IaaS,&rdquo; but that term fits into a conceptual structure that downplays the issues that we consider important.
zh_CN: 这种服务器租赁有时叫做&ldquo;IaaS&rdquo;，但是该术语适用的概念轻视了我们要考虑的重点。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: When the User Is a Collective Activity Or an Organization
zh_CN: 当用户合作或者是一个组织时

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: So far we have explained how SaaSS applies to an individual's computing.  For those cases, we have clarified the concept of SaaSS pretty thoroughly.  SaaSS is also an issue for computing done by a group activity, which may be informal (such as developing a free program often is), or formal (a charity like the FSF or a business).  It is basically the same concept, but we have not clarified the boundaries for all sorts of situations.
zh_CN: 至此，我们解释了 SaaSS 是怎么应用到个人的计算的。对这些情况，我们基本澄清了 SaaSS 的概念。SaaSS 对用户合作也是一个问题，这些合作可能是非正式的（比如开发自由软件常常就是），也可能是正式的（比如象 FSF 这样的慈善机构或一个公司）。基本概念类似，但是我们尚未澄清所有情形的边界。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Here are some line we have drawn so far.
zh_CN: 现在看看我们划的界限。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: The collective activity is likely to have web pages, which will be hosted on some web server.  That server's treatment of visitors to its pages raises the usual moral issues: if they send nonfree JavaScript code, that is an injustice, and if they offer to do the visitor's computing, that is SaaSS.
zh_CN: 合作活动可能会有网页，通常有服务器托管。服务器对页面访问者的处理通常有道德问题：如果它发送非自由的 JavaScript 代码，那么它是不公正的，而如果它为访问者提供计算，那么它是 SaaSS。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, the web server's own operations can also raise the issue of SaaSS with the collective activity as victim.  A web server often offers visitors a way to search through the web pages; how does it implement that? If the collective activity runs a free program on its own computer to find the matches for the search string, the collective activity has control of this, as it should.  But if it asks Google (or any other search engine) where the matches are and displays what is found, the collective activity is relying on SaaSS and forfeiting its freedom.
zh_CN: 然而，网络服务器的自我运作也会对合作活动带来 SaaSS 问题。网络服务器通常会给来访者提供搜索页面的服务；它是怎么实现该服务呢？如果合作活动在自己的电脑上运行自由软件来匹配搜索关键字，那么它做到了自己控制自己的计算。但是如果它是向 Google（或其他搜索引擎）查询匹配并显示结果，那么合作活动就依赖于 SaaSS 并把自由拱手出让。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Using a joint project's servers to work on that project isn't SaaSS because the computing you do in this way isn't your own&mdash;it is the project's computing.  For instance, if you edit pages on Wikipedia, you are not doing your own computing; rather, you are collaborating in Wikipedia's computing.  Wikipedia controls its own servers, but organizations as well as individuals encounter the problem of SaaSS if they do their computing in someone else's server.
zh_CN: 使用联合项目的服务器不是 SaaSS，因为你做的计算不是你自己的&mdash;&mdash;它是项目的。例如，如果你修改了 Wikipedia 页面，那么你并不是在做自己的计算；而是你在做 Wikipedia 的联合计算。Wikipedia 控制自己的服务器，但是如果组织或个人使用的是其他人的服务器，那么他们就面临 SaaSS 的问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Use of simple software repositories is not SaaSS because most of the actual work (as distinguished from redistribution) is done in the contributors' computers.  However, when the repository starts doing other kinds of computing work for the users, such as running tests, that starts to cross the line.  When the users are contributing to the project, so the work is the project's work rather than the contributor's work, that still is not SaaSS for the users.  But it may be SaaSS for the project.  However, if the testing means running the programs that the project develops, it is not SaaSS because the project does control the crucial software being run.
zh_CN: 使用简单的软件库不是 SaaSS，因为大多数实际工作（和再发布不同）是在贡献者自己的电脑上完成的。不过，当软件库开始为用户做其他计算时，比如运行测试，那么它就可能越界了。当用户为某个项目做贡献时，这些工作是项目的而不是贡献者的，所以对用户来说这个还不是 SaaSS。但是它对项目来说可能是 SaaSS。然而，如果测试指的是运行项目开发的程序，那么它不是 SaaSS，因为项目还控制着关键的程序执行。

note: type: Content of: <div><h3>
en: Dealing with the SaaSS Problem
zh_CN: SaaSS问题的应对

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Only a small fraction of all web sites do SaaSS; most don't raise the issue.  But what should we do about the ones that raise it?
zh_CN: 只有小部分网站实施SaaSS；大多数网站没有这个问题。但是我们如何应对有这个问题的网站呢？

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: For the simple case, where you are doing your own computing on data in your own hands, the solution is simple: use your own copy of a free software application.  Do your text editing with your copy of a free text editor such as GNU Emacs or a free word processor.  Do your photo editing with your copy of free software such as GIMP.  What if there is no free program available? A proprietary program or SaaSS would take away your freedom, so you shouldn't use those.  You can contribute your time or your money to development of a free replacement.
zh_CN: 对简单的情况，你用自己的数据进行自己的计算，解决方法也简单：使用一份你自己的自由软件拷贝。用一份诸如GNU Emacs或自由字处理程序的自由软件来进行自己的文本编辑。使用诸如GIMP的自由软件来编辑照片。如果没有可用的自由软件怎么办？专有软件或SaaSS会拿走你的自由，所以你不应该使用它们。你可以贡献时间或资金来开发一款可以替代专有软件的自由软件。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: What about collaborating with other individuals as a group? It may be hard to do this at present without using a server, and your group may not know how to run its own server.  If you use someone else's server, at least don't trust a server run by a company.  A mere contract as a customer is no protection unless you could detect a breach and could really sue, and the company probably writes its contracts to permit a broad range of abuses.  The state can subpoena your data from the company along with everyone else's, as Obama has done to phone companies, supposing the company doesn't volunteer them like the US phone companies that illegally wiretapped their customers for Bush.  If you must use a server, use a server whose operators give you a basis for trust beyond a mere commercial relationship.
zh_CN: 和其他人结成合作团队怎么样？现在在不用服务器的情况下工作可能有困难，而团队可能并不知道如何运作自己的服务器。如果你要使用他人的服务器，至少不要相信由公司运作的服务器。一纸客户合同对你不是保护，除非你能够侦测到违规并真正起诉，而公司制作的合同可能允许宽泛的滥用。政府可以从该公司强行调取你的以及其他人的数据，正如奥巴马总统对电话公司所做的；还要假设该公司不自愿交出数据，不过美国电话公司是非法为布什政府监听其用户的。如果你必须使用服务器，请使用除了商业关系之外还有其他可信基础的服务器操作方。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: However, on a longer time scale, we can create alternatives to using servers.  For instance, we can create a peer-to-peer program through which collaborators can share data encrypted.  The free software community should develop distributed peer-to-peer replacements for important &ldquo;web applications.&rdquo; It may be wise to release them under the <a href="/licenses/why-affero-gpl.html"> GNU Affero GPL</a>, since they are likely candidates for being converted into server-based programs by someone else.  The <a href="/">GNU project</a> is looking for volunteers to work on such replacements.  We also invite other free software projects to consider this issue in their design.
zh_CN: 然而，长远来看，我们能够构建替代服务器的机制。例如，我们可以构建能够分享加密数据的点对点程序。自由软件社区应该开发分布式点对点程序来代替重要的&ldquo;网络应用&rdquo;。按照<a href="/licenses/why-affero-gpl.html">GNU Affero GPL</a>发布这些程序是明智的，因为它们有可能被某些人转换成基于服务器的程序。<a href="/">GNU工程</a>正在寻求做此开发的志愿者。我们也邀请其他自由软件项目在其设计中考虑这个问题。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: In the meantime, if a company invites you to use its server to do your own computing tasks, don't yield; don't use SaaSS.  Don't buy or install &ldquo;thin clients,&rdquo; which are simply computers so weak they make you do the real work on a server, unless you're going to use them with <em>your</em> server.  Use a real computer and keep your data there.  Do your own computing with your own copy of a free program, for your freedom's sake.
zh_CN: 同时，如果有公司邀请你使用它们的服务器来做你的计算，不要接受；不要使用SaaSS。不要购买或安装&ldquo;轻客户端&rdquo;，这些只是简单的电脑，它们的计算能力是如此之弱，你的计算只能在服务器上真正完成，除非你配合<em>你的</em>服务器来使用这些客户端。使用真正的电脑并把数据限制在该电脑上。为你的自由起见，请用你自己的自由软件拷贝来做计算。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: See also: <a href="/philosophy/bug-nobody-allowed-to-understand.html">The Bug Nobody is Allowed to Understand</a>.
zh_CN: <a href="/philosophy/bug-nobody-allowed-to-understand.html">不许任何人了解的缺陷</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: The first version of this article was published in the <cite><a href="https://www.bostonreview.net/articles/what-does-that-server-really-serve/"> Boston Review</a></cite>.
zh_CN: 本文第一版发表于 <cite><a href="https://www.bostonreview.net/articles/what-does-that-server-really-serve/">波士顿评论</a></cite>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't have notes. type: Content of: <div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S NOTES*
zh_CN: <h3>译注</h3>
    <ol>
    <li id="TransNote1">homomorphic encryption，同态加密：指对加密内容的计算结果和对非加密内容的计算结果一样的加密算法。</li>
    </ol>

note: type: Content of: <div><div><p>
en: Please send general FSF &amp; GNU inquiries to <a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>.  There are also <a href="/contact/">other ways to contact</a> the FSF.  Broken links and other corrections or suggestions can be sent to <a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>.
zh_CN: 请将有关自由软件基金会(FSF) &amp; GNU的一般性问题发送到<a href="mailto:gnu@gnu.org">&lt;gnu@gnu.org&gt;</a>。也可以通过<a href="/contact/">其他联系方法</a>联系自由软件基金会(FSF)。有关失效链接或其他错误和建议，请发送邮件到<a href="mailto:webmasters@gnu.org">&lt;webmasters@gnu.org&gt;</a>。

note: TRANSLATORS: Ignore the original text in this paragraph, replace it with the translation of these two: We work hard and do our best to provide accurate, good quality translations.  However, we are not exempt from imperfection. Please send your comments and general suggestions in this regard to <a hr
en: Please see the <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">Translations README</a> for information on coordinating and contributing translations of this article.
zh_CN: 我们尽最大努力来提供精准和高质量的翻译，但难免会存在错误和不足。如果您在这方面有评论或一般性的建议，请发送至 <a href="mailto:web-translators@gnu.org">&lt;web-translators@gnu.org&gt;</a>。</p><p>关于进行协调与提交翻译的更多信息参见 <a href="/server/standards/README.translations.html">《译者指南》</a>。

note: type: Content of: <div><p>
en: This page is licensed under a <a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>.
zh_CN: 本页面使用<a rel="license" href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/">Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License</a>授权。

note: TRANSLATORS: Use space (SPC) as msgstr if you don't want credits. type: Content of: <div><div>
en: *GNUN-SLOT: TRANSLATOR'S CREDITS*
zh_CN: <b>翻译团队</b>：<a rel="team" href="https://savannah.gnu.org/projects/www-zh-cn/">&lt;CTT&gt;</a>，2017-2024。

note: timestamp start type: Content of: <div><p>
en: Updated:
zh_CN: 最后更新：
